Delafield, WI 
Oakwood Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A Niner That Could Use Some Improvements

5+    11/27/2017   3/12/2018
Review By: Flavored Snacks
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Open
- Beginner Friendly
- Just off a Highway
- Multiple Teeboxes
- DGX Made
- Very Quick
- Good views at the top
- League Hosted
Cons: - Gravel/Dirt Teeboxes
- Tall Brush
- Easy To Lose Discs
- Slippy Slidey Downhill walk on 6
- Concrete Teeboxes STILL not in
- VERY windy
Other Thoughts: I think to make theis course atleast a bit better are concrete teepads and stairs for the hills on 6 and 7 as they are very steep and slipping may occur especially on the downhill of 6 which is a safety hazard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

up the hill down the hill

5+    10/18/2017   1/18/2018
Review By: samura1234
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Baskets are pretty nice
-some decent landscaping done on two of the 18 teepads
-nice benches
Cons: -ankle breaker ground squirrel holes
-5' tall wild grass and flowers in summer
-no real teepads
-signs were non existent or look like they were drawn by a 2nd grader, laminated and then stapled to the sign post
-mild washout and soil compaction on the hills
-lacks garbage cans
Other Thoughts: when you pull in the parking lot one of the first and only things you see is a big blue porto john acting as a foreboding warning and monument of this courses quality.
you do however have a chance to sit at the nice picnic table just feet away and have a picnic, or putt at the practice basket and hope your disc doesn't land in a pile of dog crap since this park also doubles as a local dog walking area.
you then walk up to hole 1 tee pad, more accurately the 4x4 buried in the ground to mark that that spot of uneven dirt you are supposed to twist your ankle on or jump over the mud if there was any kind of rain recently.
Hole 1 sets the premise for 1/3 of the whole course, it is a 390' straight huck to the basket with no trees, obstacles or danger whatsoever. creative.
hole 2 is where you really get technical. it is another dead straight shot but this time you are throwing straight up a hill. WOW! this adds another 1/3 of what to expect for the next 7 holes of this course.
and by hole 3 you encounter the last element of difficulty, another straight shot down the fairway avoiding all of that tricky tall grass to a basket in a small cove of trees! the difficulty just got cranked to 11 and you just saw the last element to the trifecta of genius course design that is oakwood community park.

if you are driving by on 94 or 16 i wouldn't waste your time unless you like throwing in a field, looking for discs in tall grass, and stepping in dog poo.

one star.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

new . . . .and windy

2-4    8/16/2016   8/16/2016
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: it's pretty well designed, with (as everyone else says) a good range of elevations. It will be better . . . .
Most of the baskets have at least 2 tees.
It's easy to find, and plays mostly in prairie settings.
Cons: So far only 9 holes, I also agree that 7 is interesting but is almost impossible. As to the length of the prairie grasses; I played this in the Spring when the grasses were shorter . . . and it was MUCH more difficult to find discs. Now that the grasses have over grown and laid down, and as long as you are paying attention it's not that much of a problem (and the thistles are gone).
Other Thoughts: I also agree about the gravel tees, which, I hope are just temporary. The course is very well maintained and the maps are cool. All new baskets!
It's an exccelent course for us "go for the 3's" amateurs.

 Fun, well designed course

1    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 130  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 11.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Best use of land for a small disc golf course that I have ever played.
- Although it only has 9 holes there are short and long teepads on all holes so there are really 18 holes out there to play.
- Makes great use of the elevation. Even the shortest easiest holes on the course make you think and try to be able to score well.
- From shorts to longs there is a good bit of short holes and distance shots so you might need your full bag to play the course. Dont be fooled by the short 9 hole course it appears to be.
- The natural dirt tees that were out there were good. If they are not concrete I prefer dirt so I enjoyed playing off of these.
- Super easy to get too off of the freeway and has its own parking lot so getting there and playing is simple.
- The flow from hole to hole was easy. The holes flowed into each other very nicely. There was never a time when I didnt know where I was going.
- Defined fairway and rough. There was a lot of long grass out there so your bad shot might get punished a bit more than it should if you are bad.
Cons: - Teesigns were only on the long tees and are handwrittten. You dont really need them but it would be nice to see some real teesigns for every hole.
- The crushed rock teepads were bad. There are only 3 of them and really only one is an issue. Long 9 was the only time they really came to be an issue. Throwing a powerful shot with loose gravel beneath you isnt safe. I threw from way behind the teepad on the grass so I wouldnt get hurt trying to throw from there.
- Hole 7 from the longs was the only hole out there that I felt wasnt really fun or fair. The gap to hit off the tee is super tight and low, and just sets you up for losing a disc in the rough if you do not hit the couple foot wide gap.
- The rough needs to be cut down a bit. I didnt have any issue with it but I stopped and helped the guy in front of me find his disc multiple times because of how long the rough was.
Other Thoughts: - If you are in the area I would suggest you check out this course. You will be pleasently surprised by this course and have a lot of fun playing it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 3' High & Rising in De La Field

