Morris Plains, NJ 
Greystone Woods Share
Uploaded By: jbyrd Hole #5 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Course! Horrible Crew!

5+    9/17/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: Davus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Variety of holes
- Not bad signage
- Lots of elevation changes
- Deep woods (might not be a pro to some)
Cons: - they will NOT CALL YOU if your disc is found and put in the disc return box - i've seen many of mine and my friends discs in the box and we have neither gotten a call or text, even after messaging them on facebook. If you lose your disc you better hope someone just finds it and calls you and doesn't put it in the box.

Other Thoughts: Great course, pretty shitty guys who run it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome natural setting

1    10/3/2016   1/10/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greystone Woods is located in a very picturesque forest just outside of the noise of Northern NJ. This is one of the most beautiful pieces of land that I've played on, which is especially nice given its close proximity to NYC. As soon as you trek into the woods, the peaceful, natural setting greets you and you can really escape from everything else. This is a prime example of a course where the hike itself is almost as enjoyable as playing the layout.

The designers did a great job using the natural features of the park to create many fun, unique holes. There is a fantastic incorporation of streams, ponds, and mature trees. Elevation, while never too drastic, is used well and is seen on most of the holes in some way. One of the aspects of the course that I enjoyed the most was while it is mostly played in the dense woods, it doesn't feel repetitive. There are many shots that play from the open into the woods, while other holes play completely through the woods through varying degrees of thickness. The different uses of water add to the variety as well. Streams run through fairways and near baskets, and you get a big pond shot as well on hole 9.

One reason that I would love to play here often is that there are many lines offered on pretty much every hole. This allows the player to be creative. Even while most of the course plays through thick woods, you don't feel constrained to only playing certain lines; you still have plenty of chances to open up. Being able to do this consistently in the woods is a great quality.

Another one of the best parts of the design is the thoughtful pin placement. Baskets are often placed on slopes, near water and drop-offs, or are well-protected by trees. Also, there is a great variety of pars and hole lengths.

The three different tee positions do a great job of accommodating varying skill levels. Hole 9, for example, is a long pond shot from the blue tee, while the red tee doesn't go near the water. While this is a challenging, diverse course, new players also get to experience the unique setting that is offered while playing a simpler layout.
Cons: Navigation isn't a huge issue given that there are so many arrows that point you in the right direction, but there are still a few parts that aren't perfectly clear since there are so many different paths that you can take. There are times where multiple baskets are in view as well.

Tees are mixed, with most of them being natural. I can see them getting muddy and torn up over time. On that note, this is a rugged course with many paths consisting of mud and roots. Definitely not a simple walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing in this type of setting, especially given its proximity to the city. With this being a newer course, I can only see it getting better over time. With a little more work and traffic, this course will continue to settle into a more defined form that the best courses have. I haven't played many courses in New Jersey, but this is my favorite in the state and I'd imagine that many others feel the same way.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Grey Stones and Woods!

1    9/28/2016   11/5/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 410  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 21.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

Greystone Woods is an 18 hole disc golf course located in a community park. As the name suggests, there are a lot of Grey Stones everywhere and a lot of trees. This course plays through the woods, up and down hills and around some ponds. There are also a couple of wide open holes. I played this course as part of a road trip playing 12 states in 12 days. This was the only disc golf course I played in New Jersey. I chose this course as DGCR listed this a the top course in New Jersey.

I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Multiple tees
Every hole had a blue and white tee. These tees are made of packed gravel. While most of the tees were very rutted and not very level, they were still playable. I see other reviews saying there are three tees per hole. If so, the third set of tees are not shown on the tee signs and they are not very well marked.

Signs
There were signs on all the long blue tees. Sign graphics were up to date and showed the direction of the next tee. The tee signs only showed the blue and white tees, not the red tees. There were also stakes in the ground to help with the walks between holes.


