Troutville, VA 
Greenfield DGC Share
Uploaded By: splatbaseball51 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2014)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 490ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Green, great and gorgeous

1    5/18/2017   6/4/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 138  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offers outstanding variety. From long, open holes to short, wooded challenges, and from uphill toughies to downhill inclines that will tempt you to empty your bag, Greenfield DGC delivers a solid and enjoyable design. The course features three teepads on each hole with a significant difference in difficulty between the red, white and blue teepads.

With a par of 62 that seems fair, Greenfield offers six par-4 holes and a par-5.

Hole #1 is a classic opener - downhill to a slightly sloping green. With tall grasses providing a border and golf-type feel, the first hole is an excellent warm-up opportunity. Holes #2 and #3 are shorter wooded holes into a shaded grassy area. Hole #4 is a longer, open hole over rolling hills, and then Hole #5 is a tough, dogleg right with tight boundaries and plenty of trees. Hole #6 is another wooded hole with several intimidating trees near the teepad. Hole #7 requires an uphill throw before disappearing into the woods. Hole #8 offers a rare ace run before the lengthy Hole #9, which requires an accurate drive between trees into an open but uphill field that leads to a basket on a mound.

The course is two nine-hole loops, as the ninth hole finishes next to the parking lot.

The back nine offers excellent diversity as well. Hole #10 is a lovely downhill, into-the-woods hole and then Hole #11 brings the water into play with a short drive required over the corner of the pond. Hole #12 requires a tricky dogleg right shot. A couple holes on the back nine have been changed - Hole #13 is still long but is now "only" 830 feet and is flat with bushes and a stream serving as the left-side border. Hole #14 appears to be changed from the original design too - now it is a short hole with a seemingly-fallen tree obscuring a direct route to the basket. Hole #15 is a tough through-the-valley, dogleg-right hole requiring an accurate drive to make par. Hole #16 is a challenging, heavily-wooded hole where placement is crucial to setting up your next shot. Hole #17 is a short wooded hole, and then the course concludes with a cool #18, which requires a well-placed drive through a gap in the trees leading to an open but sloped green.

The signage and other amenities at Greenfield are excellent.
Cons: Too many trees. Several of the holes would benefit from some tree removal. A couple of the most wooded holes require guesswork in locating and remaining in the fairway.

Short teepads. As one reviewer stated, they're closer to "half a teepad."

Some muddiness possible. The trees on several holes offer a welcomed shield from the heat during the summer but may result in the course being damp in several places.
Other Thoughts: Many of the holes are eye-catching and fun-inducing. This beautiful course appears to be well-maintained. If you're traveling on I-81, you should definitely include Greenfield DGC as a destination worth visiting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course With Great Variety Of Holes!

1    8/15/2016   8/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Greenfield DGC sits in the very back of a large park with multiple ball fields. I finally spotted a small park's sign pointing the way.

The course is in a disc golf exclusive area of the park. I doubt you'll ever run into any other park's users. This is a nice large staging area complete with kiosk which evens holds a "Borrow a Disc" shelf with 6-8 discs that you can borrow and then return. Brother, you're not at Brookside Park in Indianapolis now. There are garbage cans here and picnic tables. And the tee pads for both # 1 and # 10 are both right here in sight. The tee pads are now for the middle Whites and long Blues. The shorter Reds are still natural. The tee sign is on the middle White holes. The course has nice colored tee signs which give the needed information. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow rims and #'s. Almost every hole has a bench and/or garbage can, and there are numerous next tee signs to help you navigate. There are porti potties at the beginning.

The course was easily Advanced Player, long and difficult, even from the middle Whites with holes like # 13 which is an uphill 900 hole which as others have agreed with, plays like 1200'. But my favorite aspect of this course is, for every mind numbing difficult holes there seems to be a more comfortable ACE run to counter it.

My two favorites were back to back, #'s 9 & 10. # 9 is 490' playing from the Whites, open early and then plays into the woods and then onto a tricky, elevated basket in a pretty setting.

