Rochester, NY 
Ellison Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
One of Rochester's finest

1    8/22/2017   8/23/2017
Review By: B The V
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained, mowed, and clean.
-Variety of types of shots needed
-Bathrooms in the parking lot
-Fun top of the world shot (12)
-Nice new signs that are informative and accurate
-Little chance to lose discs
-Great use of the hill
-Wooded holes have multiple routes
-Multiple ace run opportunities
-A deli down the street sells discs and has great burgers
Cons: -Can be crowded
-Some wet spots, especially if it has rained recently. Particularly on holes 5 and 11.
-Climbing up and down the hill can be a bit much for the out of shape
-I'm not a fan of the rubber tee pad, but I have played on much worse
-The baskets are not the greatest, but again I have seen much worse
Other Thoughts: A great course that utilizes elevation, distance and just enough trees to add difficulty. The holes all seem to be well thought out and the course is easy to follow.
Newer players will learn the difficulty of throwing up and down hills quickly, as the first 5 holes mainly use elevation to challenge the player. Holes 6 though 10 play through a slightly wooded mostly flat part of the park that requires some shot shaping. 11 is back up the hill to lead you to hole 12. A top of the mountain shot that will make you want to throw all of your discs. Holes 13 through 18 lead you back into some more technical lightly wooded holes with a few ace run opportunities for well placed shots.
This course does a great job of making every hole unique. Despite it being very busy most of the time, it is definitely worth playing a round and is one of the best Rochester area courses. Stop down to Sonny's Deli, grab a new disc, a slice of pizza, your beverage of choice and go throw a challenging fun round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ellison DGC 2.0

5+    5/12/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -decent redesign from the original layout improves the flow
-great use of the terrain, with many different types of shots required
-serious challenge for players of all abilities, requiring length & accuracy off almost every tee
-great workout for 18 holes, as the course traverses a massive hill
-the original Rochester dg haven
Cons: -rubber pads are getting beat, and the baskets are ancient, but still fair
-frequently mobbed with players...which is great, but can make a round last well over an hour
-navigation is decent, but there are several holes where wayward shots could flirt with people
-seasonal course=no winter rounds
Other Thoughts: Ellison is our town's original championship course, and it's reputation/central location have led to it also being the most popular course in the area. I grew up a few blocks away and have been playing here since I was a kid, and it is a great challenge every time I go. The crowds may detract somewhat from the overall experience, but they speak to the greatness of the course. If you are in the area while the baskets are in, Ellison DGC is a must-play; you will not be disappointed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/3/2017   5/5/2017
Review By: Mr_Grigsby
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great location
-Fun, challenging course
-Good variety in types of holes / shots
-Excellent course design
Cons: -Can be very busy
-Large hill to walk up
-Some tees are close to baskets
-Baskets can be hard to spot sometimes (Plain grey baskets)
Other Thoughts: The Ellison course is a great place to play. With 18 holes, it makes for an awesome day of disc golf.

The course runs along a pretty steep hill, with several of the holes running along or up / down it. You also move in and out of the trees along the course, giving a good variety of long bomb holes and more technical ones. Most of the holes are straight shots, with the notable exceptions being hole #4 and maybe hole #6.

The course design is great, lending to a pretty straight forward tee / basket / tee path. This makes it easy to find where you are going quickly, allowing for a good flow to the course. The downside to this is that some of the holes are bunched up close to their corresponding next tee, especially on the last three or four holes. There have been a couple of times I have been waiting to throw on hole #15 or #18 only to have a disc land right near the teepad.

With this being a great course to play, it does get pretty packed quickly. This can lead to bottle necks if you have someone that you just can't seem to catch up to to ask if you can play through. Each time I have been at the course, there have been a lot of people playing. If you come during a busy time of the day, just expect to let someone play through or ask a group to let you play through, and you should be alright.

Overall, this is an awesome course to play. I always enjoy my time here and get quite a bit of exercise while playing. I highly recommend giving this course a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Busy Busy

1    9/3/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: The Don
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic course. It has a nice change of pace between open holes, wooded holes, uphill, downhill, and different lengths. Just 15 minutes outside of downtown Rochester and not far off the thruway makes this course very easy to get to.
Cons: Super busy. I got there at 8:15AM and their was already a couple groups of guys on the course. We started playing at 8:30 and by the time we were done their was a line to play. I've never seen that before on a disc golf course. Maybe it was busy because Dynamic Disc had a booth setup in the parking lot that day.
Also, the course is a little confusing. I threw in the wrong basket on one hole so bring a course map.
Other Thoughts: Great course if you like being in the woods. Worth the trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tiring but fun

1    11/22/2015   11/23/2015
Review By: joenlinda
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes were well placed and marked
It was easy to find the next hole
I loved the holes that were back in the pine trees
It's challenging but not too much even for this Noobie
Love the shots that let you air it out full power
Cons: The hills are killers if you're not in top shape
Lots of dogs running loose which made me hesitant to throw lest they want a chew toy
Pretty wet and muddy in spots
Fairly windy the day I played
Other Thoughts: It was my first time playing here and even though it was quite the leg workout I really enjoyed it. I started at 10am pretty much alone and after I finished 18 holes I noticed the parking lot and park were pretty full of DGers. I would recommend this course to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/25/2015   4/28/2015
Review By: RobA
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fly pads on every hole
- Good use of the hill, with uphill, downhill, and side hill shots
- With its changes over the years, course stands the test of time in terms of challenging disc golf
Cons: - Can feel repetitive at times because long holes grouped with long holes, short holes grouped with short holes
- Very wet in spots
- Holes are packed tight in middle of course, keep your head up and eyes moving
Other Thoughts: The course is relatively wide open, but the hill presents a challenge. I don't think the course is beginner friendly since there are some very technical shots. While hole 12 is fun to empty your bag, a less then perfect shot has a chance to hit people on 4 other holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ellison 2014

