Troutville, VA 
Greenfield DGC Share
Uploaded By: splatbaseball51 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
nice course with elevation

1    10/3/2018   10/10/2018
Review By: discNDav
Played: 350  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 32.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes in this park are superb. Well maintained course with cut grass. Great tee signs and well placed behind each tee so they aren't in play. A stream and pond come into play on many holes.

Wooden steps and small bridges help you navigate over water or muddy spots. Some par 4's and a long par 5, par 61 course. No map is needed since there are plenty of arrows pointing towards the next tee.

Colorful flags on top of most baskets help show the wind and the basket itself, this is a nice touch.

I loved the tee shot on hole #10 downhill and a gap to hit before sloping back uphill. #16 was a hard hole with a sloping fairway towards water but I thought it was very fair par 4.
Cons: Short cement tee pads, they should be double their current size.

It was extremely muddy in the lower lying parts but this region has received a lot of rain in 2018. #12 felt like a filler hole. #17 is a poke and hope hole with no clear fairway.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to rate this 4 stars immediately after playing it but then played nearby Mayflower 2 days later and it was much better. Greenfield is fun to play though.

Greenfield is located just 5 minutes from I-81 so it is easy to get to while traveling through this part of VA.

This course is hilly in spots but I expected even more elevation to be utilized from looking at it from the parking lot.






4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Greenfield

1    8/5/2018   8/7/2018
Review By: Hix007
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course with challenging holes. All the treed holes had grass fairways. The meadows were mown to leave a true fairway on the open holes. Benches and great tee marker signs with distances for each tee. Pin poles attach to top of baskets for blind approach shots. Not a course for beginners.
Cons: They have new concrete pads on the white tees, but they were only 5' long (Except for #13 which was twice as long). Weird!! Definitely hilly with plenty of side hill lies. #17 is just ridiculous, with no real line to throw through the overabundance of low-hanging trees. You literally just have to get lucky to birdie/par this hole.
Other Thoughts: Whoever maintains this course does a great job and there is plenty of wildlife to be seen throughout the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Super Green, Corbin Dallas.

1    7/1/2018   7/2/2018
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 160  Reviewed: 157  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some gonzo elevation change in effect here. This course has mostly two songs: Wide open bombs across the hills and flat, tree-filled holes around the creek and pond. They're both toe-tappin' and crowd pleasin' and so you basically swing from one extreme to the other. A handful of holes do mix the two up a bit but for the most part you're either bombing away or very carefully lining up a precise FH or finesse BH.

Tees are concrete and adequate though some are a little short. Baskets are good and tee signs do the job. Practice basket.

Absolutely verdant, lush, idyllic natural surroundings. In one round I saw: A fawn, a yellow-bellied slider (turtle), a rabbit, and a groundhog. Mother Nature plays this course regularly. Most of the holes along the creek are completely shaded yet the fairways are carpeted with green grass. You'd be hard-pressed to take a bad photograph of this course.

Design-wise the course plays rather tough. I was flat-lining in terms of energy when I played but I think it's still got some teeth. This is due to the beautiful but deadly (to your scores) aspect conveyed by Nature. The fairways are fair enough for the most part but the thickness of the rough really tightens up the landing zones and makes scrambling nigh impossible. The lines are there but hitting them can be daunting when the course is fully leafed out. I mostly played the Blues with a few Whites mixed in (some by choice, some by accident) and I thought the variety of lines and discs needed was pretty good.
Cons: The open holes could be monotonous if you don't have the distance for them. The wooded holes could be anxiety-attack inducing if you're really attached to your discs b/c losing discs is very easy to do here. Hole 10 is a good example of a cool hole that you can hate very quickly. It's an open tee off to a gap in the forest way downhill and if you don't hit that gap you need to watch where your disc goes into the green wall of trees and bushes with hawk eyes. We accidentally threw in on two other players b/c we had no idea they were down there. While looking for my disc (eventually located stuck in a tree) the four of us ended up finding 4-5 other people's discs. Because much of the course plays along a creek and pond, it's very thick with weeds there. Even the open holes have large swathes of tall weeds that desperately need bush hogging so you're always on high alert.

Some of these wooded holes were a combination of distance and tightness that made getting a look at birdie practically impossible. The beautiful green grass on the floor of wooded holes just murders your skips and FH rollers which makes it extra difficult to reach certain greens. If you can't throw a power FH and keep it 3-4' off the ground the whole way you'll be vexed.

