LaPlata, MD 
Turkey Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: jrawk Hole #18 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 'A' Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Solid Golf in Southern Maryland

5+    8/5/2020   8/10/2020
Review By: n8director
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park and course VERY well maintained by the county and local DGC.
-Practice basket adjacent to parking situated in an area big enough to throw warm up approaches.
-Routing/Navigation clear.
-Excellent signage.
-High quality baskets and tee pads.
-Two tees on almost every hole, two baskets on every hole. Plenty of layout options.
-Water carries on hole 4 and 18. Short tee pads on both allow newer players to opt out of this.
-Not too much "poke and hope". The course demands and rewards skill.
-There's often multiple ways to attack a hole. Different routes, types of throws etc...
-Nice decorative brick work on hole 1 and 18.
-A couple elevated baskets. One is on 18. Circular pedestal with a brick surround. Looks great. I believe the other is on 14. It's placed on a circular grass mound. The top is flat and only 8' in diameter. So, putts are usually about 20-25 feet long to chains 8-10 feet above you.
-Good mix of semi-open to technical woods shots.

Cons: -There is some elevation change, but it doesn't often affect shot making. Overall the course is fairly flat.
-Hole 11 and 12 aren't up to the level as the remainder of the course. 11 is an awkward little pitch down a short hill where you gotta hit the first gap, then get lucky to thread though a number of bigger and smaller trunks. A few of the smaller trunks could stand to go away, IMO. 12 is a fairly short, firm putter or midrange uphill drive off the only tee on the hole. Not much to it, long or short basket.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't too penal for errant shots. Hard to lose a disc if it isn't in the water. Though the brush isn't brutal, if you are out of position off the tee you will be scrambling to make par.

If there's a signature hole, for me it's 17. The baskets are tucked down a long narrow chute, woods on the right, water to the left. To get the best look down the chute you need a 300-350' drive that brings the woods on the right off the tee into play. You can throw left safely off the tee, but that only makes the approach harder.

The local club runs doubles and singles leagues on different days of the week. These are well attended and run. I've never seen the grass high, or trash anywhere on the course. Though not an epic piece of land, it's pretty and the way it is maintained and has been put to use is impressive.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Southern Maryland Gem, worth the drive

5+    8/15/2020   5/16/2020
Review By: gtg888h
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2020
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Course is in A+ condition and upkeep. Signage, teepads, baskets, and grounds are all phenomenally done/maintained. Props to Charles County Parks and the Southern MD DGC for their work.
+Two teepads and two baskets on every hole. Having played all the layouts now, each of them provides a very different look at the course and a different challenge. S/S (red->red) can be done in under an hour and rewards good shot placement, while still providing two par-4s. S/L avoids going over the ponds and throws in additional par-4s on holes 4, 13, and 14 while making the other holes from S/S much more challenging. L/S only makes hole 4 from S/S a par-4, and brings water into play. L/L is a true championship golf track. Really a challenge for every skill level.
+Variety of holes and challenges is terrific. Two water carries (4 and 18 from long), some grip-and-rips (1, 8, 17), and great pin placements (red on 3, yellow on 9, red on 13, red on 14, both on 17, elevated pin on 18) make for a great challenge.
+Separate parking lot for disc golf, with a putting green/basket that could only be hit by the craziest of approach shots to the long basket on 18. Practice area has plenty of space to practice upshots and short midranges too for warmup.
+Turkey Hill also has a great dog park on-site (fenced area between holes #1 and #2), so your furry friends will have a fun time).
+Most holes play away from pedestrians, with only hole #3 and the long pin on #18 having danger of hitting non-players, but the number of pedestrians is generally very low to none.
Cons: -I could imagine the athletic fields making hole #2 (which splits the two main fields) and #3 (playing along the main walking circuit) a little trickier on school nights due to more people being around. I've personally only been on Saturday mornings and had no issues with pedestrian traffic.
-Hole #6's fairway can get quite boggy after a solid rain, but that's the only hole where the playing area is really affected by rain.
-Hole #11 is kinda gimmicky, thrown in there to get to 18. Did what they could with the terrain they had, I guess.
Other Thoughts: There are organized, random-draw doubles on Saturdays @ 10 AM and league play on Monday evenings.

I live in northern PG County and this is WELL worth the drive once or twice a month (~45 min on a weekend). Played it twice with my 5-y.o. son and he's thoroughly enjoyed it as well. Beautiful grounds, challenging layout, great variety, well-maintained...everything you could ask for.

I'd probably give it a 4.25 if I could, but I feel like a 4 would be shortchanging it. Given that the course is only 6 years old, a lot of the younger trees will soon present even greater challenges.

