Norwalk, CT 
Oyster Shell Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rplus84 Hole #2 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Bring a sense of humor and your ground game

1    12/29/2020   1/16/2021
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 180  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 3.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:


+ Nine baskets with nine level rubber tees


+ Beautiful views of the harbor and Long Island Sound


Cons:

- The property is the worst setting for a disc golf course that I have yet experienced. It's a narrow wedge of landfill directly bordering I95 on one side, and slanting steeply down to the water on the other side. Because of the constant traffic, a high rise mall and other buildings, this location is a wind tunnel, with gusts threatening any shot higher than 6 feet off the deck will be pushed down into the water below. High risk / little reward



- Minimal signage. Just some posts next to the tees, but all the tees and baskets squeezed onto the narrow property, make the layout confusing


- This is really just a park for casual walkers and exercising dogs that's had a course grafted onto it, so you're throwing across and along walks


Other Thoughts:

~ Somebody worked really hard to create a bad disc golf course in a wind tunnel right next to I95. They took the time to figure out an out-and-back layout, installed baskets and built level tees on steeply-sloping land. Just so people can throw discs into the harbor.



9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great for learning and practice

5+    8/18/2016   8/18/2016
Review By: atompell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2016
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. All Par 3's which is great to learn your mid-range and putting. You barely need to use a driver on this course.

No trees to interfere with shots.
Cons: Course is very windy. Tee boxes are over grown, and hard to find. I had to use an iPhone app to find proper locations. Some areas are very hilly (especially hole 6). Be careful with pedestrians using the park, the course runs through an active park where people jog, walk, and ride their bikes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the freaking tee signs

1    6/18/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, it does have tee pads that have not fallen apart yet.
It does have nice baskets.
Does make use of the hill the course is located on.
Cons: Where are the freaking tee signs, how come there are tees in all directions with no baskets.
I don't think there was a tree on the course. At least one in the way of your throws.
Other Thoughts: there is not much to say about this course.
I only had the address and not the map of the course so I had to play it blind.

As I walked across the bridge, I could see the basket for hole one. I look and I can't remember if I found what I thought was the tee for hole one. Anyways I though up the hill from the bridge. (I never did see the tee marked on the map for this page)

After that, I found what was hole 2's tee and started to figure out the layout somewhat.

Holes 2 and 6 are on the side of the hill. Be carefull, you could loose a disc pretty easy on these holes if you throw it wrong.

Hole 3 was a basic straight level hole with nothing in the way.

Holes 4, 7 and 8 all throw from the edge of the field near the highway. So these holes were basic downhill shots. #8 had what looks like it might be a pond after a rain in front of it. i was fully dry the day I played.

Hole #5 is probably the hardest hole to find without a map. I think there are two tee's for this one. I could not see the basket from the "long" teem, so I threw the short tee as it is marked on the map on this page. it is the shortest hole and I nearly aced it.

Hole 9 is also a big downhill shot, but longer than #5.

In all, I spent more time trying to figure out the layout because the basket nor the tees are marked with hole numbers than I did actually playing the course.

On the other hand, you can make up a variety of holes if this is the closest course to where you live.

I did get to educate some walker on what disc golf was. Who know, they may get some discs and try it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  She's Cold as Ice

2-4    9/5/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: leathj
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting challenges in elevation and wind conditions. Well crafted teeboxes. One of the best courses in the area to practice your mid-range game.
Cons: No signage as of yet. You need to download the map to know where to go, and hole number one is wrong on the map. No. 1 is actually on your right as soon as you cross the bridge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a cold hearted ice queen. She giveth nothing and takes everything. Must the changes in elevation be taken into account on every shot, yes. Will she take you lunch money, your hopes, your dreams, and your disc if you through it two feet into the "rough", absolutely. Will the winds take your disc off of it's so-called line and throw it 100ft off course, you had better believe it. Will this course make you a better disc golfer, undoubtedly.
I'm not going to lie, this is a hard course. However, if you have a weak mid-range game, or if you want some practice in that area, then this is the course for you. Think of it as "hard fun." The course has great views, well made tees, and it's going to take everything you have to make the pin in three. So quit complaining, play the Oyster Shell, and become a better disc golfer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NOT FUN

1    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: frisco3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New course with new baskets and new tees
- Has been recently brush-hogged and the entire course is now more or less clear
- Hole 8's retention pond is now dry
Cons: - Windy
- Terrible layout
- No signage
- Short tee boxes
Other Thoughts: As a resident of Norwalk, I was surprised I hadn't heard of this course until my wife told me about it this week. We took our daughter to play at the park and I managed a quick round today.

