La Porte, CO 
Cache La Poudre DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Race to Chase an Ace

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an ace race if I have ever seen one! Holes 1-8 are hardly over 150 feet, and even hole 9 is not much over 200. Having said that, if you know what you're getting into this is a great course. This course is mainly putter/midrange practice... I use the term midrange lightly because I play the course using exclusively my vibram putter. But if you don't have much power you may need to bust out a mid-range a few times. If you are reasonably good you should be aiming to get a score under -3 your first time out. Every hole is an easy birdie if your first throw is on point. Since all holes are so short and reachable, pars are a given for players of almost all abilities.

While each hole is certainly an easy birdie, this course is AWESOME putter practice, and a great place to chase an ace! I hit chains twice (sadly no ace) on my second round here. While this is on a small plot of land, surprisingly every hole presents a different challenge and requires a different throw. Holes 4-8 are all reasonably small corridors through gorgeous deciduous forest: Each of these "fairways" clearly indicate the throw you will need, and I loved the fact that I could throw my putter 9 times (from the tee) and threw the same shot only a couple of times. I do want to be clear about the "different throws" though... most were simple variations of subtle lefts, rights, and straight aways. There were few hyzer or anhyzer shots necessary... but there is certainly room to try them if you want.

Finally this place only takes between 10-15 minutes to play when nobody is infront of you. To some this is a con... but yet again you have to know what you're getting into. This course allows you 4 rounds of putter practice, and 36 chances to get an ace in an hour. Not to mention it goes through a gorgeous tiny little stretch of woods next to a creek. I can imagine this place sees many-an ace from locals.
Cons: This place is on school grounds and can only be played after hours. I certainly don't like public courses that have restrictions on play times. This course is also fairly confusing for a first timer considering how small it is. Most holes have a wooden post with a number next to them, but a few of the numbers are smudged and hard to read. The actual tees are denoted with a semi-rotten piece of wood in the ground in front of a patch of dirt. The tees themselves are not that bad (some are a bit short), but simply finding where they start is sometimes an issue.

TIPS FOR FIRST TIMERS: To get to hole one you must walk through the gate next to the parking area. Take a right, follow the bush on your left, and take a left at the end of it. Tee one is in front of you. To get to hole 4, stand at hole 3 basket and look at the bike path. Walk to the bike path, take a left, and walk about 30 feet. Hole 4 is a small corridor on your right. To get to hole 5, continue walking straight past hole 4 basket. You will see another basket, and the hole 5 tee is a little bit past this basket to the right.
Other Thoughts: This place is nice considering the amount of land they had to work with... they did their best. Go out there and chase an ace! I shot a -7 my second round here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 64  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While this course is very short, it does make you throw a number of shots. I usually play with just a putter, could even reach all of the holes with a lid (9 may be a streach)
This is a great place to work on your short game, and getting out of trouble (if you don't manage to stay out of it).
Cons: While the course is great, it has become very little of a challenge for me, even the worst drives are usually easy enough par saves. As mentioned the tees are bad, but with the course this short, you never need more than a step to get where you are going, so tee's are unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the play, and a great place for a summer casual round (or 4).
Please pick up your trash, its really embarrassing that I usually clear at least a 6 pack's worth of beer cans off this MIDDLE SCHOOL grounds.
If they never trimmed the guardian tree down on hole 9 (it used to have 2 or 3 more trunks branching out right) I would almost consider a 3.5 rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for all skill levels

5+    3/13/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very fun and provides a great introduction to the sport for new players as well as a sweet short game training course for advanced players.

The holes are all nicely framed and a little thought goes into shot selection. The designer has made good use of the small property and maximized the potential while maintaining a safe design.

There's very little schule and no chance of losing discs.

Cons: The tee areas are natural and some have some tree roots.
Other Thoughts: The course designer lives close by and does a great job of maintaining the propert and puts on clinics for the kids at the adjacent middle school. This course has been primarily designed and installed for those kids.

The shool has signs that clearly state no smoking and/or drinking on the course and that the course is closed during school hours. DON'T BE A DIRTY DISC GOLFER! Follow the rules and respect those that have worked to get this course put in the ground and those that are its primary users. If this course gets pulled due to illegal activities, littering or vandalism it'll be another black eye on the sport.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a Short Course Should be Like

2-4    8/14/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro is that this little course exceeds expectations on what little area it has to offer. Covered by ample old-growth trees and running along a shallow creek, it's truly a beautiful wooded area. Besides hole 9, everything is set fairly far from the school, so most of the time you forget your even on school property.

Even thought the holes are short they are very tight, using the landscape and fauna to force you to be accurate with your shots. If you want to work improving your mid-range game, this is the perfect course for you. It's also the perfect course for new players based on the length and lack of crowds. I took out two people who had never thrown a disc before, and by the end of the first round they wanted to play again. By the end of the second round they wanted to know where they could by discs so they could get into the sport. Tight and short, but fair and beautiful made for a fantastic first experience for them.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #7; #8
Cons: Cache La Poudre has some obvious negatives that any skill level should take into account before heading out. First, it's a short nine hole course and without any distance markings. My guess is that 8 out of 9 holes are less than 200 feet. Second, it's located at a school, so playing during school hours is surely frowned upon. However, with the majority of the course is in the woods, so if you didn't have to park on school property, no one would probably even know you were there.

Besides the two big negatives for most players, there are other small issues to note. There are minor flow issues between holes four and five if you've never played before - (just keep walking) and hole 6 pin plays precariously close to a barbed wire fence making even an accurate shot hazardous. The pins are in average condition, and the tees are natural, so wet days may be an issue. There are no real facilities, so pack it in and pack it out.

