Troutville, VA 
Greenfield DGC Share
Uploaded By: splatbaseball51 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2014)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 490ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 All-Around Excellent Course

5+    12/15/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Greenfield provides more variety than any other course in the area. The course has wide open holes, short ace runs, holes that rely on placement shots, and risk/reward shots. There are holes that favor both RHBH and LHBH players. It's obvious a great deal of thought went into the planning and layout of this course.

- There are several unique holes. #10 is a steep downhill shot that gives you the option to throw low through a gap in the trees or bomb over them. #11 is a short hole that plays across a pond with the basket set 20' from the edge of the water. #15 is another relatively short hole with the basket guarded by a tree growing horizontally in front.

- The course is well-maintained by the local club and the county parks & rec department. For instance the fairways in the woods are generally clear of leaves and debris, and some of them have even been seeded with grass.

- There is a kiosk at the parking lot with a large course map, local club/tournament info, and a spot for lost & found discs.

- Tee signs are excellent and provide hole info for all three tees (blue, white & red). There are also directional signs between several holes to help navigate the course.

- Benches and trash cans are located at several holes. The local club is slowly getting benches added at all white tees. There are several bridges at creek crossings (the bridge leading to 11 is particularly nice).

- Very scenic course, some of the views are really nice (hole 13's basket overlooks most of the park). Once you get away from the parking lot it feels secluded. There is a walking/horse trail that runs through parts of the course but it's seldom used and I've never had any issues with other park users.
Cons: - Gravel tee pads, although better than nothing, tend to get rutted over time. However there are currently plans in place to have concrete tee pads installed in early 2015.

- Some of the open holes are WIDE open (ie. 1, 4, 13, 18) so the course isn't as technical as some of the other area courses (Sontag, Ferrum). This design was necessary due to the wide open fields on the property but it can be a little repetitive.

- Portions of the course can get pretty grown-up in the summer if you get off the fairway. Granted, this course opened in May 2014 so this should be expected and over time the course will get more broken in.

- There currently aren't any facilities at the course such as pavilions, picnic tables, water fountain, etc. Drink machines are located at the soccer fields nearby. There is a portable toilet at the parking area.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course, definitely top 3 is this part of the state. This is the type of course that will make you a better player over time as it requires a variety of shots and types of discs. As the course develops even further (concrete tees, more benches, etc.) it will only get better. It's only a 10-minute drive from I-81 so if you're passing through the area it's definitely worth the stop.

Big thanks to Botetourt County and the Roanoke Disc Golf Club for getting this course built. It's a huge improvement going from two mediocre 9-hole courses in the Roanoke area to a course as nice as Greenfield.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One word: Variety.

1    9/7/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety, variety and more variety. (I will further explain what I mean in the pros below ;) )

- This course calls you to pull out a full arsenal of throws and lines. Rollers, side arm, overhand, annhyzer, hyzer, hyzer bombs, tomahawks, perhaps even the occasional grenade if you are feeling fancy.

- When I went here this course was well maintained and manicured. I am not sure it is always this way as I am about an hour away from this course but it look darn near perfect!

- There was no point in this course where I was like "hmm this looks similar to that one hole a couple back" This course does NOT get repetitive (well maybe 13 but that's because I don't have a cannon and throwing the disc 4 times to get while walking up a slight incline). Each hole had a unique look to it and the mix of open and tight wooded bodes well in my opinion. It is not so much front open back wooded but more so wooded and open intermittent through the course which adds to the non-repetitiveness.

- Hole eleven is probably one of the prettiest holes I have played. It is a short ace-able hole. BUT has a lot of room for danger and I laid up with the hyzer route both times instead of running it.

- Great use of the land and it felt very secluded for what appears to be a busy park.

Cons: - Tee pads: some are gravel, some are grass, I always have a tendency to trip on gravel tee pads.

- I went when it was more towards the end of summer start of fall when a lot of the vegetation had died down. But I have heard there can be some nasty spots along the way.


Other Thoughts: I can see this course becoming one of the top rated courses on the East Coast and the only thing I would change is move it closer to me!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Green? Yes. Field? Yes. DGC? Oh Yeah!

