St. Helens, OR 
McCormick Park Share
Uploaded By: Murdoc Loch Hole #17 (Taken 12/2013)
4 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Absolutely a must play

1    4/6/2019   4/15/2019
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 70  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Well kept concrete tees with helpful signs
-Baskets are in good shape, nice DISCatchers with visible yellow bands
-Fairways always have distinction from the rough. There is a great mix of holes at McCormick, which I think is a defining feature, and a good one at that. There are some holes which are typical woods holes with dirt fairways and bushy roughs, there are also some open holes with grass fairways and trees lining the rough. But possibly my favorite are the rocky fairways, they look cool, they provide fun basket placements and they add another challenge.
-Elevation is used exceptionally, had I simply walked around the park, I probably would have said that it is mostly flat, but after playing the course, some amount of hill or mound is used on a majority of holes, which just tells you how much care went into the design on this course.
-For the most part, this is a wooded course, and each hole has a very nice use of trees, there are some trees in the fairway that require a shot to be shaped, but not so many that it is more like a wall, then as ou get deeper into the rough, there are more trees that are harder to throw out of
-fairly easy to navigate, most holes are very intuitive as to their location relative to the last hole you played. There are also signs on trees which mark the way to the next tee.
-Benches on most tee areas, on often overlooked element that is especially nice for long days of disc golf and/or waiting for other groups to finish a hole
-McCormick Park certainly has a wow factor. You arrive at the park and it seems like a normal park oth baseball fields and you think, oh great here comes another one of these courses, but then you dive into the trees and the course comes alive.
Cons:
-Water comes into play on one hole (#1) and maybe there is an argument for a couple more (#13ish I think) but that's a stretch. There is a winding creek that would have been cool to incorporate a little more into the design. Even on hole one, it takes a special kind of shank (which I happily executed) to land in the water.
-I played this course in the midst of a massive rain system, and I have to say, it handled it pretty well. There were of course some massive puddles, but I'm sure these aren't always there, because I'm talking about tons of rain.
-In addition to the mud, the tee pads were pretty mucky, it seems that the pads are pretty susceptible to getting muddy.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. I was expecting to really love Trojan park and then come to McCormick and be like "meh" but in fact it was the opposite way around. This is a very unique course, and an extremely fun one to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    11/12/2018   11/12/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 66  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of par 3s and par 4s.
It's a very challenging course
Good cement tee pads and signs on most the holes
Next tee arrows high up on trees to keep you from getting lost or turned around
Nice baskets and fair lines on most holes
Lots of shots to throw full power drives, as well as accuracy holes to test your short distance shots
Very neat basket placements in rocks on couple holes
Plays over and next to creek on few holes
Hole 6 is favorite hole for me it's an elevated basket and well thought out hole
Cons: Some tee signs already have been graffitied grrr. Can get pretty overgrown can spend sometime searching for discs. There's lots of leafs and foliage on ground. Plus ivy that can eat discs specially left side 14. The hole 9 is all par 4s with exception of like 2 holes. People not picking up there dog poo was major issue as well throughout course.
Other Thoughts: When coming here park near the bridge on the road to get to hole 1. Don't park in the parks parking lot or you'll have a pretty big walk and get lost trying to find course. Hole 1 tees off next to the bridge by the main road way before park entrance

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging

1    8/17/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: lucasap
Played: 138  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical course for well rounded golfers. Unbelievable lines and maximum use of space in the park. Water in play on a few holes. Several strategic holes that you can get to with a perfect line or play to space and approach. It was my first time and I really enjoyed the challenge. Some 4's should probably be 3's. I thought it was beautiful and can't wait to see it when green.
Cons: It may be my fault, but I didn't catch the course map near hole 1. There are several holes where next tee is not marked and several paths merge. It was a minor challenge for 2 first timers at the course. Flow would be better with trail signage. Several lines should have had a small tree or 2 cleared to make it a skill shot rather than blind luck. Graffiti got to some pad signs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Full meal deal

