Tylersport, PA 
Salford Township Community Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
If You Go Out In The Woods Alone!

1    5/1/2018   5/1/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1409  Reviewed: 1356  Exp: 41.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Salford Township Community Park DIsc Golf Course (will be called TSTCPDGC from hence forth) is a fairly rustic excuse for a disc golf course. TSTCPDGC actually starts out behind the post office and beyond the small children's play area. Out back there you will find a building called the barn. There is actually a large parking lot back there. I don't believe this course will ever need that parking.

There is little sign of the course. There are no signs. The tee pads are two small rubber mats if you can find locate them. The baskets are older Mach I models. The on-line map is a little sketchy and difficult to follow. I figured out most of it by the Braille system.

# 1 starts up by the basket and plays about 140' to the basket over near the barn. # 2 is a big anhyser shot around the bushes to a basket down in the corner. # 3 then plays straight into the woods which are clear.y marked "No trespassing." They obviously had some kind of a haunted house down in these spooky ole woods as there are all types of ghoulish remnants down here. # 4 is a hyser down the path to a basket which was set in standing water. # 5 is a hyser up and around the wooded area. Someone # 6 plays to one of the two baskets up on the lawn. Then # 7 plays to the basket which sits behind the little shed. # 8 then routes you on an impossible anhyser to the basket back on the lawn. And then # 9 plays across the field to the basket back where you started ions ago.

I might be the first human to set foot on this haloed ground since Clinton was president. There doesn't appear to be wide spread interest in TSTCPDGC.
Cons: There might be a few Cons.

Crummy little tee pads which are hard to locate.

No signage.

On-line map is difficult.

Design is pretty basic.

Wet areas in the woods.

Dismembered body parts left over from Halloween.

Ghouls and zombies wandering the woods after dark.
Other Thoughts: I believe TSTCODGC is a sinking ship. I can't imagine ever playing here. There is no evidence of any recent play. It's a little bit eerie being down in the woods around all the Halloween ghoulishness. I don't think I would like to be trying to finish up a round as darkness falls. Some dude might come out of woods with a chain saw. That might be an idea for a movie starring Jennifer Love Hewitt called the The Salford Township Community Park Disc Golf Chainsaw Murders.

Do you know what I love about Jennifer Love Hewitt?

Answer: Her hewitts.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing course

1    4/21/2018   4/21/2018
Review By: Nfauce
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Playground nearby for kids
-If you have a map it's not terribly hard to figure out
Map can be found at... https://www.pdga.com/files/co...rd_PA_Map.jpg
-Baskets are numbered
-Small variety of shots w/ doglegs and trees and whatnot
Cons: -Tees are absolutely awful. Two small rubber pads, most now are overgrown and barely noticeable.
-Tees aren't numbered and have no signage, so it's hard to know where you're throwing or how far it is
-Fairways are gravel for the most part, so it's a good way to scratch up your discs
-Very confusing without a map, starting at hole 1...couldn't even find the tee
-tried to putt hole 1 and the disc went straight through the chains and bounced off the pole. The chains were so old and rusted that they didn't do any catching of the disc
-overgrown in spots that made shooting the hole correctly difficult to impossible
Other Thoughts: All in all it was a dissappointing. Spent time walking around to figure out where the tees were and the course started before I finally looked it up online. The little box kiosk before the playground had nothing but old worn out papers, nothing to help you figure the course out. I could tell it hadn't been properly maintained in awhile, except mowed maybe. Could be fun if they could get better tees and have signs and cut down the overgrowth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

More for Suburban Exploration, Less for DG

5+    11/19/2018   10/9/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2019
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
There isn't much to recommend this place over nearby ones, but for a small footprint, it packs a sizeable length course of around 2000'.

For the beginner crowd, it's all flat terrain. There's an open grass portion in both the beginning and very end. #3-8 is in forest with tight curvy fairways. It will also be completely empty of both players and park patrons unless the Fire Station is celebrating something.

The open hole portion is on a 360' long x 200' wide field with a small mound in middle and for field practice it might do even if not exactly optimal.
Cons:
Unfortunately, the biggest problem is the atmosphere. Everything about this course just screams neglect. This course was already panned after its opening in 2004 and it's only gotten worse since then. Old pictures show calisthenics equipment and a walking bridge, but that's all gone. I'm honestly surprised they left the baskets alone.

Half the course is cluttered with NO TRESPASSING signs while ominous sheds and cheesy halloween props are languishing in the woods. PA being as gun happy as it is, the warnings weren't something I wanted to outright ignore. So I played maybe three holes before shoving off. Only by the third visit, did I connect the dots and realize that the signs were just additional spook factor for the Halloween Ride. Sadly, it haunts the place year round.

There are no course maps nor tee signs onsite. It's pretty confusing what to do. Look at the online map before heading here.

All the Baskets are old DGA, at least their poles have all the correct numbers on them and tees are no more than 20-30 feet from the last basket. Teepads are just two small black rubber mat tiles and sometimes under encroaching bushes (#3, 7, & 9). Barely enough to stand on. Tee 1 went missing, it used to be a few feet right of basket 9.

Another problem is the forest paths double are fairways. Did they bother to think if another person might happen to be walking on them. Stupid and unsafe.

#7 is just a dumb, impossible 105 degree dog-leg without purpose for this skill level.

Better, happier courses for beginners are nearby. Come here for a one-time suburban exploration if you want to see Halloween gags in summer.
Other Thoughts:
Starting Point: Park on the spaces provided by Post Office on 139 Ridge Road. Walk past the playground and the first basket you will encounter is #9. Tee#1 is gone but the grass still has an outline beside it, located at 40.350939, -75.384572 (google maps).