1    8/27/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenfield DGC is an a tough course, with some serious rough spots. There are good rolling hills providing elevation differences on many holes. Water is also in play on multiple holes. The mix of these features and left/right layout and hole distance is blended well. The first hole is your classic top of the hill, downhill boomer. Hole number 2 will take you into the low area where thick brush and trees thrive around the creek. Hole 3 has more of the same. The rough here can get very thick and nasty. I dealt with it right away, and advise you do the best you can to avoid it. 4 is back into open air, and has distance tacked on to offset the lack of other obstacles, like most of the less wooded holes. 5 and 6 are wooded, tricky throws. 8 is shorter, and open enough to give a good birdie opportunity. 9 is back into the open, tough enough to take back a stroke. 10 is a fun hole, back near the parking lot, teeing from the same hill as hole 1, with the basket in the woods this time. 11 is a shorty, but over the small pond and not without danger. 13 is the distance test, 1040' and uphill. Not a lot of punishing rough if you can stay on or near the fairway. 14 was a good one, elevated tee, and mature trees protecting the basket at the bottom of the hill. 15 and 16 are both good holes, and on one of them (15 I think), a horizontal tree had blocked the basket to make things interesting. 17 is another short one, but not a gimmie. 18 is a nice final hole, long and uphill out of the trees with heavy rough to the left. Whatever you do, stay on the grass, I threw into the rough and was fortunate to get my favorite driver back. The tee boxes were gravel and pretty good. Brand new DISCatchers are always nice. Signs were good.
Cons: I had some trouble finding a tee for hole 9. There are upgrades coming for the tee boxes, but that would not really affect my rating. The rough is kind of wild, but fairways are very playable. Losing a disc is not out of the question. Mud in places, not bad, and to be expected with rain in the previous days.
Other Thoughts: Greenfield DGC is a nice, new, challenging course definitely worth playing. Not exactly what I expected, the layout is doing a nice job with the park space that was there. Excellent, especially if you were living nearby, and had nothing before.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course for a good 50-75 miles

5+    9/14/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: unknown2no1
Played: 160  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Championship level course with a great mix of holes; long short, left and right, tight wooded to open bombs, great use of elevation as well. There are 3 tees on all the holes, they are gravel at the moment however I have knowledge that concrete is in the works for the future. The course is located only 10 min off of I-81 so if you are passing through the area this is the course to stop and play hands down. It is easy to navigate and has tee signs at all the white tees.
Cons: As of right now the tees would probably be a con but as mentioned in the pros concrete is in the works. There are some areas of rough that are pretty thick so stay on the fairway or there is the risk of losing a disc. Course needs garbage bins and more benches but again this is being worked on presently.
Other Thoughts: Go play this course and you will have fun and see that this is one of the best courses in VA if not on east coast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    8/20/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: Loges00
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic course!! Really enjoyed this courses for its habits of making you switch up your throw. A good challenge for even the greats but not unbearable.
Cons: Could use some trashcans and maybe some benches but overall really awesome course!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    8/19/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 93  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Stopped by while in the area to play this new course. Had high hopes given the posted reviews.

- Sign board at the parking lot.
- Good fairway mowing
- Very good variety - wooded/open, up/down, right/left, short/long. This course has them all and they are mixed up well so you never get tired of repetitive holes.
- Good double 9 loops
- Some nice bridges
- Signs at the white pads

Cons: - The tee pads are pretty rough. The white pads have some gravel. But many aren't level. The reds are only marked with a painted board. We couldn't even find several of the red or blue pads.
- There are many places that if you get out of the fairway you're really in the rough and not likely to find your discs.
- Hole 13 is a ridiculously long par 5 given that it's also uphill.
- Hole 15 had a downed tree blocking the approach to the basket. And the tree didn't look like it was a recent fall but was intentionally left in place.
- There are no amenities - benches, trash cans. If you like these sorts of things.
Other Thoughts: While this course has a lot of potential it's still very new and kind of rough. Upgrading the pads is a must. It may some day be a 4+ rated course but not yet.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Finally an 18 in Roanoke!

5+    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 153  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course layout is excellent. A great mix of open and wooded shots. There is a seemingly fair balance of left, right and straight shots. The rolling hills create some excellent elevation changes both up and down. Water comes into play in the form of small creeks on several holes as well as a pond on hole 11 that must be thrown over from the white and blue tees.

The par seems fair, despite being higher than most 18 hole courses. There are legitimate par 4's on this course, although hole 4 could arguably be a par 3 at least from white and red. The par 5 is over 1000ft from blue and uphill the whole way in a beautiful open "greenfield."

You'll need every shot in your bag for this one, which makes for an excellent course.

