Lenexa, KS 
Lenexa DGC Share
Uploaded By: phantom51 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 171ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Bring The Beginners Here. They’ll Love It!

1    10/6/2018   10/11/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lenexa Disc Golf Course sits inside a park called Sar-Ko-Par Trails Park. The course starts at the front of the park right by the basketball court. There is a nice sign complete with a course map. You probably won't need the map. The concrete tee pads are small but perfectly functional here. The tee signs are solidly built and give you the information you need. The baskets are Discatchers with a number on each one. You probably don't need this number either. Each hole has both an A and B position. Each hole is a potential Ace waiting to happen.

# 1 is a 138' straight shot.
# 2 is a neat little 123' downhill toss.
# 3 is interesting as you need to throw a hyser around the tennis courts.

Cross the bridge to get to 4-6.

# 4 is 144' to a basket with four trees around it.
# 5 is 138' needing a minimal hyser.
# 6 is a straight 135'. Miss one tree here.

Cross the bridge again.

# 7 is straight and 198'.
# 8 plays either 189' or 207' or 177' and all you need is a simple hyser.
# 9 is either 141' or 219' up a small hill from a tee pad stuck off in the bushes.
Cons: What's wrong with this course is........nothing! For it's target audience it's about perfect. For those of you who want to compete, throw big air and play big boy courses, then this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This is just a very comfortable and fun course for the beginner crowd. There aren't many courses around that really cater to the really casual player, the ones who come out with one disc or the family with two kids. I like the fact that it incorporates so many elements of a so called regular course. It has a fun downhill, hyser throws, anhyser throws and nine Ace runs. Come and chase Aces but don't show up and then complain that it's too short and easy. Lenexa Disc Golf Course wasn't designed for you, Dude.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lenexa Miniature Disc Golf

5+    4/9/2018   4/9/2018
Review By: Mr. Pole Jangles
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely quick course to play if you are in a hurry or if you just want to get a warm-up before heading to another course. It has concrete t-pads but they are not really necessary. If you are desperate to get your first Ace, there is a good chance of it here. It is a great beginner course, so it might be good if you take a friend just getting into the game. It is good to work on your short game and putts. It is rarely crowded
Cons: It is only 9 holes. There are often walkers and joggers on the course. Hole 8 throws over part of hole 7. It feels like you are playing the equivalent of miniature golf sometimes. Calling the holes par 3's might be a bit of a stretch.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a fair amount because I can get to it so easily while my kids are busy with gymnastics or dance. I can pretty much play the whole course in about 20 minutes. Even if the holes are short it can be a good ego boost after playing some of the longer courses around town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice short course

1    8/17/2017   8/19/2017
Review By: kcufo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: in a very nicely maintained park
easy to navigate
nice tee pads
great baskets
very good use of available space
park is clean and litter free
parking shouldn't be an issue
easy to find
Cons: walking trails near almost every hole so be careful with your throws
water leaking from pool area had basket area at #8 fairly muddy
basket placement for hole #3 ( I think ), was near a hillside next to the tennis courts. we had a bit of a wait while people were getting ready to play tennis but it is a multi use park.....
Other Thoughts: as a beginning player I really liked this course. it was easy to birdie or par each hole, even got close enough to hitting a couple aces that I scared myself. no need for a driver. threw a mid off the tee and then it was putting time. the likelihood of losing a disc was pretty small. some holes are tucked pretty close to one another so some common sense and courtesy goes a long way. Would definitely recommend this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite courses

5+    11/25/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: n.maglio
Played: 33  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, nice baskets. Very short and technical. Is fun for all even the most experienced because it is an ace race type of course. You could get away with playing with only one or two discs.
Cons: Some hole overlap. Baskets don't change location often but seems that anybody could move them they are just bolted in but not locked.
Other Thoughts: Great course to practice your putt and approach game. Also perfect for introducing players to the game. It is a quick course you can play 9 in 30ish minutes or play it a couple times or more to get in a full 18.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

1    10/10/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: DiscChaserDoug
Played: 162  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They did a good job with sch a small area including trees and elevation. Pins are tucked to eliminate the short, wide open look a lot of little parks have. The baskets are nice and the tee pads are adequate for the distances on this course. I really like holes 4 and 8. There are two basket locations for each hole. It is a fun beginner's course.
Cons: You have to walk back from basket 7 to tee 8 in part of 7 fairway. It's pretty short.
Other Thoughts: If you add the walking paths/parking lots as OB, it makes things a bit tougher. I played it twice: once with a full bag and once with a mid and putter which is what I should have done the first time. Bigger, younger arms could get by with a putter. My son-in-law was with me and he thought the card game, Ript Revenge, would be a good option for more experienced players on this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A surprising little course