Then, after looping back to the beginning, you have # 10. It's 375' (From the Whites) throwing slightly downhill to a smallish window in the trees with the basket then another 150' back in amongst some scattered smaller trees.
Cons: The course has some erosion issues, lots of bare, muddy ground everywhere, on fairways, around some baskets and on the walking trails between holes. An ideal fix would be to ask the park's department for about 10 yards of wood chips. Most park's department seem to have a pile lying around somewhere from all the downed trees and branches they cut up.

I didn't care for # 13. I thought it was just long for being long sake.

The rough is fairly thick and mean in places.

I also thought the back nine didn't quite measure up to the front nine in terms of design.



Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course for advanced players and above with lots of creative, challenging holes. It's not really designed with us rec players in mind although I didn't get a chance to play it from the shortest Red tees. One thought I have is this course will continue to evolve and get better. One can easily see that Greenfields DGC is a course designed and maintained by people who truly care and want to make this course a true destination course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Virginia

2-4    3/10/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: greg_b_4
Played: 63  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all you could ever ask for. Three tees per hole with the middle and backs both concrete. Middle tees had signage. Lots of elevation. And trees everywhere! This is basically a wooded technical course with a blanket of grass and hard earth underneath. Very small chances of losing your discs except for the water holes. There are benches for most holes and plenty of trash cans. Every hole seemed to have multiple routes forcing you to think on every shot. I love a course that doesn't force you into a certain shot. Most of the pars were fair, while hard they were not discouraging. The front and back 9's play in a loop. I imagine in tournament shotgun start play it is easy to get to any starting hole.
Cons: The cons are few but they did keep me from giving a perfect 5.0. I preferred the feel of the front 9 a lot more than the back 9. The flow of the front seemed to work while the flow of the back seemed forced. While water holes are fun they were just wet mud in the fairways and greens. I'm talking the kind of mud you sink past your ankles in (talking to you hole 11). And it's been dry for over a week. Another con is hole 13..... why????? 900 ft from the middle tees? Oh and uphill????? It plays more like 1200 ft from the middle tees, that's how uphill it is. And it's one of the few holes with no trees, on top of a hill in the middle of a field, so the wind was probably 30mph once I finally threw 3 full drives to have a circles edge putt. It's just not fun. Shorten that hole and give it some obsticles. The following hole #14 is the second worst hole so just get redesign these to get to the fun #15.
Other Thoughts: Even with the cons I have no doubt this is the best course in Virginia. It is much funner and more broken in and taken care of than Mountain Lake. I played late winter but I would suggest bug spray, I imagine the gnats get ridiculous. The concrete tees are very short but they did a great job of crush run in the back of the tees to lengthen them. Bottom line this is a destination course worth a 4 hour drive to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Greenfield Variety & Unique

2-4    8/12/2015   8/28/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 215  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 12.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 single position DisCatcher baskets with dual concrete tees and a short natural rec tee. Good signage and navigation. Excellent use of the rolling elevation, pond, terrain and natural land features. Phenomenal course flow and variety of hole design from open and wooded to short and long holes. Two loops of 9 holes back to the parking lot. The course is well maintained and manicured by the park. Beautiful property with the panoramic mountain peaks surrounding the course. Portapotty in parking lot.
Cons: Really have to nit pick for cons. The concrete tees are a little short, almost half a tee, but the room and gravel behind the concrete works ok. Hole 14 plays close to building structures, breaking up the seclusion feeling. There's a couple rough spots you can lose a disc. The long and rec tees had no signs. No bathroom with running water. Beware of some runners through the course.
Other Thoughts: Greenfield should be on everyone's hit list traveling anywhere near Roanoke, it's only 10 minutes off I-81, and IMO it's the best public course in Virginia. It is suitable for anyone from rank beginners to touring pros. When I played 4th of July weekend there was some tall grass rough on the open holes, but the fairways were still fair. When I played a few weeks later there was much less tall grass rough and the course was in pristine condition.

