Lake Geneva, WI 
White River DGC Share
Uploaded By: tangerinewarehouse Hole #11 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Liquid Solid Design Park Golf

1    7/25/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 90  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: Scenic beauty through a nice secluded park
The water hazards are the most challenging aspect of this course
Two sets of tees offers good diversity of challenge
You can really air it out in most areas
A few cool elevation changes
Nice signs, garbage cans and good shape baskets
Nice multi-use area next to skate park
Nice design and use of landscape to make things interesting
Good tee pads too
Cons: Long walks between holes
Some shots can get slightly repetitive park golf open shots
A lot of very soggy areas (un-playable) but it did rain a lot recently so this might not be normal
Some things could be done like elevated baskets or mando
Other Thoughts: This is a nice scenic course which is a very long course so if you like to air it out this is the course for you. The main theme is the White river which winds through and divides the course in half basically. This adds to some flooding problems i would imagine a few holes were flooded when i was there. I feel like the designers pretty much squeezed every last ounce of disc golf fun out of the design. A few elevated baskets and mando might help a little. This course is 'park golf' at its best. If I had this course close to my house I would feel lucky but not a destination course by any means.

A lot of water, and some tight lines.

1    7/4/2017   7/6/2017
Review By: mostlynorwegian
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that plays on top of an old golf course.
A lot of holes offer a range of ways to approach and offer some precision as well. WIth alternate tees and alternate baskets, this course is worth time figuring out.
Cons: I really wish some of the holes in the mid-section of the course were spread out some more.
WIth so many tee pads and baskets in the field with holes 6 - 14. It becomes almost confusing with having the signage placed so that one is not really sure which way they should be throwing.
Drainage on some of the holes was a big issue.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course That Could Be Even Better

2-4    4/14/2016   4/14/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 25.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very cleverly designed, with exceptional pin placements that demand precise shots. The first hole will put many players in the river for a penalty, the second has a mound of a green with the tiniest landing space that requires a precise putt or upshot. The third has one of the most massive tangles of dead and living trees that block a short hole. The entire course is designed along these lines, with mature willows and baskets tucked around tight corners in the woods, and great use of slight slope and swales on greens that can force discs to roll away and cost a stroke.
Cons: Some distances as marked are WAY off starting at hole 11, which is at least 70 feet shorter than marked. Hole 14 is marked 130 and is closer to 95. #16 is listed at 230 and may only be 210.

While there is mostly a great deal of variety and the land is used pretty well, it does have a certain sameness on the back 9. The shots required on 13, 16, 17, and 18 are all almost identical lefty hyzer shots for easy deuces.

Water. It's in play and great on some holes, but the standing water was an absolute abomination. The course was rated a 3 and said that 8, 9, 13, and 14 had a little standing water but were playable, and this is completely untrue.

Yes, you could throw a tee shot from the am tee on #8. Less than 50 feet up the cart path to the green, the water becomes 3-4 inches deep and only increases as you move forward. The entire fairway of #9 coming back had a minimum of 8 inches of standing water. The simple fact is that you will get completely soaked if you attempt to play these two holes right now.

The am tee for 13 was also completely under water at a depth of nearly a foot (the water that crosses to the pin is on the edge of a cat tail marsh and 2-3 feet deep, and shouldn't have standing water at all). That water just mentioned parenthetically covers the pro tee for #14 to a depth of over two feet. The trunks of trees in that area were covered up to 2-3 feet high and bird houses that I would presume were over 8 or 10 feet tall has water a mere SIX INCHES from the bottom of the house.
Other Thoughts: There are drainage tunnels from housing developments that keep the water off the course after hole 15 and feed it down to the creek that runs along 1 and 2. There seems to be no reason for this much standing water. We had a great deal of rain over a 2-3 week period, but have had no rain for over a week.

Clearly, some serious engineering work needs to be done to assure that standing water of this depth never occurs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth it