I liked the Blues but on a few holes they were ridiculous. Literally no fairway visible or the trees had grown out so much that the fairway was barely wide enough for single-file walking. I don't mind a blind shot here and there but the rough was so omnipresent I was looking for my discs enough with the shots I could follow. Even good drives straight down the middle could frustratingly find a pocket of weeds to hide from you.

The 'next tee' arrows help a lot but a lot of them were as hard to find as the next hole was thanks to vines and foliage. Fortunately I glanced at the course map long enough to remember that the course is laid out in a figure 8, front and back 9 loops, b/c overlapping trails can be misleading.

Gnats are merciless here.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in peak, indomitable nature season but if you play in the fall or winter or even before the bugs come out you'll probably rate this course much higher than I did and I wouldn't blame you. There's a lot of fantastic disc golf and memorable holes here. Nature just happened to be out-pacing the maintenance the day I happened to play it. But I'd definitely play here again just b/c now I know where the holes are. For example I totally misread hole 9, a very interesting hole. You climb a steep hill and tee off basically the highest point in the park and you literally throw over the treeline of mature trees way down the hill. I thought I just wanted to clear the trees and go immediately left but it's actually a lot straighter and farther beyond the trees.

So bring your extremely bright, visible throwaway discs and check it out. Maybe wear pants. But definitely worth a visit even if just because the course is prettier than what your scorecard will probably look like.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Grass is Greener at Greenfield!

1    6/17/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 89  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenfield Park is an extremely beautiful park with rolling GREEN hills, and a luscious GREEN forest, with sports fields near the front of the park, with the disc golf course and some cross country trails in the backend of the park.

The practice basket is right by hole one's tee pads, and both the front and back nine loop right back to the start.

The baskets are all nice Innova Discatchers, and there are multiple pin positions on most all the holes, leading to a different variety of layouts possible.

Two sets of concrete tees, whites and blue, both with tee signs and providing different distances as well as lines to hit.

A great mix of open and wooded holes, with two-thirds of the holes being impacted largely by trees. This means that you will throw distance shots off the tee, as well as placement shots.


The wooded holes are of good variety as well, forcing different lines of varying distances, giving the need to throw almost every disc off the tee alone.


A few highlight holes:

Hole 1: A wide open hyzer, down the hill, no more than a fairway driver, but a fun opportunity to air out before the wooded holes


Hole 9: You're throwing your drive through a tight gap in the trees, and then throwing across a big grassy field to a pin on an elevated hill.


Hole 11: A shorter shot, but water is all along the left side, and an over hyzered backhand from a righty goes into the water, while an underthrown hyzer from a lefty gets dunked as well.
Cons: My first gripe has to do with the tee pads. They were about half the size of a well-sized tee pad, and although there was enough flat area behind the tee pad to get a better run up, they could have easily been a few feet longer.

My second gripe has to do with navigation. There were white and blue arrows on trees, and once you found them, navigation was easy, but there could of been more obvious signage to aid in my journeys.

Lastly, I think there could have been more distance par 4s or 5s within the woods, as the wooded holes were mostly the par 3s.

Extra note: on the day I played, the course could use some landscaping, as a few fairways were overgrown, as well as trees with branches. However, other reviews said it was well kept, so an early summer maintenance day is most likely coming soon.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of two fantastic 18 hole courses in the Roanoke area, and is absolutely perfect for a quick weekend trip. Hopefully you can come play this course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great course I had never heard of

1    5/1/2018   5/1/2018
Review By: david W
Played: 260  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: WOW WOW WOW!!!

Its rare that a course I haven't heard of blows me away but Greenfield certainly did just that.

Every hole was in good to great shape. Grass was cut, branches and brush was never in the way on the ground floor. It is obvious that a lot of work has gone in to keep this place in tip top shape.

Course design gets an A++. Really great mix of short and long as well as open and wooded. Plenty of backhand and sidearm friendly holes and lots of neutral holes (neither favoring backhand or sidearm). There is also a good mix of uphill, downhill, and flat which isn't something you see every day. This is definitely one of the best designed courses I have ever played.

I really enjoyed the flags in the baskets. Not something you see every day and they were a nice touch. Side note, the flag on 18 broke and now the pole is in the chains. Im sure this is in the works to be fixed ;) ;)

Tee pads and signs were very well made and were a pleasure to play on. I would like to see pin position markers on the tee signs.