Unlike a lot of commentors here, I actually like holes #10 and #13 quite a bit. There aren't many fully-wooded holes on the course, and #10 provides a tight (but fair) gap to hit - and if you pipe it, you have a good birdie opportunity. #13 is beautiful with lots of huge, mature trees but a very high canopy. I'm a predominantly forehand player but love throwing my backhand there.

If you live in the DC metro area or Fredericksburg (accessing via the Potomac River Bridge), this is well worth the trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Added to my favorite local courses list

1    9/3/2019   9/5/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful, expansive park with varied hole play spread out in the fields and in the woods. I love that both the experienced and the newbie can have a great time here. Very clean, well-maintained all over. Best next-tee signage I have ever encountered. Nice tee pads (some are little small though) and hole signs to determine your strategy. Hole 2 through trees in an otherwise open field is neat. Hole 7 off pavement and over bushes into a small open field is perfect for rollers and anhyzers. Big long 8 lets you air out your throw 2-3 times (smile). I tossed a midrange with a lot of initial hyzer down the wooded slope on no. 11 and nearly birdied it. Big open field into the narrow peninsula at 17 is a very creative design.
Cons: They gave me two pars, but nos. 11 and 12 are sort of junky holes. Hole 12 moreso than 11. Ten also might fall near this bucket. Maybe 10 and 12 could be lengthened a bit for both pins. Leave 11 as-is. If I can always hit that midrange drive, it will be a most-welcomed par. No. 13 was the worst hole for me. The sloping, densely-wooded fairway was torturous. Needs to be a par 4 for both tees and both pins IMHO.
Other Thoughts: As a newbie still, I managed 4 pars here; that is encouraging. Holes 4, 11. 12, and 14 (red tees to A pins). I understand and see this was a ball-golf course, converted to a multi-sport park. I really like such and have played a few now. I think Turkey Hill is the best conversion I have played so far. Quite the excellent job in reinventing this space for disc golf, picnicking, soccer, football, dog park, etc.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in Southern Maryland

5+    4/4/2018   4/9/2018
Review By: Crazypete
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent Signage
- Very well maintained
- Long and short tees and baskets for almost every hole
- Easily accessible, located right off of main road
- Not crowded, have almost never waited on a single tee box
- A few water carries that are easily managable for amateur players, but also have short tee's that allow beginers to completely avoid them
- Nice mix of open holes and as well as wooded holes
Cons: - Long walk from #1 to #2, signage for someone who has never played there not great
- Hole #11 "Long Tee" is really more of a get lucky and hope you don't go O.B. type of shot
- Hole #12 Red basket is directly in the way for drive to Yellow basket, have hit it three times, would be nice to move Yellow basket further back and locate Red basket to the right about 10 feet
Other Thoughts: Overall best course in Southern Maryland, the multiple tees and multiple basket allow for a couple of options to keep coming back and not just playing the same course over and over again which is nice because there is really only one other course in the area 'Hot Shots'. Park maintenance does a great job keeping everything mowed and tee pads cleared. Disc golf scene is very big in SOMD so course is really never crowded, would be nice to get some events going on there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great SOMD course

5+    4/14/2017   4/25/2017
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 80  Reviewed: 17
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage, tee pads, and baskets. Always nice when a course hits all three of these.

-Pretty park setting that, over a number of visits, does not seem to have much overlap between park-goers and disc golfers.

-Really nicely laid out par 4 holes on the open and lightly wooded stretches.

- Uses a nice mix of different elements - left and right breaking shot shapes, water, elevated greens and pins, ect.

-The 4 possible layouts and ability to mix on any hole you want keep this course really fresh. My review is mostly my thoughts on the gold layout but i have played all the availalbe layouts and found them enjoyable.
Cons: -Really the only thing keeping this from being a 4.5 or even a 5 for me is the wooded holes - holes 10-13. I'll expand on that a little in the thoughts below.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I want to be over the moon about this course but the middle stretch of 10-13 is holding me back from the big numbers.

I'll start with the holes I love...
#4 is a signature-worthy hole on some other courses. Pretty multi shot hole over a small pond and then finishing left to right. Not much technical danger off the tee but nice aesthetics.

#8 great gold par 4, right to left off the tee and left to right back to the pin with danger on the drive and approach if you bite off too much.

#9 From the gold its a really fun but technical anny flex (or really mashed hyzer if you've got it). Get it too turned over though and you end up in the frog pond :)

#17 What a great hole. You have to control where you land your tee shot to give you the approach you want to the peninsula (water on one side and woods on the other). combined with the elevated pin this is maybe the most technical hole on the course.

#18 Not too technically demanding but a pretty closing hole over water to a beautiful raised pin location. In casual play i rarely can resist emptying the bag here.