WORST HOLE/S: #2
Other Thoughts: In what I would consider the best "short course" I have ever played, Cache La Poudre Junior High is a gem in the foothills. Granted, there are obvious negatives that would ever prevent it from attaining a high rating, but that doesn't mean you won't enjoy the heck out of this course. The tight treed area along the trees makes you feel more lost in the forest than on a piece of school property. It simply makes me wish I could have grown up with a place like this at my disposal.

Now more than ever - I believe the rating is fair and just but doesn't accurately reflect my enjoyment factor for this course. After sitting behind the multiple parties at the heavily used and very popular Edora Park, being able to run through this course in 20 minutes was fantastic. And then yes, you enjoy playing again since you had so much fun the first time. Newbies to the sport, short players off the tee, and true amateurs will find this the perfect course to learn on, grow on, and become a more accurate player.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The most fun I have had playing

2-4    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course I could play 6 times through in the same day. Even though the holes are short the trees make for some very interesting shots. Coming from Denver up to Laporte this course was a 180 degree turn from the mostly flat and open courses I have played down in Denver. IF you hit Edora in the morning make sure you play this course. This course gives you practice on shot selection by far more than 90% of the courses I have played.
Cons: While not giving this course a 5 you would think there were cons. The course is short yes and the tee pads are natural yes. Both of these things add to its charm. The barbed wire fence that runs near holes 7 & 8 seems excessive. The water running near theses holes look nasty and I am glad a few trees saved me.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play for anyone who is looking to improve their shot selection techniques. Even though it is short and small you will have fun playing here no matter what. We played in the early Spring time so the trees and vines are not in full bloom. When all the vegetation is high it will add another degree of difficulty.

Make wise decisions about the way you throw here. One bad toss can cause you to end up behind a tree.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am relatively new to the game so this is a great course to get out and practice my short and mid-range game. It is a very wooded course so it is a very technical 9 hole. I enjoy playing this course . It's relatively a quick course so you can play multiple rounds in a short amount of time.
Cons: In the summer and fall there are a LOT of mosquitos due to the creek that runs through the course and the abundance of trees. So wear long sleeves and pants or make sure to have bug spray.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course nestled in Laporte, Co just NW of Fort Collins. After the last hole there is a nice wide open field to just throw your drivers. This is a fun technical course that goes quick. If you have a bad shot you might end up with 5 or 6 shots, on a short hole, due to all the trees. This course provides diversity to the other 9 holes around Fort Collins.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun course!

1    2/18/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 47  Reviewed: 34
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners and learning to control short mid-range drives through moderately wooded fairways. Tall trees scatter the course making accuracy necessary. You will only need a couple discs if not just a putter to play this course. It takes less than half an hour to play a round with a friend.
Cons: The course is on school property which limits playing time to weekends and weekdays after 2:30pm. You have to carry bug repellent during late spring and summer to avoid the infestation of mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: This is simply a fun and easy course in the woods. Try making up safari holes to complete 18 if there aren't players occupying the holes. Also, CLP is a good shield from windy days if you don't like the wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ditto

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What can I say that hasn't been said? It is a very short course that is great for short throw practice. You know when you have a bad drive and need a perfect throw to get out of trouble? There are several holes at Cache la Poudre that feel like that. It was dry, warm, and mosquito-free when we played. There were a lot of players there in large groups since Edora had a tournament. I liked that all of the players on every hole were in such close proximity to each other. You could see every throw and hear every conversation. The whole course is like that until nine which is the longest hole at about 200 feet. I never had anything out of my bag but a mid-range driver and a putter. We played two rounds in about 40 minutes.
Cons: No tee pads, but who cares? Some holes were so short, they could fit in my house!

There is a fence along the West side of the course that could be a bother, but it never affected our game.

There is a stream with gross, still water on the far West side. Don't go in there.
Other Thoughts: Fun, fun, fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 CLP

5+    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: originalcracker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has to be my favorite 9 hole course in Fort Collins. It is insanely short, but it allows you think about different lines to approach. This is an approach practice course. If you go there, don't bring anything other than a putter and maybe a midrange. As I have said in all my other reviews of FTC courses, GREAT SAFARI course. Hardly anyone is ever there. Plays SUPER FAST, can walk a round in 5-8 minutes.
Cons: Plays SUPER FAST. Tee pads are to be desired. Some sort of map is needed for newbies.
Other Thoughts: This is a hidden jewel in FTC. This course is just a blast. Don't go to this course if you are looking for some major challenge, but it is the most wooded course in FTC. Great pit stop if you are on your way up to Redfeather Lakes Courses (Sundance and Beaver Meadows)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

5+    9/8/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: CBass
Played: 119  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of trees, mostly towering. Lots of underbrush/high grass. Accuracy very important. Not crowded. This course is in a cottonwood forest with a creek running through and in play on 6,7,8. The shade trees offer a great respite from the summer heat. Tees are now marked after not being for the first few years.
Cons: Mosquitoes!!!!! Shorter than average course length. Leave drivers in bag. This course is located on school property and open for play after school hours. You can get in an afternoon round almost anytime of year, though. I attended this school and remember kids having bad rashes from time to time so I'm pretty sure there is poison ivy in there somewhere, so be cautious when looking for stray discs.
Other Thoughts: Great course for working on accuracy shots, and shaping shots. Good for developing short game. Some people use this course for speed rounds/conditioning.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.