There are so many great holes on this course that would be signature holes on 90% of all courses in the world. Its always fun to play a course that has a handful of spectacular holes instead of the somewhat boring same ole same ole.
Cons: There are very few cons for this course, everything was in very good shape when I played here in May.

Hole 17 from the Blues could use a little trimming. There were vines hanging in the middle of the very small gap which was probably not by design but could use some cleanup regardless.

There wasn't a tee sign for the blue pad on the water hole.

Parking and bathrooms are an issue but this is a big park so there are options, just not many near the start of the course.

The cedars on hole 15 i believe it was (big left to right uphill shot) could use some trimming near the ground floor in order to create a playable stance/throw.

Tee signs didn't show what pin position the baskets were currently in.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough about this track. Manicured, well designed, multiple tee pad options to test golfers of all skill levels, challenging with a good mix of par 3s and 4s. What more could you possibly want?

I highly recommend playing this course if you are anywhere near the area. Hawk Hollow will always be my #1 in VA but Greenfield just jumped into a strong 2nd place.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Green Rolling Hills

1    4/25/2018   4/25/2018
Review By: markmcc
Played: 238  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, this course is placed on a beautiful piece of park land, with rolling hills, green pastures, and a nicely wooded creek.

The course offers a good variety of holes from short, touchy woods shots to wide open long shots over mowed grass. With three sets of tees you can choose your level of challenge from relatively easy to darned challenging.

I played the intermediate White tees which gave hole lengths varying from 215' to 900'. As expected the shortest holes are the most heavily wooded and technical, while the long holes are nearly or completely open.

I most enjoyed the technical holes in the woods which combine narrow fairways with variable elevation, and often the creek as an additional hazard. Be prepared to drive most of these with a putter or midrange. These holes require accurately shaping your drive, as they include dead straight fairways as well as right-hand and left-hand bends and doglegs.

Hole 11 plays across a small pond and requires a modest 200' water carry and plenty of area to the right of the basket. The closer you try to land to the basket the more you bring the pond into play.

Hole 14 has a live tree growing horizontally across the fairway in front of the basket. The two trunks present an interesting over/under obstacle near the basket.

The Blue and White teepads are concrete with good texture. The sizes are variable and generally on the small side. Those tees also feature nice signs with hole number, par, distance, hole diagram, and next tee arrows. Innova DisCatcher baskets catch great and show up well in the shadows.

Navigation was excellent with plenty of next tee arrows, often separate ones for the blue and white tees. There are several sturdy wooden bridges at creek crossings.
Cons: My biggest con is the wide open longer holes. Hole 1 is a nice downhill hill, but is wide open. Holes 4 and 13 are the (unfortunate) standouts at 550' and 900' respectively from the white tees, completely over grass. Even the finishing holes on each loop, Holes 9 & 18 are predominantly open holes albeit with some nice elevation.

Some of the concrete teepads were quite short. Even with a bit of gravel added at the back they were short enough to interfere with my normally short run-up.

The Red Tees are obviously inferior to the other two sets. While the Blue and White tees have concrete tee pads and nice signs, the Red tees are generally a pair of flags, a toeboard, or a small patch of gravel. Really rough.
Other Thoughts: This is a multi-use park and we had a group of dog-walkers wander aimlessly out across the Hole 9 fairway while we were playing it. With a multi-use trail winding through the course it looks like there is some potential for conflict.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Everybody calm down a little

1    3/24/2018   3/24/2018
Review By: jcbnxll
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course is easy to play. I don't mean it's an easy course; I mean you can navigate this course comfortably. The signage at every tee lets you know everything from the footage to where the next tee box is. The white and blue arrows after every basket make a course map totally unnecessary. It's nice to have two tee pads at every hole, too.
Cons: This course has the things that I've seen mentioned. It has elevation changes and water hazards. It's got hyzers, anhyzers, and long shots. But I would say that about half of the holes are boring or unrealistic. Several holes are simply long throws with ball-golf style fairways marked, not with trees, but little flags. For how much space there is, i can't believe they couldn't do more. Hole 13(?) is something like 900 feet in a straight line with no elevation changes or really a single tree. I didn't even throw this hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is like an apartment that a millennial would love: all amenities, no substance. Don't get me wrong, this is a good course, but it is not even close to a 4.5 as the majority of the reviews have said (somebody said they considered a 5!!). I was really excited to play this course based on the reviews, but it left me feeling dissatisfied overall. There were some good holes; I had a good time. But there's no way this course is as good as some reviewers are making it out to be. You can take my review with a grain of salt. I played it once from the blues. But I've played a lot of courses all over the country.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Green Acres

1    10/20/2017   10/24/2017
Review By: New013
Played: 169  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Greenfield DGC is one hell of a course. It has a tremendous design and offers up a little something for players of all skill levels.

