Hot Springs, AR 
Cedar Glades Share
Uploaded By: RustyP Hole #8 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Totally Worth The Time To Play

1    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 66  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Innova Discatcher Pro baskets
- Very clean and well taken care of
- Big kiosk with information such as maps
- Nice bathrooms at hole 1
- Tee signs are very nice and are very descriptive
- Very challenging. Course has lots of elevation and many trees and the course uses these natural characteristics very well with lots of risk/ reward shots.
- Good mix of hole distances
- Beautiful views of the mountains
- Yellow signs all through the course on the trees were helpful to find the next tee pad
- There was a great mix and variety of holes which made it more enjoyable
- Multiple tees on most holes makes this a challenging course from beginner to advanced
Cons: - Layout didn't make much sense. On some holes, you have to walk right through another holes fairway to get to a tee
- Tee pads are elevated from ground but big enough for a short run up but if you have a long run up on your throw, be cautious
- Tee pads aren't concrete. This is a little disappointing but not super bad. They are decent but i did slip on some throws
- leaves on course and discs can slide under them easily so watch where your disc goes!
- Don't expect to play a quick round here. Being a very popular course means it is busy on the weekends and you may have to wait behind people like i did.
- A couple of holes are way to long. I thought there were 1 or 2 that were over 600 feet and in the woods, this is VERY long because of all of the trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice and clean park. This course is one of the best ive played in this area and it was very enjoyable. If you've got the time, this course is totally worth it!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is situated on one of the most beautiful pieces of land I have ever seen. It is nestled near Hot Springs National Park in a secluded park.
-The course has fantastic elevation and utilizes it very well. Most of the holes have a pin position + or - at least 10 feet of elevation from the tee.
-The signs were great. As a first timer I had no problem figuring out where the next hole was. There are course maps at the billboard near the first hole to take with you on the course.
-The course has some amazingly long holes including #10 that is 700+ ft from the short tee and 900+ from the long tee. The 18th hole is also a very nice, long hole and in my opinion is the second most memorable hole at the course.
-There are 30' strings tied to the bottom of each basket to determine if your disc is within the circle. I have never seen that and thought that that was a very interesting and unique aspect of the course.
-Even with the huge amount of trees there is a distinct "fairway" on each hole.
Cons: -Besides the 3 LONG holes every other holes is relatively short and can be reached with a putter or midrange.
-The tee pads are gravel and are suitable and upon reading the reviews they have been suitable for a few years now. Concrete would be ideal but the current pads are decent.
There are a few fairways that cross and to walk to other tees may involve dangerously walking in another hole's fairway. I came and played here when it was completely empty but I can see in league or tournament play the discs could be hazardous.
-Because of the large amount of trees there is a blanket of leaves that cover the ground in the fall and winter. If you are not careful and do not watch your disc carefully then you can easily lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my favorite courses I have ever played. I came to Hot Springs on vacation and really enjoyed my three rounds out here. It has a very secluded, and serene atmosphere. I would drive way out of my way if I lived even within 60 miles of this course. This is a course that all serious golfers should come and play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Up and Down

5+    11/2/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: Matty Ice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Home course-This was a course that got me hooked on frolfing. I have played this course 30 plus times and have a different experience every time. Some highlights are Hole 8(water hole) and hole 10(called the humbler, almost 800) feet. My first and only ACE occurred at this course on hole 12. It is a hard course with amazing surroundings. Love it!
Cons: The only con that i can think of is that the grass sometimes is higher than it should be but overall no big deal during fall/winter.
Other Thoughts: Par is 59 so first timers have a challenge of getting there in my estimation.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tree filled and Tight!

1    5/28/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs, good trail signs. It was fairly easy to navigate being a first time player. The signs were good, showing routes, and the straight line route. Lots of elevation, good exercise!
Cons: Tee pads are ok. If they had concrete, they would be great. Not a very good mix of wooded and open shots, they are all wooded really. No water available on the course, so bring your own!
Other Thoughts: Bike trails run through, so watch out for that. Hole 8 is beautiful with a clear stream that runs through. The signature hole for the course in my opinion!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Quiet, Secluded, Peaceful, …CLEAR!!!

1    5/4/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an elevation lovers delight! This place has a great variety of hole lengths. Depending on the tees you choose, the holes can range from 102 to 912 feet long. The woods here have some amazing and fantastic trees. One hole has a beautiful pond that you look down on to from your driving perch at the tee. I loved the wonderful, built-up, level teed pads with the rubber surfaces. The baskets are in great shape. Some of the basket locations are very cool, due to the surroundings that may let an arrant putt go down a hill. The signage here is very nice. A small map with par and footage is posted on the short tee signage. There are some seating areas at many of the holes. There is a nice message board with color maps available (at least the day I was there) at that location. There are trashcans and there is a restroom at the beginning of the course.
Cons: Because of the awesome elevation, if there are people playing behind you, it is important to yell, "CLEAR," when you are off the hole. I've seen snakes here but nothing poisonous and they were not a bother. You will need the map to find your way around the course as there are a couple of times where it was tough to find where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was outstanding! This was one of the most fun places I have played. It will get marked as a favorite for me. There was hardly a single hole I did not want to throw multiple drives on. The short holes made you want to fire again for the ace, and the longer holes were the kind where you wanted to work another disc around those trees. It was just a great location (being built on some wooded foothills) that makes you feel as the whole place was made for disc golf.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Don't drink the water

