Lafayette, IN 
Wabash Washout Share
Uploaded By: Phollower Hole #17
3 / 205ft.   3 / 240ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Becoming a Great

5+    9/1/2020   9/4/2020
Review By: Wizzerofawesome
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different lengths tees for different players.
Now getting concrete pads and with length.
Signs are up to explain holes.
Quiet. Normally have the course to yourself/yourselves. With wildlife.
Beautiful design and transition from an old ball golf course.
Shots of all kinds will be needed.
Cons: Needs some "next tee" signs. Badly in some spots.
Needs benches and trash cans every few holes.
The rough can be a little atrocious at times. Lost a few discs out there.
Other Thoughts: This course and complex (wabash woods) has the potential to be a real Mecca for players and maybe even some serious tournaments. In my opinion it could be in the top ten in Indiana

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Goodbye Ball Golf , Hello Disc Golf

1    7/26/2020   7/31/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 682  Reviewed: 306  Exp: 27.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wabash Washout is a disc golf course located in Mcallister Park . It is an 18 hole course .
It is on an old ball golf course . There is plenty of parking . As you are pulling front-way in , the course is located on your far right . There is a practice basket near the clubhouse turn . I didn't see any bathrooms here .
The Equipment - The signage is good , and it tells you hole# , par, distance and flight path, along with out of bounds . . . There are 3 tees for pretty much every hole and a sign at all of them . Almost all of the tee pads are natural . There were a couple of turf tees mixed in . The baskets are the red Pro Chainstars and look great . The practice basket is on the other side of the old clubhouse .
The Landscape - The course was mowed and the course itself looks very well taken care of regarding fairways and trees . There are several ponds that come into play , but I was never sure of whether there was water in them or not . Some water plants have grown up where the ponds are and may have soaked the water up . There is high rough off of many of the fairways ( more in cons section ) . The course utilizes small hills throughout . You either throw off some , or maybe putt to a basket on some . There are not a lot of trees on the course , but the ones there are used . Rolling terrain also helps . There are cart paths in and out of the course , some being used as out of bounds on either side of a fairway .
The Highlights - at 9300' from the longs , this course has some serious length . #1 is a great starter hole ( 375' , 490', 600' ) . The fairway has mature trees that force lower angles to a fairway with a pond that starts to come into play on the right and front . The further left you throw will take the pond out of play . The basket sits up on a hill protected by growth on the right of the fairway . #4 is from an elevated tee to a basket sitting part of the way on a hill . #5 ( 220' , 285' 310' ) is a very tight tunnel shot to a basket sitting at the edge of the woods . #10 has a basket sitting to the right of brush and a large tree . A pond sits directly in front of the basket . #18 ( 425', 525' 595' ) , a great finishing hole , It is a dogleg left , with large trees and brush forcing your drive(s) right to left .
Signature Hole : #3 ( 520' , 625', 825' . ) There is a strip of fairway with a pond that will start to come into play on your right . There is also some overgrowth , bushes and a tree that will be in front . The basket is sitting on the other side of the pond on a hill . A lot of risk/reward will go into whether you want to throw for the hill early , or throw one more drive around the overgrowth so you don't chance losing your disc .
Time - It took me a little over 90 minutes to play here . It was a good 90 , though . Figure a foursome taking just under 3 hours .
Disc golf on old golf courses can add a lot to your experience . Cart paths can come into play , and there is almost always water and a few hills to contend with .
I was here on a Sunday afternoon and only saw 1 person total on both of the courses . You may have this land all to yourself . Make sure you bring plenty of water with you . There is not much shade during your round on this course , and you might be enticed to play the woods course afterwards . Both course will keep you out here for at least 3 hours total .
Cons: #1 Disc Risk/Rough - The overgrowth here is almost out of control . The wind can pick up at any time here . Since the holes are long , Your favorite driver may blow off course and become a souvenir for some lucky kid in the dead of winter . The ponds pose their own challenge . If the water is under these plants , your driver may end up a surfboard for a frog . . Disc Risk a little higher than medium .
#2 Navigation ; The map is very nicely done , but I am not positive it is accurate . Some Next Tee signs are badly needed here . The transition from 3-4 and 9-10 are both bad Putting little signs under the basket or just tape on one of the rungs would really help .
#3 The weather - If it rains , you have problems . Natural tee pads + long holes = slipping/falling while trying to crank that extra 30' out of your drive . The ball golf course supposedly abandoned this course because it held water .
#4 Amenities - If you want a big time course , you need at least a few amenities . A shelter, some benches and trash cans ( carry out what you carry in ) ,a Port O Let , and some next tee signs would be a great start .
Bugs can be bad if you have to hunt for a disc in the high grass . Spray on some Off or Deet before playing during the hot months . You won't get a second chance . The course never comes back to the lot until finishing #18 .

