Suwanee, GA 
Suwanee Creek Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #12 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun little course

5+    9/17/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: Ryan29
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Super hard for such a short course
Helps beginners and advanced learn the game better.
Cons: Hole 17 is impossible I can't figure that line out for the life of me.
Other Thoughts: A great course you should 100% try if you're in the area.

Great tight technical course for mountain goats

5+    2/20/2017   2/27/2017
Review By: Benguile3
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I rate it for what it is, not for what it is not. Holes 1 and 18 are the longest about 270. No two holes alike. 1 goes across field into forest, elevation drop at end. Plays like 235 ft. 2 is tough tight rhbh heiser over deeeep ravine/creek onto uprise for long put (haven't gotten closer than 30 ft. Heiser not tight enough and you are in jail for a tough par). 3 is steep uphill natural midrange heiser. Easy line, lots of trees if you miss the line. 4 is very slight anheiser to edge of drop off, good fair tight fairway, can hammer out of trouble usually. Quite fun. 5 is at the bottom of the dropoff. I like to gently flick a putter from 4 to the 5 tee. 5 is a straight midrange drive that has a medium heiser finish. The trick is holding the straight line the right length for the heiser to come on before hitting the trees, and keeping the heiser moving forward. 7 is hard right turn with normal or rather long finish depending on the pin position. Good fairway, be sure to let the disc get out far enough before turning. But there is a line through the jail, but it feels like purgatory. 6 is a straightforward straight putter shot. Do NOT overthrow.

As for putting, it is hard and a delight to find something besides the usual, dull 30 foot flat open green. Well thrown shots (these are pretty short holes so you generally should be able to land within 20 feet of the basket) yield an interesting variety of doable puts from all angles: pitch, anheiser, spin, heiser, even the occasional turbo. Where else can you have the fun of carfully shaping, or working on touch putts? This course is fair, but anything but dull.

That is how the course is. Except for 18 long from long tee (poke and hope 270 ft), 17 (don't throw down the fairway hard. Drive easy to make a tricky but doable upshot or else just go to the bottom of the hill on the left. Or straight sdearm through the triangular gap in the trees on the right, as the basket is in a straight line through there. And 10 (I think?) which requires an excellent touch s curve sidearm it says 225 but I think more like 240 along tight fairway.

If the trees are cut away the course becomes quite dull. The aesthetic is destroyed (for the walkers too) and the technical discipline that makes this course such fun for those who enjoy technical forest upshots is destroyed. Of course the course would be easier, but nowhere else have I seen such a tidy collection of challenging upshots.

Bye the way even tho there are plenty of trailwalkers, the course is so well designed, the fairways are well screened by jail and elevation, that I have never even come close to concern about hitting a pedestrian in the 20 plus times I have played it.
Cons: Do something with 17. I suggest terracing 15 or 20 feet out from basket to give landing zone to the good shot. As it is 17 is on a slope the is nigh impossible to get a disc to stick on. I say give the really accurate shot a break, a risk reward basket. A soft flat low putter drive straight to the turn usually leaves the disc in the fairway with a par upshot.
Other Thoughts: A delightful course that is tricky despite the shorter holes. Discs are easy to find, but watch out for the disc eatertree on the right side of the entrance to forest at basket 1, look up!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really Nice Course

1    6/10/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads and great signage at every hole. Benches and trash cans are at some, but not most. This course is very well maintained. Nearly the entire course is mulched and there are very nice bridges, steps, and walkways that help tremendously to navigate the course. The Innova Disc Catcher Pins are in very good condition and all of them are equipped with a flag on top. The course also offers a couple water hazards, which I like - but nothing you could easily lose a disc in, which I also like!
Cons: I'm not sure how large this park is overall, but It would have been nice to have some longer distance on many of the holes. There's really no hole that you can really rip one for a distance shot. There are also a lot of blind pin placements. I like a blind throw every once in a while, but this course has too many, which makes it more difficult for first-time players. I also don't mind trees and other obstacles on a course, but this one has too many trees! Even though every hole is only a par 3, some make birdies impossible to achieve being that the line curves in a way that a disc cant fly. Only other downside of this course is the number of park-goers, which could interfere with gameplay. Parking in this course could also be a bit of a challenge being that very few parking spots are located at hole #1.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a TON of courses, but I was very surprised at how nice and well kept this course felt. The team responsible for making what is it deserve a lot of credit. Clearing some trees and moving some pins would make this a great little course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Suwanee Creek Disc Golf

5+    5/7/2016   5/11/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 128  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads

Has tee signs

Course flows pretty well except for between holes #12 & #13

Has some benches throughout course

More wooded than open fairways - which will be challenging to the casual player

Many holes have changes in elevations and there are some doglegs

Some holes have multiple basket placements

Almost all of the holes are under shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Water comes into play on holes #2 and #6 but the stream is shallow and narrow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Free Parking but can get filled quickly due to other parkgoers - multiple parking areas can allow one to start at hole#1, #4, and #12

Well-maintained

Course is mostly mulched

Restrooms
Cons:
Pretty short course overall - no par variety

Lots of trees where some fairways can be quite unfair and deflect discs into other trees - #17 comes to mind

Have to be careful to not trip on any exposed tree stumps

Blind drives on some holes

Walking path meanders throughout the course and parkgoers can cause some delays
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice short technical course where you'll likely see more parkgoers than players. You won't hardly find any opportunities to throw bombs here. It's a good course to work on your short game and getting an ace. Hole #17 is the worst of them all in my opinion...a good drive here can easily roll down the slope - so something should be used to prevent that from happening.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and Awesome