Hole 1 welcomes you with a nice open par 3 downhill bomb and slight right to left slope.

Hole 2 and 3 take you into the woods with right and left technical par 3 turning holes.

Hole 4 takes you back into the open with a long uphill par 4.

Hole 5 and 6 take you into the woods for a couple short straight-ish technical par 3 shots.

Hole 7 is a solid par 4 that tees from the open to a landing zone and the basket tucked into the woods straight back.

Hole 8 is maybe the easiest par 3, playing downhill and a left to right slope, it's tight off the long tee, but really just an approach shot with a putter.

Hole 9 is maybe my favorite on the course, it's a difficult open par 4 that tee's off over a valley to a landing zone, then you have to clear the rough to a slightly elevated green if you want a look at birdie. I lost a disc in the rough my first time playing although the wind was really whipping around.

Hole 10 is a fun par 3 downhill semi open RHBH hyzer tee shot with the basket tucked into the woods.

Hole 11 is the somewhat intimidating pond hole. There's a lot of water between you and the basket on this par 3 and just enough trees to make you think about your routes. You can layup somewhat, but so much fun gunning for it. I hit the basket my first time playing it. Emboldened by that, my second time playing I ended up in the drink, although I threw the wrong disc mistakingly. Farewell orange Firebird that matches the color of the bottom of the pond.

Hole 12 is a wooded tunnel par 3 with sloping right to left elevation and the basket to the right. Great for RHFH or LHBH, really hard for those without that shot.

Hole 13 is the uphill open par 5 1040' beast. Both times I played this hole with a stiff headwind and made it feel like 2000'.

Hole 14 is a relief after that, a par 3 that you shoot over the valley of trees.

Hole 15 is a short straight par 3 tunnel shot with the horizontal tree protecting the basket.

Hole 16 is a beast of a wooded par 4 with a fairway that snakes a bit. The elevation comes into play with it being uphill off the tee and sloping right to left all the way to the well protected basket.

Hole 17 is a short technical par 3 with the creek running along the fairway and the pond behind the basket.

Hole 18 is a par 4 that plays from the woods to the open with a hard right to left slope to the basket.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!!

2-4    7/10/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: reed2020
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I have played. Once completed it will be championship level, with three tee placements for each hole. They have done a tremendous job utilizing the landscape. It forces you to use every trick you have in your bag. Almost every hole had two distinct lines to choose from, providing diversity in your approach.
Cons: The tee pads NEED to be bigger. On a course this perfect the tee pads should top notch. That would be my only con. The short settings do not have cement tees yet, but are clearly marked. Would be 5/5 with better tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you are anywhere near. One of the best public course I have seen and we have some great ones here in Oregon. This was my second time playing it in two years and it has only gotten better. I look forward to the continued improvements to this already amazing course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Summer 2015 Road Trip Favorite

1    6/1/2015   6/12/2015
Review By: DNewq
Played: 331  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - I think my favorite aspect of this course was the design and layout. Each hole was unique and the flow was perfect, by the end of the round I felt like I played 5+ different types of holes. 1. Narrow tee shot out to open fairway 2. Open tee shot to a narrow green. 3. wooded finesse hole. 4. Open long par 5. 5.Water hole . In addition I never felt like the basket ought to be in a different location or they missed any opportunity to improve any particular hole. Everything was very well thought out.
- The next biggest pro to me was how well maintained the course was. Maybe my timing was lucky. But the open holes were mowed nicely and the wooded holes were trimmed back perfectly. On top of that I didn't notice a single piece of litter either(The way a course should be) There was an park employee on the course working on it and he had so much pride in the course, I am optimistic the course will remain in great shape at all times.
- Multiple tee boxes very logically positioned with great signage. They placed each tee sign by the white (intermediate length tees) which was very convenient. Each sign was well detailed and the navigation signs between each basket to the next tee was perfect.
- The views of the surrounding area were great. Added to my wonderful disc golf experience.
- Very convenient to I-81 (less than 10 minutes)
Cons: - I can see how someone might point out the crushed gravel tee pads. Tee pads have never been a major issue to me so I can't complain too much about that at all. I will say if they did have a concrete tees I would have no problem giving this course a 5.0
Other Thoughts: Was lucky enough to plan a 5 day disc golf road trip early this summer. I hit up a total of 12 courses. I liked all but one of them but Greenfield proved to be my favorite. In the future I will seek out other courses installed by this designer. A++ work for sure

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Premier course in VA.

