Katy, TX 
Mary Jo Peckham DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 11/2016)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Little Six Hole Course In A Lovely Park!

1    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mary Jo Peckham Park is a large, very green and lovely park which judging by the overflowing parking lot is very, very popular. There seems to be a large amount of activities to choose from. Fishing in the large pond might be first on the list. Originally, I drove in on the parking lot side and couldn't figure out where the disc course was. I finally drove around some more and located the disc golf course at the far back end of the northern side of the park.

This area of the park feels very much like a golf course with a luxerious carpet of thick, lush grass, gently rolling terrain, scattered mature trees and the pretty lake further in.

The only sign I found was one giving the fishing regulations. I couldn't come up with a connection between these fishing regs and disc golf although I have fished many discs out of water before. Maybe, there is a limit to how many discs you can fish out per day.

There is a simple tee sign stating the hole # and distance. The tee pads are natural marked with a front board. The baskets are new Chainstars.

# 1 is 270' to a basket set under some trees. # 2 has you throwing 321' to a basket set on the right side of the fairway. It's easy to mistakenly go for the basket straight ahead. # 3 is interesting in that there are trees directly in front of the pad and you have to throw by them to a basket 382'.

# 4 is 258' throwing off a slightly elevated pad. # 5 is 302' and the walking path looms in your right. You finish your round with a little 237' toss where you have to navigate through a grouping of trees.
Cons: Only six holes.

Parking is pretty limited on this side.

Holes are all between 237' and 321'. All have somewhat the same feel.

Natural tee pads.

This seems to be an area where you will encounter other folks. You may have to wait until they clear. Have patience, my son.
Other Thoughts: I'm not aware of any six hole courses having a lofty rating anywhere close to 3.0 Even if there were nine holes here, I still couldn't justify anything higher than a 2.5. It is very lovely and green but the golf is quite pedestrian like. Each hole is basically a straight ahead shot where you have to navigate through a few trees. There is nothing very exceptional about that.

I'm not putting this course down or anything. I like it and would come back if I lived close. The fun factor is here but not the variety or challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mary Jo Peckham DGC

5+    9/12/2017   9/15/2017
Review By: rjm1009
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2017
Pros: -Great course for beginners
-Slight elevation on a few holes which is nice in Houston
Cons: -Only six holes
-People often cut through fairways to cross the park
Other Thoughts: I love this little course despite it only having 6 holes.
Hole 1: 200 ft. Slightly uphill through a collection of trees halfway to pin.
Hole 2: 325 ft. Hill and two large trees halfway up fairway.
Hole 3: 270 ft. Wide open except for a narrow window between two trees directly in front of tee pad.
Hole 4: 260 ft. Wide open. Tee pad is on top of a small hill.
Hole 5: 310 ft. Hill on right halfway up fairway with a large tree guarding basket on right side of the green.
Hole 6: 240 ft. Scattered trees left and right but large fairway.
Holes 1,3,4,6 are easy birds. Holes 2 and 5 are a touch longer and would require a bigger arm to bird.

Shade and Challenge

2-4    8/14/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: gpttigers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Played for the second time on a heat advisory day and the shade really helped
-There are some trees that come into play so it does have elements of moderate length and challenge
-Baskets are not brand new but are in good shape
-Seems to dry out pretty well
Cons: -Obviously it is only 6 holes
Other Thoughts: If you could play 18 holes like these 6 holes it would be a 4+ star course. Luckily, we met Jim while playing and he was nice enough to take a lap around with us and he was very knowledgeable. I hope to see him again and pick his brain some more.

