Cottage Grove, MN 
Oakwood Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great experience for an out of towner

1    8/5/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: Cochese
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads and baskets in great condition.
Great variety of long, short, open, tunnel, left, right.
Easy to navigate. I was a first timer and had no issues. Took a photo of the course map sign at the started, but even without it I think I would've done ok.
The part of the course in the forest had clearly defined fairways that gave you a true line to aim for.
Cons: Some knee high grass to deal with on a few holes, but with 4 of us we never lost a disc.
If anything this course was a little on the short side.
Other Thoughts: I had a very positive experience at this course, would recommend. Living in Utah, courses like this are few and far between. I grew up right next door but never played disc golf until I moved away. Wish I had this caliber of course close to where I live now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful day for disc golf and exporing a great couse

1    5/8/2016   5/8/2016
Review By: Lostthedog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Conditions were prime. 0 wind.

This course has a good mix of technical wooded areas, and nice wide open lanes in some spots. The tee pads are concrete. Gotta love those Mach V baskets.
Challenging and beautiful course.
Cons: Trail maps were a little confusing at first. Some garbage throughout the course (pack it in pack it out, people! Or at least use the garbage cans!
Other Thoughts: This is an instant favorite of mine and can't wait to return and play many more rounds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Winter round.

2-4    11/17/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Had a great map, both onsite and online.
-Very easy to navigate even without the map. This was a very well laid out course.
-Great mix of holes. From short birdie-able ones to longer arm testing ones. Some open holes with efficient use of elevation. And my favorite, the better portion of this course was wooded and technical. Some fantastic holes here, making perfect use of the woods and hills, along with some great pin placements.
-Seemed well balanced, lefty-righty.
-Shoveled tees!! Of the 7 courses we played on this trip through MN this was one of only 2 that had tees shoveled. As someone who shovels the tees on my home course i really appreciate this! :)
Cons: Not much to put in the cons part for once. (can't complain about cold in the winter) The garbage I had read about in other reviews wasn't apparent. That might be due in part to the snow but there did seem to be to be a large number of well used garbage receptacles along the course.
Other Thoughts: This review was based on 2 quick winter rounds. The second, only because the first was so fun despite the cold and wind. The wooded parts were nicely sheltered. I could see this being a great course to learn on, or improve the technical aspect of your game. I can definitely see all levels of skill enjoying this course. I will be back. I would love to see this course in summer!
**If you are looking for a nice winter disc golf fix this course is perfect!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    7/26/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with a great mix of holes and shots. There are several holes out in the open and several that will test your accuracy and technical shots in the woods. There are a variety of lines that can be taken on the holes out in the open, but it is also important to avoid the trees in order to have a low score. Water also comes into play on holes 8 and 18, although they were quite dry this past summer from the lack of rain, but it is something to watch out for when you're playing there. I really like the layout of this course in the way that the holes at the beginning and the holes at the end of the course are in the open, while the holes in the middle (6-13) of the course lay in the woods. Every hole in the woods has quite narrow fairways to hit and requires you to have some accurate shots. There are also several pin location that are tucked back in the woods on the more open holes, like holes 5 and 14. There is also some quality elevation change, which makes the course more interesting. Considering that it is not pay to play, the tee pads, signs, and baskets are in good shape as well.
Cons: If you have not played it before, it can be slightly tough to navigate. Several holes in the woods could also use some brush cleanup and benches. Many of the lanes are very tight, which is fine, but if you miss the fairway, the rough/brush gets quite thick and difficult to deal with. Some wood chips around the baskets to knock down the dust would also be a great improvement.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is awesome and provides an excellent variety of holes and pin locations. The shots in the open really allow you to rip some shots, while the holes in the woods are much more technical. The holes in the woods are challenging, but fair and really test your accuracy, which is great. The course reminds me of a shorter version of C.P. Adams, but requires some more technical shots and more accuracy while playing in the woods. If this course was pay to play in order to improve the conditioning and maintenance of the course, I would definitely rate it a 4.0 or 4.5.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone?

