Tampa, FL 
Cypress Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #8 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 566ft.   4 / 386ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Long, technical, pro-level course

2-4    2/25/2017   2/28/2017
Review By: SpartanDisc
Played: 146  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- This course just about has it all and, along with Picnic Island, is one of the two really pro-tour caliber courses in the area. Cypress has a lot of variety. It starts out with a long bomber with a second shot into a pretty tight gap just before the basket. I feel this sets the tone for the course because while it has some long holes, they are well designed to be open enough to allow for some big shots but also technical enough to demand good placement and accuracy. I love these types of holes where both distance and placement are key but there are several ways to get there -- whether it be a 400ft flex into a landing zone or a few 250ft straight safe shots up the middle. Holes 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 14, 16, and somewhat 17 are all these types of holes where distance is needed (at least from the longs) but without smart accuracy and strategic placement, distance alone won't get it done. These are the holes I'd love to see a 1000+ rated player attack, and can just see them making for great rounds to watch.
-- In addition to the types of holes listed above, there are also a few wide open shots for power (1st shot on 1 with a bit of placement needed, 2nd shot on 16, 18). But there are also a good number of shorter shots that require accuracy. Holes 2, 3, 7 and 15 offer some pretty tight tunnel shots at short to moderate distance which will allow the smaller arms to shine if they can get an accurate putter or midrange shot down the gap. A few others are also in a short to medium distance with a bit of room but demanding curving finishes to the basket and one or two that have trees scattered just about everywhere that leave several extremely small but tempting lines but no obvious preferred route.
-- Multiple tees on the holes that need it. This takes some of the long, demanding distance shots and shortens them up a bit. These holes will still require smart and careful placement from the shorts, but eases up some of the yardage demands for newer players and smaller arms.
-- Great teepads, baskets, and signs. The signs are at both the shorts and longs with good maps of the holes (needed on some blind shots) and distances. This makes the course much easier to navigate for a first-time player.
-- Unforgiving but also forgiving in both the right ways. While there are holes that a poorly placed shot will really screw you, there isn't *too* much thick brush or water where losing discs should be a huge problem. There is some trouble, especially early on, but a lot of the course plays with trunks of trees in your way, rather than dense bushes and shrubbery. These tree trunks still provide tons of challenge but without hours lost looking for discs. Water only plays on one hole (behind 4's basket so be very careful on your putts and approaches!) which, after playing Cliff Stephens a few times, can be quite the relief.
Cons: -- There isn't a lot to not like about this course. Newer arms might find the combination of distance and obstacle daunting but, for a seasoned player, the challenge can be exhilarating (or defeating on an off day).
-- Mosquitos can be really bad. I've played in Oct and Feb, so not prime bug season but even on my last round in Feb I got eaten alive. Bring bug spray, and lots of it!
-- When I played in October, it was really wet in some areas. There was a huge pond of standing water on 16 and 17s fairways and other areas were mushy too. The water on 16 and 17, while seasonal and therefore not on a map or marked as OB, was big enough to be a serious water hazard and pose a challenge for retrieving discs in the middle (unless you want to walk out in 12 inches of water).
-- As another reviewer pointed out, the palm trees will have a tendency to eat high-thrown shots. I feel like this is normal for some courses in Florida but being from the North, I was really amazed at how adept those trees are at grabbing discs and never letting them go. The trunks are even worse than the leaves.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course twice while in the area for business trips, but I loved it the first time and loved it even more the second time. This really is a championship caliber course and offers a challenge to even the best player but without feeling overwhelming like other long, tight courses that I've played. I scored well out here both times I played, so maybe that is biasing me some, but I can't wait to play it again and again while in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Big boy Course

