Williamston, NC 
Farm Life Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: lee76007 Hole #14 (Taken 7/2021)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Skips work very well!

1    7/23/2021   7/31/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -16 of the 18 holes are in heavy woods with a few swamp holes, and a few open holes with water. The wooded holes have heavy canopy and protruding branches. The course is primarily short and on the owner's property.

-#4 at 337 feet held #1 for difficulty for a straight away hole with some distance but held it for only 3 days when Lynnwood Forrest #7 knocked it off.

-Hole signs are wooden, have hole number, par, alternate pin, both pin distances and map.

-Navigation is clockwise, and there were some next tee signs. I didn't need a course app.

-The two open fairways with grass 2 and 18 were mowed. A pond is in play on both fairways and with the owner's permission you may swim in it. Theirs a handrail to help pull you up out of the water.

-From the tee I threw a putter, fairway, and driver.

-If you like seclusion, this is it.

-Beginners and recreational players will have a chance to learn on a wooded short course. Intermediate and advanced will get to work on their wooded course game and enjoy the few open holes
Cons: -From hole 4 up to about hole 15 is proximity to the swamp. The horse flies were thick and relentless I was doing a double time, putting with bag on, and even some approaches to get the heck out of there. I don't know if that's consistent, but it was a joy killer on that stretch.

-I would say it would be best to play the course in the winter if the horse flies are consistent, but a sustain rain could flood it out?

-With so many short, wooded holes, most are not memorable.

-Tees are dirt, and just about all are rutted out with some roots.

-Some baskets have a lean to them, but disc will stick. I didn't see any alternative pin positions not being used. I normally can spot at least a few.

-The driveway that enters the property cuts across no. 2 fairway and is blind from the tee both sides. Its about 120 feet out.

-I rate disc lost as high with heavy woods and brush, swamp, and a water carry.

Other Thoughts: I can appreciate the wooded portion of the course, but the horse flies made it impossible to focus and enjoy it. Hopefully there not present for the entire summer. The wooded portion for the few holes when I wasn't fighting off the flies were fun. Only no. 6 I threw a putter thru the canopy. All other holes it just wasn't there so it was time to be creative. With the narrow gaps, and protruding branches I threw a lot of skip shots and discing up to reach distance. Dropping putts were difficult with guardian trees. I thought 2 and 18 with water were very scenic. As for the course the rutted tees were the biggest con for me, difficult to get good footing off the tee pads.

With the play in the woods, easy navigation and the scenic water holes my overall rating is anchored on a 4.0. My normal average time taking pictures during a round is 70 minutes for a course this size, but with the help of the horse flies it was cut down to 55 minutes.

Notable Holes:

No.2 Par 3 at 325 feet is a coming out of the woods tee shot to an open fairway. To clear the gap is 90 feet out and 15 feet wide a nice introduction to the rest of the course. Pass the gap your out in the open mowed fairway. To the right just off the fairway is water and not seen from the tee. But would have been seen as your driving into the property. The carry to the water is about 200 feet, just don't go right. The basket is surrounded by guardian trees and a difficult approach or putt. I watched my disc sail right, and since I didn't find it, I'm sure it went into the water. My approach from water edge hit a guardian.

No. 9 Par 3 at 217 feet is a slightly down slope hole straight way to a basket with guardian trees on the right. A nice 45-degree angle gap at 70 feet out with short tree on right. The gap is about 20 feet on the angle with another gap in the middle fairway 30 feet pass and another 45-degree angle short tree on right and a 25-foot gap. Both sides of fairway heavy trees and brush, swamp on the left, a ditch at the first gap with a nice foot bridge. From the tee very scenic and awkward to line up a throw. I went a little to high clipped leafy branches at the first gap and was just to the right of the second gap but safe.

No. 11 Par 3 at 218 feet is a lazy dogleg left and a slight down slope at the gap about 90 feet out and a 10-foot gap. The fairway at the dogleg slopes right to left and into the swamp. Heavy trees both sides. I threw my trusty Star Leopard that normally fades right for me and ended up right where I wanted it the top of the fairway.

Signature Hole:

No. 18 Par 3 at 272 feet a great finishing hole teeing out of the woods and into an open water carry. The carry over the water is at least 230 feet to a mowed lush fairway. There is a large canopy tree on the left corner of the pond at its closes carry at 180 feet, not a good place for a lefty trying to reach C1. Very scenic! I didn't like that corner tree, so I threw around it on the left and reach basket high outside C2. Should have just gone straight at it.

