Sioux Falls, SD 
Tuthill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish   (Taken 6/2010)
Sign at entrance to park



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
What hill? Tuthill.

1    9/3/2017   12/6/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tuthill Park is very nice and well kept, at least on the day I visited. The weather was great, and wind was calm. Perfect disc golf conditions.

I found the course to be far beyond adequate. The concrete tees are very large. More than once I began my run up at the back end and released my drive with enough room to take another step or two. The baskets are serving their purpose very well.

I enjoyed my round, and managed to stay close to par. The layout is not too tough to follow, and it has a couple of really nice holes. Par is 55, and the average player should have a chance to hit that mark. There are some that are wooded, but much of the course is fairly open. Elevation change is found in varying degrees, with a big downhill drive on hole 6. The Big Sioux River is lurking nearby on a few holes.
Cons: Maybe a little bit ho-hum, but makes nice use of the park. Water could take a disc if it gets away from you on the wrong hole.

Printing a map might be helpful, but isn't a must.
Other Thoughts: Tuthill Park is a good quality course. It is not one of my all time favorites, but has many favorable aspects. The park has some nice landscape features including nice mature trees, a bit of elevation change, and the river flowing around one corner.

I shot a 57, two shots over par. Made three birdies, all on the back nine. I got hole 10, and finished strong by making bird on 17 and 18. Unfortunately, I missed a number of putts as well, totaling 5 bogies on the day.

My favorite hole has to be 6, just because it is hard to resist the extra run you gain from an elevated tee. I also liked hole 4, as well as 18, since they both have a higher density of trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

1    6/21/2017   6/21/2017
Review By: dg_eastbay
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9!
A moderately hilly, nicely wooded course that makes great use of a local multi use park.
The back nine opens up near ball fields with ob in the back by a river. This nine really opens up and gives you big arms a chance to really throw.
Cons: A few tboxs are quit a distance from the previous hole.
Make sure to grab a map...
Other Thoughts: So far traveling the country playing dg, this is up at my 1st or 2nd favorite course played.
I will be back to play if ever life brings me to South Dakota again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tuthill

5+    11/30/2015   12/10/2015
Review By: Katana15
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I really enjoy playing Tuthill. It is not a really long course by any means. If you throw anything close to 400 ft, you probably wont need a driver other than about 3 holes. Everything else easily reachable with a midrange.

Large Tee boxes are a big plus. Gives you plenty of room for an approach.

The other big plus for this course is the variety it provides. You have technical shots, open shots, elevated shots, etc...
Cons: Some of the tees need to be swept. They can get slick.

Baskets are a little rusty.

Grass is only cut when it gets super long. This means you do not get a skips very often which can subtract from you distance and limit your shot selection.

If they would get better, more detailed tee signs, it would really help the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great course. It is the best in the area by a wide margin. I've played numerous courses in the area, and I have played numerous courses in other states as well. This course is still my favorite of all I have played.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/22/2015   4/22/2015
Review By: Cartograph
Played: 89  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2015
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a nice sized full 18 hole course with plenty to keep you on your toes. the course starts out with a short open and easy first hole then moves quickly into some tight and dangerous holes where you have a good chance of losing your disc. So far i have not lost a disc here yet but it could still happen!
There is lots of vegetation and lots of neat holes with dual pin placement. It also has some elevation to deal with especially on hole 6 where it goes downhill a good distance. It also has some water hazards and big open fairways.
They also have a large map with basket placements and which holes are used for summer only and year round play. Next to the map they have definitions and pointers for new disc golfers as well.
Cons: With a wooded area with a large down hill slope right next to the fairways and holes its easy to lose a disc if you over shoot or throw in the wrong direction.

Other Thoughts: For being the city's only disc golf course this is a really good course not perfect but its really good and i have recommended it to friends of mine in the omaha metro area.
Will definetly be playing this course again in the future!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Eastern SD

2-4    5/11/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: SvenM
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good long shots. Fun downhill hole. Next to plenty of shopping and restaurants. Couple tricky shots.
Cons: Quite a few of the holes are the same, flat straight shot.
Other Thoughts: the last 3 holes are a little tricky to find, but help end the course on a good note after quite a few repetitive holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 def worthwhile!