2-4    3/29/2017   11/17/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 113  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.701 Rating) Generally considered as one the better courses in the Tampa Bay area.
- UNIQUENESS - Although flat, the overall uniqueness is well above your average 18 hole course. There are a bunch of 4's and two par 5's. Several shots are blind. There's a placement dogleg left, pocket shots, windows shots, poke and hope shots, and tight tunnel fairways. Perhaps one of the more unique aspects is the use of palm tree lined fairways and palm gaps to hit. There's only one water element in play, which is on number (4). Be very wary of throwing long on your second or third shot at this basket. The water is only 15 feet past the basket.
- CHALLENGING - Perhaps the most demanding layout in the region. Many advanced players will struggle to say at course par. If you like courses that test your skills, you'll probably love this course.
- SHOT SELECTION - I've played about 50/50 flick to backhand on this course. 70% of the drives have to be well thought out and placed. While the other 30% will have to be bombed down the fairway.
- CHARACTER - There is a great course map right at hole (1). There is also very well artistically illustrated and fairly accurate hole signage throughout the course. Most of the tees are shaded well and there are two tees at the par 4's and 5's. There is also a few benches, picnic tables, and a practice basket. If I could add some things it would be alternate basket placements and more seating.
- TEE PADS - Concrete pads are of adequate length and width. Am pads unfortunately are grass and marked by flags. The flags are sometimes pulled.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a few notable exceptions. The water on hole (4) and the palm canopy. Please be warned out of staters. Palms are disc-robbers. Don't throw high around them if you want to keep your disc. I personally have lost 2 disc in 2 rounds here in the palms.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In my opinion, Cypress is well above average but I still would place it behind a handful of other area courses (such as Picnic, Cliff, Taylor, Tocobaga and Medard)
- SPACING - A well spaced hole layout. with well defined fairways. (except 1,16,17,18)
- NAVIGATION - I didn't find any major issues. I took a picture of the map at hole (1). If you take a picture, you should have no issues on your first time threw.
- CHILL AREAS - Holes (2) threw (15) all play threw a somewhat secluded wooded area. definitely relaxing.
- LOCATION - The course is fairly quick to get to from the interstate. Less than 10 minutes if you get your directions right.
Cons: I find no major complaints about Cypress (except climate related items) but ill add a few ticky tack things.
- MOSQUITOES - wow are they bad during the summer. They we so bad in July I left after hole (3) and I was covered in deet. Be very wary of trying to play during, or at the end, of the rainy season.
- STANDING WATER - In addition to the bugs. during the mid to late rainy season, the 4 open holes can/will flood. This is holes (1), (16),(17), (18).
- TIME PLAY - CYpress is not a quick play. Plan to be here 3 hours or more for a group of 4 to complete 18 holes.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This is not a beginners course. Although the odds of losing a disc is low, the course is way too tight to provide any enjoyment to inaccurate new throwers. I brought a 5 timer here and he shot over a 100.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. No more than 10' elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Lots of really good holes but no great hole. The par 5's do however add the thrill of an eagle opportunity.
Other Thoughts: A great course for those living within 30 miles and beyond. Definitely worth a look see if you are from out of town and have already hit Picnic and Taylor and Cliff, or if you prefer longer courses. If you live in the Tampa Bay metro, be sure to play this course at least a few times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course !

1    9/15/2016   10/19/2016
Review By: Westpunt Curacao
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs at all the tees. Beautiful park with well maintained lawn. Trash cans were empty. Long holes and short holes. Some water at this visit but didn't seem to cause a problem for us. Except hole 4 about 15' past the basket there is a creek. There is public restrooms with showers. Big plus for us, we were traveling back to Miami.
Cons: Mosquitos so bring some repellent.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Summer day nice breezes

1    7/12/2016   7/15/2016
Review By: willibrewer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 42 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of short and long holes. Some ace runs but most short holes have trees blocking the baskets. Some tight fairways on the long holes which makes an errant shot add a stroke or two.
Well marked signs and each basket has a flag and number. Ony had a couple of misplays due to not scoping out the correct pin.
Cons: Could be wet in high rain season. A few holes play back on each other so you need to be mindful of others on nearby fairways.
Other Thoughts: Lost my putter in the creek on hole 4 just passed the pin on this challenging hole. Only around 8' after the pin.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just what Tampa needed

