Anna, TX 
Slayter Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: gnduke Hole #3 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 213ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Slayter Creek is good

1    6/29/2018   6/30/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Three sets of tees on most holes. We played white (middle distance).
-- Distinct tees offer very different looks at many holes, rather than just adding or subtracting distance.
-- The tee signs are at the blue (long) tees, which are concrete; the white tees are also concrete; the red tees are dirt, except when they are with the white.
-- Hole 5 has an elevated green, which requires accuracy on your approach.
-- Decent baskets.
-- Good use of land. There isn't much elevation change, but some comes into play. Also, the tree line is well used.
-- Lots of long holes, but the course offers some short holes with tight fairways/tunnels.
-- Parking is good.
-- Restrooms and water are available at the softball fields next door.
Cons: -- Long walk back to parking lot after 18.
-- Tee signs are missing at Nos. 8, 12 and 16.
-- Navigation was a minor issue. We had a course map (printed from the city of Anna web site), but we still threw from the No. 9 tee to the No. 11 basket. We figured it out later and corrected.
-- Numbers on the baskets would really help.
-- No 'next tee' signs.
-- The walking path that forms much of the boundary (OB) for the holes also brings people.
Other Thoughts: -- Fairways are in decent shape, and the park itself is nice. However, the ground is not in good shape. There are lots of cracks in the ground, some of which could lead to an ankle injury.
-- Three sets of tees is a huge plus for a course.
-- The red tees have a brick embedded into cement; once you see one, you won't have any trouble finding the others. However, Nos. 7, 8, 10 and 15 share white/red tees.
-- Course is located between Anna Middle School and Anna High School. You start near the road, but in the middle of the course, you feel more like you are in the middle of nowhere.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Long Fun Course

2-4    8/15/2017   8/15/2017
Review By: buzzzking
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open fairways with character approach shots that require some fancy play. Good baskets. The tee box drives are not plain, they are rather enjoyable.
Cons: Hole 8 & 12 currently have no signage. The baskets are not marked with numbers for reference. May have to deal with walkers and bikers on path. Tuff to follow if it's your first time playing the course.
Other Thoughts: I played off the whites. DEFINITLY take a picture of the master map at hole 1 for reference. Took me just under 2 hours to finish as a single player. Keep an eye on your disc if you throw into any brush/trees or you'll have no luck locating it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play from the white tees

1    11/21/2016   11/21/2016
Review By: tankmlee
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very long with purpose from the white tees
Multiple tee pads
Amazing signage
Baskets are in great condition
Good use of land
Cons: Blue tees were over 600' on multiple holes, with no real purpose but to add distance
Ugly course right now, all grown and heat
Some cool holes but only 1 actually stands out
Other Thoughts: Play this course from the white tees, you will have a better experience overall

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Time to go the distance!

5+    10/4/2016   10/7/2016
Review By: Scotchtape77
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Long shots
-Little to no water traps the creek is usually down or dry
-Concrete pads
-Great map at the first tee
-Score cards available at City of Anna website
-Mowed frequently
-Three distances per hole
Cons: -Hole 3 and 4 is getting an irrigation channel through it to feed the new housing development east of the park.
-Some of the signs are falling off or missing making it difficult to find the pad.
Other Thoughts: Don't miss hole 16! Its on the other side of the creek after the basket on 15. If you go to next visible pad after 15 that is the start of 17. I recommend taking a picture of the map before starting.

Also if you are prone to go OB wear closed toed shoes and long pants. There is plenty of poison ivy and rag weed along the tree line.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a long walk in the park

1    2/27/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 997  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs on all the pro boxes
at least 1 cement tee box on every hole with several having 2.

Short "Red" course marked for some ace runs.

VERY wide variety of holes and good use of the land given.
Cons: Well, most of the holes are pretty open so they were made long. some are really long 2 shot holes. (FYI, I am not a fan of long holes as they discourage new players and wear me out)

DO NOT get off the fairway, there are some MAJOR thorns in the rough.

If they don't mow the course, you are going to loose discs in the fields.

Freaking hate the walk back to the parking lot after the 18th hole.
Other Thoughts: In general, this is a good course, several of the holes you have to plan your tee shot to get a 3. But they are not long enough for the big arms.

I would not want to play this course in the 100+ days of summer, but today it was nice and cool. There were several muddy spots, you want to wait a few days after a good rain storm before you try to play.

The course wore me out, I skipped 15 and 16 because I was too dang tired to play them. (that and I didn't see them until I looked at the map at hole 1 again)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun open course

1    10/3/2015   10/3/2015
Review By: SteveR21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great open fair ways
2 or 3 paved tees for every hole
Trees play into most holes

Multiple views at baskets

Cons: Bushes are full of thorns and scratched my arm pretty bad trying to get one of my discs

Course was a little confusing the first time playing. I had to take a picture of the map and refer back to it

No real elevation changes except for a 2 holes
Other Thoughts: Most holes involve a long drive bomb tee off in which you land on a wide open fairway, followed by an approach shot and putt. The course design keeps it from getting too repetitive.

Like some people said I really wish that there was a "next" sign after every hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great open fairways with technical shots. Bring a map.

5+    10/2/2015   10/2/2015
Review By: RunCesarRun
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open fairways to use your distance drivers.
Most holes have 3 tees that offer alternate routes/views at the basket..
The trees play into some tee offs and add some degree of difficulty.
Landing zones are wide open and mowed.
Not busy.
OB plays into some holes.