1    11/9/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 171  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old ball golf course style of shots.
Elevation and water hazards challenge you for placement shots
Variety of distances and lines to play on every hole
Great baskets
Concrete and level tee pads on long and short tees
Great tee signs with accurate distances and tips for each hole
Cons: At times, difficult to figure out next hole location
Other Thoughts: With some redesign to the layout, this could be a very good course to play for anyone within the area to visit and play. So much unused potential with the layout and the space available to use. There isn't much difference in shots when comparing the Pro vs Am pads but it's nice to have the option to play from both. Next tee arrow signs would be helpful for inexperienced players. With a few clean up days from local clubs or other organizations would make a huge difference to this course. As time goes by, I only see this place becoming better and better! Will return!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/7/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: the1discChallenge
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: -large concrete tee pads- long and short- on every hole.
-signs next to tee pads are very nice and detailed, including little tips/tricks to playing each hole
-being built on an old ball golf course, the designer did an excellent job in utilizing the elevation and landscape, in my opinion
-the landscape in general is really beautiful out there. Theres a river/creek running throughout the whole course that comes into play on many of the holes. There are also a lot of pins tucked in little clumps of trees or with the river close behind that make for some scenic shots.
-Not frustratingly difficult, but not annoyingly easy
-Course is very new still, so there aren't many people to crowd the place
Cons: -A lot of the course is pretty flat/open. This isn't so much of a problem for me, but it can get pretty windy at times...
-of course, with water there are mosquitos. If you land near the river/in the trees. Watch out!
Other Thoughts: I personally think this course is a gem. I live about 30min from about 5-6 different nice courses, and this is slowly becoming one of my go-to's. It's scenic, fairly quick, and allows me to try a bunch of different shots throughout the round. I think it's a great course and I would definitely recommend people to give it a try if you're in the area!

  Ratings Shocker

1    5/13/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: Brewmaster
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had wonderful signage (even having "tips" that aided navigation, and a great layout. Having alternate "pro tees" was a sweet surprise that I enjoyed. Also, it was a plus to have the water hazards, which not a lot of parks in the area that I live have.
Cons: The only cons I have for this course are really minimal. 1. There are no bathrooms that I could find. 2. Trying to find our way to hole 10 was a bit challenging, and could be marked a little better. 3. It is mostly open, which is a great use of the land, but can be very harsh on extremely windy days.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play and well worth the hour drive. Furthermore, if you travel and play this course then head over to Silver Lake, then your in for a great day of disc golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OverHyped overrated

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: wisconnyjohnny
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Its pretty to say the least and interesting to walk on an old golf course. Good Baskets. Great signage. One water hole is cool
Cons: Ugh, by reading the reviews i came her thinking there would be some true tree tunnel shots in the woods. I figured Id be throwing some bomb drives from 50ft up. I also planned on seeing some scarier water shots. Nope nope and Nope.
This course is relatively flat by my standards highest tee shot is about 30 ft up and theres only two of those, if you play the pro tees. Otherwise this is pretty much 18 baskets layed out in old fairways, there is no woods to play thru or in, just some trees here and there in a very sunny field.
So boring..... My girlfriend hated it as well.
Other Thoughts: I would stay away from this course untill its changed, Grey Fox is only 11 miles away and destroys this white river in every aspect.
No offense to builders but They really should utilize the woods more.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/30/2015 Designer Response by: superberry
Awesome review man. Thanks for all the substantial comments to allow the course and property owners to address. You're the exact reason DGCR should throw out meaningless reviews. Next time put some effort into reviewing, and far less "I'm an average chucker and didn't like the course" rhetoric.

Yes don't be fooled, this course is 'Lightly Wooded' as 'Mostly Open' is not an option for the description.
The city of lake Geneva does not own any of the woods bordering the property. The only property they had to work with was within the framework of the old bolf course. The city actually only owns the west half of the ponds as well.

  5/30/2014

1    5/31/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: Mkarshna
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Golfed on 5/30/2014 the course has a lot of potential
Cons: Need to mow fairways
U Have to walk against people throwing after hole 9
Other Thoughts: Water is good can be easily played by all. I think it will get better with age as most do.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/9/2014 Designer Response by: superberry
You don't walk against people throwing on hole 8 after finishing hole 9. Simply walk along the river after crossing the bridge and theN cut over to 10 between 8 Blue tee and basket 7. Plus a new bridge will direct traffic

 Great new course!

1    5/18/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 145  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I used to live near an abandoned golf course and the disc golfers in my area would frequently make use of the course for 'day-of-course' style tourneys. Most ball golf courses could easily make for excellent disc golf courses too. White River DGC makes that point incredibly clear. The course makes excellent use of six or so old ball golf course holes with 18 fun, interesting and challenging holes.

The front nine holes play mostly northward on the flattest part of the course, but that doesn't mean that elevation doesn't come into play. The long tee on hole #1 is atop a steep hill and the basket is placed close enough to the river that you'll feel the pucker. Hole #2's basket was perched atop a hill that almost guaranteed that a missed put would roll away. Hole #6 brings the river into play from the long tee, but honestly it's only going to impact people who can't throw far. Hole #8 plays over the river and it's a lot more challenging, but still pretty easy from the red tee.