.
Other Thoughts: The course design is what really makes Wabash Washout . It is so close to being a top 10 course in Indiana . A few tweaks can get it there easily . Rubber , Turf or cement tees are a must .
An idea that could be shared by both courses would be to build a shelter close to the edge of the parking lot so it could be shared by players finishing either the Wabash Woods course or Wabash Washout . It could be a stopover for someone or a group transitioning from one course to the other , too .
You can park your car and play 2 full 18 hole courses here . Not many places boast this . If you only have time to play one course , play Wabash Washout . I personally had a blast playing both courses .
My Recommendation - A lot of disc risk for newbies , families , dates and 1 disc players . Locals should love this course and it's design , and the 3 tee pads can challenge a player each time he improves . Intermediates thru pros will love the variety . Each hole is unique and has its own challenge . Unless staying overnight in Lafayette , this course is going to be a long and drawn out play for the traveler . More of a leg exertion than a leg stretch . For the Course Collector , there is a 2nd course on the grounds and 4 more courses within 5 miles of here . Not a destination play , but a worthwhile stop off of I-65 . Play It !!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bring your arm.

1    7/6/2020   7/6/2020
Review By: bpbreedlove
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rolling hills make it interesting to play. Challenging holes with lots of distance for those of you that like that kinda thing.
Cons: No tee pads. Mud and broadleaf weeds instead. Made for some poor footing, which is a bummer with so much distance. OB is dense foliage. Hard to wade through for a lost disk (which happened far too often on the drive with poor pads).
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, still a fun course. Great walk through nature, mostly open, great if you’re in the area, but probably not a destination park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

2-4    7/4/2019   7/5/2019
Review By: PBizme
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee signs
Fun variety of holes. Water in play on many holes. Good use of cart paths as OB. More trees than you might expect on a ball golf course
Cons: Could use some signage to direct to the next hole in many places. Even spray paint on the cart paths could go a long way in some places
No tee pads
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if multi shot holes had some distance indicators for upshots.
Current tee signs are nice, but they could use some extra distance indicators to key features. Especially on a hole like #3 where you need to lay up short of the water and then throw over water while trying not to go OB long.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/30/2019   6/30/2019
Review By: jaredsnoble
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long holes that are not just open field bombs, but not densely wooded
- 18 new chainstars
-Good mix of forehand/backhand lines
-Usually not crowded at all
Cons: -Navigation can be a struggle the first time out, but actually flows well
-Not always mowed
-Long grass/ ponds (when not dried out) are disc eaters
Other Thoughts: Biggest issue in navigation are holes 1, 4, and 10 probably
Hole 1: Find the practice basket to the side of the building next to the parking lot and follow the path that is to the left that winds around a mound/hill
Hole 4: After playing 3 you will see a tee very close but that is 8, hole 4 requires you to keep walking south and cross the paved trails
Hole 10: Walk back to the right behind 9 to the path

Really, a little thinking goes a long ways, and if you're unsure look for mowed paths in long grass. Also the Wabash Disc Golf Club facebook group has a good map

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Converted Ball Golf Course for All Levels

1    11/25/2018   11/28/2018
Review By: Sharknado2
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Three tee lengths for all levels. The middle tees will probably be the best choice for intermediate players. The short are mainly for <250ft throwers and the long are for 400ft+.
-Awesome tee signs on the front 9.
Good variety of upshots and whole shapes. The ups are usually somewhat guarded or force you to deal with elevation.
-Lots of par 4's and two par 5's.
- Par 5 on the front 9 is my favorite whole, a classic risk reward where going for it in 2 means you have to fly the water and hyzer around trees.
-Lots of OB, hazard, water, and variety. Feels like a tournament style course.
-TONS of parking. Not a multi use course so you won't really see park goers or dog walkers.
Cons: -Lots of the baskets on the back 9 are rusty and in poor shape.
-Prepare to do a LOT of walking, some of the holes have a lot of distance in between
-Somewhat confusing layout for first time player. Definitely bring a course map.
-Very easy to lose discs in the tall rough/water/woods.
-I went on the weekend and it was fairly crowded, I got sandwiched in between two groups.
-Lots of mud and standing water
-Only some baskets are numbered, others are not. Basket #5 is mislabeled as 18.
Other Thoughts: The longest and most interesting course I've played--also the first ball golf one too. I had a blast on the front 9 and the tee signs were awesome and easy to follow. The back 9 things really started to slow down and I got lost and frustrated many times. Bring an extra pair of shoes and be prepared to do a ton of walking.