For the stuff thats holding me back...

#10 From gold its a flukey tee shot. Poorly defined fairway where similar shots can get very different results.

#11 The short tee here is actually the much better shot. downhill with OB behind the pin so you really have to control your speed. The gold tee is poke and hope and then when you get through hopefully you don't end up wet.

#12 This hole is a decent wooded hole. My complaint with the gold layout here is that the short pin is right in the way of a good shot to the long. I have seen more than 1 shot to the long piped up the fairway that has hit the short basket.

#13 The short here is again a much better shot. The short hyzer from the longs leaves you a random second whether you execute it fairly well or fairly poorly. I love the woods back here and love the short pad but I do not like the layout from longs.

So that's it. the only reason I took the time to detail the holes that i feel don't work as well is because i feel like this course is really close to being a real 4.3-4.6 rated course and i hope it keeps getting better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great options

1    4/14/2017   4/15/2017
Review By: DuBose
Played: 121  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - No crowds. Had course to ourselfs.
- Great options with the 2 pads and 2 baskets on almost every hole. Very nice pads also.
- Nice setting and scenery. Very clean!
- Great signage and mapping. I didn't even use the map I printed from web site. (Even for hole 2 which isn't that bad of a walk to pad. I've had worse.)
- Well use of land they had. Decent variety of lefts, rights and elevation change available.
- Loved the mix of open shots and wooded.
- Most of course is very forgiving of mistakes made. Good for beginners from red pad.
Cons: - We were the only ones at park on Good Friday but I could see some potential conflicts with other park users on a busy weekend. Especially on the open holes.
- Could use some trash cans. ( This wasn't a problem but as the course gets more popular it could be)
Other Thoughts: This is a solid 4. The dual pads really change the holes. I used the red pad to yellow baskets. Mostly cause I had 3 bigginers with me and it worked REALLY well for all of us. It gave me enough of a challenge as an intermediate player but still made it fun for them. If it only had red to red, I would probably not come back. If I make it back here again (from California), I would want to play blue to yellow. I agree with the other review, I would be hesitant to throw over the first pond. Unless you throw a floater or you land near the edge, I'm not sure you would get you disc back. Looks close to 280' across and it's not clear water. The 30' pole they have to use is awesome, but not sure I would risk it. ( I know, what a wuss) Worth playing if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great amenities....3.5

1    8/3/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 367  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 34.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: less than 1 minute from highway 301...DG sign indicating to use the 2nd entrance...very clean port a john...2 cement tees on most of the holes...2 baskets on most of the holes...open front 9 and wooded back 9 making it feel like 2 different courses and 4 configurations are available..color coordinated tee signs (red/blue) and baskets (red/yellow)...wooden bridges built over wet area's...
Cons: the walk btw 1 and 2 as mentioned by many isn't all that bad as I was expecting it, it's well marked...twice the sign showed a right to left long pin position and I threw accordingly without seeing the basket but the long basket ended up being on the right...when playing long baskets on 14 and 17 the walk to the next tee was backtracking the hole just played...tee mats on 10-13(?) were un-level and slippery (why not cement like the others?)...#15 felt completely like a filler hole...you throw over a non-OB park road twice (3 and 18)...
Other Thoughts: I understand why this course gets a 4 star rating from most golfers as the amenities are great but the golf shots were rather repetitive.

I played short tees to the long baskets. I used the same driver on about 15 of the 18 holes. I skipped playing a 2nd round of long to short as planned and continued on to my next course over an hour away.

The water carry required from long tees 4 and 18 were about 300', I throw only 270' max right now and didn't see a bail out route that could be used if throwing from the long tee.



3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/5/2016 Designer Response by: jrawk
There are no 300ft water carries. That is enormously overly exaggerated.

Hole 4 is a 230ft carry at most, much shorter in summer when the lake is low. Hole 18 250 ft carry is easily bailed out on the left side of the lake any distance you are comfortable with since it is a triangular lake. Cut the corner for 160 ft. Split the different for 200ft or run at the short basket which is 35 feet from the edge of the water.

The Parks department is addressing the rubber tee mats in the woods. Concrete is not an option there right now as those parts are protected forest areas, but that may change in the future.

For those reading this, the course was designed around the blue tees. If you are a disc golf junky wanting to play the best, most diverse layout, play the blue tee pads. If you're simply a weekend warrior wanting an easy time, play the red tees.

