Seatac, WA 
Seatac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #14 (Taken 8/2019)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Very satisfying and fun course

1    3/15/2022   3/16/2022
Review By: play4fun
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 46.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Beautiful setting, weaving in and out of the forest, shade/rain cover
* Course design, fun challenges
* Clean and well-kept
* All concrete tees
* Very good signage
Cons: * Can be a long walk
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course. No elevations, but nice obstacle shots through the forest. Except for a couple, there weren't any tunnel shots, per se, but plenty of bark to smack your disc with. With only UDisc in hand, it was difficult to see the baskets at times. However, the signage was great in that it at least showed the pin position. This has 27 holes, but I played only 18. I really do not see the point in playing a bonus 9, but regardless, this post-covid body that gets energy and strength drained in 18 or a lot sooner could handle only 18.

As I said, the signage is very good. Colored maps with the different pin positions and a marker as to which pin position the basket is in. Often on the sign, it shows where you can expect the next tee to be. I do recommend UDisc, but after you get used to the course, you can tell by the paths in the grass where the next tee probably is. It would be even better playing with a local to tell you exactly where the basket is and recommend a good line for your drive. More than a few times I was just throwing blindly, guessing where the basket might be.

The several layouts are in UDisc. One of the 18 layouts starts on hole #6, that's not a mistake. There is another parking lot by #6, which is why it starts there, I'm pretty sure.

No water hazards, just plenty of bark. And occasional thorny blackberry bush. I would play with very bright colors. The vegetation ground cover is ideal for hiding discs. So are the trees and bushes.

Benches on some of the tees. No water fountains that I could see. I don't recall any restrooms or port-a-potties. Tees are concrete, a wee bit narrow, but definitely OK. I think these are Mach 5 baskets by DGA.

Very enjoyable and satisfying course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Marathon of a course

2-4    8/12/2021   1/13/2022
Review By: PHDParrot
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course! Rather difficult relative to par but no truly crazy holes. Good variety. Well planned course with plenty of unique, enjoyable holes. Don't skip out on the extra nine because the par 4s are the best holes on the course.
Cons: I really don't like the design of hole 16, and hole 27 just being an easy ace run to finish out is kind of an eyeroll for me.
Other Thoughts: This is a marathon of a course. You can make a day out of one round if you're in a group. Plays through a mostly wooded area behind some softball fields. Lots of planes flying overhead.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A well planned course

1    8/16/2021   8/16/2021
Review By: Front Row
Played: 56  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 32.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2021
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seatac is an urban course with multiple entry points but most will use the large parking lot. I counted four warm up baskets which is nice on crowded days. An informative bulletin board with a solid map is displayed next to drive 1. Concrete tees with good signs indicate distance and par on all drives. Most tees had benches behind the tee. Much of this course is heavily wooded which requires good skills shots thrown for long distances. The 500 foot throws are not on an open field but have many wooden obstacles requiring thought and strategy. The baskets were all in good shape. Much of the fairway is low grass that is kept short by heavy use. Most errant throws can be found quickly but some fairways have heavy vegetation that could swallow up a disc. The course aesthetics is good with a memorable basket at 27. The length of the course is satiating and playing twice could be taxing for many. Players of various skills will enjoy this course but the stingy pars will create strong challenges for most players. A total score of even would be worth celebrating.
Cons: I found few problems with this course. Some might take issue with the lack of elevation change on this course, but the distance and tight fairways on some drives keeps this course interesting. Signs indicated that baskets could be in either A,B or C position but there was no mark on the sign as to which pin the basket was in on the day I played. Sometimes this added to the frustration of finding the basket that could not be seen from the tee. Vines and bushes containing thorns are flanking some fairways and will add to the woe of an errant shot. The pedestrian walkway will have onlookers and occasional children straying onto course. Far worse, are the vagabonds who camp out near or in the fairway and will not move when requested. Lastly, planes fly over this course regularly and loudly as they approach a nearby airport.
Other Thoughts: This course was made difficult by the slender pars. I thought a few drives that were over four hundred feet deserved a par of four rather than three. However, others will argue that this will push players to elevate their game. If visiting the Seattle area, this course should be on the short list to play. I really enjoyed playing and would have played more that once if time allowed.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