1    7/24/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of woods available to disc golf. There is a baseball field by a few holes, and a pavilion at the start, but there shouldn't be much interference with the discing.
- The first and last holes of the course are in a more open area, with larger mature trees and a decent sized hillside. #1, for instance, is a decent downhill shot with trees on the right size, #3 is a big hyzer up the hill/over the trees, #4 is a very long, gently downhill bomber with a huge tree to go around, and #18 is the longest hole that finishes uphill amongst larger trees. These holes allow for a variety of lines, but it is still important to miss the big trees.
- A couple more holes play from the open area to the woods, with well protected baskets behind gaps in the treeline. #5 is a straight shot, slightly uphill, where it is important to stay in line between the basket and the teepad to get a decent putt. #14 is wide open to a RHBH hyzer, but the basket is almost blind behind a thick patch of woods/forest. Both are generous off the tee, but tricky near the pin.
- The rest of the holes are set in the woods, with ample fairways carved out of the tall trees. There are some shorter ones, like a downhill RHBH hyzer on #6 and #9, an uphill flick shot on #10, and a tricky uphill shot under or over a horizontal branch on #15. Also a few tricky medium length ones; #7 is a wooded RHFH shot that has a nasty pool of water on the right side or the fairway, and in front of the pin. #12 is a slight uphill shot through a skinny gap on top of a hump, one of the tighter holes on the course.
- Lastly, there are many holes that are much longer, with wider fairways that allow for more ambitious shots off the tee. #8 is a straight valley shot over a swamp, with trees blocking the approach to the pin, that checks in at 435'. #11 is an uphill valley shot, that hooks right and ends up a little downhill by some trees, 360' from the longs. #13 is a cool elevated shot, through a gap and straight downhill, at 390'. #16 is another elevated/slightly humped teepad that shoots downhill, with a valley sloping down on the right to watch out for.
- There are definitely hazardous spots here, to make up for some generous lines. Water is in play on #7 and #8, for sure, and it can definitely get swampy to the left of #18. Map shows another low/wet spot by #10 and #11, which I didn't notice, but it's something to look out for.
- Teepads are great, and grippy even when wet. Baskets in good shape, signs are nice but a few are missing. Map can be helpful, like after #7 and #11.
Cons: - Layout is a little odd at some parts; #18's basket can easily be mistaken for #3's basket, you have to backtrack a little to get to #8's teepad, which is in danger of stray hyzers from #7. Nothing too major.
- Terrain is pretty uniform from start to finish, there are the holes out of the woods, and the holes in the woods, which all look pretty similar. Not much of a con, but the holes can blend together a little bit.
Other Thoughts: - Well, I must say, I really liked this course. Fun factor for me was very high, especially with the wooded holes. The lines are fair, but still tough, some fun downhill shots in and out of the woods, a good mix of open and forested shots, and a variety of lines. A few places make you choose whether to lay up or go for the glory, due to hazards or landing zones on the longer holes. I would recommend this place to almost everyone, even though some spots might be too tough for beginners.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/22/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: jereomy
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy hole locations and also easy for a first timer to navigate. Has a nice mixture of short and open holes and also long wooded holes.
Cons: Fairways are almost right on top of each other beware fo flying discs. Rough paths on the sides of hills.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful variety, difficult, needs upkeep

1    9/13/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fantastic variety of shots required
-Holes vary from 160' to 550' so there is something for everyone
-Good use of the woods as about half the course winds through the woods
-Decent enough signs at each hole (except #9 was missing)
-Nice long tee off boxes that were in decent shape
-Porta potty on site (as well as a picnic area)
-Park is more or less solely for disc golf and it's big
Cons: -Litter is a big problem here, I came across broken glass on nearly every hole
-The sign was missing from hole 9
-Navigation between holes was somewhat confusing between 3 & 4, 8 & 9, and 11 & 12. At least an arrow pointing which way to go would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: I really would like to give this course an even better rating as the layout, difficulty, and variance of the holes was atypical; especially for a free course. The thing that is holding me to a 3.5 for Oakwood is that it is in need of some upkeep rather badly. There is a terrible litter problem everywhere, which is even more boggling when you consider that there are numerous garbage receptacles throughout the course. Also, the grass was very long in the open section of the course making finding a disc a challenge sometimes even if it was thrown down the middle of the hole. The holes that wind through the woods require just about every kind of shot you can throw. You must have good technical skills and be able to hit your spots or you will post awful scores on a few of the holes. It is evident that the course is well worn and older in the woods sections as there isn't all that much underbrush; but this is good as there is enough of it in the open sections to make up for it. The baskets are in need of some help sooner or later as well, the labels are worn off on some of them and some of them have rims that are a little bent up. With some TLC regarding the baskets, litter, signage, and mowing in the open areas this course would be a 4.5 in my book. If you don't care if a course is well kept when you play it and you just want a good layout with some challenge, this is a perfect course for you as I'd give it a 4.5. If you care about all the other things I mentioned, consider it a 3.5. All this said, I will come back when I'm in the mood for more of a challenge.

EDIT 11/18/12: I don't know when they were put in, but there are huge numbered signs attached to each basket now and next tee arrows as well. These two things are extremely helpful. These are a couple of big upgrades which are enough for me to up my rating to 4.0.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety!!!!

5+    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 77  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oak Grove is a great example of a city park course. It is an older course that shows some wear and tear but a fun play none the less. It has everything a good course should have and is very well balanced. The course will challenge beginners and it offers some interesting holes to more experienced players. This course winds through rolling hills and an old growth oak forest. Get ready to shape some lines and unleash some big drives.

1.Nice grippy tee pads. With some of the holes offering short pads for beginners.

2.Adequate signage with hole #, distance and shot shape.

3.Great variety in length, with holes in the upper 100's and a few over 500'

4.The elevation of the park is used to the utmost. Lots of ups and downs with some cross hill shots and baskets placed on hillsides.

