Houston, TX 
NASA DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Basket practice only

1    4/19/2019   4/19/2019
Review By: duglius
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A couple baskets have trees to navigate.
Tame deer to observe.
Cons: Completely uninteresting, mostly just straight, wide open.
Risk of hitting people on playground equipment or jogging/walking trails, on probably 7/9 holes.
Tees not marked at all
Course not marked at all.
Other Thoughts: I'd only use it if you happen to work at (or near) JSC and want a place to practice throwing.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 NASA is great at a lot of other things

1    8/31/2018   9/1/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 142  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 11 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a space nerd. And if you're a space nerd, the biggest pro here is being so close to freakin NASA. The Johnson Space Center. Mission Control. You can see rockets when you drive by. But the actual course is in a community center just off the main property, so it is open and freely accessible to the public.

If you're not a space nerd and you're just there for the disc golf, you'll love the great DisCatcher baskets. You may love some other things about this course, but they will all be of your own making.
Cons: There's no tee pads. You can follow the map, you can go from basket to basket, and that does make some interesting holes. The baskets are spread out far enough and interestingly enough to lend itself to some quality safari golf though, and sometimes it's nice to be in control of your own destiny.

The course is small and short though, and plays very near some other park amenities, like a soccer field and a playground (which is, of course, space themed).
Other Thoughts: The grass seems well mowed, and the park is nice. I don't get the impression it's ever going to be busy unless there's a community event going on.

One highlight from my round was a herd of deer near baskets 2-5. All with a few antlers, in the woods and hanging out outside the fence. One of the locals I met on another course said they're out there all the time (his wife works at NASA and he comes up there for lunch or to drop her off pretty often). Deer are one of my favorite critters to see on the course, and I like the idea of having some regular visitors.

I would definitely play this course again, but i would really be more interested in the Johnson Space Center. Maybe a morning round or two while it's cool, then the rest of the day looking at cool space stuff!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Meh is right

1    6/28/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has baskets
It has 2 or 3 interesting holes
Cons: no tee's
Other Thoughts: Located behind the rec center in an area accessible by the public (no pass needed, but you might be searched according to the sign at the entrance)

I had a map and figured out where to tee off for hole 1, there is actually a red cement in the ground by the parking lot, don't know if that was actually marking the tee, but I played it there anyways. From there I just teed off from the right of each basket. This made hole 2, 4, 5 and maybe 8 interesting. The rest of the holes were boring.

Apparently Houston had a lot of rain the last few days, good thing I had waterproof shoes as the course had 1 to 2 inches of water on just about every hole. I was setting my bag in the basket instead of the ground on more than one hole and kept it on my back for my upshots and putts on the others.

Would I play this course again.

no, not worth the time. In fact with so many other decent courses in the area, why bother. Go play Taylor Lake Village around the corner.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 NASA? Cool! Disc Golf? Meh.

1    12/17/2016   1/23/2017
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a long time, I thought this course was both private and had temporary baskets. I found that not to be true, as it is at a community center right next to NASA, but not actually on the property and has permanent brand new DisCatcher baskets.

The course is shorter in distance, but has a little bit of a technical aspect to it that can make certain holes tricky like hole 6. The course is easy to follow. There are no permanent tees, but someone at the community center must go out and paints the tee boxes and puts out the flags pretty regularly.

The course is nearby a ton of other <18 hole courses, so hitting a bunch of courses in one day is easily doable.
Cons: There is not too much to this course. It does not offer a whole lot other than a quick round. One or two discs is really all that you need.

I may have gotten lucky with the tees being painted, as they might not be there all the time. It would be nice for someone to install something as easy as 4x4s for tee posts. Someone spent a lot of money on the baskets, so putting up a little bit more for tee signs should not be that difficult.
Other Thoughts: Like I mentioned, the southeast area of Houston is full of <18 hole courses. Taylor Lake Village and Miramar Park are both real neaby. Burke Crenshaw and 1776 Park are both more than 9 holes, and a little bit further out and Centennial Park and Bayou Bend Park are both in the general area.

I think it is kind of neat that there is such a high concentration of courses in this area, and it would be very easy to hit them all. NASA is not a great course by any means, but a fun, quick play next to a pretty infamous location.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/18/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: johnselby
Played: 118  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice short 9-hole course, right by NASA. Good for short-shot people (like me), and beginners. Well maintained grounds.
Cons: No course map, no tee markers or signs of any kind (yet?) There is a walking track right through the middle of the course, so if there are any walkers, you have to wait on them.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for practiccing

5+    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: mirkky
Played: 104  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of hole types both in some trees and open field shots.
Decent baskets for a temporary course.
Cons: Baskets too close to tee box.
Hard to find first tee.
Hard to play if lots of people are running on the jogging path next to many of thee holes.
Other Thoughts: It is fun to play if you are at JSC, but otherwise it will be better once the permanent course is built.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.