1    9/24/2020   9/24/2020
Review By: Breh
Played: 185  Reviewed: 183  Exp: 12 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When arriving to SeaTac there's a huge parking lot. There's also a giant kiosk board with the course map on it as well as a few practice baskets around to warm up on. There's multiple pin placements which are very well marked showing you where the pin is currently located at. This is a 27 hole course that is an all day disc golf adventure. Most holes sit at over 300 feet giving you plenty of chances to test out the new drivers. The layout flows pretty nice and navigation is fairly simple besides one spot. Good mix of hole designs and tree use. Some cool pin placements including the short hole 27 elevated up in the rocks. I actually really enjoyed this course, and think it's an incredible tournament course. I wouldn't want to ever play here alone though as it's pretty grueling doing the entire 27. Good cart course, with nice benches, clean fairways and great course to test your game and endurance.
Cons: One spot is tricky to navigate I think it's 5 to 6 follow the path and stay left. The back holes 20-25 are pretty repetitive par 4s. It's not that fun to play a straight string of par 4s after just throwing 18 holes. No real iconic type shots and SeaTac is fairly flat for the most part with some minor elevation change.
Other Thoughts: It's located right next to the airport so it's kinda weird having planes fly right over your head, and getting use to the plane noises.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Seatac in the Sunshine

1    8/29/2018   11/17/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 511  Reviewed: 396  Exp: 19 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Seatac DGC is in a really nice park, mostly grassy fairways that work with moderately wooded grounds to create holes that are neither too easy or too hard. The tree canopy will frequently require drives to be close to the line without a lot of altitude in order to stay out of the rough while getting the distance required to get pars and birdies. There are a handful of short holes of 280' and under, as well as six par 4's in the final eleven. A few long par 3's along the way also that can be tough. To score well here you will require consistent accuracy off the tee, and ability to make approach shots that can give you makable putts. It sounds obvious, but there is not a lot of room for error on most of these holes, and recovery shots from the rough will make things tough if you are getting knocked down or deflected by trees all day.

The concrete pads are good enough, and so are the baskets. The layout is easy to follow and the locations of the pins were set intuitively, so you have a good idea of where to throw if you can't spot your target from the tee.

Some places have thick rough, and there is a bit of risk of losing a disc or reaching into a thorny mess to get it back. I like a course that has some teeth, but it may be a little much for the inexperienced player.

A few of the holes were in heavier woods with ground that is bare, but mud was not an issue at the time. No serious water in play.
Cons: Constant airplane traffic coming into the nearby airport is overhead. Also some other park users occasionally wander near holes walking dogs or jogging.

The park is largely flat, and variety of holes doesn't use many turns in the fairways, forcing throws that curve to the left or right very often. It's a good course, though it lacks some interest that come from elevation change or having to make a lot of different throws.
Other Thoughts: I arrived at Seatac DGC on a gorgeous summer day, perfect for disc golfing. Sunny, 80 degrees with a slight breeze. This was day 4 of a long road trip from Kansas across the Rocky Mountains, looping around the Pacific northwest and back. Started the morning at Farragut State Park in Idaho, and was eager to stretch my legs after reaching the western longitudes of Washington.

Seatac proved to be a classic style course in a nice city park with a new array of vegetation compared to what I am used to seeing at home. Not the majestic forrests and mountains I had envisioned perhaps, but a good location to fit in to a limited travel schedule and without getting mired in bumper to bumper traffic for too long.

My scorecard was not pretty at the end, but it was an enjoyable round, and the course was not crowded at the time. Glad I played it, and would like to return to the area to do a little more exploring. I shot 100 on the nose, 13 over par for the 27 holes. My short game is what hurt me, 15 two putt bogeys vs. only 2 birdies. A score nearer to par is not impossible, especially if you can capitalize on the stretch of par 4 holes on the final nine. With familiarity and a hot putter I know I could do much better.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but not a lot of variety