Amenities: Portapotty by playground shed. No water fountains seen. Old review talk about disc rental at front building?

Course Layout: RHBH POV. About 2000' length, most holes seem about 180-250'. #1-6 go in a overall counter-clockwise loop, #7-8-9 is a smaller clockwise forest loop inside that. A few hyzer and anhyzer tee-offs. Basket #9 stops at Tee 1.

When teeing off for #3, you might mistake #8 basket in the field as the goal, but the hole goes into the woods behind it, on the right-handed path.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for 1 round

2-4    7/10/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I was unsure if this course still exsisted seeing no one has reviewed this in over 3 years. So I figured I would write a quick review. Its a ok course 1 time around in hopes you don't lose a disc.
Cons: I was unable to find the 1st, and 4th tee pad. The 7th and 9th tee pad are super hard to find because they are under overgrown grass.
Other Thoughts: The first and second hole gives the impression that this will be a super easy course, but once you move into the woods its everyman for themselves.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home of the Haunted Bangsheds

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 baskets in decent shape.

Some woods holes, a few open holes, and a few ace runs

Porto Potty available.
Cons: ridiculous tee pads. 2 small squares totaling about 1.5'x3'. One tee pad was buried in high grass.

Random posts with numbers that have nothing to do with the course.

No signage or navigational aids.
Other Thoughts: Course seems like it would be fun when all of the halloween decorations are out. There are lots of buildingson the course and remains of old halloween decorations scattered through out the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic Community Pitch n' Putt

1    10/11/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Salford Township Community Park is easily accessible from the major transportation routes in the area, most notably, PA-309 and PA-563. The baskets at the park are in great shape. Additionally, the open area of the park is maintained very well. There is a fairly even split between open and wooded holes and a few doglegs as well.
Cons: SAFETY! As often happens in these community parks, a disc golf course is a nice perk that just adds to the amenities of a park. Unfortunately, little thought goes into the logistics of the game and fairways are situated far too close to or directly on walking paths, frequently-used park features, or playgrounds.

Zero signage. While the course is extremely short and the baskets are easy to spot, the 1' x 2' tees (consisting of two 12" pavers) were difficult to locate. Moreover, there are no distances published (called the township and they're not sure either) so all your throws are calculated guesses.

The layout of hole 7 made very little sense and didn't really have any type of throwing lane. The course was almost completely flat with no real elevation change on any hole.

Additionally, the wooded holes were cluttered with junk, trash, and what appeared to be Halloween buildings from years past, taking the overall experience down a peg.
Other Thoughts: Make sure that you have your expectations set before you play this course. For the serious disc golfer, this course is not a destination play and will leave you squarely disappointed. If you're a senior, someone playing DG for the first time, or a child, then this course will give you enough of an introduction to work on the basics before trying a more well rounded and professional course in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Average Local Course

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its Free, Nice baskets, wide open as not many people play it, some woods, some open shots...overall average 9 hole municipal course
Cons: Poorly marked holes & tees, definately print the map as the baskets and tees aren't marked at all. Small tees (2 12x12 tiles) and some tees are overgrown or loose
Other Thoughts: The assn or some regular players should help fix/improved the tees

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth playing

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 114  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holes with baskets in good shape, probably best aspect of course
Cons: Tees and baskets not marked; tees are like two shingles laid down in grass, not hard to find but hard to throw off of. Hill could have been utilized. Holes in woods tight and hard with growth. No trespassing signs are up for some reason, oh well.
Other Thoughts: Only played because I was in the area. I wouldn't recommend it even if you could walk there.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Weird Pennsylvania

2-4    1/19/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 299  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course with some interesting shot variety. Right turning, left turning, S-shaped and straight away fairways. About half open, half wooded holes, little bit of elevation change, but nothing dramatic. A variety of different drives was required.
Park was quiet and pleasant to be in.
Cons: Teepads are smallest I have played yet. Assembled from 2 tiles, they were hard to find and not very fun to throw from. I'm wondering why the time an bit more expense wasn't taken to expand them to say, 6 tiles? Tees are unmarked which added to the difficulty navigating the course. Without a map I would have been lost.
Basket 8 is right there on the edge of 3's fairway and at first glance (and after the first 2 short open holes) seems the likely target, which added to the confusion.
My biggest gripe was the wooded holes simply used walking trails as fairways. One of my least favorite things to see/play. Not much course design.
Other Thoughts: The courses saving grace had really nothing to do with the course. It seems the wooded part was used for a Haunted Woods this past fall and the remnants are still on the walking trails used for the course (as of January 2010) Large strangely painted displays with fake blood and gory mannequins scattered about. The best was a large 8ft wooden cube that had 666 painted on the sides and an open door facing, yes, hole 6's tee. Placed just off the fairway, it seemed a likely place to throw a wayward drive. The whole thing gave me a Weird Pennsylvania vibe and kept me at the course for a 2nd round. I kinda want to go back with my camera..
Salford is just off 476 and can be played as part of a 5 course string of 9 holers going up and down 476. Unami Creek to the North and Branchwood right nearby are both a lot of fun to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/17/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: sportsguy1291
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, compact course. Good for a quick play, or someone learning the sport.
Cons: ohhh boy. The course is so short, me and a few other guys go play every sunday morning before church. with ten of us, it only takes about an hour. The holes are confusing for first timers or someone who would drive in looking to play. It is not something that is recommended for someone who can throw over 300 because the longest hole is about 290. Discs are not hard to find, so losing one is rare. If you do happen to lose one, let me know, im there at least once a week.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun, and can be played forward and backward (once learned). There used to be maps in the office building in the parking lot, but i dont think there are any more. I would play this course any way you like. see a hole and throw to it. its a great way to have fun, learn to throw a different way, or even teach someone the game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.