Ayden, NC 
Ayden Park Share
Uploaded By: siknastyinstalr Hole #4 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 435ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Good for practice and newbies

1    9/19/2020   9/19/2020
Review By: jeremytf
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 35.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -this course got a ton of cleanup for the Down East Players Cup. It is much more playable now (compared to reading the old reviews and the "condition" status).

There is plenty of room. Variety in hole length and open fields for warmup or practice.

Tees are concrete and mostly in fine condition. A few are cracked badly due to improper substrate.

I doubt this course gets very busy due to the few reviews and previously bad condition.

It is nice have other amenities present but not affecting play - playground, shelter, bathrooms.
Cons: I would consider this a practice course. It is good for starting players or folks looking for something different. Not much challenge. No memorable holes.

I played the course as part of the Down East Players Cup. The TDs did a great getting it ready for us, including temporarily renumbering and replanning many of the holes. So it worked fine for the tournament but the navigation will be bad for regular visitors at other times. Some tee signs are missing, some poor flow, etc. It is hard for me to elaborate because I had to play the modified tournament layout.

Course is virtually flat. Criss-crossed with ditches that help with drainage but are a bit annoying to step over and fish your disc out of.

A couple holes could use further clean out to establish an actual fairway.

No benches.
Other Thoughts: stop by if you're in the area, but don't go out of your way for this couse. I hope it can continue to be maintained!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for a small town

1    2/8/2019   2/11/2019
Review By: pmay5
Played: 316  Reviewed: 205  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2019
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Better than expected 18 hole course in this small town.
Concrete tee pads, not really large, but flush to the ground. DisCatchers have a little wear, but in good shape overall.
Good distance for a park course, 5400' from the whites. Pars were appropriate for the distance, except for #10, 442 ft Par 3?
After the first three holes, the rest were in scattered trees (mostly hardwoods). This required shot shaping, without the undergrowth that hides discs.
Grass has filled in on the whole course since most of the pics were taken. Not a difficult course to play.
A few Par 4s and a few Ace runs, #3, #7 (annie/RHFH) and #17.
Cons: Some areas were pretty wet, probably because of the time of year that I played. #4,5,16,17 and 18 were soft in some places. Lots of standing water on #8, before and around the basket.
#11 - The tee sign is missing, perhaps this hole shouldn't be played, because ... it is an extremely tight tunnel between large thorn bushes, over one of the drainage ditches to the other side of the course. The bridge over the ditch? not anchored on either side, so it teeter-totters as you walk over it.
Tee signs are basic, hole, distance and par, BUT they were at every hole (except 11) and had bag holders, so not a big Con.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned, this was a better than expected course for this small town. Perhaps the closeness to Greenville (and only 6 miles from Covenant) earned a better layout than normal.
Plenty of room to air out shots, almost no tunnel shots and a few Ace runs. Most of the course reminded me of the ECU course. Not as many pines, but trees for shot shaping.
The drainage ditch along #1 and 2 looks pretty deep and there is also one running right down the middle of #10, but discs can be pulled from these.
#4 was a fun hole, Par 4 slightly downhill through scattered trees, probably several lines available,
#10 with its drainage ditch made driving accuracy important, to a slightly elevated basket,
#13 was probably my favorite hole, drive was mostly open, across a small ditch, then the basket was through a tunnel of LARGE thorn bushes only about 15' wide, the basket was in front of an embankment,
#16 (par 4) required an accurate drive shaped around trees, for a chance to go at the basket on the second.
The course starts at the very front of the park, then goes straight to the back, probably DG only part of the park. Good use of the area.
The course was a little rough around the edges when I was there, long grass, leaves on the tees, but is probably in better shape in the warmer months.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Must Play!

5+    11/4/2016   11/6/2016
Review By: EricMurphy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most challenging courses in the area. Short and Long tees on several baskets. #4 and #16 are vicious short or long! Rec Dept keeps the course mowed fairly regularly. Mix of shots. #1 & #2 are wide open to start it but if you play the ditch as OB they are a tough start. The city has done a lot of work on the course to prevent water puddling.
Cons: Mosquitoes but that goes for all courses in Pitt County and Ayden has been much better with those this year. Some tough baskets for beginners but it'll make em better players lol.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Will get better as the land settles in.

