Conroe, TX 
McDade Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Super Course

1    8/23/2018   8/24/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 140  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Perfect Course. Well mowed great tee pad and baskets. Great park and lots of trees and a river to look at. Variety of shots.
Cons: No elevation at all and the layout is a little hard esp long walk from 16-17
Other Thoughts: I wish they would have made a few holes a little longer or a few baskets a little closer to the trees or river

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Course

1    8/3/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: Trinitydisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is great! First off the practice basket is in the middle of a nice 30ft circle of pea gravel. No mud or sand here. The park and facilities are kept in great condition. Great layout of holes some fairly open some in tight trees.Large tee pads great signs(one was missing but I can't remember the hole). I really can't think of anything bad about this course unless I just want to be picky.
Cons: I honestly can't think of any true cons. I will say that if you like long bomber holes, you wont find any. Not saying that all the holes are short, just no holes that are extra long either. If you like elevation changes, you wont find that either.
Other Thoughts: This course is over a hour and a half drive from my house and I'll sure be making that drive to play this course again.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Definitely the most popular

2-4    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 312  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course clearly get the most play in the immediate Conroe area, and attracts the crowds because it's well scaled for recreational to intermediate skill levels, and has variety galore from the big field opener to short ace-deuce runs (10 & 12, especially), to increasingly challenging, technical finishing holes (on 17 & 18). It is a park course that gets good maintenance and has very little underbrush in which to lose a disc. In fact, the only place I could see as a disc lost would be an overzealous shot on hole 8 going into the drink.

Fantastic, level, concrete tees and good signage clearly leads you to good DGA baskets, and forces you to control your throws into wooded gaps, along reasonable fairways, and under some low-ceiling branches. There's a lot to like about McDade. I liked the fact that there's a port-o-let by the 11th tee, that there are trash receptacles throughout the course, and that the course seems to be well-maintained. There are even gully crossing bridges for flash flood season.

The most challenging holes appeared to me to be hole 15, with a tight window to hit if you want to get very far down the way toward the basket (360' from the tee), and hole 18, which requires two really good control shots to get into it's guarded green for a three. Might be a true par four hole.
Cons: The lack of elevation in the region means they didn't have any to work with here, but it seems a little regrettable that they weren't able to incorporate the nearby river just a little more to make up for it (like Stonebridge Church nearby uses the pond for three gut-check shots). Only hole 8 here has the river a mere 40' past the basket to give you pause. The lack of next tee signage definitely would make this course a navigational challenge for the newcomer who forgets to bring a copy of the course map (see note below). They are definitely needed after 1,3,6,14, and several for the long walk after 16. It's nice to have a practice basket right by the parking area, but odd to use gravel there.
Other Thoughts: The beautiful memorial at hole one is very attractively done!

Navigational hints: I personally played 1, 18, 17, then 2-16 for simplicity's sake. You do have to turn right after hole 6 and not head to the 11th tee. After 16, you need to cross the far end of the soccer field and look for the small path into the woods to get to 17.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 295 courses and written 280 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    7/30/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: Texasmouth
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course with challenging holes, wooded holes, long open throws, etc. This is a great course for any skill level.
Cons: Flooding covers the entire first hole. Can get really overgrown sometimes. Lots of snakes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the area. A MUST PLAY if you are close. Actually, even worth driving to.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Place to play!!

5+    9/12/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Meho20
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of everything here.

Open fairways, wooded fairways, long holes, short holes, kind of has it all.

Concrete pads, good baskets, really nice when its freshly mowed!!!

Always meeting new people on this course and having fun!
Cons: Can be very crowded, it is a very popular course for this area.

Can get littered, again very popular and is next to a larger city park that draws in large crowds on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the area, has a great mix and fun to play!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Been a while

1    2/22/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very fun course, though it was a little easy. Not sure if I just had a lucky day, but I think I shot somewhere around 7-8 down my first time playing it. Good teeboxes and fun shots, beautiful park.
Cons: A little too easy.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/27/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 231  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course surprised me in a number of good ways. For one the course is nestled in a very gorgeous park that is very fun to walk around.
-The concrete tee pads are HUGE and perfect. The course signs are all great and has exactly what you would need in a course sign. The baskets are also in great shape.
-There are a good number of longer open shots to short technical shots. The course does not favor right or left, I found it a great mix of both type of holes.
-This course is challenging enough for an intermediate player to have his struggles but it is a good course to bring a new person as there is very little water hazards and very little chance to lose a disc.
-For the bigger arms, most of the holes at McDade are birdieable. It is not necessarily easy to get 18 birdies but it is possible with a good drive.
Cons: The biggest con I have more McDade is park is that there are no "signature holes". I have played this course now a few times and there is not one hole that strikes me as THE hole of McDade as you would expect at other highly rater 18 hole courses. Probably the ones that stick at to me are the first hole with the San Jacinto River to the right and holes 17 and 18 that are a tight straight shot through some woods.
-Most holes are repetitive and a few seem like they were just thrown into the middle to try and get to 18 holes.
-There is literally no elevation even by Houston standards. This is not something that can be dealt with just a little nitpick.
Other Thoughts: The Conroe/Woodlands area has some great courses and McDade Park is definitely no exception. The park is clean and has a pleasant feeling to it.
Combining this course with Terramont Park and the River Plantation Course and a good day of disc golf could be had.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Micky Dís! You Want Fries With That?

1    7/25/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety and has some nice vegetation. This course has open holes, wooded holes, good pin placements, and has a great maintained setting. This place was really nice. I liked the variety of hole lengths. There is nothing real long, but they mixed it up pretty well. The equipment is in great shape. There are concrete tee pads, the baskets are nice, and they have new tee pads have what you need. This place has a huge parking lot, a good message board, and they flowered up the first hole (See the media tab for picture of hole 1). For the most part, the navigation is pretty easy.
Cons: There isn't much as far as elevation is concerned. Like other have said, there are a few holes that feel like they put them there just to connect the better holes. It was dry the day I was there, but you could tell this place will hold some water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was good. I really enjoyed playing here and I would easily play this again. I can't mention enough how well maintained this park is and how beautiful the entire park is Thanks Conroe!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Here!!!!

5+    8/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: cj37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a very great practice course. Has a few difficult shots blocked by trees, bushes etc.
Cons: It can get crowded sometimes. Also, there is a playground off of the edge of hole 16 where kids have the tendency to roam over to and snag a disc occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Great layout!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean!!

1    4/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Park is very clean and well maintained. 18 holes with different variety of challenges. Tee pads are nice and course is clearly marked.
Cons: Not much room for power. Mostly short shots but still lots of fun.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.