Variety
This course does have an excellent variety. Some holes are short and wooded, others are open. There is quite of bit of elevation in play on most of the holes. There are some shorter birdie holes and others are Par 4 even from the shorter White tees.

Compact Design
Except for the walk to get to hole 1, this is a pretty compact layout without a lot of extra walking. It is possible to get back to the parking lot at Hole 9. Once you tee off over the water on 9, you can walk over to the parking lot on your way to the pin. I always appreciate the chance to go back to my car and pick up supplies or drop off my coat or unload trash. It would be easy enough to start play on Hole 9 and play the "back ten" first.

Navigation
Even though there are excellent tee signs that show the way to the next tee, it does get confusing in a few places. Just keep your eyes open for the stakes leading the way. Again, there can still be confusion as there are stakes for other tees right where you would expect to see a stake for your next tee.

Restrooms
There were no restrooms or portable restrooms on the course or in the parking area. As some holes are in the woods, there are opportunities for privacy during the round.

Kids, Carts and strollers
I would not recommend kids in strollers as the terrain is just a bit too rough. A disc golf cart might do OK, but again, there is some rough terrain and steep areas that would just be tough for a cart to navigate. Older kids should be able to walk along. Not really a great course for kids to play as it is rugged and long. If the kids get cranky or tired, play 8 holes and return to the car. There are no restrooms and no running water on the course so be prepared.

Playing Alone
This is a tough course to play this one alone as there are blind holes, water hazards and some rough areas. Bring a friend or be prepared to do some searching for "lost" discs.

Beginners
Even though there are two sets of tees, I think this course might be a bit much for newer players. Less skilled players should probably play a different course where there is less risk of losing your plastic.
Cons:
No restrooms
I can't recall ever playing a course in a community park without any restrooms at all.

Blind Holes and water danger
While I love the challenge of fast greens and water in play, it is just a bit much here. I prefer holes that reward my skills, not my good luck.

Lost Discs
It is possible to lose plastic on this course. Not just to the water that comes into play on several holes, but into the rough and loose leaves right on the fairways.
Other Thoughts:
No Wow factor
While Greystone Woods was a fun and challenging course it was missing that "wow" factor that would make me want to come back and play again. I don't mind that it was a very challenging course, I simply don't enjoy courses with more than one blind hole or more than one hole that requires luck over skill to score well.

Comparison
How can you play a course less than an hour from Warwick and not mention Warwick? While I didn't think Warwick was "all that", I did enjoy it more than I enjoyed Greystone Woods. Greystone has more personality, but Warwick was "easier" to enjoy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Gem

2-4    6/11/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: DiscUS
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beauty, unspoiledness, challenge, shot lines, uncrowdedness, proximity to NY.
Some variety: par 4s, elevation gain/loss, open 17 and 18, ravine shots, alternate tee pads,
water features.
Locals are cool and this is a very scenic course.
Starts and ends well and has a number of interesting holes with risk/reward.
A few holes have very distinctive character (looking at you, tunnel shot on 9 and peninsula green on 17!)
Cons: Some poison ivy, especially in impenetrable left rough on 18--disc graveyard.
No practice basket.
Potential to lose your way from combo of inadequate signage and some hikes between holes. (Look for the little yellow arrows.)
Very occasional jogger or dog walker.
Drive from NY is demanding from a navigation standpoint. No public transportation (this could be considered a positive by some : )
Other Thoughts: I'm still a beginner, but man do I wish I lived close to a gem like this. IMO this ranks almost as high as Warwick (NY) and Charlie Vettiner (KY)--my 2 favorites (I've only played 10 courses total). 1-16 remind me of Leonard Park a little, but less thickly wooded. These are nice woods with tall mature trees and not a ton of undergrowth. If you love Warwick you will really like Greystone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best in NJ