1    10/3/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Good signage
- Quality baskets for such a little course
- Ability to lose a disc is minimal
Cons: - Can get overcrowded quick
- Play is through/along walking trails
Other Thoughts: I would not of thought they would have tucked a little course in the park. No holes over 200' and if there are they are barely. A great intro to disc golf course or working on putter/approach.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course to "cut your teeth" on

2-4    11/7/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 480  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The grounds were well manicured.
Excellent tee pads that provide for a nice run up.
Good signage.
Good use of the elevation that is present, both uphill and downhill.
There are 2 pin placements per hole and #8 had 3 placements. Disc loss should be nil. This course uses the trees that are present to make some nice lines.
The flow is logical and there are other amenities here like a basketball court, tennis court, aquatic center, etc.
Good beginners course or a place to improve your midrange game.
Rounds will play quickly here.
Many holes will have you running the chains trying for the ACE.
has a nice bridge to get to #4 and #7.
Cons: The walk between a couple of baskets and a the next tees were a tad too long.
There is a possibility to put a disc in the tennis courts on #3 and in the aquatic center on #9. You would have to shank one pretty good to do so, so please pay attention before you throw.
The walking trails on #5,#8 & #9 come into play so again check before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great beginners course. This would be a good place to introduce the game to a new player and at the same time you could be working on your short game. The holes don't have a whole lot of length so if you are looking for a grip and rip course then you will have to move along. This would be a good place to warm up before you went to Prairie Center or another area course. I feel that they were aiming for the beginning disc golfer and I feel that they hit their target with this course. This is a course that when I first got into the game I would have been super excited to play multiple times because I would be able to reach the holes easily and my scores would've been close to par. With a few more rounds under my belt I still enjoyed my round here and found something to keep me interested.
If you are in the area and have your family with you spend some time here and enjoy some disc golf with them and then enjoy the other amenities that the park has to offer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Short Course

2-4    7/20/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 233  Reviewed: 174  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When it comes to course that the hole average is less than 200 feet, this may be one of the better ones that I have played. The amenities at this course are something you would see at a big 18 hole course; it has a big map at the beginning of the course, substantial concrete tees, and brand new Discatcher baskets.

The course has a fair amount of elevation, and it has a surprising number of obstacles for such a short course. Pretty much every hole is an ace run and shooting four to five under is not out of the question, which is fun in my opinion.

The course is actually used. From my experience, most nine hole courses are used ever, but it was a pleasant surprise to see that this course was used by all ages and all skill levels.
Cons: There is a little bit of backtracking and confusion with the course. You have to walk over the bridge for holes 4-6 and then back over to get to hole 7. It also could be dangerous since you have to walk in front of hole 3 basket to get to tee 7; just be careful and aware of other disc throwers in the park.

I was not a huge fan of hole 9. For one thing, it is a hard tee to find and it is on a slope that makes it very hard to get to the basket in one shot. There is also mud that seems to be permanently running down that hill that can make you slip if you are not careful.
Other Thoughts: Maybe it was just the vibe I got from Kansas City disc golf scene, but the atmosphere at this course was great. It is a very easy course, but has some challenge that would make a perfect -9 round very hard. This would be a great place to introduce new players, and a great place to play a few quick rounds.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for putting practice

2-4    7/12/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: tfrank
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Clean
New Baskets
New concrete pads
Good use of small area
Cons: Very short
9 holes
Last hole is boggy (I think the pool has a leak)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for working on your upshots and putting. Most holes are in the 120-180 range. There is good use of elevation and trees. It is kind of like playing waterworks after your drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Accomplishes its Purposes

5+    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to take beginners, your kids, or your lady friends. They will enjoy the shortness of the course, while still being impressed with how fun playing disc golf is.

For those of us with a little bit of experience, this is a great course to work on your up-shot game. I wouldn't call this a mid-range game course, with the exception of 2 holes. This is a great place to bring your up-shot putter and try to park each hole.

Very scenic park with rolling hills and trees. This is a type of park I would want my kids to grow up by.

Just a fun course to play, even with 5 years of experience.
Cons: If you are looking for a place to throw shots over 200 feet, this isn't for you. You need to know what you are getting into.

There are several times where you must throw over a walking path, so make sure to look for walkers before you throw.

Navigation is okay, but you need to know that you must cross over the bridge to get from hole 3 to hole 4 and from hole 6 to hole 7. When going from 8 to 9, you must walk up the hill and turn left.

Hole 9 is on the slope where a ton of pool water runs off, so the slope is constantly soaked and kind of smells.
Other Thoughts: I go out of my way to play this course in order to work on up-shots. Its also fun to play and try to shoot a -9 or get an ace.

If you know what you are getting into, you'll have a great time at this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.