1    9/16/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: Cahulsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very technical. It requires the player to have several different throws in his/her arsenal. It is very well marked. Tee pads are all concrete with great signage, and nice sign markers directing to the next tee. Considering how wooded these holes are, the amount of clearing that has been done to create fairways is awesome.
Cons: If it is really a con, there's a lot elevation changes with some of it being steep. Hole #2 throws across a bit of a gully, which if you accidentally toss into - discs are retrievable, the decent is steep.
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit surprised at the rating for this course. It is a fantastic journey. As someone who doesn't have a particularly strong arm, I loved this course. It made me explore different throws, and will force me to better my short game. I will absolutely play again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Enjoyable

2-4    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: Danderlion
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Concrete teepads (two per hole)
-Signs for every hole at each teepad
-Challenges your ability to hit lines
-Almost entirely shaded
-Several hole locations for each hole, although in the 3 times I've played the course the holes have not moved.
Cons: -No trashcans
-Slightly congested
-Parking is a little strange
Other Thoughts: This course is very different from almost all other courses I've played. In general all the holes are short and heavily wooded. Many have sharp turns after about 100 feet or so.

I never pull a driver out of my bag when playing this course, mainly putters and mid-range from time to time. This course will challenge you to hit tough lines. This course is all about finesse, no power shots needed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Design

1    5/24/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 31.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great design; very similar to Chastain park in the 1980's. 90% in the trees...Many elevation changes; no extremely long holes; almost completely in the shade; several holes are aces waiting to happen. Not much understory in the forest. Well maintained. Excellent signage and stairs make playing this course a breeze. Can be played quickly if shooting well.
Cons: Way too many opportunities for hitting a hiker, bike rider, walker, picnicker, etc prevent this from being an outstanding course.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for someone who really likes to rip it. It is a finesse course, one that requires many different types of shots. It is worth a play, just to experience the well designed holes and excellent course layout. I have played DG in Atlanta for 25 years and am very surprised this course is rated so low. The course is in a beautiful mixed hardwood forest with several massive, champion caliber trees. It is not like the pine dominated forests common in many Atlanta courses.

I would suggest parking and starting at 13 and 14 (left when entering park and then all the way to parking lot at end (past the pavilion)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  strong shot shaping course

2-4    5/7/2015   5/7/2015
Review By: fillaful
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love that this course has lanes to throw, and how much work was done on putting in stairs and markers. It's very easy to find your way the first time you play. The course is very clean and well kept. If you hit your line you will be rewarded. Love the elevation changes and there are chances of the elusive ace.

I like that this course is short but not simple.
Cons: There's not much parking right next to hole 1. There is parking a little further down though. There are people walking you have to keep an eye out for on a few holes. You will not get to grip it and rip it if that is your thing.
Other Thoughts: This course has improved and a lot of work had been put in to make the elevation manageable(stairs everywhere). Every hole feels like it's own hole. This course does not have it all, but is still very fun.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Better than two stars

2-4    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: thadynomite1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Decent signage, great tee pads, well laid-out, good variety (balanced between favoring RHBH/LHBH players)
Cons: A little messy (no brooms at tee pads to tidy up),
Other Thoughts: This is my first review. I just couldn't let this course have two stars when East Roswell Park is rated 3.5 (I'm rating this one a 3.0). The course was in decent condition despite poor weather before I played it. The tee boxes are excellent: they're all concrete with grooves to prevent slipping.

PLEASE NOTE: upon entering the park, make a left. After a few seconds, you'll come up to the tee for hole #1. There are only four parking spaces, so if you want to play the holes in order, you may need to drive farther and walk back.

You probably won't need any drivers. This course is extremely short and wooded. Great for practicing up-shots and accurate throws. It's not my cup of tea (I prefer Alexander Park when I can "grip it and rip it") but a great course for a quick, short round.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Technical Course

5+    3/2/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/28/2015
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Wooded, technical course. Great for shaping shots and practicing control. Great for utilizing mid-range discs and putters.

- Plenty of hills, but not too strenuous.

- Several parking lots, allowing one to start at different holes. Can start on #1, #4 or #12 for example, which helps spread groups out during busy periods. Starting on #4 is my preferred place.

- Course is in good condition. Baskets in good shape, concrete tees. Course is relatively new.

- Good layout, some sidehill paths, some fairly straight and level.
Cons: - Almost no holes that offer open areas or a chance to bomb it. Except for #1 and #13, there are no straight shots that allow any forgiveness.

- The complaint that some holes have trees, vines and brush within the 10-meter circle/green is a valid issue.

- Some holes (#15-18 come to mind) have sloping paths and footing can be difficult.

- There are a couple of places where it is confusing as to where to go to get to the next tee box, and it's not well marked.

- No practice basket (that I know of).
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played disc golf upon (in decades, anyway) as I picked up the game. Not a bad course for beginners because of the short holes, though again there are no really open holes (save the 1st hole) to really drive for length.

Edited to add: a lot of reviews are saying how bad the design of the course is. I can't speak to what they want or expect from a course. Maybe they want easy birdie shots on every hole. This course isn't like that: some holes are indeed short and offer birdie and even ace opportunities. Other holes are like real-golf Links courses: one must pick spots and land accurately in them, then make the approach shot and putt and walk away with a good par. I find this course to be very good at challenging me to find the right shots and then make those shots. Be glad that you have this course to play on, play it as it lies, and enjoy your disc golf day.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.