Cullman, AL 
Fairview Park Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #13 (Taken 12/2017)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Over The River and Through The Woods

1    12/22/2017   2/23/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.314 Rating) A typical city park course with a few par 4s.
- RECREATIONAL FRIENDLY - The PDGA defines recreational players as those who have played at least 1-2 years, throw 200-300 feet, and can make 4-6/10 putts from 20 feet. Fairview Park definitely fits that billing and your average recreation player should be averaging around even par. There are lots of great opportunities to air a disc out without care for those that max out at 350 feet. Beginning players should enjoy this course too as the fairways are generally forgiving and the odds of losing a disc is very low.
- TEES - Adequate 4 foot by 10 foot concrete tees for most holes and also a few asphalt ones using the walking path. I was unable to locate the tees for (3) and (18), (see cons navigation.)
- CHAINS - DISCatchers that are in great condition.
- MAINTENANCE - The park grounds appear to well maintained. I observed a little trash in the woods, especially around hole (15). The grass was mowed and the overgrowth was limited to just a few holes.
Cons: Other than navigation, the cons listed below are really just a listing of course characteristics that are below the average course out there.
- NAVIGATION - Pretty bad but playable. There is only one directional cue on the entire layout and the course jumps around a bit. There is lots of missing hole signage and I was unable to locate tees (3) and (18). There is no course map on site and nothing online either. Normally in situations like this I'll draw up a schematic one, but with no clue on where (3) and (18) tee are, conducting such a task is fruitless.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Intermediate players and above are not going to be tested by this layout. Shot shaping is limited to just a couple tee shots. The three par 4s are easy birdies for players that can throw at least 350 feet as it will leave them a 150 foot approach without obstacles. I could see advanced players throwing 10-12 down on average out here.
- ELEVATION - A minor factor on only a couple holes. Hole (5) plays across a shallow dry wash and is one of the more interesting plays out here. Hole (10) plays about 15 fee down and is the longest par 3 out here at 420 feet. The rest of the holes change by 10 feet or less.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to the lack of elevation the overall hole variety is below average. A few too many open plays to keep veteran players appeased. There are a couple fully wooded technical plays but they are both sub 250. There are few 500 foot bomb-it par 4s. Water comes into play once on hole (8) and it's the one and only challenging play being 375 feet long and having a well guarded basket location. There really aren't any blind baskets. Hole (6) and (7) I guess could be argued blind, but I don't consider a basket blind if it only requires a five foot walk to the side to see it. Other excluded features are par 5s and dogleg holes.
- CHARACTER - Other than adequate basics, tees and baskets, the amenities and comfort items typical of established courses is lacking. First off, no tee seating and there are a bunch without shading as well. As mentioned above the tee signage is missing in spots. There is only one set of tees and there are no alternate baskets. There is however a practice basket, finishing shelter with tables, and a restroom.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A touch below average. There really aren't any eyesores here, but nothing here will have a player reaching for their camera either. Holes (5-8) and (14) have some moderate appeal to them but the rest of the hole are either average looking or slightly below. There are few building and roads in view along the layout but I've seen much worse.
Other Thoughts: A nice recreational course that should keep most of the local players entertained. This is one of those courses that I wish that I could put a 2.25 rating on it instead of 2.5. Really not much of a reason for players living over an hour away to come here as it has a lot in common with the every typical city park course. There looks to be some opportunity to further develop the woodsy areas, although it does appear to get a touch swampy in there. I'll check this place out again in the next year or so to see if things upgrade.
- TIME PLAY - I finished in just over an hour solo and I was photographing the site. There are however a couple long walks between some holes and solo first timers will likely do 5 to 10 minutes worth of recon. Figure a four sum should play this one in about 2 hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very beginner friendly with lots of walking

1    8/13/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 447  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a well-maintained city park with some elevation and plenty of woods. New Innova baskets and good tee pads. Hole 8 was a real treat. Holes 9 and 17 were also good disc golf holes.
Cons: Way too eazy. Not much challenge unless you are a beginner.

Hole 2 was missing and I couldn't find hole 18's tee pad. So, I just wrote down 3's on these. The wooded holes were very short. The long holes were very open. Very similar to Southside Park in Huntsville.

Long walks throughout the course. Especially the walk to get to and from the 8-13 section of holes. Pond never comes into play. Some shots over the walking paths.
Other Thoughts: Lots of missed opportunities with the design and land available. Maybe as the disc golf community grows and matures, so will this disc golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

5+    8/15/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: ljray13
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A great and fun course to just go out an have fun. Good diversity of shots required and a good mix of distances. A great course for any skill level. Would greatly recommend to anyone who live in the surrounding areas of anyone passing through. Worth the stop and time.
Cons: None to mention, fun course for sure!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fairview Disc golf

5+    12/6/2014   2/6/2015
Review By: s graham
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice open course very well kept. Has a few holes in woods to add a challenge. It helps if you have a great arm to throw the long distances.
Cons: No cons to mention.
Other Thoughts: Well designed course and fun to play. Holes are marked well and it is always a pleasure to be able to play this course.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Simple

1    11/17/2014   11/17/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of positives about this course: great baskets, great signs, long throws, short throws, some technical throws. The course is relatively easy to navigate and begins and ends near the parking lot. The course is on a park so it seemed to be well taken care of. Overall, I think is this a very fun and relatively short course that beginners and intermediates will enjoy.
Cons: This course really isn't very challenging to experienced players and the holes themselves are relatively simple and open for the most part. More importantly there doesn't seem to much in terms of classic or iconic shots to set this course apart from any other. This is pretty much a basic course due to having not much to work with (in terms of landscape in the park). I will say that I think that the developers did a good job in designing a course with what was available on the land provided.
Other Thoughts: Here a few helpful hints for the course:
Make sure you read each sign for the hole because it tells you where the next hole is on the layout, so you know where to walk next. One exception where the layout is wrong is finding hole #6 - after completing hole 5 turn left and hug the wood line until you see #6 going into the woods. Most of this course hugs wood line so if you are walking out into a large empty field you are going the wrong way. Second, the distances on the signs seem to sometimes read longer than they actually are. Finally, the last thing you need to know is that Hole #8 is the best on the course. It is a great 375' hole with water to the left (making this a great hole for those throwing RHBH or LHFH). Make sure to enjoy this hole.

In conclusion, I enjoyed playing this course but do not see myself driving back to it again. I recommend only playing this course if you live nearby or happen to be driving near it (don't go out of your way for it).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/13/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Pbrice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice variety in holes.
Seemed to be well taken care of.
Concrete tee pads (most of them are part of the walking path)
Restroom facilities available.
Some trash cans spread around the course.
Cons: It's a park so you will need to watch for walkers, etc.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. I look forward to playing it again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    1/25/2014   1/26/2014
Review By: hyzerout29
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signs, easy to navigate, good mix of holes from short throwers to long, tight lines to wide open. A lot of room for multiple tees and baskets.
Cons: Very large area, soccer field next to trailer park will be busy on weekend but it's just locals and they stop and let u throw.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.