Definitely worth a visit but if it's been rainy or snowy then go to Murdock Park instead--you will have a much drier time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 On The Banks Of The Wabash

1    9/3/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: LaserGlide68
Played: 210  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 27.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot Selection: need Backhand, Forehand.

The Course has a full 18 baskets, with one Practice basket.

Three sets of Tees, allowing all skill levels to give it a go

Design take great advantage of the old ball golf course, cool hills and berms to throw over.

Beautiful setting, super peaceful and quiet.

Cons: Prone to Flooding--that's why the ball golf course was closed down and moved, plan ahead and don't play after recent rains.

Personally, these are things I see others reviewers point out, don't bother me too much:

Natural Tees.

No Tee Signs--they utilize painted rocks with the color-coordinating with Tee. Easy to see for the most part, there are small flags to help spot them with.

No benches by the Tees.

No trash cans, but as many times that I've seen overflowing cans at other Courses, pack it in, pack it out.

Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing the Washout. I feel like the Rating didn't do it justice.

The rough can be 7-8 feet tall, lining Fairways. Choose accuracy instead of a bit more distance, and you'll stand a better chance of going home with all the Discs you brought.

The former water hazards can be really muddy, even when it hasn't rained in awhile.

I don't ask for lots of amenities from a Course, my main focus is the upkeep of the grounds in general, and the quality of the play--on these two fronts, the Wabash Washout shone brightly.

Big thanks to the Parks Dept with the maintenance of the Course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

2-4    6/26/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: billtm
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a variety of lines to the basket, and the fairways are well contoured, with trees placed logically.
Cons: If you throw a disc out of bounds, there is a chance that it will be lost forever. The rough is just a ton of human-sized thistles, and the former lakebeds are disc magnets/black-holes. There are no tee signs, so you have to walk out to find the basket, and you have to guess the par if you don't have your phone with you.
Other Thoughts: I played the first ten holes with 2 of my friends before giving up. I lost my Shark on hole 3, and my friend almost lost his Leopard on hole 7. Many times we got pretty scratched up in order to retrieve our discs. There were baskets on every single hole we played though!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/30/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: AdamE
Played: 262  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 17 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Wabash Washout is an excellent example of an old ball golf course that has been converted to a disc golf course. There are a surprising amount of trees for an old ball golf course and OB in the form of cart paths and ponds (which were dry when I was here), all of which are well utilized. There are 3 sets of tees which do an excellent job catering to a wide variety of skill levels by presenting challenges appropriate to the skill level each tee is designed for. There is an excellent variety of hole lengths from 170 to 670 from the short red tees with 10 holes under 300ft, 210 to 885 from the medium blue tees with 9 holes under 300ft, and 265 to 1005 from the long gold tees with 8 holes under 400ft. There is a decent shot variety here and the mature trees give multiple lines to the basket on a few holes. There is modest amount of elevation and it is all incorporated well into the course.
Cons: The course has natural tee pads and the only tee markers are small concrete blocks flush to the ground listing the hole number and color coded for each of the 3 sets of tees. I played here in a tournament and there were temp signs out which made it very easy to locate the tees but without those it could be a challenge to find them.

The course can be tough to navigate your first time playing, be sure to have a map handy.

Some of the holes have baskets, some have tone poles. I understand they are currently in the process of getting baskets for all the holes.

It is my understanding that the course is not always well mowed. The grass was cut a day or two before I played a tournament here and judging from the clumps of dead grass I saw it was quite tall when it was mowed.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course and eagerly look foreword to playing it again. If the course is in good condition I highly recommend playing here. The course does a good job catering to all skill levels with the 3 sets of tees and will challenge everyone from rec to pro.

This course would easily get a 4 disc rating from me if the list of cons were addressed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, long holes

1    9/20/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 95  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 45.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice course to play. The fairways are wide enough that you don't need a lot of control to stay within them. There's plenty of variation to keep things interesting and challenging (but not frustrating). Although you do get traffic noise on some holes, mostly you feel like you've got the whole course to your self. This is a nice addition to the Lafayette, W Lafayette course offerings making this a great destination for a full day of folfing.
Cons: For us many of the holes were longer than we like. That's just personal preference. It often took us 3-4 throws to get to our approach shots.
Other Thoughts: Take a course map. It can be tough to find the next hole. We got lost after holes 3 and 9. We also were not always sure where we were throwing. A map would have helped.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.