The back nine holes start off with a tight grouping of holes 11 - 14. Hole #12 finishes atop a decent hill and it one of the best holes on the course off the tee. Hole #13 has the most troubling water hazard on the course. Hole #18 has a nice pin location, but thats about all it's got going for it.

The course has excellent concrete tees and signage. I didn't have much trouble finding my way around. The bridges could use some help, but apparently there was a recent flood. Still, my son and I had an easy time navigating the course.

Oh, and there was a snack bar and clean restrooms in the parking lot. My wife will love that. Disc golf courses don't often have good restrooms and that's important if you're playing with ladies. Hat's off to Lake Geneva for really providing outstanding facilities!
Cons: First off, someone needs to go out there and fix the chains. I've installed courses, and seeing the chains all wonky on many, many baskets is just sloppy. Do it right the first time folks.

This course could easily have 21 holes. There's enough room between Holes #1 and #3 for two more holes, and another hole could fit between hole #4 and #9. Why the long walk between holes, I don't know.

The flow of the course doesn't make a lot of sense on the back nine. It's pretty cramped around holes 11 - 14 while other parts of the course are wide open.

Hole #14 is short and gimmicky - it is the hole I'd most likely pull.

The wooded areas aren't used enough. Holes #3 and #10 did a great job using trees on the edges of the course for some difficulty. According to the map it looks like there was a lot more opportunity to take the course into the woods, but rarely did the designers go there. A few technical wooded holes would make this course more challenging and fun to play.

As someone mentioned before, the last three holes feel like you're having to rush towards the parking lot. The last two holes just didn't feel up to snuff with the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back many times. The course has a lot of fun potential and while it may not be the most challenging course in the area, it is a blast to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/10/2015 Designer Response by: superberry
Thanks for playing the course and taking time to review and offer feedback!

The city actually owns almost no woods around the course, the property line cuts in maybe 5-15 feet and I chose to not infringe on other properties like that (except Hole 16). They actually also own across the center of the ponds, which is why they aren't fully utilized either

Let me explain Holes 13-18 then. 14 was meant to play as an island green with any drive not making the green being considered +1 penalty and play as it lies or re-tee. 18 is actually meant to be a long ripper pushing the driving range of a Blue player, giving them a shot at the green, but still having that green be risky down by the river. Hole 17 was meant to entice a throw up the gut to the right of the willow or a long left to right drive flirting with the OB pathway, plus the brush along the edge of the river was supposed to be cleared out to make it play a risky OB the entire length. Hole 16 is just a filler hole - if the city actually is able to purchase about 7 acres east of the ponds, Holes 13-14 will be reconfigured into 3 holes all around the ponds and the old bolf green atop the hill. Holes 14 and 16 as they stand now will be eliminated.

No one has mentioned it, so I will be first - the installation of Red tee 6 is too close to the #5 basket because the GPS coordinates were off. And, Red Tee 11 was installed at the wrong angle. Hole 11 is meant to be a triple mando between both willows and OVER the horizontal willow trunk! I'm not sure if the signs actually call out all these details of the mando, hole notes and tips, and pathway OB. I was originally awarded a PO to do the tee signs, but last minute some local sign maker found his way in and convinced the city otherwise - I have no clue how much hole design and notes was actually translated correctly onto the other signs!

I'm not sure what they did with the chains. I've let them know the chain racks need to be taken off and slid on with the slip rings hanging correctly. They also need to bury the sleeves deeper for the locking tabs to be flush with the ground.

  Water in Play!

2-4    4/19/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: Danger Rick
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes with water in direct play are relatively rare on most of the larger courses in the area. It's a treat to play around the river that runs through the course.

-Two sets of pads (pro and am) per hole already, a great start to a great course.

-Terrain and elevation used with great imagination.

-Existing trees incorporated in play very well
Cons: not really fair to notch this against the course since it's early in development, but some of the holes and tees are still not groomed. As mentioned, some of the inner chains are twisted, but these didn't cause any of my putts to spit out. Some of the tee setups are questionable to me, mostly the Am. pads. I can't knock this course. even in it's infancy it's more fun that most comparable courses.
Other Thoughts: I play Grey Fox pretty frequently, so it's great to have another larger course in the ground within short distance. Many day trips will be taken out there this year. I much prefer these courses to the crowded Milwaukee area courses on weekends.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.