Homer, LA 
Lake Claiborne SP - Whitetail Share
Uploaded By: teamudgp Hole #1 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
No flat place in the woods

1    5/17/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: Discbear
Played: 517  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.6 Years
11 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful place to have a disc golf course, or in this case 2. It is so quiet and scenic with just the sounds of nature. If you like to also supplement your disc golf with good exercise, the consistent hills will help you achieve that. The tee signs are great with 2 pads on every hole, blue for long and red for short and I believe 2 basket positions on at least most holes if not all. The red and blue pads can differ by 300 plus feet to please various skill and distance throwing levels. Hole 10 was just epic with a very reachable basket which tapers to a good gap in the trees perhaps 15-20 feet across 40 feet in front of the basket, but woe to the thrower that is too frisky as the waters of Lake Claiborne await perilously close behind the basket. Other holes are within ace range if you can possibly find a line and a great deal of luck.Other baskets can take an average thrower 3 shots to get there and of course 3 more if the trees are unkind which will probably happen to most of us there. So, there is a good mixture of distance and holes that favor forehand for some and backhand for others. If you are over 62 you get into the park to play for free all day. Yippee!!! It was surprisingly easy to keep track of your discs despite all of the trees. Also its a great destination course for the day because there is another fine 18 hole course right on site.
Cons: My disappointment was that when I made arrangements to play here the course was rated no. 8 in the nation with a 4.80 rating, which to me would mean that it is nearly flawless. I stepped to the 1st tee and it was a dirt tee box and I looked around thinking there must be a better tee nearby. There wasn't, just another dirt tee for the shorter red tees. Even the dirt tee wasn't the best. I thought that maybe the other holes would be concrete pads. They were all dirt as were all of the adjacent 18 holes on the other on site course. Needless to say my jaw dropped and although I know I will rock the boat of those who rated this course so high I can say that at least in my opinion this is not a top 10 in the nation course nor should it have a 4.77 rating (it's current rating). Also, virtually every hole is a very tight fairway with a very high % of hitting a tree early on or drifting into the solid lines of trees on both the left and right. Trees are great and necessary but way too many holes that you can't make a shot because if you miss the 1st tree you'll hit the 2nd or 3rd or be in woods right or left. It just gets old to have every shot set up that way. Same on the adjacent course. But, hey we're disc golfers
. We take what we get and shoot the lowest score we can possibly think out manage.

11 of 20 people found this review helpful.


1    4/14/2017   4/26/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 124  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 5.1 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lake Claiborne's Whitetail course is defined by an interesting combination of a tightly wooded environment with near-constant elevation changes. Many otherwise-straightforward shots are jazzed up through different manner of elevation changes from the subtle to the drastic: mid-fairway ridges and dips, uphill and downhill shots, and more varied undulations are all seen. The elevation is a highlight, especially in combination with the thick woods. It can make for some interesting approaches, including contending with the occasional behind-the-basket drop off.

The course does a good job in my estimation of combining technical with fair. Tight windows and lanes abound, but recovery shots are reliably available relative to the thick woods in play. Underbrush is thin enough that discs are easily found should you end up in the rough. Stray branches are kept to a minimum, so hitting your lane cleanly is usually rewarded and unlucky snags are uncommon, a breath of fresh air for such a wooded course as this.

The setting is utterly beautiful. Navigation is greatly aided by signage. Grooming was well done during my visit in April.
Cons: I feel as though Whitetail's design is slightly conservative and repetitive. There are a lot of straight up the gut shots, especially if you have forehand/backhand versatility. The elevation helps mix up the feel but I found myself throwing the same disc on similar, mostly straight lines again and again. Some more drastic line-shaping beyond slight variations on how your disc finishes would go a long way.

There isn't a lot of risk versus reward decision-making owing to holes being pretty straight forward in how they play. A lot of holes have an up and down feel that doesn't get deviated from enough IMHO: so much rides on your shot off the tee, which seems a missed opportunity given the richness of the terrain available. Some of the few longer holes feel more longer for the sake of it than providing a truly distinct par 4/5 feel. That these all occur in a bunch on the back 9 seems odd and feels a bit unwelcome given the moderate intensity of the walk this course provides.