5+    4/17/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: gemini55
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Greystone has something for everyone. The 3 sets of tees play to a variety of abilities and are placed nicely, providing different looks for each basket. After playing this course for 2 years, there are still holes that make me question, 'What is the best way to approach this?', which I love and do not find many other places I play. Playing in the summer with full foliage is where the challenge of Greystone shines, as gaps shrink and sight-lines are more limited. Really enjoy the amount of death putts one faces here...more than half the holes have a death putt angle. Lots of water. Great mix of many up and downhill shots (hole 3 and 16 are two of the toughest uphill drives around). Recent changes to tee pad and basket positions have maximized play on select holes (pads on hole 10, basket at 14). The front and back 9 loops start & end at the parking lot, and holes 7-10 loop the main reservoir making for many options of play for any amount of time one has.
Cons: Miss the old 17 blue tee.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nock Jr.

5+    4/15/2016   4/16/2016
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2016
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Demands accuracy & placement above all else, typically with one clear line of play. Landing zones and greens are clear & defined. Perfect ratio of scoring to par holes. Elevation challenge is abundant & mixed between teeshots, ups, & putts. Water is a hazard on 8 holes, whereas manufactured OB is only on 2 holes (the open shots on 17 & 18). Plays to both FH & BH, L or R. Ample parking, with a small trashcan at the entrance for carry in/carry out. And....its Nock Jr....be prepared for standstills in the fairways & rough due to the Greystones
Cons: The stonedust pads are ok & fit the ruggedness of the course. However, having such teepads can limit driving abilities due to unlevelness & shifting.
Other Thoughts: Based on lines of play & hole quality, I feel Greystone plays equal to Nockamixon & Tyler. It's the gem NJ needed, and it keeps getting better.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nicely Done!

2-4    4/14/2017   4/16/2016
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This relatively new course is a rugged slice of thick forest, hills, rocks, numerous trees, and water hazards to boot. It reminds me of some of the classic east coast courses nearby like Tyler, Iron Hill, Cranbury Park, etc.

You have a choice of three tees per hole which very nicely allow for different challenges. I switched between the long blues and medium whites and found them both to be quite good. Even the shots from many red (short) tees looked fun, and would be perfect for newbies and those who want more ace runs.

There are a mix of par 3,4, and 5 holes, but regardless of what par you are playing, placement on the fairway is important to score well. The rough is forgiving, in that you can get back on track with a skilled shot, but it won't be thick or full of schule for the most part.

The signage here is top notch and I never had a problem finding tees or pins
Cons: The tee pads are natural, but in so-so condition. Sadly, many are not flat and somewhat rutted out. It is not easy to get a run up due to the ruttyness and the short length of many.

Other Thoughts: This course is still a bit rough on the edges, but this is to be expected from a new course. One of the designers told me they had to hand-saw a good majority of the trees in the fairways - holy cow, what a job that would have been! Thanks to all their hard work.

Add some fresh tee pads and a practice basket and this would take it over the top.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    4/10/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: Travkin2
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Solid layout that mixes in elevation and water. Guys do a great job improving it and cleaning up the course. Pretty well marked. not too many people play here often so it's pretty open and peaceful the whole time.
Cons: Par 4's are a bit heavily wooded, long, and tight, but that's not necessarily too bad.

Hole 10 is kind of "lucky" since you just throw it straight and hope not to hit any branches and have your disc fall into nearby water; only have a decent shot at birdie if you get lucky through the tree.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Signature NJ Course

1    3/10/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greystone woods feels like a destination course in an area of NJ that is lacking in disc golf courses.

-Great mix of holes
-Elevation changes
-Water Hazards
-Navigation between tees (if you look at the map the front 9 and back 9 overlap a bit and they've done a great job in keeping you oriented in the right direction)
Cons: -Tee signs (diagrams are good but the laminated sheets aren't built to last)
-Tee pads (the box of logs + stone dust is perfectly functional and fits with the "woods" aesthetic but concrete pads would be ideal)
-Heavily wooded course = lost discs. I found two (and contacted the owners and (almost) lost one myself
Other Thoughts: This feels like a special course. The natural beauty is plentiful, the holes are all interesting and unique and there is obviously a lot of care into making the course accessible for players of all skill types (3 levels of tees, plenty of left hand friendly holes).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The beast you love to master