Trouble Hole:

No. 4 Par 3 at 327 feet is a straight away heavily bordered by trees and brush on each side, the gap is very narrow all the way down to the basket at 20-25-foot gaps with heavy canopy on top with a ceiling lowest point 10 feet. Also, some trees leaning into the fairway. You can see the basket from the tee, and it looks like with the tunnel effect it's a long way down there. Run too deep into the rough you may spend some time looking for your disc. I did a left, right, left skipping my way down the fairway burning up one stroke too many.










-

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Farm Life ain't Easy

1    8/2/2015   8/9/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 492  Reviewed: 380  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I spoke with Kent on Friday about playing Farm Life DGC the following Sunday morning, and he happily agreed to it. Sunday morning I showed up, and it was just me and my dog, aside from a few farm animals. I didn't know what to expect, deciding to visit this course more from the rating and location than by reading the reviews. I was a bit surprised. The baskets were in good overall condition, and the benches usually offered bag hangers and good signs. The opener greeted me nicely, and allowed me a birdie. I promptly gave it back on the second hole after botching my approach. Hole 3 was an uneventful par, and the longest hole 4 served me a double bogey. Then I wandered into a world of tangled undergrowth and confusion for 13 holes. The meat of the course is mostly in the 200'-250' range, but don't go in thinking you're going to shoot -12. There are trees, limbs and vines going every which way, heavy growth on many holes. The ones that I thought I could manage didn't usually pan out for me either. At least I didn't lose any plastic. There are the thinnest of margins to find the correct route to the baskets, and they will test all of yours skills. Licking my wounds as I stepped onto the 18th tee, I was glad too see the last remaining hazard was only a small pond. A birdie on the closer restored a small bit of confidence to carry me to the next course. I carded a 7 over par (61) that morning, taking birdies on 1, 8, and 18.
Cons: I was not familiar with the fairways, but I felt like axing a couple truckloads of wood out of there. I'm sure some repetition and better disc selection would have helped. There are benches and bag hangers, but the tees are natural, sometimes a bit small or rutty (not that massive run ups are needed). I got lost a couple of times, look out for the transition from hole 4 to 5 (I went from 4 to 8 at first), and around 15 or 16 I did some wandering for a bit. Water was present on the edge of a couple of holes, and after rains, I imagine heavy mud could become a big factor.
Other Thoughts: Farm Life DGC was fun, and if you have the time to get out there, might as well do it. Flat, and largely short, wooded fairways will test your skill for sure. Sunday morning I had the place to my self. I failed to come close to par, and I would have liked to see what a bit of practice and some guidance could do for me. If I lived anywhere near there I would definitely find out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 ECUDG

1    3/29/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very technical course and pretty well laid out. Only go if hasn't rained for a couple of days some of the holes are next to a swamp.
Cons: Not worth the four star rating! Some of the holes might work if it were maintained a little bit. This course reminds me more of Covenant DSC in Greenville or the OLD ECU course.
Other Thoughts: Course is set in the woods and mixed in with swamp land. If you play this course make sure you bring multiple discs or at least another person to watch your disc (very easy to lose a disc). If they cut some of the smaller trees down it would open some of the fairways.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tight but fun

1    11/23/2013   11/24/2013
Review By: Jawa
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Layout uses the land very well. Easy to find the next tee. Baskets are really good for a private course. Tee pads are natural, most are flat and even only two had roots in the run up.
Cons: Be prepared to lose discs, water could be an issue and as always in the fall leaves can hide discs very well.
Other Thoughts: Short, Tight, Very Technical. Only threw a distance driver once. You will need to be able to throw every shot to have success here.

Look forward to playing again someday

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

2-4    3/1/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 575  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2015
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a private course that offers seclusion that you don't get at many of the other courses in the northeastern part of NC

Really good baskets for a homegrown private course.
Cons: Lots of water that makes the lost disc factor really high and on a few holes gets a little ridicules.

several of the holes are typical plinko homegrown fairways with undefined lines.

There is a lot of sogginess on this course which comes with the area that the course is built in.

Teepads are getting worn out and have trippers and roots

Teesigns and directional signage is non-existent
Other Thoughts: I went to this course expecting an exceptional design and a very fun experience. I was very disappointed as there was very little that I found exciting or memorable about the design and the course overall. I say this is the most overrated course that I have played on this site and it is not the destination course that it seems to be.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 tight and short and tight

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: tombraiderchuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: thin lines that must be hit. 6ft fairways with some sneaky lines, if you know them. Baskets are solid slightly rusted and completely perfect for a private course also has a practice basket. well thought out risk reward. Throw a good drive and don't miss the putt going somewhat downhill. benches are around on almost every hole. Kent is an awesome owner.
please call him ahead of time to ask permission. on a Thursday we were the only ones playing.
got enough garbage cans just wait for them and throw recyclables away
Cons: none
course is tight so the first ten times you play here you will say it is tight. and dangerous. my friend "lost" 2 discs today because of tree pings. so throw it right to keep your disc
Other Thoughts: great local scene go on sundays around 1 o'clock or call Kent to get more info. play doubles on Sunday

1 dollar donation for found disc go to the barn and get it back. my friend will get his 2 back he just wasn't dedicated

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 SIMPLY GREAT!!

