Amity, OR 
Dave Heider DGC Share
Uploaded By: Murdoc Loch Hole #3 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 fun big course

1    10/10/2020   10/10/2020
Review By: daim1992
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A lot of work has gone into this place I love it
Cons: Don't come to play unless u ready for a good hike workout

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    9/21/2019   9/21/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 162  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heiders is an amazing home course. Dave and his wife our super welcoming, and very friendly. The course has a great mix of distances, and forehand/backhand lines. The course is challenging but the lines our very fair. There's a great use of terrain, and elevation change here. Hole 3 is a fun huge downhill throw to an elevated basket. The tee signs our very good and you should read them as they're super descriptive of the obs. Layout isn't to hard to follow and the tee pads are in great shape.
Cons: The baskets aren't uniformed and some of the single chain ones love to spit out.
Hole 11 you have to walk through the fairway to the tee pad.
Hole 1 and 3 tee off from the main road might have to wait and or watch for cars
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the area and very glad and thankful I got to throw here

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of a Kind

1    8/3/2019   8/3/2019
Review By: royvin
Played: 115  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging, but not impossible
-Lots of elevation change
-Concrete tee pads (or road on hole 1 and 3) with laminated signs indicating hole number
-Benches and trash cans available at several tee pads
-Most basket areas had a small wooden sign nearby pointing to the next tee pad
-Requires a wide variety of shots
-Printed course directions available by parking area
-Located out in the country
Cons: -Navigating isn't super easy the first time around, and you can't always see the baskets from the tee pads.
-Steep hiking and some bumpy walking at times.
-Baskets are not all the same, but I thought they all caught pretty well.
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy hiking and playing wooded courses this place is a dream.
My scorecard had some ugly numbers after the round, but all I wanted to do was play it again! That is, after taking a break to let my legs recover.
Super wooded from holes 4-14, but I enjoyed the challenge.
It's a course with character (there was a dinosaur toy on one basket and a stuffed deer on another) but at the same time it offers a challenge for skilled golfers.
A thanks to Dave who stopped us on hole 2 in order to take me on his 4-wheeler to show me the course layout- he was very kind and helpful!
If the course were close by, we'd come back often. Well done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs maintenance

1    8/12/2017   8/15/2017
Review By: cjwilliams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good baskets. They caught side putts and hard putts into the center of the chains.
- Isolation. There are no sounds of traffic or other distractions around. I played at about noon on a Saturday and was the only one there.
- Wooded. I personally love wooded courses, so most of this course was decently fun for me. Lots of straight, tight fairways that make you feel like a million bucks when you hit your line.
Cons: - Elevation. It's tough to list this as many courses are so flat, but this one is pretty much unbearable. I'd suggest not playing here unless you're looking for more of a workout than a disc golf experience.
- Navigation. Could not find a decent map anywhere online or on the UDisc app. The course has no logical flow and I probably spent an extra 45 minutes here just trying to find out where to go. Some tees were marked, others were not. There were also about 4 extra baskets around the course and I had no clue what they were for.
- Barking dogs. I know this is a private home course and this comment doesn't have much to do with the course, but damn, control your animals. I skipped a hole just to get away from them.
- Overgrowth. It's common this time of year, but if you're going to bill this as a usable course, then keep it maintained. I lost a disc that couldn't have kicked more than 15 feet off the fairway, but the brush was so dense that I gave up.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

You Know You're Out In The Country....

1    5/28/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2020
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You know you're out in the country when the first hole plays down a country road and then hyzers off into the orchard. And then two other holes tee off this same country road. Not much traffic, I say.

Dave Heider has created a unique, 18 hole experience here with challenge but one that still has that homespun feel to it. From the start on his driveway you locate the donation box and the packet with written directions for each hole. The course now has 14 concrete tee pads and a variety of basket types (all double chains). I played alone using Dave's directions and didn't have much trouble navigating the course.

The early holes plays through and around fields, buildings, gardens, roads, a horse, a motorhome, driveways, down to the creek and back. Then starting with # 8, the course starts to move up into the very hilly forest area of Dave's land.
# 8 was a very interesting hole. You tee off from the road beyond the top of Dave's driveway. The basket looms 375' down below but just over a building and then a small creek. You have to hit a fairly narrow gap in the trees and then the basket sits elevated on an stump just up a small hill.
In the forest areas, many of the holes play vey tight and technical. # 12 is just 240' but it's one of the steepest uphills I've encountered.
# 15 is 310' with a super narrow, 10' wide fairway most of the way to the basket. You have the feel of throwing down three single wide trailers hallways from the front door to the back bedroom.
And I loved # 18 for a finishing hole. You're throwing from a somewhat elevated tee box. The basket is up on the lawn just below Dave's house. The lawn area gets progressively more narrow as you walk uphill. And this is an island hole so you must land inside the fenced area. Great visibility for players watching the final hole of a tournament.
Cons: The course is a little short on length. Big arms might be disappointed with that.
It's still a little rustic and rough in places. You can see the tremendous amount of work that's been done to clean and clear fairways and areas off the fairway.
Some players might be put off by the early part of the course that plays through the buildings and grounds.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course had a great vibe. The forest part made me feel like I was totally alone and away from the world. I really liked it up there. Improvements are being made all the time. Although I didn't get to meet Dave, he seems dedicated into making this a great discing experience.

There aren't many courses where you're climbing over a electric fence (turned off) # 2, where you have to sweet talk a horse into moving so you can tee off, # 3, and then end up into spotting a deer on the same round.
My hat's off to Dave Heider. Thanks for letting me share in your Disc Golf dream here.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Home

5+    9/11/2016   5/29/2014
Review By: wxview
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/12/2016
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All tee-pads finished. 15 concrete, 3 asphalt.
Designed as a training course for A and B tier PDGA events.

Elevation, stump baskets. tunnel shots. Pretty much quite a test.
Cons: Not beginner friendly unless you are trying to improve and can handle getting a 8 on a par 4 w/o getting pissed off.
Other Thoughts: The MVDSA club hosts a tournament here every 1st Sunday of the month.
Starts at 11am.
Buy in is 6 dollars
and there is a minimum ace pot of $100

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thrown In Private

1    3/24/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Dave Heider makes good use of elevation throughout the course
-There is a good variety of shot types here: long and short holes, downhill and uphill, wooded and open.
Cons:
-Many of the holes play in and around buildings, motor-homes, sheds, fences, horse fields, roads, driveways and chicken coups. the holes are not bad but it feels a bit invasive to be throwing discs around all this stuff.
- Most of the back 9 seems underdeveloped and was far more difficult than the front 9, cleaning up the fairways and opening up the routes would certainly help smooth out this difficulty spike
Other Thoughts:
- This is a private course and you should call ahead of time to set up a round

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course Designer

5+    3/8/2014   3/13/2014
Review By: ahukingacehole
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good shot variety, many hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots.
Almost every hole has some kind of elevation change.
Fair course design, all good shots are rewarded.
Creative use of land, the hills, creek, roads, and stumps on the property are incorporated into the holes.
Cons: The course is on the short side with only a couple holes over 350'
Not beginner friendly, the course isn't easy and the rough can be quite rough in some areas.
Only 14/18 have concrete teepads.
The baskets are inconsistent, meaning its a mixture of discatcher sport, Lightening, M-14, and Hylton Baskets. (all have double layer chains)
Other Thoughts: I have been designing and evolving this course to be the most challenging course possible using the land available for the last 7 years or so. It has come a long way and I have plans to continue improving it until I run out of ideas. Come check it out!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.