5+    6/9/2015   12/9/2015
Review By: Apsey
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course sits on amazing property. There are open fields, Palm Trees, Palmetto bushes, Oak Trees, some water, and path/road/fence OB boundaries. The beach is only 100 yards away from the practice basket. I have had some of the most beautiful disc golf moments wrapping up a round driving on hole 18 with the sun setting on Tampa Bay.
- Baskets are Innova Disc Catchers. Course is still pretty new, baskets are in top notch shape
- Tee signs are beautifully mapped and have a well thought out narrative on how to play the hole on each sign.
- There is a great mix of Par 3's, 4's, and 5's out there.
- It really tests your game and rewards players with many shots in their bag. There are opportunities for backhand, forehand, thumbers, and rollers.
- On the par 4's and 5's you are rewarded by throwing placement shots in order to have look at birdies.
- Very rarely have a played a round where park goers are in the way. There is a jogging path that runs through the Disc Golf Course but it's not overly used and you're usually only waiting a brief moment for the person using the trail to get out of harms way.
- The Tee Pads are concrete, grippy, and nice and long :)
- REALLY close to Tampa International Airport. A great play for any Disc Golfers flying in looking to get their Disc Golf on.
-Westshore mall is very close by. Great place with a nice Food Court to get lunch between rounds.
- Also close to Cigar City Brewing. CCB is a big supporter of Disc Golf in the Bay Area, stop by after the round and enjoy some of Tampa's Finest Beer! Pet Friendly as well.
Cons: - Watch out for high shots (Thumbers, Spike Hyzers Etc) as the Palm Trees out there are hungry and like to eat discs. If you get one in the crown, there's no climbing that will get it out, and you'll usually get everything you throw up at it stuck as well.
- The front holes (1, 18, 17, and 16) can get mushy and even have some standing water in the rainy months. Standing water tends to occur Between 16's basket and 17's tee pad. You'll want to avoid hyzering out too far if you're a righty when throwing down 16's fairway if it's mushy. You might be taking your shoes off to get it, but you shouldn't lose anything in there.
- Not sure how course will do for tournament play. For example, on the front 4 field holes the ideal play is in other holes fairways. To get a good look at hole 1's basket you'll want to Hyzer into 18's fairway. To get a nice look at 18's basket you'll want to be in 17's fairway. To get a good look at 17's basket you'll want to be in 18's fairway. To get a good look at 16's basket you'll want to be in 17's fairway. This is pretty much the only time this happens on the course that I can recall, but it's the reason I'm giving it a 4.5 instead of a 5.0.
- As of a few months ago when I played there weren't many benches out there. If I recall correctly holes 1, 4, 10, and 17 have picnic benches near the tee pads. This doesn't bother me at all, but I know it's important to some. Especially being the looooong course that it is.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is fantastic! I really wish it would have been around when I grew up only a few miles away from that park. This is a must play if you haven't yet!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Such a great course

2-4    10/25/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: dondone
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is absolutely an amazing course in Tampa and is probably my favorite. A beautiful park with fantastic pads and the best signs I have ever seen. At the very beginning of the course you have jumbo jets flying in directly overhead, which can actually affect your shots because of the wind vapors. Seeing the Jets this close is a pretty cool and unique feature. Just give it a few seconds after they pass over before you throw into any unwanted wind turbulence. Once you get into the course it becomes more challenging and quieter as you move away from the jets flight pattern. There are so many challenging and unique shots here. I used every disc in my bag and I wished that I had more. This course is hard but very fair. It will make you a better player.
Cons: This course fits in this park like a glove. Truly a great use of space with the design but it would be nice if you had a little bit more privacy on some of the holes. It would also be nice to have amateur pads on most of these holes.
Other Thoughts: Put some amateur pads in here. This course deserves it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/11/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Chrisyo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a world-class course for sure. Stunning landscapes with a wide variety of vegetation. It is a very challenging course and can sometimes be frustrating for the average player. Fantastic tee-pads and probably the nicest signs I have ever come across. It is a very well thought out designed course and it utilizes every part of the property. Be aware, there are a lot of palm trees that will eat your disc.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

1    3/22/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signs, beautiful park, and the elements of wind from mother nature and aircraft (vapor trails can wreck havoc on 17/18. Creative basket placements make approach shots during grip and rip holes top notch.
Cons: Like a lot of courses I just don't get the fascination with having holes completely submerged in the woods with trees everywhere. Makes luck and bad luck a major player.
Other Thoughts: This is a true disc course that makes you think about every type of shot and was well laid out.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 long and technical without water hazards (mostly)

2-4    3/6/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 242  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -this is probably the closest course to an airport that I can remember which is awesome when you fly in from the cold and want to play immediately.
-great job fitting this long of a course into such a small space, but that leads to problems, see below
Cons: -luckily, there wasn't too much standing water when I was there, but I can see that being a real big problem.
-if busy, I could imagine a few danger spots where people will basically be throwing towards each other
-#10 doesn't have a fairway through the palms
-would hate to go over the fence and have to walk that far to retrieve a disc
Other Thoughts: this and cliff are about the same level of fun and difficulty for me, but here you have only one real water hazard

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My favorite course.

1    2/8/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: Disc2525
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are so many things to like about this course. It's a beautiful piece of property from beginning to end. It is very challenging yet very fair. There are a lot of really long holes, so big arms can rip it and feel good about it. There's a lot of technical holes as well. You may use every disc in your bag here. Very well thought out and creative design that uses the entire piece of property. The airplanes coming and going overhead at the beginning of the course is a unique environment. The tee-pads and signs are the best I have ever seen anywhere.
Cons: I really can't think of any cons.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.