Homer, LA 
Lake Claiborne SP - Whitetail Share
Uploaded By: teamudgp Hole #8 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Best Course in Louisiana By Far

2-4    10/19/2017   10/19/2017
Review By: MikeK
Played: 263  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 22.4 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
+Easily the best course in Louisiana
+Challenging course requiring accuracy and distance
+Paired with the Dogwood course at this same location in a state park with cabins and camping, it's a great "destination course"
+Hills add to the experience with dramatic elevation changes on several holes
+Scenic views of Lake Claiborne on a few holes
+Fairways are kept free of tree limbs and brush, and even off the fairways for many many feet as well, so it's rare to have to look very long for errant discs
+Signage is very good, navigation is pretty easy
+Course ends on perhaps the best 4-hole stretch anywhere
+Good baskets in good condition
Cons:
-Natural tee pads. Although the tees are still level and seem to be root-free, expect erosion over time to make this more of an issue. During rain also don't think these tees will provide foolproof footing
-All the par 4s and 5s are on the last 6 holes. Would be nicer if it wasn't 12 par 3s in a row to start
-Cell phone coverage is very limited. On most of the course you probably won't get a signal. Seemed like the only place to get a signal at all was by Hole 1.
-Away from civilization, closest towns are many minutes away (could be a plus for some)
Other Thoughts: While Whitetail is not perfect, I rate it 4.8, and round up to five since we can't do 4.75 or quarter points on this awesome website. It's by far the best course in Louisiana and worth going out of the way for. The second-best course in Louisiana is in the same place too (Dogwood), so this state park is a bargain at $4 a car or whatever small entrance fee it is.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Swell Course

2-4    10/13/2017   10/19/2017
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 76  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - The park is really nice. Always seems quiet and never too crowded. Very few places can compete with the beauty of the lake and forest. Always well kept and for a wooded course, never noticed a lot of sticks and branches on the ground.

- The course is very well designed. A lot of variety, challenges you to hit the fairway, but for the most part, rewards you for great shots and punishes bad ones. The difficulty of the course is right at the perfect line where you are challenged enough, but not overwhelmed by unreasonable lines or distances. Extreme elevation changes, which is very well used. A vast majority of the holes, you have to account for it, or you won't be successful.

- Baskets are well-kept, seen a lot of baskets in the woods turned into spider's paradise, never noticed that here. Tee signs are extremely well done. They look very professional, nothing more you could want.

- Aesthetically, the money hole is 10. Straight downhill tunnel to the gorgeous lake. Stunning. As far as hole design goes, #17 is the best. Forces you to crush a left to right that has to hit a smaller-than-you-think fairway. Then you have to hit one of two tunnels, and the whole time, you feel like you could reach the basket with one good throw, but it's so far uphill, it is a smash.
Cons: - They aren't the worst natural tees I've played, but they can be inconsistent, which just comes with having natural tees.

- I don't like being negative about a course for the city/surrounding area, but this is literally the middle of no where. I wanted to grab a bottle water before I got there, and there was only one random convenience store within miles. Unless you are camping onsite, just not easy to go out of the way to play it.

- Really wish it had gone near the lake more. Lake Claiborne is a beautiful lake that is perfect to have a disc golf course built on it. But the only time you see it is #10. Really disappointing for it not to be featured more. It is the biggest asset of the area, and it's just not used to the extent it really needed to be.

- Parking is an issue. Both courses start just to the right of entry gate. There is some parking there, but for the most part, you have to drive all the way down to bottom of the hill and walk back up.
Other Thoughts: - This course really is really good. But to me, it's just not great. Every time I have played the course, I've thought to myself, "This place is alright", not the "so happy I came here" feeling I have had at other premiere courses. It is really good wooded course. Good, just not great. In the Cons section, the only complaints about the course itself are natural tees and lack of using the lake, neither is a major issue. But there isn't anything great enough to me to make me think it is excellent or anything more than just another very good course.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