Again, on a blazing hot day where you just need to chuck some plastic, it is certainly a good option provided you know you are going to play the holes more than once. Good for newbs and experienced players alike.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect beginner's course

1    12/22/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -simple layout, easy to follow if you bring a map
-tee post (sign is missing) for hole 1 the remaining holes are only marked by boards in the ground
-makes some good use of the trees and mounds
-doesn't try to cram too many holes into this small area
Cons: -limited space and obstacles
-the distances are on the longer side for a beginner course
-not easy to navigate if you don't use the map
Other Thoughts: This is a small, simple course that plays back and forth in the area north of the pond in this relatively busy neighborhood park. The holes do make use of the large trees to block certain approaches to the basket. They also frame the tee shot on hole 3 and on hole 4 you tee off from the top of a mound. Hole 5 plays down a line of large trees.

I brought my 7 year old nephew to play here and it was a perfect place for him to play. The holes avoid the pedestrian trail that circles the outside of the park and don't get close to the pond either. And at 6 holes it is short enough that kids won't get tired playing the course.

This would be a good place to practice if you lived nearby in the neighborhood. You could also make up your own safari holes. Otherwise it's course baggers only unless you're looking for a place to bring the kids or beginners.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Inside the walking path at the end of the park

2-4    11/13/2016   11/16/2016
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Jim did a good job utilizing the space at the back of the park here. Six holes is the right number for the area without cramming in three more garbage holes to get to the semi-magical number of nine holes. The distances range from ~250-350' which is a good. No chance for a lost disc here. Quality multi-chain baskets. Tee boxes are marked with wooden beams flush in the ground that are not terribly difficult to spot even when the tee signs are missing. A basket on a small hill and another tee box on a small hill add some variety to the course.
Cons:
Only the first tee sign remains. Luckily the baskets are numbered which will help you with navigation if you're without a map.

It's only six holes and no alt tees. So it's tough to go out of your way to play here for not a lot of golf.
Other Thoughts:
There was no map for this course either at the first tee or here on DGCR so I made a simple map that should help anyone find their way through the course.

Until Willow Fork got installed there weren't a lot of golfing options in this area, so this was a nice addition.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

best learning course in area

2-4    8/29/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: zonvil
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is the best course to learn how to play disc golf
gives you the best challenge for beginners
has little hills, shade

Cons: it's only 6 holes
you could loose a disc in a tree if you throw to high
Other Thoughts: even when i get good at this game, it will still be a great place to play

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

5+    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Richtho4
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great little course in Katy. No water hazards. You won't lose a disc. There are a few tree hazards; so most drives/approaches need to be low to stay out of the canopy, and there are some elevation changes. The grounds are well kept and mowed weekly.
Cons: Mary Jo Peckham is usually very busy with lots of people. Depending on day and time, there could be kids walking/riding bikes through the course. It's only 6 holes; so to get a full 18 holes, you have to play through 3 times. Only 1 tee per hole.
Other Thoughts: First hole has a major tree hazard, and all holes are par 3. I think there's room for more holes in this end of the park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/4/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 209  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mary Jo Peckham Park is a huge upgrade for where these six baskets used to be at, Bridgepoint Bible Church.

The park is a beautiful multi-purpose park with a lake in the middle, walking trails and playgrounds throughout the park. The course is nestled away from where the majority of park goers are.

The course utilizes a few hills, something that few Houston courses can say that they have. The distances of the holes are fair, a few longer holes, a few shorter holes with more obstacles in them. The lake never comes into play, which equals no discs being lost.

Navigation is easy. The holes are marked with small tee signs and wooden 2x4 laid sideways in the ground.
Cons: The space that the course is on is a little cramped, as all of the holes are inside of the walking trail. Six holes is a perfect number with the land available, but six holes is really not worth a lot of people's time.

With the course being brand new, there are a lot of people that are not aware that the course is there. Be very wary of people walking through your fairways and be careful throwing near the walking trail as unsuspecting walkers walk by blissfully unaware of any discs being thrown.
Other Thoughts: Like mentioned previously, these baskets got a huge upgrade by being moved here. I hope to see this course being used and teach the families about the game. This course is a little far removed from any other courses, and coming out here just for this course is not worth it depending on if you live more than 10 miles away. The park holds enough land for an expansion, but for now the course will remain at six holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center