Houston, TX 
NASA DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Meh is right

1    6/28/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 376  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 29.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has baskets
It has 2 or 3 interesting holes
Cons: no tee's
Other Thoughts: Located behind the rec center in an area accessible by the public (no pass needed, but you might be searched according to the sign at the entrance)

I had a map and figured out where to tee off for hole 1, there is actually a red cement in the ground by the parking lot, don't know if that was actually marking the tee, but I played it there anyways. From there I just teed off from the right of each basket. This made hole 2, 4, 5 and maybe 8 interesting. The rest of the holes were boring.

Apparently Houston had a lot of rain the last few days, good thing I had waterproof shoes as the course had 1 to 2 inches of water on just about every hole. I was setting my bag in the basket instead of the ground on more than one hole and kept it on my back for my upshots and putts on the others.

Would I play this course again.

no, not worth the time. In fact with so many other decent courses in the area, why bother. Go play Taylor Lake Village around the corner.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

NASA? Cool! Disc Golf? Meh.

1    12/17/2016   1/23/2017
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: For a long time, I thought this course was both private and had temporary baskets. I found that not to be true, as it is at a community center right next to NASA, but not actually on the property and has permanent brand new DisCatcher baskets.

The course is shorter in distance, but has a little bit of a technical aspect to it that can make certain holes tricky like hole 6. The course is easy to follow. There are no permanent tees, but someone at the community center must go out and paints the tee boxes and puts out the flags pretty regularly.

The course is nearby a ton of other <18 hole courses, so hitting a bunch of courses in one day is easily doable.
Cons: There is not too much to this course. It does not offer a whole lot other than a quick round. One or two discs is really all that you need.

I may have gotten lucky with the tees being painted, as they might not be there all the time. It would be nice for someone to install something as easy as 4x4s for tee posts. Someone spent a lot of money on the baskets, so putting up a little bit more for tee signs should not be that difficult.
Other Thoughts: Like I mentioned, the southeast area of Houston is full of <18 hole courses. Taylor Lake Village and Miramar Park are both real neaby. Burke Crenshaw and 1776 Park are both more than 9 holes, and a little bit further out and Centennial Park and Bayou Bend Park are both in the general area.

I think it is kind of neat that there is such a high concentration of courses in this area, and it would be very easy to hit them all. NASA is not a great course by any means, but a fun, quick play next to a pretty infamous location.


2-4    7/18/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: johnselby
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice short 9-hole course, right by NASA. Good for short-shot people (like me), and beginners. Well maintained grounds.
Cons: No course map, no tee markers or signs of any kind (yet?) There is a walking track right through the middle of the course, so if there are any walkers, you have to wait on them.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for practiccing

5+    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: mirkky
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of hole types both in some trees and open field shots.
Decent baskets for a temporary course.
Cons: Baskets too close to tee box.
Hard to find first tee.
Hard to play if lots of people are running on the jogging path next to many of thee holes.
Other Thoughts: It is fun to play if you are at JSC, but otherwise it will be better once the permanent course is built.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center