No flat place in the woods

1    5/17/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: Discbear
Played: 553  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.8 Years
15 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful place to have a disc golf course, or in this case 2. It is so quiet and scenic with just the sounds of nature. If you like to also supplement your disc golf with good exercise, the consistent hills will help you achieve that. The tee signs are great with 2 pads on every hole, blue for long and red for short and I believe 2 basket positions on at least most holes if not all. The red and blue pads can differ by 300 plus feet to please various skill and distance throwing levels. Hole 10 was just epic with a very reachable basket which tapers to a good gap in the trees perhaps 15-20 feet across 40 feet in front of the basket, but woe to the thrower that is too frisky as the waters of Lake Claiborne await perilously close behind the basket. Other holes are within ace range if you can possibly find a line and a great deal of luck.Other baskets can take an average thrower 3 shots to get there and of course 3 more if the trees are unkind which will probably happen to most of us there. So, there is a good mixture of distance and holes that favor forehand for some and backhand for others. If you are over 62 you get into the park to play for free all day. Yippee!!! It was surprisingly easy to keep track of your discs despite all of the trees. Also its a great destination course for the day because there is another fine 18 hole course right on site.
Cons: My disappointment was that when I made arrangements to play here the course was rated no. 8 in the nation with a 4.80 rating, which to me would mean that it is nearly flawless. I stepped to the 1st tee and it was a dirt tee box and I looked around thinking there must be a better tee nearby. There wasn't, just another dirt tee for the shorter red tees. Even the dirt tee wasn't the best. I thought that maybe the other holes would be concrete pads. They were all dirt as were all of the adjacent 18 holes on the other on site course. Needless to say my jaw dropped and although I know I will rock the boat of those who rated this course so high I can say that at least in my opinion this is not a top 10 in the nation course nor should it have a 4.77 rating (it's current rating). Also, virtually every hole is a very tight fairway with a very high % of hitting a tree early on or drifting into the solid lines of trees on both the left and right. Trees are great and necessary but way too many holes that you can't make a shot because if you miss the 1st tree you'll hit the 2nd or 3rd or be in woods right or left. It just gets old to have every shot set up that way. Same on the adjacent course. But, hey we're disc golfers
. We take what we get and shoot the lowest score we can possibly think out manage.

15 of 24 people found this review helpful.


1    4/14/2017   4/26/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lake Claiborne's Whitetail course is defined by an interesting combination of a tightly wooded environment with near-constant elevation changes. Many otherwise-straightforward shots are jazzed up through different manner of elevation changes from the subtle to the drastic: mid-fairway ridges and dips, uphill and downhill shots, and more varied undulations are all seen. The elevation is a highlight, especially in combination with the thick woods. It can make for some interesting approaches, including contending with the occasional behind-the-basket drop off.

The course does a good job in my estimation of combining technical with fair. Tight windows and lanes abound, but recovery shots are reliably available relative to the thick woods in play. Underbrush is thin enough that discs are easily found should you end up in the rough. Stray branches are kept to a minimum, so hitting your lane cleanly is usually rewarded and unlucky snags are uncommon, a breath of fresh air for such a wooded course as this.

The setting is utterly beautiful. Navigation is greatly aided by signage. Grooming was well done during my visit in April.
Cons: I feel as though Whitetail's design is slightly conservative and repetitive. There are a lot of straight up the gut shots, especially if you have forehand/backhand versatility. The elevation helps mix up the feel but I found myself throwing the same disc on similar, mostly straight lines again and again. Some more drastic line-shaping beyond slight variations on how your disc finishes would go a long way.

There isn't a lot of risk versus reward decision-making owing to holes being pretty straight forward in how they play. A lot of holes have an up and down feel that doesn't get deviated from enough IMHO: so much rides on your shot off the tee, which seems a missed opportunity given the richness of the terrain available. Some of the few longer holes feel more longer for the sake of it than providing a truly distinct par 4/5 feel. That these all occur in a bunch on the back 9 seems odd and feels a bit unwelcome given the moderate intensity of the walk this course provides.

The blue tees occasionally add gratuitous distance and don't otherwise seem to enhance the challenge/experience of the hole. Sometimes the shorter tees seem the more natural fit for the design, whereas at other points it's the opposite. The course experience thus isn't well balanced between both sets of tees.
Other Thoughts: Lake Claiborne is an excellent course. There aren't many in the region with its combination of woods and elevation, and less so that are as well-tended as LC seems to be. That said I didn't find it to be among the best courses I've played. A great course to visit, but not one I'd push to add to your bucket list.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Natural beauty, well-defined fairways, extremely well-maintained

