Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Front Course Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 211ft.   3 / 211ft.   3 / 211ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Needs updates but is a very casual 18

5+    6/20/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: Jjburleson
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Usually well groomed
Good sturdy baskets
Good mix of open and technical holes
Cons: Signage is very old and needs to be updated
Sometimes hard to know where you're throwing because of bad signage
Usually quite busy during the week evenings
Needs updating since it's almost 40 years old
Lots of holes are squished together which makes it difficult to navigate through the course
Other Thoughts: I am a local and have lived in Columbia all my life and still have difficulties navigating through this course since it is the oldest and roughest course in COMO. I wish I could give it more than a 2.5 rating but there are too many flaws to give it anything higher. I still really enjoy playing this course since it's fairly easy and there are enough people on the course that you can follow their path and not get lost.

Classic Pitch and Putt

5+    8/7/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: JoeDirt
Played: 73  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
Pros: Good variety of forehand and backhand shots. Beginner friendly. Lots of ace runs. Good place to practice short game. Easy walking. Concession stand available at the pool during the summer. Bathrooms on site are very clean for a park.
Cons: Poor signage. Difficult to navigate if you are not a local. Layout requires you to walk around the pool. Very active park. Many tee pads are close to the prior hole basket. Not enough trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Lot of friendly locals here at this park. A good place to visit if you are new to the area.

Old, old Oakland

1    12/26/2016   12/26/2016
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 111  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice setting in a city park. Most of the land seems reserved for disc golf.

Teepads are in good shape. Plenty of parking and a practice basket is available.

Hole #13 seems to be the signature hole - a picturesque dogleg to the right over a creek to a basket just in a wooded area.

Good for beginners and players wanting to work on their short game.
Cons: The front course at Albert Oakland Park features many outdated signs that don't offer many clues to solving the mystery of "Where's the Basket?" The maps are inaccurate and difficult to read. Several of the signs are a bit too close to the teepad.

The navigation is difficult also. With so many baskets and teepads shoehorned into a small space, determining the next basket and teepad is challenging. Multiple baskets can be seen from a teepad and several teepads are present on the course but no longer in use. Arrows hanging from each basket point the direction toward the next teepad but are of little help on several holes. First-timers will likely struggle to navigate the course - be aware that the DGCR photos are outdated and inaccurate for some of the holes.

The long walk between Hole #9 and Hole #10 is annoying. Also, finding the teepad for Hole #12 requires a short hike and maybe a compass. And then after completing Hole #12, the route to the next teepad requires walking up the fairway of either Hole #12 or Hole #13.

Little variety. Nearly every hole is 190 to 270 feet in length. Many holes felt the same and didn't require much variety in disc selection.
Other Thoughts: If you're determined to play the front course at Albert Oakland Park, strongly consider finding local players to join you to ease your navigation. The players I spoke with were friendly and helpful. (If you opt to play alone, read and re-read the navigational advice on this website.)

My rating of 2.0 might seem harsh, but this course has several glaring weaknesses, including a lack of variety, difficult navigation and some of the worse signage I've seen. This could be a fun city park course with some doable improvements, but the flaws need to be addressed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Variety is the spice of life

5+    10/10/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: SublimeStyle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The top course at Albert Oakland is a moderately difficult course which offers a variety of shots. This course is not a championship level course, no majors will ever be held here, but it is a very solid respectable course. It rewards players with a well rounded game.

One of the things I really enjoy about the top course, is the fact that each hole can be played so many different ways. A lot of people take enjoyment out of different aspects of disc golf, and for me the mental game and strategy is something I enjoy. So if you're into walking up to your shot and thinking it all out and executing. You can get a lot out of this course.

You will not lose a disc! Very hard to lose a disc here. At least on the top course.

The course is so close to Show Me Disc Sports, a dedicated disc golf store.

Great local community/club players are friendly
Cons: If you are a right hand player who is exclusively backhand, you will struggle. This course rewards a well rounded skill set. You don't have to have an incredible forehand. But you have to be able to do it.

Layout is slightly confusing, particulary 9 to 10, and hole 6.

To get to 10, you walk from one side of the pool to the other. Still on the same side of the tennis courts.

Hole 6 has the hole 15 sign, with 15 crossed out in marker...

Other Thoughts: I play this course quite frequently, and I still get great enjoyment out of it. An above average course. Sort of the type of thing you expect from your typical town disc golf course. Just done better. With a huge variety of shots. Some shots I have not seen on any other course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Albert Oakland Classic Headrick Fun

1    8/15/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Any time I get to play a course I know Steady Ed was working on while I was in diapers, it is kind of special. Albert Oakland's front course was in line with the ones that I had played previously. Not extreme by todays standards, but still fun to play. Not a simple pitch and putt type of course. Concrete tees and signs that are ok, and baskets that are old but still functional. A nice park that makes great use of mature trees that are scattered fairly evenly throughout. A slight bit of slope from one end of the park to the other. The holes flow pretty nicely, and are similar but not repetitive or boring. A couple near the stream are more heavily vegetated. A good place to learn the game.
Cons: Not the most challenging course. Sort of crowded in a small space. Multiple baskets are visible from some tees, and I wan't always positive which basket was the right one. A lot of people were playing the course, and sometimes groups on other holes were near where I was going to throw. I had to search for the 10th tee for a minute, it is on the other side of the building from the 9th basket. Hole numbers were changed around 11 or 12 and not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: Albert Oakland Park's front course is an old school gem. No stunning signature hole, and maybe a little outdated, but making very good use of what is there to be used. It is fun, and has another course on site. With the new John Houck designed Harmony Bend course nearby, could be part of a fun comparison of modern and OG disc golf styles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Albert Oakland