The blue tees occasionally add gratuitous distance and don't otherwise seem to enhance the challenge/experience of the hole. Sometimes the shorter tees seem the more natural fit for the design, whereas at other points it's the opposite. The course experience thus isn't well balanced between both sets of tees.
Other Thoughts: Lake Claiborne is an excellent course. There aren't many in the region with its combination of woods and elevation, and less so that are as well-tended as LC seems to be. That said I didn't find it to be among the best courses I've played. A great course to visit, but not one I'd push to add to your bucket list.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Natural beauty, well-defined fairways, extremely well-maintained

5+    4/11/2017   4/14/2017
Review By: sirbedevere
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find, the course entrance is right by the park entrance
-A ton of elevation throughout, with a dramatic downhill on hole 1 and uphill on 18, a number of tricky rollaway-inducing greens
-The natural tee pads give great traction, even after a bit of rain
-Backhand holes, forehand holes, a couple of tunnels, and one or two that will reward the long bombers, particularly the 1054 ft 16th; very well-rounded course
-Very fair, with achievable golf lines on every hole
-Excellent new Discatchers
-The blue tees are a good deal harder than the reds, which are great for a quicker fun round, especially if you don't have the greatest accuracy off the tee
-Not crowded at all, I have played here solo probably 25-30 times and have had to play through like twice
-Incredibly well-maintained given the relatively low foot-traffic it seems to receive, even when the leaves were falling the tees and paths were always cleared and fallen trees, branches etc. are quickly removed
-This course definitely rewards you if you are having a particularly good day, you can pile up lots of 2's on the front 12 if you hit your lines.
Cons: -A couple of the teepads, the reds on 2 and 8 come to mind, have tree roots sticking up that can disturb your runup
-The lake only really comes into play on 1 hole
-Cell service is sketchy at best and not many people around to hear you scream, try not to break a leg
-Some turf tee pads would definitely bring the place over the top, the existing ones are just as good as concrete ones though and much better in wet weather.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful and well-designed course in a not-particularly-active disc golf region, cool to see that it has broken onto the Top Rated page. Would love to see a pro tour-type event come through here someday.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/17/2017 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Best in Louisiana

5+    4/9/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: jeremyl77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Best course in LA
Elevation like none other in the state
Well maintained
Offers a variety of different shots for different skill levels
Great signage
Navigation is easy
Cons: Needs trash cans
Not cart friendly
Other Thoughts: Would love to see some concrete pads out there, but not a necessity to enjoy this awesome course!

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the universe!

2-4    4/4/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: Egdirreb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that meanders through the entire north side of the state park. Excellent scenery and views are available on every hole. The course has two set s of tees (Blue and Red). The Blue tees require more advanced skill and will test you game, while the Red tees are set up for Amateurs and first time players. Excellent signage with some of the best tee signs I've ever seen. Hole 10 has to be one of the signature holes as you throw down towards the lake. Course is fair at the beginning, but stretches out on the finishing holes which makes it perfect for tournament play. The natural tee pads are a plus since it's in a State Park and helps keep the "nature" feel. You can tell the course is constantly maintained and in good shape. $2 to play, but well worth it. Scorecards provided at entry station.
Cons: none what so ever.
Other Thoughts: Course has another 18 hole course on the property.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Homer's Odyssey

1    9/4/2016   3/28/2017
Review By: bjflash
Played: 918  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good fairways thru well-maintained wooded areas, multiple tees and pin locations. Beautifully crafted course entry sign, and a gorgeous view of the lake on #10's green. Tee signs look great and every hole has a name, which is way more fun than just calling them a number.
Cons: Six months after playing, I don't remember anything negative about this place.
Other Thoughts: I added this to my list of favorites, it's the better of the two at the lake, and both are worth the trip if you are a discgolf traveler!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Southern United States

5+    10/8/2016   3/28/2017
Review By: niklpenny
Played: 55  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: two teepads for every hole
amazing scenery in a state wildlife park
camping and cabins onsite
Course design is phenomal.
Cons: bring toilet paper, cuase its far far away
Other Thoughts: This is hands down one of the best courses in the country, the amount of different shots, elevation change, terrain change, distance of holes, degree of difficulty, and just how beautiful it is be in this area of nature, make this a contender for best course in the country.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/28/2017 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review!

Great Wooded Course!!