1    7/29/2018   9/24/2018
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 50  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes, most of which are densely wooded. As a Midwesterner I don't get a lot of opportunities to play woodland courses, so I appreciated the difference in course style. The fairways were very well-maintained and the rough was very rough which creates a fair but challenging round. Teepads and baskets were in great shape. I enjoyed checking out all the different trees and plant-life that Seattle in general, and this course in particular, have to offer. The natural beauty of the Pacific Northwest is truly unique.
Cons: Not a lot of memorable holes and most of them played roughly the same: straightforward hyzerflip off the tee. The lack of elevation changes really hurts this course's ability to be special. Also, the locals seemed to ignore typical disc golf etiquette. A few examples: slow groups didn't let faster groups play through; players threw multiple teeshots even though the course was busy; players bounced around and played holes out of order; groups started on random holes rather than on 1. This added up to make a slow round even slower and really detracted from the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Much of the enjoyment I got out of my round was due to Seatac being really different from my hometown tracks. However, the flat layout didn't have enough variety for me to consider this a great course. I pobably will find somewhere else to play if I visit Seattle again.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, diverse and very pretty

1    4/30/2018   5/1/2018
Review By: Moose33
Played: 121  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was expecting a fair bit after reading the reviews and I have to say expectations were met when it came to Seatac.

Its a large multi use park with baseball fields a cricket pitch and meandering walking trails.

The course starts at the back of the parking lot on the left, and there is a big, accurate map that I would recommend snapping(or scan the qr code). Not that it's hard to follow, it's not really but there are a couple of spots where paths cross.

The holes are mainly wooded, but not super hard to navigate. It did make me regret that I opted to bring a Volt(straight to fade) instead on a S curve driver like a Stag or Eagle. And the lush green grass and beatufiful evergreen trees right in a residential area very cool.

I'm fact I think due to some leftover foundations that the park probably used to be some residential blocks. Some of the concrete areas come into play but are more of a fun addition than a real obstacle.

The baskets caught well and most had some green tape pointing the way to the next basket. I think Mach X, could have been some older ones mixed in. There are also good benches on many holes.

I really like the shot array and the mix of long shots, up to 550 and some short ace runs in the low 200s and the trees and such make it a very fun play.

Tons of wildlife too, we saw dozens of rabbits and birds that seemed used to dodging discs.

I like the course a lot and would gladly play again.
Cons: A couple tricky spots navigating, and no real elevation changes.

A couple of signs are missing and there is a ton of tagging that detracts from the feel of this very pretty course.
Other Thoughts: I rally had a good time, it's a pretty course and very diverse one as well.

And I know what SeaTac stands for, but to me it will always mean See the great shot shaping perfectly from your hand, the hear the Tac of the disc hitting a tree short of where you're aiming.

It seems well maintained and has a good design overall.

Would gladly recommend to play to anyone in the area.

27 great holes!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome park, hard course

1    10/29/2017   10/30/2017
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 93  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2018
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tees are high quality concrete and are sized appropriately
-Tee signs are very nice and also helpful
-Baskets are nice quality, Mach X for the most part, a few Mach V (I think) sprinkled throughout the course.
-The Fairways are amazing, I love the woods with a grass fairway, it looks really good, and is easy to locate your disc in.
-This is a very flat course, but the occasional mound or hill is always used as a part of the course, Hole 20 in particular.
-This is a very wooded course, so the trees come into play a lot, and when they do it is great. That being said, there are some 500ish' holes out there, and those have trees on the sides or maybe one or two in the middle to let you rip one out there.
-Paths are worn down to perfection, you can pretty much just follow the paths to the next tee.
-While there is the occasional graffiti artwork on benches, this course has a good vibe, which is mostly derived from the beauty of the course.
-Almost (if not all) holes have benches at the tee.
-Wide variety of shots here, and millions of unique situations to get into, I had to throw a roller (I never throw rollers).
-This course gets a 4/4 on the new Shoe Index, unless you come here on a rainy day and jump around in the mud, your shoes will be clean.
Cons: -Baskets are sometimes really difficult to see, and at times not completely clear.
-The roughs are brutal, if you are on the edge, it's all good, but if you go deeper than 3 feet, kiss that disc goodbye.
-As this is a long course, in a big park, there are a few hang-ups with Navigation, if you want to split the course up, it is hard to do so without a really long walk back to the parking lot.
-This course isn't beginner friendly, many holes are too long for beginners, but, they could be a good thing for some people, I can't really decide if it's a pro or con, I can throw like 330' so I'm OK with long holes
Other Thoughts: If you are made uncomfortable by loud noises from planes or loud noises in general, you should probably not go to this course, it is probably 10miles north of the International airport.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Seatac the monster

