Houston, TX 
Agnes Moffitt Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #12 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Red Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
My Third In The Houston Open Course Trifecta!

1    9/23/2017   9/23/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Agnes Moffitt is large, with a swimming pool, ball fields and a busy covered basketball area. There were way more guys hooping today than throwing plastic. The course starts just beyond the BB games. There is a kiosk here with the usual rules of disc golf posted. There is a old beat practice basket at the start. Two sets of tees, the Reds and the Longer Whites. I played from the Reds. The Whites wen't much longer but seemed to give you just enough of a different look as to make them a nice alternative. The concrete tee pads are nice sized. The only signage are 4" x 4" poles with the hole # on them. Someone has written the distance on a couple of poles with Sharpie. How about writing it on every pole?

I see this course playing at a very, comfortable recreation level. One reviewer called it his comfort food. It is a very low pressure round. There's very little chance of even having to search for discs and even less chance of losing one. The course is wide open enough that hitting a tree is harder than avoiding them. But after saying this, I think better players can enjoy playing here and putting up scores way under par. I don't think there are any par 4's here.

The area would seem to be disc gold exclusive. You may find the occasional park user wandering out here or perhaps, walking a dog, but that shouldn't pose any problem for you.

There are clearly marked Mandos on two holes, keep left on # 5 and keep left on # 15.

There was plenty of standing water on the course probably left from the recent flooding. It was impossible to play today without getting your boots wet.

Signature hole? I thought # 17 was pretty cool with it's well constructed 20' x 20' green area. Today, it was totally surrounded by water fully adding to it's difficulty. You didn't want to miss the green and really get wet feet. I kinda doubt this area is usually this wet. Also, some homeless person seems to be living about 50 feet left of the basket. I wonder? Are the homeless in Texas as likely to be packing heat as the average Texican? Probably don't want to be bouncing your drive off his humble tented abode and finding out?
Cons: Not much in the way of obstacles.

Flat.

Lots of standing water today.

I was confused at times as to which basket I was throwing too. Also, I had to ask other groups for directions a couple of times.

Baskets are old and not so attractive but have good bones and catch well.

Better signage would be nice.

There were benches on about 3 holes. I've played courses where the locals have carted in multiple benches on every hole. I guess you Texas players don't need the rest or aren't stopping to smoke a bowl every other hole like some courses I've visited.
Other Thoughts: This was the third in my personal trifecta of Houston's mostly open courses, along with TC Jester and the White Oaks North course. These three are all so similar in their look and play. They all have their strengths and weaknesses. TC and North both have some big throws. North has that nasty green water. North is the most challenging and also, the scariest. Agnes Moffitt is the least dangerous and most comfortable round. Rating them is really interesting, I believe. If I had the option, I would rate them as this:

White Oaks North. 3.35
TC Jester. 3.10
Agnes Moffitt. 2.90

But from my weiny armed rec prospective, my ratings would look more like this:

Agnes Moffitt. 3.50
White Oaks North. 3.25
TC Jester. 3.00

Which makes it easy for me to just call them all 3.0. Actually, coming from that giant rain forest that is Washington state, where most of our courses have extremely thick underbrush and trees galore, playing these more open courses was most enjoyable.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

big course

1    9/2/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: zonvil
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it's a lotta walking which i like, only played 12 holes because i had just played nine at another course
it's good for beginners like me,some fairways through
trees, probably would not loose a disc there, i almost did in a wooded area. just make sure you use bright color discs
Cons: grass was high, some real wet muddy areas, flat
could use an update
first time so i had trouble locating the tees
was another guy just in front of me that showed me the way, this nice guy did mention to me that he was approached by someone in the back part of the course, he was able to persuade that person approaching to stay away
be careful, watch who is around at all times
Other Thoughts: i'm going to go back when it gets cooler

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf "Comfort Food"

