Huntsville, AL 
Monte Sano Mini DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #5 (Taken 11/2017)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Teeny Tiny Baskets

1    11/5/2017   1/5/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 314  Exp: 4.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.379 Rating) (2.5 Rating MINI) Put the bag away and grab a MINI.
- CHALLENGING - Surprisingly not as easy as it looks for someone accustomed to throwing regular discs. Throwing a mini is not the same as throwing a regular disc. A short 100 foot hole is monster for a mini. I personally threw eight pars and a bogie. I couldn't make anything outside of 10 feet and missed a couple shots inside that distance. It's hard to hit these small targets.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Despite the difficulty to par the layout can easily be run by first timers and younger kids. There are no water hazards or dense overgrowth under the trees in this portion of the park.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Not quite as much awe as the big boy course, but it's still located in a fully wooded portion of the park. In addition, the entire Monte Sano Park is just amazing with lots of hiking and biking trails.
- LOCATION - The MINI course is located off the right side of fairway (7) on the regular Monte Sano layout. This makes for an easy one two punch for those trying to rack up courses played.
- NAVIGATION - No course map and no hole signage other than numbered posts. Despite these seemingly problematic deficiencies, the layout is so small that traversing it doesn't require much thought. The numbered post for the next hole is always in view from the prior basket.
- QUICK PLAY - Even with me photographing all the holes to post onto DGCR, it still took me only 20 minutes to play the loop and continue onto hole (8).
Cons: It just not the same.
- UNIQUENESS - Sure it's a MINI course, which could be considered unique in its own right. However, the shots here felt all the same. Chuck it 75 to 100 feet and hope that it avoids one or two trees. There are no elevation or water features in this part of the park.
- NOT DISC GOLF - Perhaps I'm bias having only played on normal courses, but throwing around a MINI is a different experience versus throwing around a regular disc. It just doesn't have the same thrill.
- CHARACTER - There are no amenities for this course. Although, what does one of these MINI courses really need other than baskets and markers? Concrete tees and hole signage are normal things for an average course, but for a MINI? It's just not necessary. The only items here are the basics, MINI baskets and tee post markers. In addition, please note that basket (9) is still missing, as was noted in the reviews from 3 years ago.
- PAY TO PLAY - Currently its $5 to enter the park per person (less for seniors and children.) A yearly pass can also be obtained for $100.
Other Thoughts: A difficult course to rate as this is the first MINI course that I've ever played. It's definitely an interesting fun play. Perfect for smaller kids and those with arm pain issues as they won't have to worry about the weight of the disc. Considering that its right next to the big boy course, it should be easy to try out and check off. However, the MINI itself is probably not worth checking out if the big basket course weren't right there.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/8/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: AdamE
Played: 262  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played lots of regular courses but this is my first time playing a mini course and I had a blast! There are mini baskets and mini tee pads with signs displaying the hole number. There are directional arrows under the baskets pointing you to the next tee so navigation is a breeze. Tee pads are carpet but you don't need a run up to throw a min so they're really just there to show the tee area so I didn't mind that at all.

The course plays through mature trees with little to no underbrush which is important when throwing and looking for a mini. There are multiple routes to the baskets on many holes and it seems like a good design for a mini course.

It's only 9 holes but after playing it felt like an appropriate number of holes for something like this.
Cons: Basket on hole 9 was missing when I was there 3/8/15 so we just played to the pole which remains.

The mini course does play a little close to holes 7 and 8 on the regular course so keep an eye out for other players.
Other Thoughts: Since this is the only mini course I've ever played I find it tough to rate since I don't have any other mini courses to compare to.

Maybe it's a novelty that will wear off over time, but I must say I had a lot of fun playing the mini course and would definitely play it again. Go check it out if you haven't played it, it's a lot of fun!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with a min!

2-4    12/5/2014   1/10/2015
Review By: Wademade1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First time to see a mini course. Made for an interesting, fun and challenging twist to the game we love so much. Great layout, Small baskets, small tee pads, mini signs. Pretty cool overall.

Park setting on the mountain is great.
Cons: Only 9 holes. which may not be a con seeing as how it is a mini course. The #9 basket was missing, only the pole was there. Someone obviously removed the Trophy style (golden) mini basket.

Other Thoughts: tip: If you haven't thrown a mini before, practice first and select several different minis. Same style minis will have way different flight patterns. I purchased a mini from Meeman Shelby park that has a great flight pattern and can get some good distance with a stable fade. Putting can be tricky since the mini can kick off or through the chains. Not ideal for windy days, but ramps up the challenge. Definitely give it a shot if you haven't played a mini course. Additionally would have given a higher rating but the #9 basket was missing and tee pad signs were torn up.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.