Stephenville, TX 
Stephenville DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 1/2019)
3 / 396ft.   3 / 396ft.   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Stephenville DGC

2-4    8/16/2020   7/24/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 197  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2020
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Good use of land. Elevation is in play on several holes as is the creek/river that runs through the park. There is diversity of hole lengths, with 8 holes less than 250 feet and 4 longer than 350 from the concrete (red) tee pads. If you can find them (good luck), the long tees (gold) offer 5 holes less than 250 and 7 longer than 350, with two longer than 600 feet.
-- Course flow is good and fairly intuitive. Next tee is marked on tee signs, but many are so faded from sun that they are unreadable.
-- Practice basket.
-- Restrooms. Port-o-potty behind amphitheater stage and actual restrooms at ball fields, but I'm not sure when they are open.
-- The best holes are 7, 8 and 17. Seven is 222 feet uphill with lots of trees to navigate with a road/path 15 feet behind the basket. RHFH/LHBH is the most open route, but there are other options. No. 8 is 170 feet downhill RHBH through some trees. No. 17 is 189 feet across the river. There is no concrete tee pad.
-- Seating. It's not a every hole, but between some downed trees/logs and some picnic tables, there are plenty of places to sit.
-- Plenty of trash cans.
Cons: -- Long walks. From 10 to 11 is pretty long, but the 200-300 yard walk back to your car when you finish is ridiculous.
-- Walking path comes into play (and creates some safety concerns) on Nos. 13-16. Those holes also feel somewhat repetitive.
-- A few holes feel like fillers to get to 18 total holes. Nos. 2, 4 and 18 are the worst examples.
Other Thoughts: -- When you turn into the park from Graham Street, disc golf is on a sign with an arrow pointing you right toward the practice basket and the first tee.
-- Multiple tee pads are listed for most holes on the tee signs, but only one tee pad appears to exist.
-- The course plays clockwise around one section of the park. No. 1 plays with the river to your left, and 2 plays away from the river and toward the entry road to the park. Three and four are left of there, on the other side of the small ditch. Five tees from the corner of a ball field and beside the entry gate to the park. Cross another roadway to get to 7. After 10, you've got a long walk between the road and a water park to get to 11. Following the walking path takes you to 13-16. Then, 17 throws across the creek/river.
-- This is a solid park-style course in a small college town. It seems well suited for its target audience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 decent small town course

1    5/5/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1004  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs
cement tee pads
Several fun to play holes and a few boring ones to get you around the park
Cons: Very hard to find the first tee.
Has a few boring holes to get from one part of the park to the other
Other Thoughts: I actually enjoyed playing this course.

Hole 1 starts off near the amphitheater in the middle of the park. then winds clockwise ALL the way around the park.

There is a sweet spot in the south east corner of the park on the side of a hill with 4 holes going back and forth, up and down the hill. one of the downhill holes I wound up emptying my bag trying to get the skip ace.

Then you walk past the billboard to throw to the backside of the course. The holes here are short and well shaded. There are small walks between holes so you don't throw over picnic tables.

Hole 17 is another nice ace run shot across the creek, then 18 is the only hole that needed it's fairway mowed the day I played it. Luckily, I parked next to hole so I didn't have to walk very far to my truck.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stephenville DGC....

1    7/18/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course.
Half wide open.
Half moderately wooded.
Good teepads.
Good signage.
Easy to navigate.
Very friendly locals.
Great use of the land provided.
Family friendly.
New Mach X baskets.
Port a jons.
Cons: Mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: Fun course.
Water park on property.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good to have a park in this area

1    12/27/2014   12/31/2014
Review By: DukeSilver79
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1-10 now have concrete tee pads. More holes have been dug and the concrete will probably come after the winter passes. Pretty good course for beginners.
Cons: Most are wide open, with few challenges like trees. After hole 18, you will have a bit of a walk if you parked by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of water hazzards, so watch out for those.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just Average

1    10/10/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained course in a nice park
- Excellent MachX baskets
- Lots of parking and restrooms
- Good mix of long and short holes
Cons: - Very basic course mostly wide open
- Natural tee pads
- No tee posts, just brick blocks in the ground, fairly difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: I am always grateful to play a disc golf course, so thank you to those who put this one in. For me, however, it was somewhat boring as there was not much challenge other than distance from the pro tees. Great place for beginner/intermediate players to hone their skills. Not much chance to lose a disc.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: kingrat6931
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed. Pull cart friendly. Good mix with well placed baskets. Plays along river with OB on both sides of #13-17. #17 is ace run thru trees and over water with OB sidewalk behind. Fun course to play. Good flow.
Cons: Long walk from #18 back to #1. Put disc in river, it's gone!
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads and signs planned for July 2014.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Spur of the moment

1    5/15/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: dokejen7782
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Upon stumbling onto this course, driving back home from Houston. My girlfriend and I saw stopped here and found this course really well laid out.

Starts out fairly open, with a few trees having to contend with. It eventually plays into a nice group of trees.

Two holes that stick out.
Hole 8 or 9: a well played cliff shot.
Hole 17: that this site shows a picture of. A shot thru trees, over water.
Cons: This course, we were told is only a week old as I write this review. The tee boxes are a bet difficult to find. I'm sure in time that will be fixed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.