5+    12/7/2015   12/14/2015
Review By: gouch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good location near I10 and the Sam Houston Tollway on the west side of Houston.
Eighteen holes with alternate red and white tees creates variety.
Plenty of parking with water available and one portable toilet.
Concrete tee pads with distance marked on the red or white posts.
Nearly all baskets are visible from the tee pads.
Most holes provide birdie opportunities.
Baskets are well worn but are still straight and sound.
Low likelihood of losing a disk on this mostly open course.
Some benches scattered along the course.
Barrels, considerate disc golf players and the park department keep the course clean.
Even though the park is multi-use, the disc golf course is situated such that only disc golf players are on the course.
Cons: Can be difficult following this course without a map as the posts only have distance, not a map of the hole with an arrow pointing to the next hole. Many folks miss the tee for hole 7 which is behind and to the left of the hole 6 basket behind some bushes.
The course is flat with lightly scattered trees; the drought of 2011 killed off roughly half of the trees on the course. New plantings will take several years to replace the old majestic oaks, cypress and pine trees.
The alternate white tees 2, 4 and 15 can be difficult to find. Print off a map beforehand. You can reach hole 18 by walking the path behind hole 17 for 50 yards.
More than most courses I've played in Houston, Moffitt tends to hold water after rains with most of the baskets sitting in puddles.
Other Thoughts: It is worth printing off a map of the course for the first few times you play the course. I've been playing this course for the past 8 years and despite the existence of many better courses in Houston, I enjoy Moffitt which is like "comfort food" to me. With 18 holes and alternate white tees, there is enough variety to remain interesting. The park department keeps the course reasonably maintained. There are many low spots on the course which retain water; while this makes for a wet course, if you wear appropriate shoes, playing around these temporary puddles makes for a more interesting course. When freshly mowed, long skips are possible; after a week of growth skips are rare. Being mostly open, especially on the front 10 holes, wind can play a major factor on long drives. These micro-environmental differences add interest to a flat, mostly open course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/3/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: 8forks
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/13/2015
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's great for beginners and has no serious hazards to loose disc's in. As far as community goes, there is a club that plays every Thursday around 6 or so, and I personally have met and joined about 4 different groups that invited me instead of playing alone.
Cons: The pictures need to be updated, but that's about the worst about it. The map on the website is much more accurate then the map they have in a box at hole 1. Every hole is par-able, and a couple are relatively easy birdies so it doesn't allow for challenges for more advanced players. The first few holes have some difficult to spot white tee's and hole 18 red tee is hidden pretty well. And since its incredibly hot this summer, the grass is very dry.
Other Thoughts: I have only been playing disc golf for 3 weeks, but this course has got me crazy about the sport. I live only 5 minutes from it and go nearly every day. I've even managed to get birdies on holes 9, 14, 15, and 18. This being said I may look for more challenging courses to try out in the future. I also understand that on hole 5 there was supposed to be a tree relatively close and an obstacle for the white tee which is shown iun the pictures, but has since fallen down making the difference from the red tee very small.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Popular & Busy

1    5/12/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: hmccolgan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good layout. Near pool and park. Dog friendly. Tournaments held here. Most holes had two run ups (Advanced and Normal) with cement run-up & tee marker.
Cons: Ridiculously busy. Large groups (3 different groups for me) of loud, rude people. None wanted to wait for noobs like me finish out a hole prior to yelling for us to hurry up. Doesn't seem like a good atmosphere for a beginner.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    9/26/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: GreenDisc101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Gives some challenge to beginners ( like me)
- Not exact same layout every hole
Cons: - Baskets arent in best of shape
- Navigating holes and which basket to throw at is awful
- For most part wasnt to trashy except for one of the back nine holes by the tee box has a big build up of trash
Other Thoughts: Like i said it is fun and is a good course to go play by yourself or with a group of people.

