Manahawkin, NJ 
Doc Cramer DGC Share
Uploaded By: oceancountydg Hole #6
3 / 322ft.   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Disc Golf in the Jersey Pine Barrens

2-4    10/20/2018   11/8/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Mostly wooded layout with lots of challenging shots
- A few more open holes interspersed, makes for a good variety (and a small sense of relief during the round!)
- Designers used the little bit of available elevation really well (examples: the pin placements on #2 and #11; the layout of #3)
- The course "paces" really well: it starts out with a nice run of holes that reward careful shots, and it ends with a run of brutal holes that challenge you to finish with a good score.
- For extra challenge, play #18 to the island basket in the parking lot as a Par 4. That makes for a really satisfyingly tough finishing hole.
Cons:
- Nothing significant. Others have noted a lot of trash around the course, but I didn't see much at all. I think the course volunteers have done a great job. And yeah, navigation to a few of the next tees is a little tricky the first time - but not enough that it hurts the overall experience.
Other Thoughts:
- This is a really good course. Looking back, I realize that one of the best things Doc Cramer has to offer is a "sense of place" - you really are playing disc golf in an environment that's particular to this part of New Jersey: sandy soil, low scrubby pines, some wind, trails through the woods. It's a different experience than other wooded courses in NJ, and it's well worth playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anchors Aweigh For Doc Cramer

2-4    6/10/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 29  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Almost all of the tee pads are made of solid stone tiles. They are flat, long & wide enough for a wind-up and provide good traction for the player.
+ The fairways are cleanly maintained and easy to tell apart from the rough. I never felt as though I was throwing in the wrong direction.
+ Each tee pad, whether long or short, has its own updated sign for distance, par, and a diagram of what's ahead.
+ Trash cans and benches are regularly found all over the course. I saw no litter anywhere within the playing environment.
+ Some bumps and grooves every now and then make for modest elevation challenges, which are welcomed changes from this mostly flat course.
+ Most of the course plays within dense clusters of trees. This forces the player to focus with their throws.
+ About equal presence of pins to the left, right, and center.
Cons: - The huge welcome map right next to hole one shows Doc Cramer as a 9-hole course. While it doesn't hurt the disc golf experience at all, I feel as though this should be updated so people have a better idea of the course layout.
- There are no huge sprawling open holes to allow the player to let loose at full power.
- The venue isn't too spectacular. As this is southern New Jersey close to the shore, all anybody can really expect as far as scenery goes is pine trees on mostly flat ground. As a result, almost none of the holes really stood out for me.
- The 'next tee' signs should be upgraded to something stronger than laminated card stock tacked to a tree.
- Between holes 5 and 9, I saw bees the size of my thumb!
Other Thoughts: Doc Cramer is not the toughest course to play. Nor is it the prettiest to experience. And navigating it might be a hassle for a first-time player. Having said that, I would definitely play here more often if I lived closer because of what it does right.

This course has an assortment of short, medium, and long distance holes. Most are shorter than 350 feet. Among them are very many tunnel shots, to be certain. Most of the course surrounds you with trees, so I would definitely say that this course emphasizes deliberate placement instead of power. That is made a little bit easier by the course being mostly flat. Still, there are a few holes that open up and let you find your own path.
The example that sticks out in my mind is my personal favorite of the course-- hole 11. From the tee pad, the player throws out of the woods. The ground drops off into a wide open sandy valley for +/- 100 feet before rising back up again to a death pin position surrounded by trees.
The course designers seemed to understand that the landscape did not have much to offer as far as elevation was concerned, so they worked with what they had and ended up having a course that tests the player without being overly frustrating or boring.

When it comes to ease of use, Doc Cramer doubles back on itself once or twice. Thankfully, there are brightly colored 'next tee' signs in plainly visible spots. However, when there is a dirt trail intersection, there are no clues as to which way leads to where. This course could really benefit from having numbered 'next tee' signs where they would be useful. Holes 6, 10, 12, and 18 come to mind as I say this.