It has three tees (R,W,B) on every hole and two pin positions on half of the holes. This review will mainly be looking at the white and blue tees as I did not pay much attention to the red. I'll also note that I played the course the day before a tournament and I'm not sure if the flagged OB is always in play.

The course is expertly set up in that the whites can give a fun challenge to better Am level players while the blues can offer up a championship level course for Pros.

Overall there's just an absolute great mixture of landscapes and variety in hole types. You have everything form big open bomber holes to extremely technical wooded shots and then some that combine both.

Many of the holes give you a variety of options and allow you to be very creative in how you approach the hole. You'll need to be able to throw multiple kinds of shots and be ready to scramble when you aren't in position.

Most of the higher par holes here make you hit gaps while playing for very technical positions and navigating rolling elevation changes. There's definitely some of the best par 4's you'll ever play here.

There's also a really nice flow to the course in that it balances the round to keep things interesting and never overbearing. You'll play a really tough hole backed up by an easier one; a tough wooded hole backed up by one out in the open.

The greens here and basket placements are overall extremely well done. There are places where going right at the basket is almost impossible without a perfect shot and you are instead forced to play a shot where you're trying to land at circles edge. This forces you to think about how you want to attack each hole and play percentages for what you should be going for.

There is natural OB here by way of a creek and small pond which comes in to play on three holes. Again the variety here is nice, you have a water carry, a shot towards water and on #18 the ground slopes hard towards the water for a big tee shot so it's definitely possible to cut roll or get on edge and end up there.

That brings up another point which is that the elevation changes here are used well to force you to land the disc certain ways. It seems every little thing about the design was thought out to create challenge.

I'm not sure if the flagged/tall grass OB is always in play on the holes it was set up but again it adds a really nice fair challenge to the course mainly on some of the more open holes.

I really can't say enough about the design of this course it's right up there with anything I've played so far.

Atmosphere - It's a public park and the course is in the back. It's a mixture of open rolling hills with the wooded holes mainly tucked in down at the bottom along the creek area. It's a beautiful piece of property and has some cool features. It's very well maintained to boot.

Equipment - Concrete tees, baskets in good shape. Solid tee signs listing distance with hole maps. There's a course map at the beginning. Strategic bench placements.
Cons: Layout - Anything here is mostly nitpicking but...

The main drawback to the course is that some of the long to long par 3's seem more like tweeners. A couple are near impossible to get inside the circle. To me #5 could almost be a par 4 from long to long.

There's a couple holes that to me seem a bit cluttered with trees, although I'll admit if you stay on line they are not in the way.

Atmosphere - There's some really tall grass/brush you can get in to if you're off line. So don't do that. There also appears to be some kind of cross country track throughout the course. I encountered zero non discers when I played but I can see this happening.

Equipment - The only problem here is the tees are like half tees in spots. Honestly this bothered me more than anything else with the course.
Other Thoughts: Greenfield is easily one of the best public courses I've ever played. It combines design, looks and a fun time so I highly recommend everyone to play this course; including newbies play the reds.

Part of me really wanted to give this course a 5 but I think the course falls just a bit short of that. I think it lacks just a bit of wow factor that keeps it from being best of the best... but ignore that because this course is all the good descriptive words so come play it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just visiting

1    8/14/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: TimboBaker
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautifully laid out, very well-maintained on my visit. Great signs and course markings. Lots of variety of layout, shot requirements, and a good mix of difficult and manageable holes. I'll try to stop again on my next trip through from Knoxville. Kudos!
Cons: None I can think of. I'm used to longer tee pads, but that's about it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fields of Gold at Greenfield