1    12/7/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Great layout. Peaceful. Well marked. fair amount of diversity for left-handed and right-handed players. And the environment and surrounding areas are PERFECT!! The owner, Kent Roberson, is amazingly nice and helpful. And his rule of call before you play topped with the fact that he is there at the horse stables right off hole 2 assures that there is little to no chance of having to share the course with non-playing stragglers or jerk players! Very strict "find and turn in rule" You find a disc taht is marked with a name and number, you are to turn it over to Mr. Roberson.
Cons: Swamp on the back 9 will catch you off guard and eat your discs. The pond on 18 has no bank to speak of, so if your disc goes it, its history until warm months when Mr. Roberson's grandkids go swimming to fish them out. ($1 returned disc fee or volunteer to help on course clean up day will get your disc back)
Other Thoughts: I have played this course once. I fell in love by hole 3. It's a very tight course with plenty of challenges. Not for the feint of heart. If you are looking to catch an easy 18 hole, low score promising round, keep going... YOU WILL WORK for every par or birdie or, in my case, bogey, you get. Mr. Roberson has done a PHENOMENAL job keeping this course running and maintained.

Trash cans are placed throughout the course, please use them to keep this course clean as it is the cleanest course I have yet to play.

oh... and there is a dog on the farm named Duke. Friendliest lab I have ever met. He showed us to the first tee box from our car, accompanied us through the first 2 holes and then went back to the stables. He plays fetch with LIMBS!! Treat him well.

Overall, I love this course. I didn't rate it a 5 because i feel a few of the holes are really left to chance and not skill. But you couldn't ask for much better in our area!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ain't no life like Farm Life

5+    12/19/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: Waylin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course in the woods on a farm in the country of eastern NC. Benches on every hole. Very technical course, hit your line or pay for it with strokes. Very well maintained Private course. The owner Kent is awesome. Very nice and friendly guy. The locals rock! Friendly welcoming crew. #18 throws over a pond, I like the risk to reward ratio, some don't. It's a finesse course, your long arm won't help you out. Most of the holes are around 200' to 250', almost all are very tight.(I like it!) Playing this course regularly can really improve your game.
Cons: Water is in play on #9, sometimes #11, and always #18.(not really a con to me though, no risk no reward) The only con I can really think of is that during the fall, the leaves on the ground are THICK, and can cover up even the brightest disc.
Other Thoughts: Definetly my favorite course! Call Kent and get permision before you play. Respect the course, pick up your trash, or put it in the bins, there are plenty of them.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Farm Fun

1    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 117  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 13 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course! I gave Kent a call and he gave us permission to play his course without hesitation. As you pull on to the property there are signs pointing you where to go and where to park and where to find the first tee. The entire course is well marked and no map was needed to navigate. There is an outhouse before the first tee which is nice to have on private grounds.
Other Pros:
-variety of distances, turns, fairway tightness, challenging hazards, elevation changes
-well kept, with garbage bins and debris free fairways
-picnic tables and bag posts on many holes
-great tee sings
-baskets catch well
Cons: The only thing was the tees. They are natural and sometimes the tee area is short. I did play on a rainy day and slipped twice. The tees are level without ruts or roots however.
Other Thoughts: The club house at hole #1 was decorated with broken discs. My favorite hole was #9, it had a slightly tight fairway with water on the left and elevation changes. That swamp water on the left was deeper than expected. #18 is a very challenging shot, that pond is a disc eater. There are poles near the water to retrieve discs but it gets deep quickly. I really enjoyed the course, I didn't get to meet Kent but I hope to since I plan on playing there more!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: jamchiroguy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Farm life is a nice course. It is very technical, tough, and makes you work for your score. Farm Life has tight alleyways, tough holes, and easy to follow directions. There are OB areas, but they are clearly laid out. There is hardly any underbrush, so it is tough to lose a disc. Also, they have a return policy of lost disc. Practice putting near the first hole. Benches, trash cans and bag racks near every hole.
Cons: The only con of this course is most of the holes are an average of 240 feet, so big throwers like myself lose my only advantage.
Other Thoughts: Everyone should come check out Kent's course. It is put together really well.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.