Houston, TX 
Agnes Moffitt Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #2 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Fun Course

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to navigate this course if you have a basic sense of distance as the tees all point at the basket. Tees were all fairly easy to find with no map. Two sets of tees that give you slightly different looks at the baskets. There's a good mix of medium length and short holes. Only one hole over 350 from the "green" tees, and only one over 400 from the red tees. Most holes have trees strategically placed in between the tee and basket but can't recall any hole that just didn't have a line. The part of the park that the course is on is supposed to be only dg-ers but you will have the occasional dog walker. Pretty good parking, I've never had to wait on a spot or park somewhere else. There is a practice basket right by the sign for the course and by 1's tee box. There are actually scorecards in the scorecard box which is nice. They have maps on the back but you may not need one.
Cons: TEE BOXES- These have to be some of the worst boxes that I've thrown from. They are a mix of gravel and dirt that has holes at the end of the box from years of run-ups. Some of them you can throw from the side and some it's almost as unpleasant to do that. This course loses a lot of points because of the boxes. If the boxes were in better shape I'd probably play this course a couple times a week (it takes me about 25-30 min. to drive to it so I think that says a lot).
Other Thoughts: I only go in the mornings and play this course once every couple of weeks and there are usually a few others playing. I can't speak for how crowded it gets in the afternoons or weekends. Plenty of birdie holes on this course and you should be able to shoot a relatively good score. Would recommend this course to anyone who's looking for a fun semi-challenging course. If you play from the back tees it gives you a different look on most holes and adds a little length. There is also a baseball field right beside #1 that makes for a nice "driving range". I would say depending on the direction you throw you have plenty of room to throw out to about 500' or so, so most of us will have plenty of room. Fun course that you should play at least once.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: wolfman7207
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice open course, with some grip it and rip it holes. No real tunnel shots, but placement of trees and bushes on the course due require at least basic needle threading ability. Overall the course is a decent recreational course but not a serious challenge. Disc Golf course is well taken care of with minimal trash or graffiti.
Cons: Gravel Tee boxes (lots of slipping and sliding when performing a runup.) The course was clean but the surrounding park is full of trash and graffiti. Hole 17 was muddy even after several days of sun.
Other Thoughts: Course is in serious need of concrete tee pads or at the very least packed dirt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/2/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, mostly open with some trees here and there; just a nice course, worth the 25 min. drive for me.
Cons: Holds water after rain; although me and couple of disc tossers went out with a slight drizzly coming down and skipped 12-14 and stayed mostly dry; but the mud was in full effect.
Other Thoughts: TLC for the tee-boxes

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 well groomed

2-4    11/12/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Clean, low traffic and well maintained. Mostly pitch and putt with some ace runs, but a couple of bomb droppers in there too. Benches at every box and a couple different chill spots between holes. Great for driving and putting practice if you live nearby or are a beginner.
Cons: When it rains it's like a giant lake that's only 2-4 inches deep. Don't bother stepping into the Tee pits. No challenges or extra elements like water, mandos, underbrush.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 good course needing updates

5+    11/10/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 134  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course with great trees and good maintenance. not to easy but not very hard at the same time. Easy to navigate. Most holes are fairly open but still give you a chance to hit trees. Course is well protected from the wind. benches and garbage cans spread out across the holes.
Cons: Some of the worst tee boxes i have ever played on. course does not require you to use much accuracy.
Other Thoughts: My only real problem with the course is the lack of cement tee pads, but i guess that is a houston wide problem.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Like an old friend

5+    10/1/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 100  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has a number of nice features. The baskets are yellow and easy to see. There are some trees, but everything has a pretty good line to the basket. Every hole is a reasonable distance which makes it a great place to take beginners to learn how to play. It will challenge people who are getting started and be an enjoyable round for those that have played for a while. There are lots of birdie and ace chances with only a small chance of losing discs.

The course gets a LOT of traffic so you can always find someone to play with (but can also be very crowded sometimes). It has a pretty strong league going on Thursday nights.
Cons: The teeboxes are horrible. One day maybe the parks and rec gods will drop concrete on this course and it would be a huge upgrade. Until then just try to find a safe spot to throw from. There is little risk/reward. Even if you make a bad throw you can recover pretty easily (although this might be a pro for some people).

It can also be VERY bad after a big rain as the course holds a lot of water.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a fun round of disc golf. I use to play this course a lot when I was learning and recently haven't played it as much. I played it again last week for the first time in like 7 months and it was like getting together with an old friend. Very comfortable and easy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Times

2-4    9/5/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: allen
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course, big, open spaces. Lots of trees that make for challenging shots, especially around the baskets.
Cons: Lots of foot traffic, there seems to always be quite a few people out there (although I do go when the weather is nice and usually a Sunday or Saturday) but still...
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth a play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid 18 Holes

5+    7/7/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: Adam281
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with some good challenges. Nice tee posts and a decent course flow. Not too hard, so you feel like an accomplished player after a round at Agnes Moffitt : )
Cons: Be careful after recent rain. The course can easily hold lots of water, even after several days. Depending on the last upkeep, the tee boxes can be awful- more like uneven trenches. This can easily throw off your drive.
Other Thoughts: Like many other Houston area courses, bring your mosquito spray!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Best on the West

5+    6/6/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 107  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a west Houston staple and is probably one the areas most played courses. On any given day one is bound to find at least 10 people playing this course. It has a good variety of holes for righties and lefties and alternate tee positions that actually provide different angles of attack, creating basically two courses in one. The park for the most part is well kept although you will catch the occasional bum sleeping by a teebox from time to time. There are a few little spots to sit but some of the picnic tables that were in the park have now been removed. Pretty much anyone can play this course with the longest hole being maybe 400 feet.
Cons: The worst and I mean the worst teeboxes I have ever played. Maybe I'm a little biased since I've seen more then one friend sprain an ankle or pull a hammy there. But seriously the city of Houston needs to do something about them. If your playing the course play from behind or to the side of them, just don't risk it. There can be, at times, the element of pot smokers at this park and even though it is a somewhat accepted part of playing DG, to some, like myself it can be a little annoying at times. Just be aware.
Other Thoughts: This course to me could be so much better if it had good tees, possibly even a four, considering it is actually two courses in one. But without them it really drags this course down IMO. That being said I play this course a lot and I still love old Agnes, I don't think I've ever had a bad time there and for the west side its the only 18 hole show around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too open and a little too bland

2-4    9/13/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.4 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.