All in all, I am pleased with Doc Cramer DGC. It fills its footprint nicely. I look forward to playing again, even if the next time is a few months away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 played once might return

1    8/7/2016   3/7/2018
Review By: Jeffmertz10
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some nice tee pads made of brick
Interesting scenery of the pine barrens. I had never played in an environment like this so it was a cool experience.
Cons: Very dirty, trash everywhere. I question if it has ever been cleaned up.
Very wooded (could be a pro for some). I found it to be overly wooded I'm no stranger to difficulty wooded courses but there were way to many tree in the fair way of quite a few holes. I didn't feel like much of a fairway
Navigation was difficult. Me and my brother eventually found our way around but had to invent our own tee pad for the 18th hole after searching for 15 minutes.
signs at the tee pad were a little misleading.
Other Thoughts: I would go back if they made some improvements to the fairways. I had fun although I played one of my worst games. The course is very challenging and certainly not for beginners. I really liked the lay out of the first hole!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well layed out, pretty challenging

5+    10/13/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: healsr4f
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2017
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging 18 basket course in the woods with sometimes fairly narrow fairways. All tees are now brick pavers and are currently marked with helpful signage. Most holes are par 3 with a few par 4 and one par 5. Baskets are visible from the tee on about half the course, the rest are dog legs. Great course for all players to learn but still a challenge for seasoned guys. There were some trees left in the fairways and the surrounding areas are densely wooded. I'm hooked.

Close parking
Well marked
Challenging
Cons: Mostly tight holes with lots of trees, even on the few open holes
Denting a lot of discs on the trees
Some short tees dont appeared built or finished, making for minor confusion on a couple holes
Other Thoughts: Had a good time jogging through this course in about an hour.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rewardingly DiffIcult

5+    8/16/2017   8/16/2017
Review By: illogical
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -New paver tees on every hole
-Moderate to DiffIcult design
-Rewarding, yet fair par structure
-Very well laid out, has potential to become one of the best in the state.
-Short tees on longer holes for the daunting lines
-People; I can't stress enough how great the community is down there. Very welcoming to new comers and visitors alike.
Cons: -Cleanup needs attention. Course is in an area of the pines previously used by atv traffic and the land was not well maintained by previous users. Debris is probably the only downfall of this course.. For now.
-Parking is ample, but in school football/lacrosse season there are times of congestion. Rarely an issue, but good to note.
-Bring bug spray in the summer. It's not the worst I've seen, but better safe than sorry!
Other Thoughts: Amazing course with every line you can think of between the 18 tees. It can test your ability on one hole, yet peppers in the "get em" 2s that make the hard ones even more worth it.

New tee signs are on the way right now and an updated course map is coming in the near future for the kiosk.

The local team is putting countless hours into getting this course in top shape and it shows. If recommend this course to anyone who likes the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

solid course by the sea

1    8/7/2017   8/7/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - interesting terrain
- multiple par 4 and par 5 holes
- solid finishing hole
- near the ocean
Cons: - relies a little too much on tight lines and tunnel shots
- traffic on the way there
- navigation between holes was tricky in a couple spots
Other Thoughts: Doc Kramer is a mostly wooded course with a couple of open holes. I really enjoyed playing the course. I like the terrain, which consists of sandy soil and a lot of pine trees, with some of the baskets located up in little ridges. I especially liked the more open holes, some of which played into, out of, and across a sandy clearing back in the woods. The wooded holes were fair but repetitive at times, and I feel that in general the course is weighted a bit too heavily towards tight lines and tunnel shots.

It was a fun course to play. I would have definitely played a second round if we had enough daylight (instead we made the ~15 minute drive to the beach and got in a little swimming before sunset), I hope to play the course again the next time I am in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shots by the Shore

