Sioux Falls, SD 
Tuthill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish   (Taken 6/2010)
Sign at entrance to park



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
What hill? Tuthill.

1    9/3/2017   12/6/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tuthill Park is very nice and well kept, at least on the day I visited. The weather was great, and wind was calm. Perfect disc golf conditions.

I found the course to be far beyond adequate. The concrete tees are very large. More than once I began my run up at the back end and released my drive with enough room to take another step or two. The baskets are serving their purpose very well.

I enjoyed my round, and managed to stay close to par. The layout is not too tough to follow, and it has a couple of really nice holes. Par is 55, and the average player should have a chance to hit that mark. There are some that are wooded, but much of the course is fairly open. Elevation change is found in varying degrees, with a big downhill drive on hole 6. The Big Sioux River is lurking nearby on a few holes.
Cons: Maybe a little bit ho-hum, but makes nice use of the park. Water could take a disc if it gets away from you on the wrong hole.

Printing a map might be helpful, but isn't a must.
Other Thoughts: Tuthill Park is a good quality course. It is not one of my all time favorites, but has many favorable aspects. The park has some nice landscape features including nice mature trees, a bit of elevation change, and the river flowing around one corner.

I shot a 57, two shots over par. Made three birdies, all on the back nine. I got hole 10, and finished strong by making bird on 17 and 18. Unfortunately, I missed a number of putts as well, totaling 5 bogies on the day.

My favorite hole has to be 6, just because it is hard to resist the extra run you gain from an elevated tee. I also liked hole 4, as well as 18, since they both have a higher density of trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Trip to SD

1    7/25/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: Paul Reddick
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: This was one of a couple courses in the Sioux Falls area to choose from. We chose Tuthill and were not disappointed. The course:
-Great use of hills and woods combined with long grassy areas make this course fun and challenging.
-Awesome huge concrete tee boxes
-Very well mowed and maintained fairway with nicely mounted older baskets that caught well.
Cons: -It's a public park so be careful for non golfers.
-Signage could be better. Its nice that hole and distance is noted though.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to throw on our trip to SD. There are actually 3 courses right by each other but if you only have time for 1 you will not be disappointed with Tuthill.

Great Course

1    6/6/2017   7/6/2017
Review By: benny34
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Variety in length and open/wooded
+ Well maintained
+ Big teepads
+ Signature hole 6
+ Maps available at the BP on Cliff Avenue
+ Restrooms/picnic tables available in a couple of spots
+ Pretty scene tucked away from the city
Cons:
- A few holes in the back 9 got repetitive in the open
- Busy park and busy course
- A little more signage could go along ways here
Other Thoughts:
I had a good time at this course. The front 9 was great, the back 9 had some repetition back and forth in the open, but got back on track with the last 3 holes. I really liked the maps that were available at the gas station (I just happened to stop quickly). The park and course were both very busy while I was there. It was a week night and my group had to wait on the teepad multiple times. The course had good flow once you figured out where you were going.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

1    6/21/2017   6/21/2017
Review By: dg_eastbay
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9!
A moderately hilly, nicely wooded course that makes great use of a local multi use park.
The back nine opens up near ball fields with ob in the back by a river. This nine really opens up and gives you big arms a chance to really throw.
Cons: A few tboxs are quit a distance from the previous hole.
Make sure to grab a map...
Other Thoughts: So far traveling the country playing dg, this is up at my 1st or 2nd favorite course played.
I will be back to play if ever life brings me to South Dakota again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

LOVE THIS COURSE!