1    5/18/2018   7/27/2016
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long course with many challenging first throws. If your new to the course (I was) you have to do some scouting to find the basket the route you want to throw then for the next tee pad. I like the basket in the rock. this course challenges me. UPDATE:Still a very long and difficult course. Not a course to play if you don't like a challenge. I enjoyed the challenge but there was one thing...tall grass...blanketed ground cover Keep your eyes on the flight of your disk.
Cons: Signs are not the best. Finding hole one from parking lot was not that easy and then hole two's pad was not that easy. UPDATE: Signs are now really good...yellow arrow signs with next hole number were numerous,liked that. Hole number one has moved, it is now right to the right of the bathroom next to a brand new bridge. Nice. The con's are what I talked about on pro's making the course very difficult. if you are not in the 10-15 foot fairway you WILL spend alot of time looking for your disk.
Other Thoughts: Wading in the river can be fun if its a hot day. Can't say enough about signs and arrows pointing the way.UPDATE: It's really easy for a good player to stay far away from the river. It still makes you think about your overthrows. Long course recommend spotters. My playing partners are intermediate players...throws just off the fairway cost us 1 hour searching for disks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME

1    7/5/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: kyleocean
Played: 116  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.3 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, use of space
Nice variation of holes/ distances, par 3s and 4s
Course was in great condition.
Nice tee signs and pads
Easy to follow.

Cons: Can't see the basket on some holes, minor spotting could help, but that is only because the holes where you can't see are super long, so its not necessarily a con.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best in Oregon as far as I am concerned. Its not really in Portland, about 30-40 minutes west, but definitely worth going out to. I would avoid a packed portland course and go play this course where there is hardly nobody there any day of the week. Trojan is not far as well so you can hit them both and make a day of it. I love the tight technical fairways, but there is enough space to still have lots of viable options and routes. So glad to have this course in St. Helens where I have relatives, will play again hopefully every time I go to St. helens.

On another note, I've seen many reviews concerned with spotting, suggesting to take people with you to play. I can see where possibly this could be an issue. however as of now, this course is in awesome condition and we had no problems finding anything and barely used spotters at all. nice work on whoever is taking care of this course.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Bring Friends

1    6/5/2016   6/5/2016
Review By: PDXmikeg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course
Challenging Layout
Cons: Parked in the parking lot and had a hard time finding hole 1, no signs to the first tee pad?
As of today it is very over grown and looks like it would take a full time crew to manage it.
Hole 2 currently being worked on, plan on skipping it.
Need at least three people to play with to help spot your shots so you don't look so long for your disc.
Other Thoughts: Play with friends, I played alone and walked off after 3 holes. I play Pier at even par and this is a very challenging course with overgrown fairways. If you have never been here plan to go with someone that has, I had never been here so I had a hard time finding my disc and the next tee pad. I could see that when it is kept up it would be super fun.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 McCormick Wonderland

2-4    6/22/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: WilsonSandersDavis
Played: 112  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Nice Concrete Tee Pads.
-Innova Disc Catcher Baskets, with multiple pins.
-Well Marked with arrows pointing to next tee pad, OBs, and mandos.
-Great Layout with multiple par 4 holes, to create a very challenging course.
-Layout designed well so walking paths not really an issue.
-Good use of elevation changes on some holes.
-Creek running through park comes into play.
-Very clean park with multiple garbage cans throughout course.
-Local restaurants, stores, and Trojan DGC close by.
Cons:
-Could use better signage at tee pads.
-Some holes could be cleaned up, due to lots of undergrowth and downed branches.
-These are very minor issue, really no other cons that I noticed.
Other Thoughts:
This course plays through a heavily wooded multiuse park with a creek running through it. Even though there is a lot more than just a disc golf course at this park you wouldn't know it by how secluded it feels while on the course. The fairways for the most part are easily recognizable. However if you go off of them you are bound to be in thick underbrush which may take a little looking to find you disc. This course was designed very well, the mix of par 3s and 4s complement each other splendidly and add character that you don't see at your standard all par three course. The course seems to have good sponsorship by local disc golf shops and organizations. This Course is fairly new and has amazing potential, in a few years with a little love this course could easily be a 5 disc rating. All in all this is a great course. It might not be the best for beginners but is really fun and challenging for all levels of disc golfers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 May grow into a good course