5+    12/21/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: TDGSTONE
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2016
Pros: Navigating the course is fairly easy. There are arrow signs on each hole. Only confusing part is from hole 9 to 10 you have to cut across the parking lot. Course is not very difficult but also not easy. A lot of fun shots. A few ace-able holes. The teepads are good size and concrete so they are always in good condition.
Cons: Only a couple holes may come into play with each other but it really is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: There are a variety of shots, forehands and backhands. Great for beginners.

 Fits My Definition Of An Average Course!

1    10/21/2015   10/31/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1168  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Albert Oakland Park is 11 acres of scattered mature trees, green mowed grass and some rolling hills. It's really kind of a lovely old park. Why then does the disc golf course seem to universally merit the same bland response from every reviewer? What's missing here?

Personally, I liked the front 9 quite a bit but after struggling with my navigation on the back 9, the course lost much of it's previous luster.

The course has these old school fiberglass signs. The listed information is not always accurate. The baskets are brand new DGA models with the # on top. They have a next a next tee arrow on the bottom. This helps with the navigation.

Distances seem to fall mostly in the 200-300 range although there are some longer holes. There isn't much brush to contend with, just the scattered trees.

I was fine until I attempted the back 9. As I wandered past the pool, I found a tee marked 10 A. Now I didn't know anything about a A and B course or A and B tee pads. This was the first "A" anything I had encountered. As I played the back 9, I think I somehow got turned around and ended up on the Back Course. After talking to some players just starting their round there, I was directed back to the Front Course.

And truthfully, by now I was tired and frustrated with Albert and both of his Oakland courses, so I just packed it in and called it a day.
Cons: Confusing navigation on back 9.

What's with 10 A?

Tee signs on front 9 which weren't accurate or up to date.

Other Thoughts: I did throw an amazing semi-uphill roller on # 8, up past the mando and through a fairly tight gap, that rolled to a stop under the basket. I should have stopped right then and there. I would have left in a much better frame of mind.

The navigation issues on the back 9 kind of soured me on Albert Oakland. But then most every other reviewer writes of the same issues.

I gotta side with markmcc who states, "As a travelling disc golfer I rely on signs and navigation aids more than local players, and I understand that keeping signs current isn't a priority. However, good signage is a plus on any course, and this one could use a little attention."

This last quote was stolen from markmcc without his permission or knowledge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Park Course

1    4/9/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 194  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my mind this is a typical city park course. Acres of mowed grass with scattered mature trees. For most holes little or no brush to worry with.

Most of the holes are in the 200' - 350' range, so this is not a particularly long course. Many of the more open holes offer a variety of possible lines around the few trees in play, but there are a couple of wooded holes that require an accurate drive down a specific fairway.

Good flat concrete tees and nice, new looking baskets. The baskets all have numbers on them which is helpful given the navigation issues described below.

At least two and as many as four pin positions on each hole. While it leads to some of the navigation issues listed below, I'm sure it makes for a more interesting course for local players

Holes 12 and 13 are back in the woods and bring a creek into play for added interest. And Hole 16 requires about a 200' carry over a pond to the basket near the edge, for another interesting hole.
Cons: My biggest cons were tee signs and course navigation. The signs are older fiberglass signs in various conditions. Some were clear enough to read well, others were faded, and still others were missing all together. More frustrating was that several holes had baskets in positions not shown on the tee signs, so the diagram and holes distances were often wrong.

As an example, the Hole 15 sign shows the basket off on the right edge of the fairway near a creek. After walking around for a while I found it another 100' up a hill to the left.

Hole 14 was even worse. No tee sign at all. After walking out and looking at a couple of different baskets (Holes 15 & 11) I finally wandered down a narrow muddy path in the woods to the right and found the basket about 150' down that path.

The walk from the basket on 9 to the tee on 10 is long and not obvious, as is the transition from hole 11 to 12. Having the map is a big help here.
Other Thoughts: As a travelling disc golfer I rely on signs and navigation aids more than local players, and I understand that keeping signs current isn't a priority. However, good signage is a plus on any course, and this one could use a little attention.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/17/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: n.maglio
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most holes are shorter but technical
Cons: fairways are tight and overlap with others slightly. layout is easy enough to navigate as long as you can find your way from hole 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and it is where I played my first round ever. baskets have been recently updated.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    2/26/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: dj3k
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: restrooms near by.
36 holes between two courses right next to each other.
locals are friendly.
the front course is a nice variety of different holes.
Cons: I thought it was confusing to navigate as a first time user of this course. I think the map I printed out from this site might be outdated. Luckily for me, a course local showed me around. The locals are friendly, a lot of college students. The back course is somewhat repetitive and boring. A lot the holes go back and forth right by each other with similar format.
Other Thoughts: I would still play this course again. With thirty six holes you can afford to skip over those you don't find challenging or interesting.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.