2-4    12/30/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: ddoublep4517
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I got to play this course when I visited family in Roanoke. I'm from Texas so the elevation changes were the biggest pro that I noticed. It was nice to throw up and down for a change.

I noticed that I also used almost every disc in my bag. The only way that happens is if a course forces me into many different positions. Thus, I can honestly say this is one of the most well rounded courses I've played. You'll throw right, left, straight, short, long bombs, flicks, everything....

There were plenty of birdie opportunities but none of them are gimmies. Even the shorter holes have some risk associated or have some nice guardian trees. If you get a birdie, it's because you earned it.

The course also does a great job of changing up the shot as you go along. You don't feel like any one shot is the same as one before. You'll play in and out of the woods all day. The variety is on point.

All holes have three tees, allowing the beginner to the open player to be challenged. There are several benches that are in key spots, but more wouldn't hurt. Tee signs are professional.
Cons: The one thing I have a problem about on this course is the tee boxes! This is the only thing keeping me from giving this course a 5. I'm used to throwing on concrete and anything else is inferior. It means a lot to not have to worry about your footing.

The only other thing that brings this course down Is the hanging vines on some hole in the woods. The challenge of the trees and branches is awesome but the vines can really kill a shot.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of the premier NC courses I grew up playing. It's only a short drive off the interstate with plenty of stuff around to eat, etc...

With concrete this could be one of the best courses on this side of the country, no doubt. I highly recommend it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 All-Around Excellent Course

5+    12/15/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: ntguthrie
Played: 93  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Greenfield provides more variety than any other course in the area. The course has wide open holes, short ace runs, holes that rely on placement shots, and risk/reward shots. There are holes that favor both RHBH and LHBH players. It's obvious a great deal of thought went into the planning and layout of this course.

- There are several unique holes. #10 is a steep downhill shot that gives you the option to throw low through a gap in the trees or bomb over them. #11 is a short hole that plays across a pond with the basket set 20' from the edge of the water. #15 is another relatively short hole with the basket guarded by a tree growing horizontally in front.

- The course is well-maintained by the local club and the county parks & rec department. For instance the fairways in the woods are generally clear of leaves and debris, and some of them have even been seeded with grass.

- There is a kiosk at the parking lot with a large course map, local club/tournament info, and a spot for lost & found discs.

- Tee signs are excellent and provide hole info for all three tees (blue, white & red). There are also directional signs between several holes to help navigate the course.

- Benches and trash cans are located at several holes. The local club is slowly getting benches added at all white tees. There are several bridges at creek crossings (the bridge leading to 11 is particularly nice).

- Very scenic course, some of the views are really nice (hole 13's basket overlooks most of the park). Once you get away from the parking lot it feels secluded. There is a walking/horse trail that runs through parts of the course but it's seldom used and I've never had any issues with other park users.
Cons: - Gravel tee pads, although better than nothing, tend to get rutted over time. However there are currently plans in place to have concrete tee pads installed in early 2015.

- Some of the open holes are WIDE open (ie. 1, 4, 13, 18) so the course isn't as technical as some of the other area courses (Sontag, Ferrum). This design was necessary due to the wide open fields on the property but it can be a little repetitive.

- Portions of the course can get pretty grown-up in the summer if you get off the fairway. Granted, this course opened in May 2014 so this should be expected and over time the course will get more broken in.