1    6/10/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 286  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenfield is a top-level course that can challenge players of all skill levels. Capitalizing on the rolling terrain, this course is in Virginia's top-tier.
- Fantastic terrain and terrain-inspired layouts throughout the round. You think #1 is a nice downhill opening hole? Wait until you start your back 9. Hole #10 combines elevation (downhill); accuracy (tight gap to hit); risk/reward factor (layup near the gap vs going flying through it); and some penalizing rough for errant shots. This hole summarizes everything great about this course.
- Course has a tremendous flow throughout. From the parking lot, holes #1 - 9 play towards the right; #10 - 18 are to the left and back. Just with these two loops, you get a taste of plenty of elevation, woods, open fields, and thick rough all squeezed into one round.
- As part of the flow feel, course does an excellent job of offering easier, more birdie-able holes shortly after the most challenging of layouts. If you start feeling like you've had a chance to catch your breath, another difficult hole is coming up. Also, you don't feel like you're playing the same layout as the designers wisely alternated hole designs: open holes, doglegs, wooded, elevation factors, etc. Don't expect anything to be routine here.
- One example of this variety is the stretch of holes #7 - 9. #7 (from the white tee) is a 440-foot uphill layout that starts in a field that goes towards a basket back in the woods. A smart, accurate tee shot is needed if you're going to hit the opening in the woods.
- #8 then is a 215-foot wooded hole. A solid tee shot equals a birdie putt. A safe, simple one leads to your par. A poor shot means you're looking at a bogey heading into another tough hole - #9. On this 490-foot layout, your tee shot must either hit the opening in the trees, or go over top of them. Once you clear that, you're in an open field that leads to a basket protected by some thick rough on the left. All told, your scoring separation on these 3 holes on good vs bad days could easily be a couple strokes per hole.
- Excellent tee signs. Virginia course designers know the importance of tee signs. During a two-day trip, I played 7 courses in the commonwealth. Time and again, my rounds were made easier thanks to great tee signs.
Cons: My biggest gripe is that there's a natural walking trail that plays throughout the entire course. Multiple times through my round, walkers came strolling down fairways, including one appearing over a ridge just as I about to tee off. On holes #2, 4, 7, and 13, I came across at least 6 walkers during my round on an early Saturday morning. There does seem to be a potential risk of accidentally hitting someone. And based on history, we know what happens in the disc golf vs other park activities argument.
- Baskets were not consistent in being in long vs short pin positions. It's only an issue on blind holes, especially when the prior hole(s) were all in one position, then you come across a basket in the other position. Don't try to be clever. Just be smart. #16. Why were you in the short position? This had to the potential to be a solid, tough layout. Instead I stumble upon a boring par 3.
- I don't recall seeing many, if any, benches or trash cans throughout the course. I'm sure it'll be a bigger issue for some players, especially on hot summer days.
- It would have been nice to see more of the elevation being implemented, specifically referring to the hill that's used for #1 & 10. I was expecting #18 to play straight uphill. Rather, I got a hole that didn't incorporate much elevation. I really liked the hole as it is. So maybe that hole is better served as #17, then we play an uphill hole for #18.
Other Thoughts: Greenfield is an excellent addition to the Virginia disc golf scene. There are some other excellent courses in the region - Mountain Lake, Walnut Creek, Falling Creek - and this is another course that belongs in that group.
- There really isn't anything bad to say about this course. I think it's about as close to perfectly designed as you could get here. It's not going to reach elite, championship caliber level. It's a notch below that, and that's a great place to be.
- #11 & 17 both offered great, strategic use of the limited water on the course. #11 is a short hole - 215 feet - that plays over the edge of a pond to a dogleg left basket that close to the edge of the pond. It was a simple mid-range shot, so the water is more for looks than anything else. On #17, however, the water is close to the basket and is a factor for approach shots. Any shot long and/or left is going to be tempting water. On the second to last hole, I doubt you want to end the round searching for a disc.
- Be aware of the thick rough that comes into play on several holes. I got to experience it big time on #12 & 13. As I said earlier, after an easy birdie on #11, I was suddenly challenged on the next hole with a tight fairway.
- #10 is such a creatively designed hole. It's a perfect example of how you don't need length to create a challenging design. It's 'only' 375 and is downhill, so it plays much shorter. That said, I could see anything from birdie to triple bogey coming into play for the average player. Me? I wasn't too upset with a bogey after my tee shot bounced off a tree and into the woods.
- This is a 4.0 rating for me. It's a notch below Mountain Lake and New Quarter Park in terms of the commonwealth's elite. It's an easy 'must play' for everyone in the region and a course I hope to be playing again in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.