1    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: teej
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape
-Nice concrete teepads.
-The layout is pretty good. The flow is not bad. The course has tree's spread out well throughout the entire course to make for interesting lines.
-Trash cans throughout the course
-The park has two vending machines near the entrance and bathrooms.
-Grass was freshly cut
Cons: -I played on a pretty dry day and there was still a lot of standing water throughout the course. Still very playable but I found myself walking through and inch or two of water quite a bit.
-There still is a lot of much because it is wet. Please watch you step because you will slip.
-The map flows okay but if you do not have a map your first time playing, you will get mixed up. I found myself finishing hole 8 and actually playing out hole 10 before I saw my error. I had to back track and then play out hole 8 and 9. At the entrance to the park, there is a sign with a map of the layout of the disc golf course. I do recommend taking a photo of it to take with you. I did this and still got a few holes mixed up.
-If the area gets a good rain, forget about the course. It seems like it holds water and will be very muddy.
-Each hole does as a placard with the hole number and distance, which is nice. If they ever replace those, please replace is with a small map of the tee box and basket along with a directional to the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was not a bad experience. I did enjoy the layout and the flow of the majority of the wholes. Each hole made me stop and think of the line I was going to take and what I was going to throw. There are quite a few long holes which allows you to break out your distance driver and rip it.

As the course develops and ages, I think more distinct throwing lines will develop as with new ones.

I think the mud issue will eventually go away as the land settles and grass/vegetation grows in thicker on the ground level. Try and avoid staying out of the woods. The uncut area is extremely thick and will eat discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Overgrown

1    6/12/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 80  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course seems relatively well designed with decent flow. Nice use of trees to shape shots without making it overly difficult.
- Concrete tee pads in good shape
- Innova DISCatcher baskets also in good shape
- Park has restrooms, vending machines, playground, spray park, picnic shelters that are all nice. This is also close to the course without being in the way so that an errant shot might hit someone.
- Signs at every hole, although these only have the hole # and distance (no map)
Cons: - As the review title states, this course is terribly overgrown. Most of the course has waist high weeds that are terrible to trek through. Wear long pants if you go and be prepared to spend some extra time finding your disc.
- Several ditches crisscross the course and I found myself jumping over them frequently. Not a huge deal for me, but if you have a youngster with you or are not comfortable/capable of jumping a few feet over a ditch this could cause a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. Someone clearly spent some time planning it, and with the exception of the first couple holes (which are rather uninspired) the holes force you to use a variety of shots and do not seem repetitive. There was also clearly some money put into the course, with nice concrete tee pads, nice baskets, and scattered trash cans and benches. However, this course is nearly unplayable due to the weeds being so overgrown. I only saw one other group on the course on the day I played and they quit after the first several holes. If someone could go around with a bush hog and clear it occasionally, it would be much better. But it appears the most of the course is not ever mowed. It's a shame because it could be a very nice course otherwise. Unless this changes do yourself a favor and drive down to Kinston or up to Greenville for a better maintained course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

5+    2/20/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: anhyzer09
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads - multiple on most holes which make for a two very different holes.

Good flow.

Good, long holes w/tough lines

Course has incredible potential, whether it will be or can be realized is a different story.


Cons: Mud, bugs, wet, maintenance, mud, signage.

Hard to follow if you don't have a map.

Honestly 3 days after it rains may not be enough.

Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but if you are in the area and it's been dry lately, go for it.

Course has incredible potential, whether it will be or can be realized is a different story.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Alot better than before

2-4    10/31/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: triprunr
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Mud is gone. Very open.

Good Distance, love having some Par 4's.

Glad they added some trash cans.
Cons: Needs hole maps on placards.

Alot of bugs, bring at least 30 deet bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't play for at least 3 days after rain, but very enjoyable course.

If you get one in the water at hole 11 in the creek, it might be hard to get the disc, but the ground in the creek is hard. Had to remove shoes and socks to get a disc but wasn't as bad as other creeks.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really New

1    9/18/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: bigmikegervasi
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has great potential!
Cons: We could not finish the course because there was to much mud, every where, even in the middle of the fare way and it had not rained for a week.

The tee signs do not have the hole map. And it does not tell you where the next tee is.
Other Thoughts: I think if they were a few improvements and someone to take care of it then it could be a great course.

Update:
I was just informed of this and wanted to pass it on ...

There is a lot of the work being done (on the course) is to get the grass growing, and expand drainage to prevent the flooding/muddiness.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.