1    2/12/2016   7/27/2016
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long challenging 27 holes. You will need every type of throw you can imagine. Most holes have a distinct challenge for your first throw. Example would be a 12 ft wide gap in the brush/trees/shrubs that you will need to throw thru or get close to on your first throw. Technical to the extreme.
Cons: It would be nice if you could have a pathway to the parking lot on the north side when you finish 18. Need maps! Need signs!
No trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Rained hard the whole 27 when I played. I need to give it another try. Most of my playing buds said this was an awesome course and very hard. I'd say hard and okay.
There is a parking lot on the south side near what might have been the original hole 1....sure wish there was bulletin boards and maps.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Thank you sir, may I have another!

5+    9/23/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: Tim_the_Enchanter
Played: 180  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is long and challenging, and routinely frustrates me, but I keep coming back for more. While punishing, the holes are generally fair. It definitely helps to have a big arm here, but most shots have a low ceiling so there isn't much opportunity for big bomber drives. It's all about placement here--throwing too far can land you in trouble on a lot of holes.

The redesign with the new holes is definitely an improvement. In addition to having new holes, there is also a great warmup area with 3 baskets spaced far enough apart to practice approach shots, plus a 4th practice basket for putting. It also makes use of a huge parking lot, where in the original design, there was only a tiny parking lot or street parking (where break-ins were a real possibility). Also, I'm a big fan of the Mach x baskets that are used on the new holes--I just wish ALL the holes had them.

Being a large park with 27 holes, you can have a much more private round than other courses in the area, which is a big plus. The park is well used by dog walkers and such, but its rare to have anyone in the way.
Cons: Probably the biggest con for me is the blackberries. Since the course used to be a neighborhood, the spaces that once were yards have been reclaimed by blackberries. The fairways stay clean for the most part (though you still need to keep an eye out), but the rough can be absolutely brutal if things go wrong.

There isn't a whole lot of signage here, mainly due to vandals in nighttime hours. Not a huge deal though, because most baskets are marked with a "next tee" arrow, or at least a piece of tape on the spokes showing the approximate direction.

Lack of alternate pins. Some of the new holes have multiple pin placements, but the majority of holes only have one. I would like to see more variety as the course kind of gets stale. Also, for many holes, for the average powered RHBH golfer, the same basic shot is the best option off the tee (low fast hyzerflip).

Most holes play fairly, but hole 19 is an exception. There is no defined fairway, so every time playing it is a gamble. There are approaches that have better odds than others, but there's no such thing as "playing it safe."

I may be in the minority, but I'm not a big fan of the finishing holes, 26 and 27. They are fair, but they are short and easy, I feel upset if I don't get 2s on both of them. After a course with challenging par 3s and 4s, ending on a couple pitch and putt ace runs feels out of character. I would rather have seen maybe 6 or 7 challenging holes added instead of trying to shoehorn in 9 holes and having the resulting dinkers.

Other minor quibbles:
--Mixed basket types--most are perfectly fine, but I don't like the homemade "Cool Shoez" baskets, they don't catch as well as name brand ones, and they are nubless which can make for "fun" comebackers.
--Some issues with garbage. Golfers are pretty good about packing out their trash, but after hours teenagers and homeless, not so much.
--The noise of the jets. You get used to it pretty quickly, but it can be a distraction. It's much better on days when they're landing instead of taking off.
Other Thoughts: This is technically my home course now, and I spend the most time there out of any courses in the area. It's definitely improved since Keith and Chainbangers took over--not only with the addition of the 9 new holes, but with maintenance overall. It used to be that the course would become nearly unplayable in the summer due to overgrown grass, but it is now a treat year round.

Being an urban park, with a sketchy nightlife, the course can never have some of the creature comforts that top rated courses have, like nice teesigns and immaculate benches. That being said, there are still a good amount of benches to be had, and though they're covered in graffiti, they still function well.

I wish that the course had the opportunity to put in a second set of tees, but I don't see that realistically happening due to spacial constraints. I do hope that more alternate placements can be added in the future though, there is certainly potential land to be used for that on some holes. It would make an already great course even better.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.