5+    4/11/2017   4/14/2017
Review By: sirbedevere
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find, the course entrance is right by the park entrance
-A ton of elevation throughout, with a dramatic downhill on hole 1 and uphill on 18, a number of tricky rollaway-inducing greens
-The natural tee pads give great traction, even after a bit of rain
-Backhand holes, forehand holes, a couple of tunnels, and one or two that will reward the long bombers, particularly the 1054 ft 16th; very well-rounded course
-Very fair, with achievable golf lines on every hole
-Excellent new Discatchers
-The blue tees are a good deal harder than the reds, which are great for a quicker fun round, especially if you don't have the greatest accuracy off the tee
-Not crowded at all, I have played here solo probably 25-30 times and have had to play through like twice
-Incredibly well-maintained given the relatively low foot-traffic it seems to receive, even when the leaves were falling the tees and paths were always cleared and fallen trees, branches etc. are quickly removed
-This course definitely rewards you if you are having a particularly good day, you can pile up lots of 2's on the front 12 if you hit your lines.
Cons: -A couple of the teepads, the reds on 2 and 8 come to mind, have tree roots sticking up that can disturb your runup
-The lake only really comes into play on 1 hole
-Cell service is sketchy at best and not many people around to hear you scream, try not to break a leg
-Some turf tee pads would definitely bring the place over the top, the existing ones are just as good as concrete ones though and much better in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful and well-designed course in a not-particularly-active disc golf region, cool to see that it has broken onto the Top Rated page. Would love to see a pro tour-type event come through here someday.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/17/2017 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Best in Louisiana

5+    4/9/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: jeremyl77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Best course in LA
Elevation like none other in the state
Well maintained
Offers a variety of different shots for different skill levels
Great signage
Navigation is easy
Cons: Needs trash cans
Not cart friendly
Other Thoughts: Would love to see some concrete pads out there, but not a necessity to enjoy this awesome course!

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the universe!

2-4    4/4/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: Egdirreb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that meanders through the entire north side of the state park. Excellent scenery and views are available on every hole. The course has two set s of tees (Blue and Red). The Blue tees require more advanced skill and will test you game, while the Red tees are set up for Amateurs and first time players. Excellent signage with some of the best tee signs I've ever seen. Hole 10 has to be one of the signature holes as you throw down towards the lake. Course is fair at the beginning, but stretches out on the finishing holes which makes it perfect for tournament play. The natural tee pads are a plus since it's in a State Park and helps keep the "nature" feel. You can tell the course is constantly maintained and in good shape. $2 to play, but well worth it. Scorecards provided at entry station.
Cons: none what so ever.
Other Thoughts: Course has another 18 hole course on the property.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Homer's Odyssey

1    9/4/2016   3/28/2017
Review By: bjflash
Played: 946  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.7 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good fairways thru well-maintained wooded areas, multiple tees and pin locations. Beautifully crafted course entry sign, and a gorgeous view of the lake on #10's green. Tee signs look great and every hole has a name, which is way more fun than just calling them a number.
Cons: Six months after playing, I don't remember anything negative about this place.
Other Thoughts: I added this to my list of favorites, it's the better of the two at the lake, and both are worth the trip if you are a discgolf traveler!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Southern United States

5+    10/8/2016   3/28/2017
Review By: niklpenny
Played: 55  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: two teepads for every hole
amazing scenery in a state wildlife park
camping and cabins onsite
Course design is phenomal.
Cons: bring toilet paper, cuase its far far away
Other Thoughts: This is hands down one of the best courses in the country, the amount of different shots, elevation change, terrain change, distance of holes, degree of difficulty, and just how beautiful it is be in this area of nature, make this a contender for best course in the country.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/28/2017 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review!

Great Wooded Course!!

1    3/3/2017   3/4/2017
Review By: FlyFish84
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played the long tees here and really enjoyed this beautiful course! I feel like the course makes good use of the elevation and the terrain to make a beautiful destination.. Two tee pads and two pin positions actually make for a more diverse course, and also gives players with less experience the option of a shorter route.. Really nice tee signs on the long tees. There are also arrows for navigation from basket to next tee..
Cons: Natural tee pads, not sure its really a con because they are fine to throw from. But they can be hard to keep in perfect throwing condition. There is also a bit of a walk between some of the t baskets and the next tee. Probably the biggest detraction for me was not knowing what pin position was being used. It didn't seem like there was any rhyme or reason to it.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to spend a weekend playing disc golf! There is another great course on site here too! be prepared to do lots of walking! There is some fairly intense hiking involved in playing both courses in one trip.. Also if you like camping there are great camping spots, and places to park an RV so you can spend a few days playing. Cabins are also for rent here. We only seen one other group playing here so its not a crowded course at all!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.