Ravenna, OH 
West Branch SP - The Grassman Share
Uploaded By: DiscinOhio Hole #10 (Taken 9/2017)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Great course

1    7/4/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 58  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course was really nice and clean but it was July 4th when I played, just all around good course. I think they did a good job with what open areas they had to make some nice holes out of them.
Cons: A lot of holes were really tight and fairways were almost nonexistent due to how many trees there were on the course. Tee signs left a little to be desired

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Memorable!

1    9/15/2017   9/15/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 129  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Grassman is one of the tougher courses in the area. It plays mostly in the dense woods of West Branch State Park, with the exception of a couple holes that open up. West Branch Reservoir (Over 2,000 acres) comes into play on several holes.

First, hats off to designer Scott Campbell for this place. Lots of memorable holes that use the hilly terrain, with water coming into play on some holes.

Two sets of tees that play very differently on some holes. The long tees are concrete.

Good variety in distance. Holes range from 231 to 600+ feet. Really makes you use every shot in your arsenal.

Doesn't get repetitive at all. Seems like the open holes were placed in the perfect spots to blend well with the densely wooded holes.

Really fun pin placements, especially on the back 9. Baskets are near water, slopes, drop offs, and more. Adds to the difficulty.

Baskets are pretty new and catch well.

Navigation is pretty easy to follow. Tape on the bottom of baskets, plus the occasional next tee sign.

Beautiful state park, with plenty of amenities. Great views of the reservoir, and hilly woodlands. Lots of wildlife (watch out for snakes).

Very difficult, but not unrealistic. Enjoy a good challenge that isn't too over the top.

There are nice natural benches on several holes, most are made from logs.

There is a beginner course about a mile away, still within the park.

#11 is just a great hole. Long throw over the water onto a heavily wooded peninsula. About 400 feet. The water is shallow and clear so as long as you don't miss the landing zone too badly, it should be an easy retrieve.
Cons: There's a few long walks in between holes, with some backtracking.

Looks like #18 had the basket stolen, I'm assuming recently. Unfortunate that there was no basket to finish off the round.

Got cut up pretty bad by thorns. The rough is REALLY rough in some spots, so it might be wise to wear long pants if you end up off of the fairway.

Not a big deal for me, but #9 doesn't end remotely close to the parking lot.

Bring the bug spray!!


Other Thoughts: I thought The Grassman was really well designed, and is definitely a fun challenge. Lots of great Risk/Reward situations along the way. Wish it was closer to where I live!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grassman

5+    4/24/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: TheJet4
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete long tees (apparently shorts will be coming soon)
-Fair pars
- Easy to navigate
-Start and Finish are pretty close together
-Rarely busy
-Nearby 9 hole course
-A few open holes for long drives, but mostly a technical wooded course
-Tee signs are accurate

Cons: -Bushes to the sides of fairways can get thick
-Some random trees can be frustrating (hole 9 comes to mind)
-Lots of thorn bushes off the fairways
-Hole 6 has a branch that hangs over the water, blocks discs straight in
-A few blind shots toward water (11 and sometimes 14 after rain)


Other Thoughts: It's a fun course that is worth playing multiple times. One of the few courses that I actually feel like I may get any lost discs back. Friendly owner/designer and it should be even better once it has had time to "break in".
***I have read that people may have seen copperhead snakes (which I believe are venomous) around the course. I have not seen them myself, but be careful.***

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The grassman is a beast of a course

5+    10/13/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: VDragich44
Played: 66  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees for the longs
Very technical but has distance too
Two very fun over water holes
Lots of elevation changes
Unique landscape
Course is never really packed
Bathrooms available by hole 1, 4,6, 7/8
Drinks and food available during summer
Nice baskets
Nearby 9 holer just 15 minutes across the lake
Cons: So many trees, like on hole 17 short I don't even know how to get a shot.
A lot of holes need some more trees removed. (9,17,18)
Thorns by basket! (17)
Shorts don't have concrete tees yet, but they are coming
Other Thoughts: This is a really awesome course to play, there aren't any wooded courses like it in portage or trumbull county. If your within 45 minutes, come give it a try.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.