1    8/12/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of the trees and elevation
-rubber fly mats, new tee signs, old baskets
-good mix of shorter and longer holes, open and wooded
-the big hill is used well with holes playing up, down, and across
-the new layout flows well, it splits up the walks up and down the hill better, and the new holes are decent
Cons: -still has some filler holes
-still gets really busy and crowded with players and pedestrians
-still no alternate tees or pin locations
-still closed during the winter
-it's a real bummer that they lost hole 16, that hole was a lot of fun and one of my favorites on the course
Other Thoughts: Ellison Park got itself a face lift but little has really changed other than the order of the holes. The large hill is still the predominate feature of the course and the hole at the top of the hill (old hole 7, new hole 12) is still the signature hole.

A few of the holes are tweaked with a new basket position (8, 18; old 15, 3) or tee location (16, 18; old 4, 3) and old holes 6, 8, and 16 are gone, replaced with new holes. Hole 10 plays to old hole 8's basket but from the opposite direction.

The course still has a bunch of great features. The patches of trees are used well, providing trouble near the tee or basket, or a major obstacle to avoid in the fairway. The tee shots go uphill, downhill, and across adding variety to all the elevated looks that make up half the course.

The rubber fly mats that were installed for Am Worlds a few years back are still in great shape or the course is much easier to play than it was in the days of awful, rutted tees. This is still the most-played course in Rochester and the closest to downtown. It's probably the best course to bring beginners as well. Ellison is a solid course that is a lot of fun. My old review gave it a 3.5 but I think 3.0 is more accurate.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/2/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 185  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a city park with big elevation. That probably tells you 85% of what you need to know.

Every hole here incorporates some amount of elevation change, and I felt like I got to hole 14 or so before there was anything even close to flat. That isn't a complaint. I loved it. There weren't any bad holes here, and I never got bored.

The signature holes for me:
Hole 5 is 237' (according to the site; I thought the sign distance was longer) straight downhill. I overthrew it with my putter by 70 feet easily, and I never overthrow anything with my putter. This presented an interesting ranging issue.

Hole 6 was maybe my favorite, a 610' downhill (more gentle than steep) shot with a few branches forcing some decisions off the tee. You can avoid the issue with a sweeping RHBH flex shot, or just go straight under them. The fairway then brings some widely spaced trees into play. A three is certainly possible with a great drive.

Hole 11 wasn't fun, per se, but it required two full drives uphill to get within sniffing distance of the hole.

Hole 12 is the signature hole, a 500-foot bomb off the top of the hill. The wind comes into play. I threw two drives and turned both of them over. Getting the full flight out of the disc will be troublesome if there is much wind, but man it's fun.

Navigation was pretty easy, with the next tee pad usually nearby. I consulted the map once or twice.

All of the pads were concrete.
Cons: The course is pretty open for maybe 2/3 of the holes, and you can definitely get away with some inaccurate drives. That, combined with the fun elevation, means this is a rec-friendly course.

The rec-friendly conditions combined with the elevation mean you'll get some errant discs that present some danger. On hole 16, I walked up to my approach shot and saw a disc plunk down 15 feet from me and then a guy at the top of the hill (teeing off from 12) say, "Oh, sorry!" Right, a little heads up would have been nice. I was there on the Tuesday after Labor Day in the early afternoon, with maybe 6 other people on the course, so I can only imagine how things play out when it's packed.

I didn't really notice it while playing, but other reviewers mentioned the tee signs were just moved after the re-design but not updated.
Other Thoughts: The course has been re-designed, so if you came before 2013, this isn't quite the same course.

I had a blast here. For those that have played in Kansas City, this reminded me of Swope but with the elevation of Waterworks. There were a lot of really fun shots.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice clean course

2-4    8/23/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: grotto
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty wide open for the most part but very interesting. A good course to practice up and down hill shots and deal with wind. Not an overly difficult course, but there are trees and accuracy counts. Holes are well mapped and no problems wondering where the basket is or where the next tee pad is.
Cons: Played it before noon on Saturday and was fine, came back after 2 to play it again and it with very crowded. Good for the course, bad if you're playing solo. Would be best to play during the week I would guess.
Other Thoughts: Nice that Sonny's Deli is up the hill. When there for lunch and browsed a very good selection of discs! Only place I have sen that carries Prodigy discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  One of my favorites

5+    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: ELItheICEman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is mostly wide-open, and even the areas that aren't that open are still not so dense that you couldn't find your disc.
-It's very forgiving for beginners, or if you're practicing your technique.
-It's a great hike with several holes built into the hill.
-The course is very well maintained - there are "regulars" who take it upon themselves to clean up as they play.
Cons: -Because it's such a beginner-friendly course, it's often quite crowded.
-As with any other course, there will still be some trash and empty bottles strewn about.
-The hill is quite steep, and can be discouraging for those with weaker arms.
-It can get a bit soggy after a decent rain.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I can say with absolute certainty this is my favorite course to play. Sure, there may be prettier, better thought-out, more challenging courses in the area, but this one's always a pleasure.

The re-design is a minor change overall, and I think it was well-done. Sure, it sucks that the old #16 is gone, but life goes on; and the flow of the course is still excellent.

As long as you plan for the worst (i.e. wear crappy shoes/clothes that you don't mind getting a bit soggy and/or muddy) it's a great place to throw!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.