1    1/15/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: bjflash
Played: 875  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes and a good mix of long and shorter holes, as well as multiple teepads. Picnic tables and garbage cans were scattered throughout the course. Even though there are LOTS of trees, it seems like you could maybe find a path to every basket if you're good AND lucky (the great equalizer). Holes 8 (by the stream) and 10 (longest) are the signature ones for this course that I'll remember. Also, hole 4 was unique in that the two tees were at very different angles to the basket, which sat up on a hill.
Cons: No potable water in the entire park! I went into the bathroom and started to fill my bottle after I finished my round, only to look up and see a sign saying "Non-potable, do NOT drink". Other watersources outside, like the hoses nearby, also have signs indicating this. I found this very surprising, since Hot Springs is just a few miles away and has natural spring water you can drink from local fountains. Anyway, make sure you bring plenty of supplies by stocking up in town before coming out.
Other Thoughts: Pretty unique features for a county park, like a rock climbing wall (bring your own equipment), a Remote Control Airplane area, as well as a mountain bike trail system that includes a downhill pumping course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Spa City DG

5+    5/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course. Lots of trees. Lots of different shots.
Cons: Summer means ants and heat waves. The fire ants can seriously cause you pain if you aren't careful where you're walking and where you put down your bag. I've had to throw off my shoes and socks more than once to get the little devils out of them. No place to get drinkable water at all at the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Summer Home Course

5+    3/27/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: rfcthealien
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has shorts and longs, which offer a change of scenery on throws. There are uphill and downhill shots as well. The lack of water hazards is nice as well (hole 8 being the only one, which is clear enough to see your discs when they go in). This course also offers some great scenery to see as well. The pars on this course are very giving for the shorts and extremely tough on the longs, this makes the course easy for beginners and tough on the experienced.
Cons: Some holes are extremely short, and I over throw them with putters. There also isn't really a hole where you can "air it out" without worrying about hitting a tree. The course does get confusing at times but once you have played through once you get the hang of it. The tee boxes aren't concrete which can make your approach to drive alittle hairy at times as well. Holes 10/11 have been changed, which is something to note. What was hole 11 is now 10 and hole 11 have been cut out of the woods.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun play. Definitely the best course in the area (especially seeing as OBU in Arkadelphia is the next closest course). If you want a challenging round of DG that doesn't have alot of hazards this course is a real blast.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A sure "Must Play"

2-4    3/7/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: LetsPlayGolf
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was able to play this course 3 times in 4 days, twice from the longs and once from the shorts. Here are my thoughts:

-Very challenging from the longs, makes you use several shots.
-Great use of elevation
-Great setting: creek, trees, hills, views
-Kiosk with information, maps, scorecards
-Restrooms at Hole #1
-Peaceful setting, great place for golf!
Cons: -Little yellow signs helped, course map at kiosk helped, but the layout was still confusing. Course crosses itself three or four times and it really seemed as if it did not have to. Cross 18 from 2 - 3. Cross 11 Long from 5 - 6. Cross 5 to get to 18.
-#7 from the Long is a ridiculous hole. I played with no leaves on trees and there was absolutely zero shot from the tee box, I can't imagine what it would be like in the Spring and Summer.
-I know the PDGA wants signs at the Short tees instead of the Long tees, but this is really a pain. I had to find the Short tees, to see the distance, layout, and sometimes location of the Long tees, then back-track to the Longs to play. I personally think this needs to be readdressed and the PDGA encourage Tee Signs at ALL tees. This alone added 30 minutes to my Long Rounds as I was trying to learn the course.
-12, 13, 14, 16 & 17 were disappointing after the first 11 holes. Seemed as though they were just thrown in to finish out the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun and challenging course. I must admit, I was a little disappointed in the grand scheme of things. This course felt as though the first 11 holes were designed for advanced players and the last 7 were for beginners.

With all that being said, I would not discourage ANYONE from playing this course... It is a must play if you are in the Little Rock/ Hot Springs area. Just do not go into it expecting the best course you have ever played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

1    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: Discsloth
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained, has tech holes and demands to shape shots, to think like a hunting eagle, or a myth.
Cons: Some holes simply way too short. Gimme birdies are about as fun as falling into an abyss of staplers.

The Humbler (hole #11) is pretty bad-ass.
Other Thoughts: This course is not mountainous. It is hilly.

Real disc golfers play ALL holes as par 3. Come on, guys and gals.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.