5+    7/27/2017   7/31/2017
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 50  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fair lines with many options to pin on most holes.
Two pads on longer holes for different skill levels.
Nice mix of short and long layouts.
Good variety of shots needs to navigate course.
Baskets in great condition.
Most pads are brick (really nice work), and the remaining carpet pads had materials lined up already to install the brick boxes.
Good signage indicating next hole. Navigation was pretty easy.
Plenty of trash bins on the course (almost every hole).
Super nice benches on many holes with good seating on the rest.
Plenty of parking
Lots of room to warm up.
Cool practice basket on an island green
Cons: Lots of trash and glass embedded in the dirt and sand around the first few holes.
Course needs a bit of a "face-lift", just some good clean up would really improve the look and feel of this one.
Tee signs could be replaced/updated to reflect new course layout.
Next tee signs could be updated/improved (though they still do a good job of indicating next hole, just kinda small and in need of repair)
Other facility areas can cause omission of a few holes if being used.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing this course all week during my stay on LBI. This course seems like a bunch of easy short shots, however if your placement is off, your looks at the pin will be compromised (sneaky technical !). Love hole 11, a cool elevation shot to an elevated green...at sea level! The long par 5 (16) is tricky. Couldn't figure it out...maybe next year. This is a solid 3 star course that with a few improvements easily makes a 3.5 or 4 star level. Looking forward to playing Doc again next July and many years to come.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    7/11/2017   7/22/2017
Review By: COONDOG
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a very demanding course and is very well balanced for shot shaping. You will get a chance to throw every type of shot here if you have it. New paver tee pads are 2/3 finished as of now.
Cons: Course is still young still needs some trees removed along with stumps. People used to dump garbage throughout the course and it tends to resurface when it rains (glass,vinyl, etc.) Signage is poor but is in the process of getting done. Not much room to air any shots out here except 18 and the rough can be punishing at times if you don't keep it on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I volunteer here as well I would highly recommend playing here if you enjoy woods golf.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    4/23/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: Frankp2491
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a ton of fun, I have just started playing this the last month so my review is from someone new.I think this course is amazing the guys were out redoing the tee boxes with paver stones. Everything looks amazing and the course is challenging. I see a lot of people complaining about the trees, but we are playing in the woods, after all there is a mixture of open holes and tight holes. I have managed to shoot an average score of 70-73. Which I know is not killing it but it is enough to keep me going 2-3 times a week.
Cons: Just use bug spray, I have only gotten 1 tic so far but I have used bug spray ever since and haven't gotten one.
Other Thoughts: I hope to keep playing this course as it is busy now that the weather is getting nicer. Also parking lot gets crowded when there are weekend sporting events.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Part of Jersey Shore DG Scene

2-4    4/10/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 79  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2017
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole challenging wooded course in a clean township park a short distance from Long Beach Island. A welcome board greets you at hole 1. There are good amenities- plenty of parking, a snack/pavilion/bathrooms (though not always open) and the course is 2 minutes from numerous restaurants. Doc Cramer is very balanced, featuring a comparable amount of short, intermediate and long holes which are fair to both righties and lefties. New Chainstar baskets exist at each hole along with a tee pad and signs. Navigation is easy, with well-worn pathways and small arrows strategically placed throughout the course. Some holes have an alternate tee and benches. Course is pretty secluded, minimizing interference from other park patrons. Hole 18 features an island basket set on a median at the end of the parking lot. A dedicated group of people continue to work on and develop the course.
Cons: The course is currently undergoing layout changes and is in a state of flux, thus signage needs to be updated. Tee pads are a mix of rubber and carpet and could be upgraded. Several of the newer holes have stumps and other growth on and off the fairways which must be removed. There's a minor flow issue in having to cross in back of tee 6 to get to the back nine. A tree or two should be removed from a couple holes to eliminate pinball disc golf. Getting slammed by a par 5 and two par 4's (including an OB) after a balanced and relatively moderate first 15 can leave you discouraged at the end of your round. Some soggy areas after rain and ticks a factor in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Doc Cramer is one of three Ocean/Monmouth County disc golf courses about 15-20 minutes away from local beaches, making it a nice diversion for shore travelers. It has undergone quite a transformation since its beginning days as a 9-holer. There is now significant challenge here as some of the newer, wooded holes figure to be quite good when broken in. Kudos to the many people who have put in much work in making Doc a legitimate 18 hole venue. It will only get better. It compliments the more polished and forgiving course at Ocean County Park 30 minutes up the Parkway.

Truthfully, Doc Cramer will never be a personal favorite of mine because of its topography. Sand, pine trees and ground scrub are in abundance here and don't present the natural beauty found at many venues. Personal preference aside, Doc is a worthwhile play and a good, challenging addition to NJ Disc Golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.