- There currently aren't any facilities at the course such as pavilions, picnic tables, water fountain, etc. Drink machines are located at the soccer fields nearby. There is a portable toilet at the parking area.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course, definitely top 3 is this part of the state. This is the type of course that will make you a better player over time as it requires a variety of shots and types of discs. As the course develops even further (concrete tees, more benches, etc.) it will only get better. It's only a 10-minute drive from I-81 so if you're passing through the area it's definitely worth the stop.

Big thanks to Botetourt County and the Roanoke Disc Golf Club for getting this course built. It's a huge improvement going from two mediocre 9-hole courses in the Roanoke area to a course as nice as Greenfield.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One word: Variety.

1    9/7/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety, variety and more variety. (I will further explain what I mean in the pros below ;) )

- This course calls you to pull out a full arsenal of throws and lines. Rollers, side arm, overhand, annhyzer, hyzer, hyzer bombs, tomahawks, perhaps even the occasional grenade if you are feeling fancy.

- When I went here this course was well maintained and manicured. I am not sure it is always this way as I am about an hour away from this course but it look darn near perfect!

- There was no point in this course where I was like "hmm this looks similar to that one hole a couple back" This course does NOT get repetitive (well maybe 13 but that's because I don't have a cannon and throwing the disc 4 times to get while walking up a slight incline). Each hole had a unique look to it and the mix of open and tight wooded bodes well in my opinion. It is not so much front open back wooded but more so wooded and open intermittent through the course which adds to the non-repetitiveness.

- Hole eleven is probably one of the prettiest holes I have played. It is a short ace-able hole. BUT has a lot of room for danger and I laid up with the hyzer route both times instead of running it.

- Great use of the land and it felt very secluded for what appears to be a busy park.

Cons: - Tee pads: some are gravel, some are grass, I always have a tendency to trip on gravel tee pads.

- I went when it was more towards the end of summer start of fall when a lot of the vegetation had died down. But I have heard there can be some nasty spots along the way.


Other Thoughts: I can see this course becoming one of the top rated courses on the East Coast and the only thing I would change is move it closer to me!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Green? Yes. Field? Yes. DGC? Oh Yeah!

1    8/27/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 296  Exp: 15.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenfield DGC is an a tough course, with some serious rough spots. There are good rolling hills providing elevation differences on many holes. Water is also in play on multiple holes. The mix of these features and left/right layout and hole distance is blended well. The first hole is your classic top of the hill, downhill boomer. Hole number 2 will take you into the low area where thick brush and trees thrive around the creek. Hole 3 has more of the same. The rough here can get very thick and nasty. I dealt with it right away, and advise you do the best you can to avoid it. 4 is back into open air, and has distance tacked on to offset the lack of other obstacles, like most of the less wooded holes. 5 and 6 are wooded, tricky throws. 8 is shorter, and open enough to give a good birdie opportunity. 9 is back into the open, tough enough to take back a stroke. 10 is a fun hole, back near the parking lot, teeing from the same hill as hole 1, with the basket in the woods this time. 11 is a shorty, but over the small pond and not without danger. 13 is the distance test, 1040' and uphill. Not a lot of punishing rough if you can stay on or near the fairway. 14 was a good one, elevated tee, and mature trees protecting the basket at the bottom of the hill. 15 and 16 are both good holes, and on one of them (15 I think), a horizontal tree had blocked the basket to make things interesting. 17 is another short one, but not a gimmie. 18 is a nice final hole, long and uphill out of the trees with heavy rough to the left. Whatever you do, stay on the grass, I threw into the rough and was fortunate to get my favorite driver back. The tee boxes were gravel and pretty good. Brand new DISCatchers are always nice. Signs were good.
Cons: I had some trouble finding a tee for hole 9. There are upgrades coming for the tee boxes, but that would not really affect my rating. The rough is kind of wild, but fairways are very playable. Losing a disc is not out of the question. Mud in places, not bad, and to be expected with rain in the previous days.
Other Thoughts: Greenfield DGC is a nice, new, challenging course definitely worth playing. Not exactly what I expected, the layout is doing a nice job with the park space that was there. Excellent, especially if you were living nearby, and had nothing before.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.