2-4    5/22/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 217  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Oakwood Community Park in Delafield provides a solidly designed park-style course on a small but awesome piece of land for disc golf. Kudos to Mike Harrington for crafting an excellent nine-hole course that uses open field, small clusters of trees, and a fair-sized hill. The course begins innocently enough with a flat and open hole, works its way up the hill, and then spends the rest of the time moving from open areas to semi-wooded areas, while circling around the hill.
- Amenities are pretty darn good. The tee areas, while not concrete, are still in good condition and should hold up reasonably well. Two sets of tees provide both an easy beginner layout and a slightly more difficult intermediate course. The beginner layout is pure deuce-or-die, but the longer tees provide a bit more challenge. Experienced discers should still score well from the longs, but there's enough opportunity for the course to beat you up a bit in places. The amenities are rounded out with trashcans, port-a-john, and detailed hand-drawn signs (I assume these are temporary...regardless, they are sufficient for navigation as is).
- The variety of holes and shots here is where the course design really shines. Mike H. has certainly seen enough courses to have a keen eye for design. Couple that with his landscaping expertise, and this course comes out looking nice and playing nice. Open bombers, short uphills, slight downhills to green tucked into trees (replete with manicured green areas on #3 and #5), short downhill shots through trees (#'s 6 and 7), and long downhill bombers (#9) help keep this course from being one dimensional. #7 offers two routes through the trees. Throughout, the flow is intuitive and straight-forward.
- The course and surrounding area is idyllic rural Wisco farmland. Not necessarily the greatest views in the world, but quaint and homey. The red barn and chickens that are in view from #4's fairway and basket add to the charm.
Cons: - None. Really. This is as impressive of a public 9-hole course as I've seen. The property, while certainly good (or even above average) for a park-style 9-hole disc golf course, isn't quite grand enough to really elevate this course to top-notch ratings. However, that does not discount the fact that a lot of superlative design and implementation aspects are at work here.
- I guess the lack of concrete tees could be another con, but that's really stretching it. The crushed gravel was installed correctly and should prove sufficient for most.
Other Thoughts: - I really had a blast playing this course. #'s 2, 3, 6, 7, and 9 all had me wanting to loop around again and again to play. I played both layouts and enjoyed both sets of tees immensely. Ace runs and deuces from short, while the longs added a bit of challenge for my level of player (experienced, but not necessarily good).
- Hit this course up if you're in the area. It might not quite be a world-beater, but if I were a Professor of Disc Golf, I'd have my students studying up on Oakwood Community as a template of safe, sustainable, well-executed design and course installation. As such, this is the first 9-hole course I've rated at 3-disc (out of a 4-disc scale for courses less than 18 holes).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9, surprisingly.

1    4/18/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 351  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 hole course in the Oakwood Community Park, just a couple minutes off of I-94.

Dual tees on each hole. They are mostly natural, with a couple having crushed gravel. The natural pads have a board at the front, and I didn't see a single pad that was rutted or in bad condition.

Great use of the available elevation. Most of the holes have some element of up or down, including a fun 412' elevated hole 9.

Great baskets that caught well. No problems there. Navigation was also easy, as there were tall 4x4's at each tee, with the distance on each, and a laminated hole layout sheet on each.
Cons: This course is pretty short, save for the longs on 1 and 9. The short tees are very short, and a couple of the short tees eliminate any elevation on the hole.

The course is pretty open, and wind can be a huge factor (it was when I played). There's a few trees on the course, but they really don't factor in too much.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course, especially with what they had to work with. From the shorts, this is a nice beginner course, or an ace race course for a more experienced player. From the longs, it gets a bit longer, with a couple nicer lines, but still doesn't get too tough.

Not a course to go out of your way for, but not a terrible spot for a quick 9 if you're in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome design

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 270  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the available terrain. The course plays mostly through a prairie area with some very nice elevation and some patches of trees. The elevation makes this course really fun to play. There are 2 sets of tees on every hole with the whites being the longs and reds the shorts. The tee signs are laminated diagrams of the hole layout with both tee locations shown, distances and an arrow to the next tee. These serve their purpose for now until permanent signs can be installed. They have large wood posts at each tee as well making them very easy to locate. These have a metal number on top indicating the hole number and the distance in these same metal numbers below the signs. The fairways were all well mowed and the rough isn't too thick in most spots. The wind and elevation are the main factors here however the trees are used about as well as possible here, especially on the 2 downhill shots for hole 6 and 7 I believe. The baskets are brand new blue powder coated Mach 3's that are all level and catch great. Navigation is a breeze here especially with the the next tee signs by every hole and showing it on the tee signs. It wouldn't be too hard to follow these anyhow. There is also a practice basket and restroom right by the parking lot.
Cons: Not many trees, most holes are basically just prairie. However as mentioned before this is best way you could have designed it and it is by far the best prairie type course I've played to date. Natural tees are a little uneven in a few spots but again this course is brand new so with time I'm sure they'll upgrade these and it won't be an issue. A few walking paths meander through the course. I didn't see anyone on these but it could be a potential safety issue.
Other Thoughts: I had a really fun time playing this course. It was way way better than I was expecting. Especially from looking at the pictures here. This isn't worth going way too far out of your way to play, however it is only about 5 minutes off of I-94 so it really isn't that far out of the way if traveling through WI. And if they keep upgrading the tees, signs etc. I'd definitely upgrade the rating to a 3.5, but it is a fun course as is.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    5/24/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: RacerX2727
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Multiple tee positions give holes different characteristics
*Some tough elevation changes
*Some really fun downhill slopes with narrow shot windows
*Good signage and wayfinding
Cons: *Only 9 holes
*Many holes mostly wide open without many obstacles
*Some of the "pro" tee boxes are blind to the hole due to elevation changes -- fun, but a hazard to anyone near the basket, make sure to check before your drive!
*No concrete pads (sounds like this may change in future)
Other Thoughts: Nice new course to the area, hopefully the upkeep is there and no punk kids ruin. Good for beginners and a few holes will challenge intermediate players too. Would be nice if this could expand to 18 holes in the next few years

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.