Cons: Lack of elevation except for a few holes

no "next" sign made playing this course a little confusing the first time. BRING A MAP
Other Thoughts: Great long challenging course. I love that I was able to use my distance drivers in most holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great start

1    5/26/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -3 sets of tees on most holes
-distinct tees offer very different looks at many holes
-concrete on all blue tees, some white tees; concrete markers on red tees
-new Mach baskets, good signs at blue tees
-design makes good use of the trees and obstacles that are present, a few spots use the limited elevation changes well (5 & 14)
-lots of long holes and many challenging holes with some specific lines to hit off the tee in order to score well
-tons of park amenities next to the course, plenty of parking
Cons: -poison ivy: there is tons of ivy around but not all of it is poison; just be careful in the schule
-speaking of the schule, it is thick and rough inside the tree lines. between thorny stuff and poison stuff, you'll probably want to wear pants even in the summer.
-there is long grass off the fairway on the open holes
-i didn't think the walk to hole 1 is too long but the walk back from hole 18 is longer
-signs only at the blue tees, navigation is tricky in a few spots, lots of blind baskets can make it tough the first time through the course, no 'next tee' signs
-few distinct options off the tee, few placement shots; bummer for a long course
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot to offer and is in pretty decent shape for having just opened. It plays around and through a long, dense line of trees that largely separates it from the rest of the park.

The three sets of tees is a huge plus for a course like this. The blue tees are definitely not beginner friendly so it is great that there are other options. That said, the shorter tees are no piece of cake either. The reds are a better option for the younger players that will no doubt be exposed to the course (it's on the same street as two schools) and the blues are a good challenge for experienced golfers traveling from the metroplex. The several tees also provide additional incentive to make the drive out here as you can play two rounds and have a very different experience each round thanks to the rather different looks at many tees.

The design uses the tree lines very well to create interesting and challenging holes. A few holes play through the tree line (2, 4, 14, 18) while some have you teeing off from the trees into the open or the opposite. There are only a few holes that are completely wide open and even those have a few lone trees here or there to give you an obstacle. The majority of the holes play alongside the line of trees so that you have lots of safe area to go wide. You will be tempted to finish close to the trees to have a close putt but you will regret it if you skip or hyzer into the dense woods as there are practically no chances for a recovery shot other than a pitch out. Most baskets are well protected or at least close to the tree line and only a few are in the middle of the field. Hole 5 has an elevated green and hole 14 has an elevated tee. There are no other elevation changes at all but it is cool that they were able to make use of these two spots. One thing it lacks is holes that put a premium on placement and setting up the next shot, which is disappointing given how many long holes there are. Only holes 4 and 11 really offer fairways where it makes any difference where your first or second shot lands. There are also only two holes (2 and 11) that give you a distinct option off the tee.

Navigation can be tricky the first time through since there are no 'next tee' signs and many blind baskets. Since some of the tees are tucked into the trees they may not be obvious or even visible from the last basket. We played with a local who had played the course several times and he didn't even know that he had been skipping hole 16 (it's on the other side of the tree line from holes 15 and 17; hole 17 looks like the next obvious tee). Definitely bring a map for your first time (or two).

The course is a little rough and intimidating at present due to the tall grass, poison ivy, and dense schule. It should get much better as the course gets broken in but that may take a bit of time since the course is outside of town. I hope they begin mowing wider fairways too.

Overall, I really enjoyed this course and I think that most advanced and open players will too. The land is limited but a good job was done designing fun and challenging holes. I can't wait to see a tournament here and I am very curious how it will be received by that crowd.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/13/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: ilovesandwiches
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/1/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long Course
Trees in play on every basket
Concrete Tees
Good signs

Not busy at all
Cons: Poison Ivy
Not really any chances for an ace
City does not mow very often
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that is totally different than the 2 nearest courses in McKinney. There is a few really long holes that let you use your distance drivers. You never have to wait for anyone as this is not a busy place. This is a new course that will only get better as the city learns how to keep up with a disc golf course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 MPO friendly

1    5/21/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: eegor
Played: 131  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 24.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees, only a few are shared.
The tee positions play significantly different from each other.
Plays from, through or into the tree line on most holes.
Good use of the obstacles that are there.
Lines are forced by design.
Fairways are mowed.
New baskets.
Good signs at blue tees.
Cons: High grass just off of the fairway. Not shorts or sandals friendly.
Long hole after long hole after long hole, etc.
A long walk from the parking lot to the course.
Very little elevation.
Good signs, but only at blue tees. First time, you'll need to walk to them to see the hole layout and next tee, even if you intend to play the whites or reds.
Most baskets are blind from the tee. (not bad after you know the course).
No benches.
No trash cans.
Very little cover from the heat in summer.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of trouble deciding what to rate this course. There is a lot to like about this course as far as playability and the way the course forces all kinds of shots. There is a lot to dislike about the tough walk through high grass (a lot of spear grass) and very little cover from the sun. It took me 1-1/2 hours to play by myself without stopping. It's a long course.

This will be a great course to hold a tournament on. I didn't see any water in the creek, so I doubt you will unless it's rained in the last couple of days. There's a lot of room and few places where you'd spend a lot of time looking for discs or getting in someone else's way. Bring a chair and an umbrella.

This is NOT a beginner friendly course. It's long from the red tees. I played the white tees and threw mostly distance driver, driver, putter - putter. There are plenty of par 4's and long threes. I had only one birdie (on the short and easy #3). The were plenty of holes where I scrambled for par and a few bogeys. It's a good test of disc golfing skill. That's the fun part.

It's a good course and worth travelling to. I prefer Towne Lake and Munson Park over it only because of the tall grass. Otherwise, it complements them well.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.