1    6/26/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 33  Reviewed: 32
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: started off a little boring and flat, but turned out to be fairly extraordinary.
following the locals lead, we began on like hole 6 at the lower level parking lot. the holes by the creek are pretty boring and flat. fine, just nothing worth writing about.
there is a creek that didnt come even remotely into play for us, but apparently a great deal of people lose their discs in there.
once the course bumped across the street into the hills and trees, things got very interesting! elevation change was sublime.
there was a 300 foot hole that was only moderately downhill, but it just SLAYED all 3 of us in an impressive manner.
whats more, the top of the world shot was literally one of my all time favorite. there was maybe an 80+ foot fairway, very steep, and the basket was 525 feet down to the right. is rare for top of the world shots to have a "fairway" in my experience, which is maybe why i dont usually like them.
the locals were all very helpful, especially in pointing out how to locate hole 15-16.
Cons: 4-5 holes that were fairly flat and open were less inspiring.
was also fairly crowded, considering we were playing around 8pm, but that strikes me as a tribute to how much fun it is!
Other Thoughts: 4th of 9 courses on week long road trip. clearly, the upper midwest has some fantastic dg courses!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tuthill Park

1    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 98  Reviewed: 30
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very large cement tees (except for #18) and nice baskets
-good variety of shots from straight down hills to open holes, to narrow passages through the woods
-maps at the sign near the entrance to the park
-good use of natural obsticals and distance to make the course challenging and fun to play.
Cons: -At times it is hard to navigate and the walk from 16 to 17 is extremely long (the maps help)
-hole 18 does not really have a tee pad
-9-15 are all pretty open and start to get kind of repedative
-a couple of the holes play along a river which make losing a disc a good possability
Other Thoughts: It was a fun course to play. Mainly lots of variety with many interesting holes. Very good overall course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Out of Towner Loved It

2-4    7/1/2009   7/1/2010
Review By: ColoradoDiscGolfer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: From start to finish this course is constantly changing terrain and elevation. From shooting straight up hill, to straight through a forest, all the way to straight down a sledding hill this course had it all. There is a nice mix of long and short holes as well as the terrain chabges. A nice park is the main area for this course, but the holes are kept to the side.
Cons: Towards fall leaves can build up making it harder to find a buried disc. A river runs along the side near a hole or two, but really shouldn't pose much of a threat. Hard to complain about this course other than there weren't many more in the area.
Other Thoughts: Maybe its a SD thing but a lot of holes are marked Par 4 and even par 5 when they usually were shorter than 400 feet. Kids leaving the parking lot were bragging about shooting 14 and 15 under par, in Colorado at least, under 600 feet and they're all par 3...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

5+    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: vikes_rule84
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of holes
-Consistently upgrading to add challenge
-#6 is one of my favorite holes when pin is at bottom of the hill
-Upkeep is very good
-Multiple pin placements makes for a nice change
Cons: -Practice pin should be at top of hill where #1 tee is, as a lot of people start on #9 and sneak in front of people that started on #1
-On a couple holes the lack of walkways requires backtracking on the fairway you just played
-Can get quite busy, which slows play down
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really nice course, improvements over the last couple years have brought this from a 3.0 rating to a 4.0. The addition of concrete tee pads and tee box location changes on 3, 5, 9, 13, 14, and 16 were key.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Benak56
Played: 47  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scenic and well kept.
- Picnic area and parking is a plus.
- Low, fat, wood signage doesn't get vandalized as frequently.
- Elevation changes and various hole terrain.
- Has its own way of being challenging.
Cons: - Long walk.
- Couple holes are back tracking. Which is annoying.
- Distances are wrong on signs.
- Back is hard to navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. It's always busy because its a great course. Hole #6 is an amazing long shot down the entire hill; although the closest pin placement kind of sucks. This course is well worth several rounds and I have had a lot of fun here. Grab your good sneakers and play here asap!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.