It's the worst park I've ever played. I'm a little upset the city of Norwalk spent money and resources to build the course because it's pretty much useless. In the town's official plan for the park, they reference Cranbury Park's successful course as a reason to install one here. It's as if they thought you can put a disc golf course anywhere. The geography here just doesn't work for a course.

The city has considered installing wind turbines in this park. This should give you an idea of the wind conditions. The park is along a river that is close to Long Island Sound and it is also on top of a hill. The wind itself makes the course difficult to play and generally unpleasant.

And then there is the layout of the course. The geography simply does not allow for a course in this park. I don't know if a disc golf player, much less a course designer, was consulted for the layout, but I don't think it would have mattered. I probably couldn't design a better course for this location. It's just a location that shouldn't have a course.

There are no trees on this course. Holes 1, 2, 4, 5 & 6 are all positioned near cliffs. Hole 3 is the only hole around 300 feet, while most holes are in the <200 range. This makes me wonder who this course is for? It's too frustrating for beginners due to the wind, but the short holes and lack of trees makes it boring for experienced players.

The tee boxes are about half the width they should be. Barely room for a cross step drive. Forget about starting off the end of the boxes unless you want to risk a broken ankle.

If there weren't a course map on this site I would have been completely lost. With the map, the holes/tees were easy to find.

I didn't lose any discs and didn't come close to losing any. I didn't enjoy the course, but find myself wanting to return to see if it was really that bad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's extremely convenient, right off the highway and pretty solid in aesthetics. If you can ignore the highway noise, and look in the opposite direction, there are some nice views of the inlet and the harbor and buildings on the other side of the water. The park itself is very attractive and well-kept. There is even a small pond which makes a nice beginner-level carry. That was a pretty cool hole.
Cons: This course is not easy to play. Without a map, it's safari only. There is no logical way to tell which basket to throw at or from where. There are no tees or signs marking where to throw from. With a map, you can estimate a tee zone and at least identify the order to throw the baskets. But it's fairly arbitrary.
It's really a course without an audience. It's way to0 easy for players that have any control. There are no obstacles between tee and basket, (other than occasional walkers) and there is not a lot of distance. OK, there is wind. A lot of it. For new players, well, new players are probably the least able to figure out where to throw from and what order to play the baskets in. Moreover, the wind will make them hate the place, especially as some baskets are close to steep drop offs covered in thick vegetation.
Everything was mowed on my visit but if any of the areas surrounding the basket go unmowed for a while, the course will become absolutely unplayable for all potential players.
And yeah, pretty much all the fairways go directly over or along the walking paths.
Other Thoughts: Still, it looked like someone was building a tee for one of the holes. If that is true and tees go up on all of them, this becomes a much more playable course for rec players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 want to lose ur discs?

2-4    7/25/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Rplus84
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -The baskets look new and unused
-Easy access, next to I-95
-NEW rubber tees on every hole
-The lake on "hole 8" is fairly dry during the summer...
Cons: -Windy
-Holes r not numbered
-Some of the baskets r within feet of water or a cliff making ideal to lose ur discs
-There was tall grass above waist and minor bushes within feet of the baskets making it hard to find the discs if they land there
-The tall grass im talking about is the type u dont want to go to find ur disc... its thick and there might be plants and animals u rather avoid within...
-The condition of the course the day i played is described above... i mean the fairways r cut, but shank it one way and ur disc its gone... the wind can easily take ur disc further
Other Thoughts: Avoid playing at this course... u r guaranteed to lose all of ur discs before u finish..... especially beginners, too many obstacles surrounding the baskets (water, cliff, tall grass)... though if ur a pro this course might be suitable for u...

UPDATE.: i came here today and like the user above said, new rubber tees r being built on every hole... all tees r done... In addition, holes 5 and 7 have two tees... based on where the tees were placed and the downloadable map available in this website, the holes seem to be 150' - 300' long, rather short for disc golf... i posted an updated, more accurate map of how the course runs more or less... i also uploaded new pictures :)
i lost 3 discs in one round, just warning u guys...

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.