Careful #7 tree WILL hold your disc in the limbs and has thorny branches lol

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    8/14/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: neilyounglyric
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well kept, clean, concrete tee boxes on every hole that are well-marked and point you in the right direction to throw.
Cons: All the tees and baskets seem to be on top of each other with multiple possibilities as to which tee box is the next to play from.
No elevation changes, no water, throwing into wide open fields with the occasional cluster of trees -- what you would expect from Houston, TX.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie and Still A Goodie

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that players of all levels can play and get some good practice throws in. I liked this course for the concrete tees and the layout in general. Ms. Lehman made good use of the land she had to work with here. This was a course that I could play off the long tees and still had a more than good chance of achieving par on most, if not all, holes. I only got turned around twice while I was playing here the first time. Most courses similar to this one might have nine to twelve or so holes, but these are 18 holes of good practice play. I found this course to be similar to one I played last year in Temple. It too, did not have a lot of land to work with, but there were 18 holes and concrete tees as well. One thing I can give the designer credit for on this one is that a player doesn't get that cramped feeling that you would get on a lot of other courses.
Cons: Slightly muddled navigation between holes 6 & 7 as well as 13 & 14. When you finish hole 13, if you were to go straight, a player would encounter hole 16. Other than these two items, I find very little wrong with this course. The baskets are even still in pretty decent shape.
Other Thoughts: I was looking for a course a little closer to me to play and I had heard some talk about this one. This course filled the bill nicely and I know I will come out here to play again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Recreational Course

5+    5/9/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For starters the 36 new concrete tee pads and hole number posts are a huge plus for any level of play.

For amateur and recreational players, the holes are not too intimidating as they are all in the 200-360 ft range (red tees) and devoid of insurmountable obstacles. The fairways weave moderately around a few large oak trees for the most part. From the red tees almost every hole is birdiable when playing from the red tees--an enticing challenge for recreational and low amateurs. The white tees are longer and a little more challenging, but also very manageable.

There are no water hazards where you are likely to lose a disc.

The baskets are excellent quality disc catchers, although a couple are banged up a bit.

Parking is ample. The grass is generally mowed. The disc golf course is set aside from other park attractions, so typically no risk of hitting other park patrons with a wild throw.

All in all, it is a very enjoyable course for recreational play.
Cons: As of May 9, 2013, hole distances are not indicated on the number posts by the tee pad. The only way to get distances is to measure yourself, or download the hole info from this site.

The course layout can be confusing, until you have played it once or twice, and there is not an accurate map posted anywhere (that I observed), so print the map on this site and bring it with you.

It is true that some of the holes and tee pads are quite close, but it is not as extreme as other reviewers have indicated, now that the tee pads are marked with hole numbers and red or white posts.

There are some low spots that retain standing water after a big rain, but no worse than most other Houston courses.

Finally, if you are looking for something really challenging as an advanced amateur or pro level, you probably won't be satisfied with the Moffit challenges, and it is true that some of the holes can seem a little repetitive, but this has not bothered me yet.
Other Thoughts: As a RHBH thrower, my most memorable (red tee) holes are ...

Hole #2 Anhyzer flight path in to the basket loosely surrounded by trees, or a risky low ceiling hyzer path.

Hole #3: Big straight tunnel shot out of the tee box, which then opens wide up approaching the basket

Hole #10 Another longer anhyzer into a clearing where the basket is loosely surrounded by trees.

Hole #11 Tight tunnel shot out of the tee box with a necessary anhyzer path with thick vegetation on the left all the way to the hole.

Hole #12 Low ceiling shot out of the tee box with a little room for an alternate big hyzer over thick trees on the right into the basket.

Hole #16 Big dogleg right into a clearing 270 ft to the basket.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Very Open Course

5+    11/4/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +new dual tees for each hole add variety
+full 18 holes (which is more than most of the courses close in proximity to me in this area)
+the wide open holes try to make up for the lack of obstacle by having relatively long distances
+other than disc-ers the park is almost always close to empty so you dont have to worry about other people getting in the way too often
Cons: -very easy to confuse what tee and hole to play next - I spent quite a bit of time figuring out how the course worked the first time i was there
-few obstacles
-the park itself isnt that well taken care of and there are several large low spots that get muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: I keep playing this course so I guess it is good enough to keep me coming back but mainly just because it has a full 18 and is closer than other nicer courses. plus, its fun to be able to practice my drives and try out new discs here due to its lack of obstacles.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center