Conroe, TX 
McDade Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Wonderful Course

1    8/3/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: Trinitydisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great! First off the practice basket is in the middle of a nice 30ft circle of pea gravel. No mud or sand here. The park and facilities are kept in great condition. Great layout of holes some fairly open some in tight trees.Large tee pads great signs(one was missing but I can't remember the hole). I really can't think of anything bad about this course unless I just want to be picky.
Cons: I honestly can't think of any true cons. I will say that if you like long bomber holes, you wont find any. Not saying that all the holes are short, just no holes that are extra long either. If you like elevation changes, you wont find that either.
Other Thoughts: This course is over a hour and a half drive from my house and I'll sure be making that drive to play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Definitely the most popular

2-4    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 300  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course clearly get the most play in the immediate Conroe area, and attracts the crowds because it's well scaled for recreational to intermediate skill levels, and has variety galore from the big field opener to short ace-deuce runs (10 & 12, especially), to increasingly challenging, technical finishing holes (on 17 & 18). It is a park course that gets good maintenance and has very little underbrush in which to lose a disc. In fact, the only place I could see as a disc lost would be an overzealous shot on hole 8 going into the drink.

Fantastic, level, concrete tees and good signage clearly leads you to good DGA baskets, and forces you to control your throws into wooded gaps, along reasonable fairways, and under some low-ceiling branches. There's a lot to like about McDade. I liked the fact that there's a port-o-let by the 11th tee, that there are trash receptacles throughout the course, and that the course seems to be well-maintained. There are even gully crossing bridges for flash flood season.

The most challenging holes appeared to me to be hole 15, with a tight window to hit if you want to get very far down the way toward the basket (360' from the tee), and hole 18, which requires two really good control shots to get into it's guarded green for a three. Might be a true par four hole.
Cons: The lack of elevation in the region means they didn't have any to work with here, but it seems a little regrettable that they weren't able to incorporate the nearby river just a little more to make up for it (like Stonebridge Church nearby uses the pond for three gut-check shots). Only hole 8 here has the river a mere 40' past the basket to give you pause. The lack of next tee signage definitely would make this course a navigational challenge for the newcomer who forgets to bring a copy of the course map (see note below). They are definitely needed after 1,3,6,14, and several for the long walk after 16. It's nice to have a practice basket right by the parking area, but odd to use gravel there.
Other Thoughts: The beautiful memorial at hole one is very attractively done!

Navigational hints: I personally played 1, 18, 17, then 2-16 for simplicity's sake. You do have to turn right after hole 6 and not head to the 11th tee. After 16, you need to cross the far end of the soccer field and look for the small path into the woods to get to 17.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 295 courses and written 280 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    7/30/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: Texasmouth
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course with challenging holes, wooded holes, long open throws, etc. This is a great course for any skill level.
Cons: Flooding covers the entire first hole. Can get really overgrown sometimes. Lots of snakes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the area. A MUST PLAY if you are close. Actually, even worth driving to.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Place to play!!

5+    9/12/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Meho20
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of everything here.

Open fairways, wooded fairways, long holes, short holes, kind of has it all.

Concrete pads, good baskets, really nice when its freshly mowed!!!

Always meeting new people on this course and having fun!
Cons: Can be very crowded, it is a very popular course for this area.

Can get littered, again very popular and is next to a larger city park that draws in large crowds on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the area, has a great mix and fun to play!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Been a while

1    2/22/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very fun course, though it was a little easy. Not sure if I just had a lucky day, but I think I shot somewhere around 7-8 down my first time playing it. Good teeboxes and fun shots, beautiful park.
Cons: A little too easy.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/27/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 213  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course surprised me in a number of good ways. For one the course is nestled in a very gorgeous park that is very fun to walk around.
-The concrete tee pads are HUGE and perfect. The course signs are all great and has exactly what you would need in a course sign. The baskets are also in great shape.
-There are a good number of longer open shots to short technical shots. The course does not favor right or left, I found it a great mix of both type of holes.
-This course is challenging enough for an intermediate player to have his struggles but it is a good course to bring a new person as there is very little water hazards and very little chance to lose a disc.
-For the bigger arms, most of the holes at McDade are birdieable. It is not necessarily easy to get 18 birdies but it is possible with a good drive.
Cons: The biggest con I have more McDade is park is that there are no "signature holes". I have played this course now a few times and there is not one hole that strikes me as THE hole of McDade as you would expect at other highly rater 18 hole courses. Probably the ones that stick at to me are the first hole with the San Jacinto River to the right and holes 17 and 18 that are a tight straight shot through some woods.
-Most holes are repetitive and a few seem like they were just thrown into the middle to try and get to 18 holes.
-There is literally no elevation even by Houston standards. This is not something that can be dealt with just a little nitpick.
Other Thoughts: The Conroe/Woodlands area has some great courses and McDade Park is definitely no exception. The park is clean and has a pleasant feeling to it.
Combining this course with Terramont Park and the River Plantation Course and a good day of disc golf could be had.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Micky Dís! You Want Fries With That?