2-4    5/22/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: has a little bit of everything one could possibly ask for in a disc golf course, but my favorite thing are the HUGE tee pads. even the little holes have them. KILLER.
elevation changes, wide open, tight, bombs, technical, beauty. its all here.
lots of trash cans, very clean, well groomed, big, mature trees, nice trails.
i simply LOVE this course.
Cons: signage is less than perfect, i like that they are red and easy to find, but give me par and proper distances.
the baskets are in decent shape for their age, but quite outdated. they are fine, but definitely should be updated. i will pitch in for a go fund me campaign to make it happen.
Other Thoughts: its an hour from where i live, but it is worth an every other weekend drive to play here and the state park course nearby that is also very good.
this course is really fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tuthill

5+    11/30/2015   12/10/2015
Review By: Katana15
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I really enjoy playing Tuthill. It is not a really long course by any means. If you throw anything close to 400 ft, you probably wont need a driver other than about 3 holes. Everything else easily reachable with a midrange.

Large Tee boxes are a big plus. Gives you plenty of room for an approach.

The other big plus for this course is the variety it provides. You have technical shots, open shots, elevated shots, etc...
Cons: Some of the tees need to be swept. They can get slick.

Baskets are a little rusty.

Grass is only cut when it gets super long. This means you do not get a skips very often which can subtract from you distance and limit your shot selection.

If they would get better, more detailed tee signs, it would really help the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great course. It is the best in the area by a wide margin. I've played numerous courses in the area, and I have played numerous courses in other states as well. This course is still my favorite of all I have played.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely large concrete tee pads. Nice elevatian changes. Variety between tree holes and open holes. Hole distances are shown on post by tee pad.
Cons: Long grass prevents skips. Lack of hole signs. It seems that hole distances are not accurate. Course is by a river. Baskets are really rusty and old. Highly trafficked makes for slow play. (Sioux falls needs more than one course). Poorly marked. Some holes are difficult to find. Some long distances between holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/22/2015   4/22/2015
Review By: Cartograph
Played: 89  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2015
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a nice sized full 18 hole course with plenty to keep you on your toes. the course starts out with a short open and easy first hole then moves quickly into some tight and dangerous holes where you have a good chance of losing your disc. So far i have not lost a disc here yet but it could still happen!
There is lots of vegetation and lots of neat holes with dual pin placement. It also has some elevation to deal with especially on hole 6 where it goes downhill a good distance. It also has some water hazards and big open fairways.
They also have a large map with basket placements and which holes are used for summer only and year round play. Next to the map they have definitions and pointers for new disc golfers as well.
Cons: With a wooded area with a large down hill slope right next to the fairways and holes its easy to lose a disc if you over shoot or throw in the wrong direction.

Other Thoughts: For being the city's only disc golf course this is a really good course not perfect but its really good and i have recommended it to friends of mine in the omaha metro area.
Will definetly be playing this course again in the future!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park Course

1    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 194  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic park course with tall mature trees and acre after acre of mowed grass.

Hole lengths vary from 200' to about 450', along with the monster 627' Hole 6. That was the signature hole for me, as the you drive down the park's sledding hill. You'll want to throw your entire bag here.

Probably the largest concrete teepads that I have encountered in over 100 courses. They were about 20' long and 8' wide.

Very basic 4"x4" sign posts at the tees.

Multiple parking areas that allow you to choose where to start. Restrooms both at the top and bottom of the course, along with ample trash cans.
Cons: While there are plenty of trees and the course is listed as "Moderately Wooded", I was surprised that the trees didn't come into play more. While there were a couple of "technical" holes, most of the holes were relatively open. Even hitting a tree on your drive typically wouldn't deflect you into much trouble.

Long walk from Hole 16 to 17, but there is a good trail to follow.

More descriptive tee signs would be welcome, though most holes are pretty straightforward.
Other Thoughts: A nicely designed and maintained course. I just didn't expect as many open holes, given the number of trees in the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Open

1    6/29/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clear, open, and mowed. I was on a trip and wanted to play disc golf. I bought a couple discs and came here. The course was well laid out, and open. Nothing was extremely challenging, but it was a lot of fun to play. Concrete tees were also a plus.
Cons: The last couple tees were hard to locate. Some baskets were hard to find for a first timer. Tees should say what par the hole is.
Other Thoughts: I will play here again. I loveit, and can't wait to have my full arsenal of discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.