1    3/3/2017   3/4/2017
Review By: FlyFish84
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played the long tees here and really enjoyed this beautiful course! I feel like the course makes good use of the elevation and the terrain to make a beautiful destination.. Two tee pads and two pin positions actually make for a more diverse course, and also gives players with less experience the option of a shorter route.. Really nice tee signs on the long tees. There are also arrows for navigation from basket to next tee..
Cons: Natural tee pads, not sure its really a con because they are fine to throw from. But they can be hard to keep in perfect throwing condition. There is also a bit of a walk between some of the t baskets and the next tee. Probably the biggest detraction for me was not knowing what pin position was being used. It didn't seem like there was any rhyme or reason to it.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to spend a weekend playing disc golf! There is another great course on site here too! be prepared to do lots of walking! There is some fairly intense hiking involved in playing both courses in one trip.. Also if you like camping there are great camping spots, and places to park an RV so you can spend a few days playing. Cabins are also for rent here. We only seen one other group playing here so its not a crowded course at all!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Best in Louisiana

2-4    10/23/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: AByrd
Played: 57  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2017
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While there are a couple of opportunities to reach back and let one go, course management skills and accuracy are a requirement to be successful. A varied skill set of shots is needed here. Fairways are tough, but fair. Rough will punish, but not thick enough to be unfair.

Design is similar to that of ball golf courses. Landing areas, dog legs, and water are used to challenge advanced players.

Some of the best use of terrain I have seen on a disc golf course. Holes along ridges, rights of way, downhill shots with water behind the pin, creeks in front of green, and uphill approaches are all encountered at Whitetail.

Aesthetics, in my opinion, are a very important aspect of disc golf design. After experiencing some of the scenic views at Whitetail, you will understand.

Lodging (cabins, improved camping, and primitive camping) is available. Hot showers and restrooms. The park is isolated from traffic, sirens, and trains. Wildlife is abundant. Deer will be seen...and maybe, wild turkey.

An outstanding family vacation destination. Isolated swimming beach, boat launch, fishing, and playground are located in the park.

Easily the best course in Louisiana.






Cons: While natural tee pads are not, in themselves, a con...some were "loose" and could be improved.

Course could be difficult to safely navigate in wet conditions.
Other Thoughts: There are a very few courses where the scenery will force you to stop and absorb the beauty of nature....forgetting about everything....and transcending into an almost "enlightened" state. Lake Claiborne Whitetail and Dogwood are two of those courses.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 12/14/2016 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it

It's SO fun to play!

2-4    11/11/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: eegor
Played: 124  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 21.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As my title says, it's so much fun to play this course, I had to give it the best rating I could. I'd like to give it a 4.75, but I'm rounding up due to the great cabins and beautiful State Park it's in. It doesn't hurt that it has another awesome course on site that has a different character, but is still a "woods only" course.

Elevation changes on almost all of the holes (I think only #2 is completely flat) and trees that force lines that are very fair, but punishing if not hit.

As mentioned before, it's like a "ball golf" course. If you stay in the fairway and hit your lines, a low score can be yours. If you live in the rough, good luck on par. Either way, you'll have fun and admire the beauty of the park.

The on site cabins are great! Full kitchens with dishes and cookware. Full size fridge and stove/oven. Loft bedroom with full bed. Bunkroom that sleeps four. It's all the comforts of home with an awesome patio with a grill and great view. If tent camping is your thing, it's a great place for that too. There were quite a few people doing it that weren't there for disc golf. It's a really nice place to go even if you aren't playing disc golf.

The disc golf is there for all skill levels. Play from the longs is true championship level. The short tees give the casual disc golfer a chance to score well and have a great time doing it. The fairways are fair, and although it's an all wooded course, the holes aren't repetitive at all.

It is a good hike for those that like that. Up and down hills in a beautiful setting. Although there are literally millions of spiders (none that had any interest in us) that was pretty much all you'll see. The insects don't have much of a chance. I don't remember seeing a fly, much less a mosquito. We did see a lot of deer on the course at sunset. If you're also into wildlife viewing, this place will not disappoint you.

Cons: Woods only. No where to let one go that doesn't have to be "on line".

Your cell phone probably won't work in most places in the park. I have AT&T and I could get some reception on the tops of the highest hills only. (I'm not sure this is a negative). The park does have free wifi, but it isn't "fast". This is a place to escape the rest of the world, not a place to work online.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad we chose this park for our "Disc Golf Weekend". Both courses on site are fun to play (Whitetail is the best of the two for fun, Dogwood for exercise). I want to go back, soon. If you go there with friends and/or family, you'll have a good time.

We met the guys that maintain the courses as we played. They're very proud of the courses and it shows. If there's something that can be done (repairing natural tees for instance), there's no doubt that it could happen before the next round round if you let them know. The facility is top notch all around.

Lake Bistineau State park is about 45 minutes away with a more open design and another type of Louisiana beauty of Spanish moss from ball cypress trees.

This is a disc golf destination. Take the time to play the courses twice... at least.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/28/2016 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed the courses.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.