Sioux Falls, SD 
Tuthill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #14 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 436ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Trip to SD

1    7/25/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: Paul Reddick
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: This was one of a couple courses in the Sioux Falls area to choose from. We chose Tuthill and were not disappointed. The course:
-Great use of hills and woods combined with long grassy areas make this course fun and challenging.
-Awesome huge concrete tee boxes
-Very well mowed and maintained fairway with nicely mounted older baskets that caught well.
Cons: -It's a public park so be careful for non golfers.
-Signage could be better. Its nice that hole and distance is noted though.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to throw on our trip to SD. There are actually 3 courses right by each other but if you only have time for 1 you will not be disappointed with Tuthill.

Great Course

1    6/6/2017   7/6/2017
Review By: benny34
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Variety in length and open/wooded
+ Well maintained
+ Big teepads
+ Signature hole 6
+ Maps available at the BP on Cliff Avenue
+ Restrooms/picnic tables available in a couple of spots
+ Pretty scene tucked away from the city
Cons:
- A few holes in the back 9 got repetitive in the open
- Busy park and busy course
- A little more signage could go along ways here
Other Thoughts:
I had a good time at this course. The front 9 was great, the back 9 had some repetition back and forth in the open, but got back on track with the last 3 holes. I really liked the maps that were available at the gas station (I just happened to stop quickly). The park and course were both very busy while I was there. It was a week night and my group had to wait on the teepad multiple times. The course had good flow once you figured out where you were going.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

LOVE THIS COURSE!

2-4    5/22/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: has a little bit of everything one could possibly ask for in a disc golf course, but my favorite thing are the HUGE tee pads. even the little holes have them. KILLER.
elevation changes, wide open, tight, bombs, technical, beauty. its all here.
lots of trash cans, very clean, well groomed, big, mature trees, nice trails.
i simply LOVE this course.
Cons: signage is less than perfect, i like that they are red and easy to find, but give me par and proper distances.
the baskets are in decent shape for their age, but quite outdated. they are fine, but definitely should be updated. i will pitch in for a go fund me campaign to make it happen.
Other Thoughts: its an hour from where i live, but it is worth an every other weekend drive to play here and the state park course nearby that is also very good.
this course is really fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Open

1    6/29/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clear, open, and mowed. I was on a trip and wanted to play disc golf. I bought a couple discs and came here. The course was well laid out, and open. Nothing was extremely challenging, but it was a lot of fun to play. Concrete tees were also a plus.
Cons: The last couple tees were hard to locate. Some baskets were hard to find for a first timer. Tees should say what par the hole is.
Other Thoughts: I will play here again. I loveit, and can't wait to have my full arsenal of discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 In Addition...

2-4    9/2/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: Cavanator
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging yet fair course with a great variety of shots and terrain in a nice setting. Congrats to Sioux Falls for having such an awesome course!
Cons: Tee signs STILL need to be updated.
Difficult to navigate for first-timers or visitors.
A course map posted online in a printable format would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: A couple of hints for first-timers. After hole #15, cross the road to your right to get to the tee for #16. From the #16 basket, follow the trail into the woods to get to the tee for #17. From the basket on #17, head across the street again to get to the tee for #18.

With a little TLC and some upgrades to the signs, this could be a 4.5 course easy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My first SD course, and what a nice one

1    6/11/2010   3/23/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 346  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good intermediate skill level course in a well maintained park with good variety in terms of elevation, woodsiness, and distances. Some water threat on the back nine, but not overwhelmingly so. Big tee pads on most of the holes (looked as though putting them in was an ongoing project). Flows pretty logical for the most part. Gotta love the big, but not so open downhill bomb on hole 6.
Cons: Some navigation issues, namely the walk from 16 to 17, and then crossing the road over to 18. Many of the holes in the bottom section (holes 7-15) are pretty bland compared to the upper section/uphill/downhill holes. Signage was in need of updating as of my visit. Bottom area subject to flooding.
Other Thoughts: Very popular with the locals, so either get here early or expect to do some waiting. I was here in June 2010, when this region was undergoing one of its rainiest seasons on record, and at least at the time of my trip, the lower section, while indeed muddy, was holding the river back. Just off I-229 and definitely worth the stop if you're passing through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    5/16/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: 866999
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers tremendous variety. The top level has trees and goes through woods as well as open. Bottom level much more flat and open. Some long holes and some shorter holes.
Cons: Baskets need to be repainted for better visability. Pads vary from concrete to asphalt to wood mulch. Some baskets damaged during winter flooding
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun course to play and offers great views. Hole 6 is a long downhill down a winter sled hill. Enjoy, it is worth the stop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, definite flaws

1    7/11/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: m1ke
Played: 45  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting landscape flow; course starts at top of hill with lots of elevation change holes, to a long downhill throw and a couple more elevation holes around the foot of the hill, to a bunch of flat holes in the field and around the river, then back up the hill with more elevation play.
-Excellent variety of holes; different degrees of woodedness, different amounts of elevation change, right vs. left, etc.
-Hole 6 is simply amazingly fun and one of my favorite holes anywhere.
-A few early holes have a unique (in my experience) green area of wood covered in astroturf; I assume to keep them from getting muddy
-Handy restrooms in building at bottom of course, around halfway through
Cons: While I enjoyed the landscape flow and there were some excellent individual holes, there are some definite layout problems here. There are at least two holes where after finishing you have to walk back down the fairway you just played- this means extra downtime for any group waiting on players in front of them. There are also long walks between holes in several places, including one really long one.
-Not very good signage. Many of the tee signs gave distances which were clearly wrong. That and only a vague indication of what direction the basket was made the many blind holes more of a pain than they should have been.
-The long walks between holes plus mediocre signage meant navigation was often a problem. Fortunately my wife suggested I take a pic with my phone of the map posted at the beginning of the course, so we were able to muddle our way through.
-A lot of the holes down on the flat section didn't have as much variety as the rest of the course
Other Thoughts: I wavered between a 3.5 and a 4 on this one. The layout issues, signage and first-timers' navigation problems were pretty annoying. However, I certainly did have a lot of fun. There were a bunch of holes that really stood out, and I would recommend the course to anyone, as long as you memorize/photo the course map or have a player with you familiar with the course. Don't let the cons keep you away by any means, just be warned your first trip may be a little difficult.

Really, if the signs were simply updated to show the general layout of the hole and where the next tee was, I'd update my rating to 4 in a heartbeat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    11/21/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 366  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 pin placements per hole.
-Signs and distances on every hole.
-First 5 have "greens" of artificial grass around holes to keep it looking nice.
-Very good mix of long and short holes.
-Need to use a variety of shots to navigate course.
-Hole 6 is 600+ downhill shot into river valley!
-River is used well as hazard on about 5 holes.
-Good variety of elevation changing and flat holes.
-Nice cement tee boxes on first 6 holes.
-7-18 tee boxes are good as long as it isnt wet
Cons: -At times was hard to see which pin location it was at.
-Some distances were wrong for sure, last 9 holes looked to be older than 2001 and were probably changed at that point while the distances remained the same.
-Hard to find 16, 17, 18 after playing first 15.
Other Thoughts: -Nice course, very easy to find.
-Highly recomended to play.
-Gas station across street has small pro shop and beverages/food.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.