The course is challenging enough for all skill levels while remaining somewhat attainable for novices via the red tees. Oh, right I should have mentioned that each hole has 3 tees to choose from. More than half of the holes require some technical precision to hit the fairways while the remaining holes allow you to open up.

Navigation is very intuitive despite the lack of signage(which admittedly might be overkill). You shouldn't need a map to navigate. Holes 9 and 18 finish at the parking lot while Holes 1 and 10 start there, the way all DG courses should be.

Course is VERY well maintained to be as sprawling as it is. Fairways are manicured every time I go out, with higher grass to mark the rough. The scenery/wildlife is also excellent and creates a great ambiance.
Cons: DISCLAIMER: Some of these cons will be corrected in the near future as I'm aware that the club is in the process of completing some additional work. With some of these minor things corrected, this course could garner a perfect score in the future.

There aren't any benches or trashcans as of yet. This course is long and can take a lot out of you. Without benches you should be prepared to go through the liquids pretty quickly. The addition of bag-holders on the signs would be a great idea.

The tee pads are all fine gravel and/or natural at the moment. I know the club plans to pour concrete for these in the future.

The course is pretty wooded and thick in spots so the potential to lose a disc is fairly high. It also holds water after a rain. Not as bad as some other courses I've been on but if it has recently rained definitely keep this in mind.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best course in the area and should be a must play when driving through. It's located only 10 minutes or so off of I-81 in an area with plenty of food and other things to do (Flying Mouse Brewery is located a few miles from the course).

Don't hesitate to drive to play this one! Excellent course with the potential to truly become something special in the near future!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course Betters The Rest

1    6/19/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: Neadls
Played: 69  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenfields Disc Golf Course rivals the best courses in the state. The local parks and recreation department has a major asset here that they probably don't even recognize. To date, Walnut Creek Disc Golf Course outside of Charlottesville Va has been my top rated public disc golf course in the state. This course is right on par with a great potential for taking the cake with the addition of permanent concrete tees. Greenfields offers a wide variety of shots from wide open bombers to tight well designed wooded fairways and then everything inbetween. This includes water hazards, elevation in all directions, and fairway shapes for all throwing styles. With three tee boxes this course will provide a great recreational opportunity for all players types and skill levels.
Cons: There are some areas of dense brush with a possibility of losing discs. This should come without surprise considering the size and expanse of this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a beautiful setting with views of the dominant oncoming weather patterns. This plays in great favor for the players as this course is very large. Oncoming storms can be recognized and escaped with warning. Lastly, a big thanks goes to the hard working people that designed and executed the installation of this course. A job well done. Thanks Again

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great well planned course

2-4    6/18/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: happycamper4027
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great mix of open and wooded holes mixed along with short and long holes.
-The course looks to be well kept with the fairways being mowed consistently.
-A course map at beginning, along with very nice hole maps at the beginning of each hole.
-Large Tee boxes for those who love having space.
-A wonderful view of the surrounding mountains.
-Multiple Tee boxes.
Cons: -No trash cans
-No benches
-Some extremely dense foliage off the fairways of some holes
Other Thoughts: As of now the course is shaping up to be one of my favorite courses in Va. Since it is new (as of writing this review) they are still supposedly working on getting permanent concrete tee pads from hole sponsored funding. Considering the sports complex where the course is located has them, I wouldn't be surprised if benches or trashcans will be coming later to prevent litter. As of now though, the course is very well maintained in the very least. The layout is fair but also challenging and it looks like they did a great job clearing out wooded areas for fairways whilst keeping enough to make shots a challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Southwest VA Course

2-4    6/7/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 41  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Located in a well groomed park
2. Holes are laid out very well w/ great variation
3. Large gravel tee's
4. Red, White, and Blue tee's
5. Course Map at beginning of course
6. Signs at each hole with distance, par, and map
Cons: 1. Buggy
2. Undergrowth off fairways
3. No Trashcans
4. No Benches
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the area. I really liked Blacksburg before the redesign and even though it's still good, this course kills it. With so much variation between each hole you will never get bored on this course. Course provides several unique holes, hole 10 comes to mind. I would like to see benches installed at some of the tee's and maybe a trashcan or two. I could see this place getting littered after a while. Undergrowth on the fairways is very minimal, however if you do veer off the fairway, (which we all do occasionally), prepare for hell. After a while it will get broken it, but for now that can be a bit rough. Bring the bug spray and your bag of discs, you're going to need them. Would definitely recommend to players of any skill level.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.