Harrisville, UT 
Harrisville DGC Share
Uploaded By: CodeMonkey   (Taken 5/2014)
Park Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Redesigned and not great.

1    7/16/2018   7/20/2018
Review By: brentjacobs
Played: 248  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 9 DISCatchers in good repair. Not all well mounted, think a couple got a little wonky when they were moved and remounted. Nothing agregious.
- 9 Concrete or asphalt tees. Asphalt tees use a portion of the walking path. Tees are kind of short but not much run-up required on this course.
- Water in play on many holes adds some risk reward.
- Nice tee signs with all the necessary Hole info.
- Park is well kept. Grass wasn't tall and was actually being mowed while we played. Bridges are in very good repair.
- The elevated basket mounted on the old stump on 6 was neat.
- Hole 9 is a cool shot through a low hanging tree area, over the creek, and into a green that also has a low ceiling. (See also cons)
- The small amount of available elevation was used fairly well.
-Easy enough to navigate even without an updated course map. Holes 1, 2, and 9 remained unchanged.
- Free to play.
Cons: - The redesign took what looked to be a solid intermediate/advance course and made it half intermediate/advanced half pitch n putt. Not sure who the intended skill set for this course is any more. I liked a couple-three holes but the rest were too short and easy to be more than pitch ups. With the water so close on some of those it doesn't even give you the option to ace run. It's murky water so retrieval would be difficult.
- Holes 5 & 6 are both right about 105'. Again, not sure what the intended skill level is as Hole 9 as described above is not an easy play.
- Hole 9. Probably the coolest golf shot. However, it crosses right over and walking path and bridge.
- User conflict is awful here. We played mid-day on a Monday and had to wait multiple times and ask a few people if we could throw certain holes. We saw 10-15 various kids(not a camp or some type of organized group) fishing in the pond and along the creek that the entire course runs right along. Other park users were just hanging out in the shade on the course.
- While the original holes that didn't change have some nice old trees to contend with the new redesigned holes don't offer much challenge and those that have the most trees in the way are the 105' holes 5 & 6.
Other Thoughts: This course was quite the let down considering the early reviews ratings and mention of a longer back nine being planned for installation in 2015. Well, it looks like they went the opposite direction and gutted much of what seemingly had made this play well. Which, given the multi-use traffic we saw on a random Monday, isn't surprising. The course isn't bad, I just feel with the redesign, it doesn't play to a specific skill level. Intermediate would be the closest although some of the holes are just so simple even that seems a stretch. While the park and course are certainly well maintained, I wouldn't go out of your way to bag this. Either play during off peak park hours or plan to wait/skip holes/ask people to play through. Couple fun Ace runs, couple tough-ish shots and a bunch of holes that just don't feel like they fit together. I won't play this one again if I return to the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: Jacob S
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice concrete pads and signage
- Great baskets with multiple pin locations
- A good variety of holes with many throw options and challenging hazards
- Its a nice walk in the park, nothing too straining
Cons: - Can get crowded at times (mostly pedestrians not golfers)
- Fairways cross on a couple holes depending on the pin placements
- The creek is deceiving; you do NOT want to land in there.
Other Thoughts: Its a real nice 9 hole course overall. Plenty of challenge for all golfers alike. Can't wait for the other 9 to be installed next year.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Course in Nice Park

2-4    5/24/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: abarker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course with lots of trees and water hazards. This course will really help you master low ceiling line drive throws, or high spike hyzers.

The course flows very well and makes excellent use of the available land.

There are two different basket locations for each hole which completely alter the course.
Cons: Several of the tee locations are in potential fairways/basket locations of other holes, especially when the baskets are in the long locations. This isn't a problem if the course isn't busy. If the course is crowded, like it was at the Grand Opening tournament on Saturday, you just need to be patient before teeing off, and make sure other disc golfers are aware when you throw.

The tee pads were a little bit short for my run up. For most of the holes I didn't really try to gun it, so it wasn't an issue.



Other Thoughts: While it is a peaceful park setting and the length of the course make it fairly beginner friendly, the high number of water hazards can be frustrating for new disc golfers. I highly recommend investing in a Disc Gator Retriever when you play this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of space

5+    5/22/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is set in a large public park with a creek winding through the middle. As we drove up I was expecting the usual wide open unimaginative set-up common to these types of installations.
Instead I was met with a creative, technical, small slice of disc golf genius. I tend to be overly critical when a local amateur gets involved in fairway layout, but in this case I cannot imagine a better design for the space available. Not a high end destination but definitely worth playing if you are in the area.
Concrete tees are installed fairly flush to the grass. (they are too short but you can generally achieve a run-up over grass)
Baskets are brand new discatchers.
Creek is shallow and marshy - hard to lose a disc (this is a pro)
Grass fairways are kept nicely mown by the park staff.
Decent mix of open and tight fairways.
Good balance of Left and Right.
None of the fairways are super long (<300)which is normally a drawback, however, in this case the some of the longer fairways require low flights or significant lateral movement. Stronger players won't easily reach baskets on #2, #3 and #9. In fact, #3 is only 230' but is heavily guarded by large trees and requires a severe left -> right flight. One of our guys parked it and birdied but his disc easily traveled through more than 300' of airspace.
Cons: Short tee pads (8')
10' should be minimum and 12' is even better -IMHO
I checked and there is space behind each pad for crushed gravel or concrete extensions in the future.
No tee signs yet
Other park-goers are not yet fully aware of the course. Plan to pre-walk some fairways and POLITELY ask others to step aside and allow you to play through. In some cases you will be forced to skip holes.
Beware of fenced backyards. Most have signs indicating disc retrieval is not allowed. These areas are mostly out of play so no worries unless you have a strong wind or a poor thrower.
Other Thoughts: Tip: Tee pad for #3 is not marked but we were told you are supposed to use the small depression in the asphault jogging path. NE of basket 2.

Try to play early in the morning to avoid picnic groups and kids exploring the creek. Above all, be prepared to skip over certain fairways as this installation is integrated too close to attractions to justify priority to golfers.

Overall, not a killer championship course due to the shorter lengths and lack of par 4 and 5's but experienced players should find this course challenging and enjoyable.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.