1    7/25/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety and has some nice vegetation. This course has open holes, wooded holes, good pin placements, and has a great maintained setting. This place was really nice. I liked the variety of hole lengths. There is nothing real long, but they mixed it up pretty well. The equipment is in great shape. There are concrete tee pads, the baskets are nice, and they have new tee pads have what you need. This place has a huge parking lot, a good message board, and they flowered up the first hole (See the media tab for picture of hole 1). For the most part, the navigation is pretty easy.
Cons: There isn't much as far as elevation is concerned. Like other have said, there are a few holes that feel like they put them there just to connect the better holes. It was dry the day I was there, but you could tell this place will hold some water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was good. I really enjoyed playing here and I would easily play this again. I can't mention enough how well maintained this park is and how beautiful the entire park is Thanks Conroe!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Here!!!!

5+    8/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: cj37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a very great practice course. Has a few difficult shots blocked by trees, bushes etc.
Cons: It can get crowded sometimes. Also, there is a playground off of the edge of hole 16 where kids have the tendency to roam over to and snag a disc occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Great layout!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean!!

1    4/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Park is very clean and well maintained. 18 holes with different variety of challenges. Tee pads are nice and course is clearly marked.
Cons: Not much room for power. Mostly short shots but still lots of fun.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/9/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -variety of shot types, good mix of open and wooded shots
-excellent new tee signs
-big concrete tee pads
-baskets in good condition
-nice, large park; looks well maintained
-practice basket with distance markers
-a few very good bridges over creek/wet areas (5-6, 15)
-lots of mature trees make for a well-shaded round in the summer
-begins and ends near parking lot (plenty of parking), course flows pretty well but a few tricky spots
Cons: -mostly shorter holes, only 2 over 400'
-very flat, a few very minor elevation changes
-located on a floodplain, rain can be an issue
-many holes seem like filler holes (2, 7-10, 12, 14)
-a few awkward spots in the flow and navigation, especially right at the beginning/end, presumably some of this is from the redesign (1-3, 16-17)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 18 hole course in a nice looking park that is well maintained. The park is beautiful and well shaded but is not secluded, lots of houses and streets nearby.

The parking lot is large and right near the park entrance and the practice basket area is great, with brick distance markers. Very nice, well-sized concrete tee pads and the baskets are in great condition.

The first hole looks really great when you first walk up. I was impressed with the big tee and landscaping around the tee area. This hole is a fun open hyzer with the basket just out of sight and a river on the left. I had high hopes after this hole and while it didn't go downhill after that necessarily, the rest of the course didn't quite live up to my expectations. Don't get me wrong: the course is fun, well maintained, relatively easy to navigate and has a lot of cool shots but it didn't live up to my expectation of a "great" (4 disc) course.

The area around holes 2-3 and 15-18 is a little bit awkward. There is a walk from 1 to 2 and then hole 2 throws across a field with pedestrian walkways. From the tee for 2, you might be looking at basket 16; the basket for 2 is straight ahead, to the right of basket 16. Then walk across the road to 3 and eventually come back out at 15 in the same area. Hole 16 is a really cool open shot into a wooded area with the basket behind a couple rows of trees. Then there is a walk into another wooded area to get to 17 (in other words, there is no sign to the next tee and it's inside the woods so you can't see it from 16). A few "next tee" signs around here and also at the intersection of 6-7 and 10-11 would shape things up a bit for newcomers. If I remember correctly, there are next tee arrows on the new signs though.

There are lots of trees so many holes have well defined open fairways lined with trees and there are also holes that are fairly wooded, especially 17 & 18. The lines aren't too difficult but there are enough trees to ensure a wide score spread.

There are a handful of uninspiring holes that seem to just fill the space in the layout to get to 18 holes. 7-10 immediately come to mind; they are a short loop in a small area off to the side between holes 6 and 11. Seems like an afterthought added to the main front-to-back flow of the course.

Overall, a really fun course with a decent bit of variety. A better option than all the other 9 holers around the area and less of a homeboy course than Bear Branch. Course rating seems a little inflated to me but maybe it's a matter of relativity to the surrounding courses. I bet it gets an extra star from many reviewers just for the concrete tee pads.

Definitely worth playing if you live in the Houston area. If you're passing through and are looking for the top 1 or 2 places to play, go to Shawshank or Spring Valley.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.