 One of the Best in the Area

5+    12/15/2015   12/15/2015
Review By: DNap4
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect Signage for every tee, basket and inbetween make it easy to find baskets and not get lost when moving along the course. Very open course layout for people that love to drive long shots with min-mod technicality. The open layout is great for novices and intermediate players, and a good warmup/style course for advanced players. The water features are all playable, and unless you drive it into the center of the pond, you can easily get your disc back because of the 30-40ft poles that are positioned on each major water feature. This is a great course to practice driving over water shots (4 and 18) without fear of losing anything because of the recovery poles. There is a little of everything on this course tees on/towards hills/elevation (12, 14), driving downhill (11), technical woods (some of 10/16 and *13), over-water drives (4, 18-B), low-technical open distance drives (6, 8, 17, 18). It is pretty impossible to lose your disc on this course, there are no inaccessible terrain features or overbrush that will consume your worn plastic.
Cons: There really isn't too many cons for this course. This course does a little of everything without being the best in any of those areas. A lot of the more technical shots or interesting shots are short sub-350ft range. There is a small natural ravine bordering the wooded shots that make it difficult and mildly dangerous to retrieve your discs if they end up in them. The ravine is noticeable behind 11, which is the only significant downhill shot, and one that can easily be overshot into the ravine, and also noticeable on 13 if you try to drive around the path from the blue. Another note on 13 is that it feels completely different from the rest of the course, almost like walking on a completely new course. That feel is because 13 is really the only true wooded technical shot in the entire course, well, half of 16 and 10 as well (but both are relatively short).
Other Thoughts: This course fits my style. I'm an intermediate player with a little over 2 years experience playing in Colorado, Virginia and Maryland. I'm still working on my driving control and this course fits my need while not being a complete technical challenge. The two girls I played with, who had limited experience playing loved this course because of the lower technicality and it also gave them confidence in their drive and release. Overall course traffic seemed to be low, which may be because of the course being relatively new and also it being Winter (but hey, I would play in my snowshoes in Colorado..). As for the amenities around, there's a mall within 5miles of the course with a food court that has pretty good food. There are a bunch of liquor stores in the area, and restaurants to grab a beer within 5-10mi.

Overall, it is a great course that has a completely different feel from a lot of the other courses in the area and a worthwhile drive to try it out. I currently drive an hour from Fairfax to play here, mostly because my girlfriend (and also I) love it, but also because it beats out my local courses Bluemont, Burke Lake and Bull Run in a variety of ways.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/15/2016 Designer Response by: jrawk
Thanks for the review. The course does play significantly easier in the winter without leaves on the trees. Also there are many young fast growing trees that will continue to grow and tighten up some of the lines as years pass. And hey, I'll have to try playing in snowshoes sometime. Sounds like fun!

 Patapsco & Seneca Creek: Move Over!

1    4/18/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signage. Lots of variety and flight choices with 2 tees and 2 baskets on most holes. Nice scenery and environment. A lot of thought and work went into this course.
Cons: The course is sort of a perma-bog but as the whole park is a wetlands area that kind of fits. Plenty of reptile and amphibian life can be spotted on a round. It's a bit of a stretch but everything else here is so great I'll mention the traffic noise from Rte 301 and tees that are on an asphalt roadway on #7.
Other Thoughts: The course designers probably just couldn't find a good solution for wanting the course to start and end at the same place with #18 as a magnificent finishing hole. Hole #1 is an unexciting bog and then there is a looong walk to #2. Most other things here though are at an A level and this brand new course is one of if not already the best in Maryland.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/15/2015 Designer Response by: prerube
Charles County has recently made several improvements to drainage. If you play a course in April, it will tend to be wet. "April Showers bring May Flowers".

The course was designed to have it's own private parking lot. Hole 1 was an obvious plug and play, but we could not play anywhere near the dog parks. The walk is under 700 feet and appears after the first hole, so there is not time to be tired yet.

The tees on Hole 7 are still on the asphalt, but have recently been painted in the color of the tee that you are teeing off from.

Thanks for playing.

 Play this course, it was great!

1    12/21/2014   12/24/2014
Review By: davidafoss
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Very well maintained with excellent baskets and excellent signage.
* Great mix of open grip-it-and-rip it shots and wooded, technical shots.
* Multiple pads and baskets on every hole make this a great course regardless of skill level.
* Easily accessible with plenty of parking.
Cons: * Long walk from #1 to #2 around the dog park - directions from 1 to 2 could be better for a first timer, but I was playing with someone who had been there a couple times.
* A couple more trash receptacles would be good, but this is a minor quibble
Other Thoughts: Went out with a friend who has been here a few times before and raved about it every time. The experience didn't disappoint. I had a fun time on the course despite being severely punished on a couple of wooded, uphill putts I missed. This may be a 40 minute drive and across a state line for me, but I would gladly make that drive to play this course again. It doesn't quite have the scenery like you would find at Seneca, but I think the course is just as enjoyable as Seneca's original 18.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.