5+    11/4/2015   11/10/2015
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 313  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 3 different tees for every hole and type of player
- beautiful serene woodsy park
- tons of elevation change
- great variety of winding long and short holes
- some fun unique holes that really differentiate from other courses by using the unique topography as best as possible
- benches on periodic holes
- signs with each hole and little arrows mark where the next tees are
- lots of fun water hazards
- the rough is punishing, but not lose your disc bad (for the most part at least)
Cons: - I guess the water could be a con to some as well, but really you only have a chance to actually lose the disc to the water on 2/3 of the holes. One of which is only if you play the blue tee.
- gravel/stonedust tees, but there are plans by the club to get concrete eventually I believe. And the tee pads are smooth enough that it doesn't bother me.
- 18's rough can be pretty gnarly depending on the time of year.
Other Thoughts: hole 1 is great start to a course. Nice easy hyzer shot that doesn't net any elevation, but does have a valley fairway with flat grassy green over the hill. Could easily get a 2, 3, or 4 here. Definitely can make a tone to the rest of the round, lol
Hole 2 is a nice long hole to get the party started. Flat tight and straight with the last part of the hole going uphill on a long gentle anny.
Hole 3 is a beast. A bit of a walk up the hill to get to in the first place and then the hole is all uphill and winds through a bomb FH flex flight. Not that I can even imagine anyone throwing that far, but that's the shape of the fairway.
Hole 4 is long downhill hyzer shot through a tunnel of trees. The basket is precariously placed at the end of the hyzer on the edge of a flat green that past it goes downhill another 40 feet or so. Can be quite punishing if you miss long with the putt.
Hole 5 is a short downhill that is open until the hyzer finish through the trees. Definitely still need an accurate line here.
Hole 6 plays over a walk way with high visibility (so I don't consider it dangerous not to mention few other walkers here) and takes a gentle anny that rides up near the water
Hole 7 is short steep downhill throw that requires either a luckyish hyzer or a precise RHBH flex shot. Fun. Green is steep and goes down towards water, but with all the trees from the basket to the water, it would be incredibly unlikely to hit that water. Not that it would be lost if it was in it anyways.
Hole 8 is slightly downhill and short with a gentle hyzer and the creek lining the entire right side.
Hole 9 is a bomb from the longs over the intimidating lake. The short is super tight low ceiling FH or super tight BH through two rows of pines. I really like the BH hyzer option here
Hole 10 is like throwing trough a circle. Very fair, but tight. Goes over a dam and up a hillside green with a built out platform.
Hole 11 is a long straight shot with a sloping right to left fairway.
Hole 12 is a nice refreshing uphill short shot from the middle tees and is a bomb from the longs with a twisting fairway
Hole 13 is tight and short from any tee making a gentle anny curve, but with quite the punishing right to left slope that will kill a poor drive
Hole 14 starts off with a big downhill drive that halfway down the hole makes a 45 degree hyzer turn. The deception here is that as you get closer to the green, a river follows and gets closer to the green
Hole 15 is a blind FH downhill shot over a creek.
Hole 16 is quite the big uphill shot with a few different lanes. The green is perched on a steep hill, but is actually very flat up there. One of my favorites.
Hole 17 is an intimidating downhill shot with water on the left. And the green acting as a bit of a peninsula with pines on the right. First real "open" shot though.
Hole 18 is a downhill wide open bomber with gross rough to the left and tall pines lining the right. Great way to end a tough wooded round of golf.

Ultimately this course is just a real fun beat down. Not as long or quite as hard as nockamixon, but it adds some real fun factor and risk/reward of it's own. The people helping are great and keep tinkering, but not in a bad way, which is why the tees are not concrete yet. With concrete tee pads and maybe a second set of baskets, this could be a real premier course, but it's super fun as is.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center