2-4    8/14/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: Dscgl4
Played: 142  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 24.9 Years
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is well installed, with quality tee pads and baskets in an attractive forest setting. Navigation is easy and there are some very creative holes with interesting (although not substantial) elevation changes.
Cons: While there are some good holes here, there are a number of holes with very weak fairways (much too tightly defined) and artificial obstacles (like hole 8). There is not much diversity of shot required--short and technical, bring a mid-range and putter kind of golf.
Other Thoughts: The course is quite technical and is a great course to strengthen your mid-range game and decision-making. It forces players to re-strategize their approach. On a long course, it is easy to define landing zones with the length of your throws. On this course, for many holes you need to lay up well short of your normal range, then lay up again for a putt. It requires solid course management skills, but is frustrating because it is so tightly designed that it largely denies you access to pins that are only a few hundred feet away. At this time, the risk-reward ratio is too heavily on the risk side. As the course ages and filler trees clear, it will become much more manageable and the risk/reward ratio will shift to allow for more aggressive play.

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Big Tree Country

2-4    8/15/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: MikeK
Played: 283  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 23.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --Concrete tee pads
--Woodsy, with incredibly tall trees on most holes
--Pretty creek in view on holes 1,2,3,12,13
--tight and challenging
--some holes have elevation
--good balance of left/right holes
--benches on almost every hole
--wildlife, including woodpeckers and deer
--camping available in the park
Cons: --all these cons are relatively minor:

--Lots and lots of little stumps to stub your toes and discs
--a couple of fairways that are too tight that can punish a good shot
--poison oak here and there
--no really "epic" holes (although #12 is memorable)
--sorta long walk to get from parking to Hole 1, then you don't get back to your car until after 18
--potential to lose discs in rough without spotters
Other Thoughts: McCormick Park is a great place to learn how to play on a heavily wooded course. While there are a couple of holes which are poke and hope (#13 comes to mind), most of the holes have legitimate fairways that simply demand accuracy to score well. Hole #12 is the best hole on the course, with a nice 30-40 foot dropoff in the middle of the hole and the creek flowing about 30 feet behind the basket, with trees all along the way. A lot of the greens are "slow" in that most of the time there are rocks or stumps by the basket to keep rollaways to a minimum, so I advise putting hard on those. There are a couple of elevated baskets though, which will punish a miss.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Portland areas newest tournament venue

5+    8/19/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: beeftrout
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight and technical, the schule is rough
Risk and reward on some of the par 4's like 12 and 15
Provides good score separation; every hole is reachable for a birdie, even a couple eagle looks.
Elevated and sunken pins provide interesting greens
Water hazards, although they mostly come into play for tree bounces rather than "should I go for it or not" type shots.
The lines are all established, mid-fairway trees have been continuallly removed to provide a "fair way" to navigate your way to the basket. Bad shots and errant shots are punished with most of them needing a recovery pitch out back to the fairway.
Cons: Its young, this isn't a fault, but be prepared to watch your step and keep your eye locked on errant shots that reach the schule.
Poison Oak, they do what they can fighting it, but nature is relentless. Know how to identify it and watch where you step when you're off the fairway. Problem areas: 6 behind the pin, 7 off the fairway to the right, 8 near the mando and left side of fairway, 9 left side near bend and behind the pin, 10 and 11 edges of fairway, 16 left side, 17 both sides of approach off the fairway, 18 on the right side off fairway and behind the pin. Its not always in all of these places but this is where it can potentially come in to play. Don't let this deter you from playing this gem of a course.
Other Thoughts: Great potential here. The lines have been established and I think only some fine tuning will really make the course play better. Some of the straighter par 4's are a bit short and could potentially be long 3's. However, the doglegs 8 and 9 make for great par 4's that are only eagle-able with throw-ins. This course can teach you how to score well by simply keeping it in the fairway. 8 under par or better is do-able without throwing more than 300-330'.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.