Burnet, TX 
Haley Nelson Park Share
Uploaded By: markmcc Hole #6 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
nice park course, great for beginners

1    12/23/2020   12/28/2020
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of mature trees to shape lines
-nice signs, course map near hole 1
-DGA baskets in good condition
-no underbrush, difficult to lose a disc
-a great course for kids or beginners
Cons: -natural tees are not rutted yet but it looks like they are about to get there soon
-beware the fenced yard on hole 3, it's easy for a beginner to shank a hyzer in there and the fence has barbed wire
-no stand-out holes or memorable shots
Other Thoughts: Haley Nelson Park is a nice, clean area that seems like it doesn't see too many patrons. It's a flat piece of land with many scattered oak trees that give you options for shaping lines off of many tees.

There isn't much to say about this course. It doesn't have any issues but it doesn't really have any strong points either. It is a great place to bring kids or beginners as there is no underbrush and not overly wooded. That said, it's a little on the longer side for a kid's course with the average hole length being 340'. Also beware of the fence on the left side of hole 3's fairway. There is a grouping of trees on the right side fairway so it's easy to push too far left and bring the fence into play.

The natural tees are in good enough condition for now but eventually it will become an issue. A few of them have softer soil that will rut much sooner. The tee signs are good and it's nice having a course map at the start but navigation can still be a bit tough the first time through.

Haley Nelson serves its purpose well but I imagine most players will be more attracted to the Galloway Hammond course down the street. That said, this is a quick stop and you might as well check out both courses in Burnet if you have the time.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course in Burnett

1    9/25/2018   9/25/2018
Review By: Vergildabbs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to home. Well kept up. Has bathrooms Not very busy. The wife and I live close by we will be back to this hidden gem. I highly recommend this to anyone. Good time
Cons: Couldn't find 7th basket.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed playing here good time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole course

1    3/6/2018   3/8/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 982  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee signs on all the holes
Course map at hole 1
long course though a nice grove of trees
Cons: dirt tee pads (some have crushed granite)
Other Thoughts: Not sure why I had a hard time finding this course, the street is missing it's sign and I flat out missed the park sign and didn't even notice it till we were leaving.

The course is actually a nice 9 hole course. Most of the holes had more length than you normally would for a small town course. While the course is not a tight wooded course, it makes good use of lines and fairways between the trees in this grove area.

Would I play here again?

Well, if I only had time for 9 holes, in the area, and not have enough time to play the 18 hole course 2 miles away, yes I would play here again.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Hidden Gem

5+    2/8/2014   2/8/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great 9-hole park-type course. There are plenty of large, mature trees and mowed grass, with little brush or scrub.

There are nine well designed holes on this course. Most holes require shaping a drive around or through trees, with few straight shots to the basket. Several holes favor a left-to-right shot, while others require right-to-left.

Holes 5, 7, 8, and 9 give you an opportunity to air it out a little, but never without the need to work your drive around some trees.

The height of the trees takes away most overhand shots. Rollers work well on a couple of holes.

While there is not a lot of elevation change, there is a shallow drainage swale splitting the course in half. This modest (10') elevation change adds interest to several holes.

There is a huge paved parking lot. A large mowed field next to the parking lot is a great place for practicing drives. At least 500 - 600 feet available.

Excellent course map near Hole 1, and good tee signs at each tee. A practice basket is located just across the entrance road from the Hole 1 basket.
Cons: The gravel teepads suffer from the usual issue of getting extended further and further toward the basket. With no defined front edge it is difficult to determine exactly where the front of the tee is.

A couple of the holes have so many trees that luck becomes a factor. Hole 6 has a wall of trees about halfway down the fairway, and the basket for Hole 8 is surrounded by trees. This makes the drive on Hole 6 and the second shot on Hole 8 a real toss-up as far as getting to the basket cleanly.

Several of the baskets are mounted at least 6" low. Also many are loose in the ground and are leaning a bit.

There is a large restroom on the far side of the parking lot, but I've never found it open. Also no water on the course.

Other Thoughts: I've played this course dozens of times, and generally have it to myself. Occasionally I've seen a small group of local guys getting ready for a round.

There are picnic tables scattered through the course, and rarely I've had to skip a hole when a non-golfer was using a table near a basket.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.