5.The designers knew what they were doing here there is every kind of shot you can think of. Tightly wooded tunnel shots and wide open bombers with left and right doglegs evenly dispersed around the course.

6.This park is well kept and has garbage cans and porta potties available, as well as a few benches/tree stumps to sit on.

7.The course flows very naturally and is easy to navigate even the first time you play it. It does a big loop and 18 ends at the parking lot which is really nice.

8.The course has two very memorable holes. #8 is a long wooded shot that starts throwing over some seasonal water into a tight tree lines fairway with a well-protected pin. #16 is a long side hill anhyzer through the woods that is very challenging and fun to play.

9.Risk reward is present on many holes with water on some holes and thick woods on about half of the course. This forces you to pick a line and hit it or you will be punished.

10.The park has other activates available like basketball, baseball and some grills. This is a great place to bring the family for a full day of fun.


Cons: This course defiantly shows signs of its age. The ground is beat up and there are some issues with erosions. None of the cons make really take anything away from how it plays however, most of them are ascetic and do not take away from how the course plays.

1.There is a decent amount of vandalism in this park. There is graffiti all over the benches and signs.

2.Even though there are IMO enough garbage cans there was a lot of litter in the woods when I played. The open holes were clean and well mowed but the woods didn't seem to get the same attention.

3.The signs could be better but they do give all the information you need to play.

4.It would be nice to see some erosion protection of some kind because of all the elevation the problem is not going to get any better. Wood chips around some of the pins would go a long way to help with the ground being compacted.

5.Some of the wooded holes provide a good hide out for trouble making teens but I had no problems when I played.

6.The baskets are old but they still catch disc just fine and that is all that matters to me.

7.Other reviewers said that it can be had to find your disc's if you go in the rough. I had no problems but thought I might as well mention it.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really enjoy playing this course. I will go out of my way to play it again. The variety of this course is the best part and you will not feel like you are playing the same hole over and over again. I used every shot I know how to throw and used almost all the disc's in my bag at least once. I really like course that are able to do this. In my opinion this is one of the top 15 course's in Minnesota and a must play for anyone in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course - Underrated

1    3/21/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oakwood is a great course with a ton of variation which makes the course really exciting and challenging.
-The course utilizes the elevation that the park has with great results. The holes with elevation have great variety, from relatively short and easy downhills (#1,#9) to more difficult wooded uphills (#15-16).
- The length and difficulty of the holes has great variety. For my game, there are as many deuce holes as there are bogey holes. Unfortunately for me, I tend to trend towards the bogeys.
-The baskets are in good conditions and most holes have nice tee pads.
Cons: -Park maintenance is not very good. There is often litter throughout the course, there are only a few trash cans in the woods.
-Signage could be improved. It's pretty easy to skip holes 12 and 11 if you don't know where you're going. A few baskets are close and it would be helpful for signs.
Other Thoughts: Play this course while you can. I can't really tell what the future holds for this course. In the past 4-5 years a lot of development has been going on around the course and it seems to be ever encroaching. I don't really think the city of Cottage Grove cares much about the park as they've thinned out a lot of the trees. Hopefully, it sticks around cause this course is great.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/15/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 185  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Dual Cement Teepads
- Multiple Pin Placements
- Set in a large valley with a large mature forest surrounding a open area.
- FUN and chalenging
- Elevation change plays a large part through the entire course.
- A good mix of short and long holes.
- An easy course to follow.
- Good flight control required for good scores.
- Several opportunities from the longs to really rip one out there.
- Wind plays a huge factor
- Dangerous greens, especially in the woods, watch for roll-a-ways.
Cons: - The park could definitely use some good tee signs.
- Hole 14's basket could be raised up and repaired.
- More trash cans and benches
- The predomiant shot here is straight. You do need to keep your lines tight and hit certain gaps but the overall flight is very straight on almost every hole. Its own challenge in-itself I guess. I dont hold this against the course that much.
- Last few times I was there garbage was an issue.
Other Thoughts: I always have alot of fun playing this course. Its a challenging course although kind of one dimensional. A straight line shot dominates the woods. Only a few holes really force a different shot. The course makes up for it though with its dangerous greens. Almost every basket is on some kind of slope. In the woods roll-a-ways were a common nuisance. Because of this not only do you have to keep your disc straight but also control how it lands. So although the lines are somewhat repetitive the landings are not.
This course is best suited for INT players. REC players will enjoy the course and it will help to improve their game. INT players are going to easily handle the shorts and find their challenge on the longs. Confident putting is a big key.
ADV and Pro players will most likely rip this course up. Maybe not first time through but a couple of rounds and they might get bored easily. Although some of the holes are long they are still not difficult to get a 3 with a good approach game.
This course is definitely worth playing. Its a very quick drive from Kaposia as well. If you are going to do that then I would suggest Oakwood first. It will prep you for good scores at Kaposia.
There is alot of nearby dining and shopping. So if your with the family you can drop them off while you enjoy yourself.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.