Morris Plains, NJ 
Greystone Woods Share
Uploaded By: jbyrd Hole #5 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Woods disc golf

5+    6/29/2018   7/19/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2018
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
+ Great community supporting the course and organizing events.
+ Several of the prettiest holes you'll see anywhere (9, 17, 18).
+ Very good baskets (and thankfully the bright yellow bands help visibility a lot!)
+ Disc retrievers next to a few of the water hazards - what a great thoughtful touch!
Cons:
- This is woods golf, so even slightly offline throws are punished pretty severely.
- The club is working on the teepads - but for now, they're pretty rough.
- I really wish the County (or whoever controls this park) would let designers remove some trees to make the course better. When I was walking Mercer yesterday, I noticed the low cut stumps that helped create fairways like I've seen at OCP and Allaire, and I immediately thought of how a few holes at Greystone would be greatly improved by some careful and thoughtful design work (I'm looking at you, #14!). Excellent wooded holes don't just happen all by themselves, they require design decisions that I'm sure the community supporting Greystone would be happy to provide.
Other Thoughts:
- When I'm playing other wooded courses in NJ like Allaire and Doc Cramer and I mention Greystone, I get an interesting reaction from players..sort of "Oh...Greystone" - like "Oh yeah - THAT place." Greystone is a distinct and memorable place with its own niche in the NJ disc golf scene. There's nowhere else like it, and you haven't played everything New Jersey has to offer until you've played Greystone.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Greystone Woods

1    7/11/2018   7/11/2018
Review By: MikeSKY
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 7/19/2018
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing trail. Nice streams and pond. Wooded but with space for some nice shots. 3 tee boxes for every hole. Good signage, and up kept nicely. Good disc retrievers next to each of the water hazards.

Feels like a really nice hike with a good Disc Golf course on it.
Cons: You can lose discs here into water hazards as well some high tough brush if your shot is even just a bit off.
Tee pads are natural. But there up kept okay.
Other Thoughts: There are some cute frogs fish around.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    5/4/2018   5/4/2018
Review By: Selurznug
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging wooded course.
Some narrow lines through tons of trees.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate, look for yellow markers on ground.
Bring bug spray.
Very challenging, beginners will shoot +20 or worse.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 and 3 is probably toughest back-to-back combo I've ever experienced.
Can be very discouraging going into 4 +5 sometimes...

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Greystone

1    4/22/2018   4/22/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 1.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Three tee boxes per hole so that every player can choose their challenge.
+ Virtually all of the tees had their own info placard indicating the hole layout, distance to the pin and the par. (I don't remember about the red tees, though.)
+ Most of the course takes place in the woods, which forces players to be a bit more strategic with their throws.
+ There are some wide-open holes to allow for maximum power drives.
+ Very friendly regulars/locals.
+ Some stark elevation challenges throughout the front 9. Things level out, on average, during the back 9.
+ Water hazards on many holes make for some exciting disc golf.
+ Some nice scenery all throughout.
Cons: - Every now and again I was confused about which pin to throw towards. For instance, baskets 5 and 11 are very close to one another. Also, one could be forgiven for thinking that basket 4 is the proper target for tee 12 and vice versa.
- I had extreme difficulty finding my way around. What few 'next tee' signs I saw were simple little wooden arrows painted yellow with numbers on them stuck into the ground.
- Some of the fairways felt just a bit too narrow. Hole 4 jumps to the front of my mind as the biggest offender.
- A place like this always has the potential to have very many people out walking their dogs or out for a stroll. Use caution.
- Watch your step. There are dozens of rocks, roots, and stumps everywhere you go.
- Gravel-type tee pads have a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Greystone Woods deserves a higher rating than what I gave it today.

Next tee signs. Why put something so vital down so low and in a color that blends into the environment? I'm not looking at the ground in search of the next tee box. My head is up. I'm looking into the middle distance in all directions. Everyone does that. Next tee signs belong at eye level attached to the trees surrounding the basket or attached to the baskets themselves in order to point the players in the proper direction. And if there is going to be a long walk between holes, please have multiple signs reinforcing players' confidence that they are still headed towards the next hole- especially in a place like Greystone that has paths leading every which way and doubling back on themselves. I got lost three times here.

Barring that, I can't deny that the disc golf experience itself was a ton of fun. There is enough variation in your immediate surroundings to make each hole feel fresh and adventurous. Fallen trees, steady hills, and many bodies of water give Greystone an atmosphere of unexplored wilderness, which I liked. The course feels as though it was planned around the scenery instead of forcing the scenery to change for the course. Although, this sometimes means that fairways and rough can look exactly the same.
Personally, hole 8 was my favorite because I've grown to like downhill shots. Plus, the pin was nicely placed just close enough to a nearby stream to be a threat. And it was nice to look at.

Overall, I would say that the course is geared more towards intentional placement because of the many densely wooded holes. Greystone would rather challenge the player's tactics than power. But there are three or four holes for the power players, too.

I definitely recommend Greystone Woods to pretty much any player. Three sets of tees mean that anyone can get a good round in. If it's your first time like it was mine, just go with someone who's been there before or find a local to guide you. I would love to come back here one day. If the next tee sign situation is fixed, then I will gladly award a higher rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course! Expect Trees....

5+    9/17/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: Davus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/18/2018
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Variety of holes
- Not bad signage
- Lots of elevation changes
- Deep woods (might not be a pro to some)
Cons: -natural tee boxes are sometimes pretty pitted, but they work on them and try to keep them maintained
-tons of trees. isnt really a con, but can be frustrating
Other Thoughts: Great course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome natural setting

1    10/3/2016   1/10/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greystone Woods is located in a very picturesque forest just outside of the noise of Northern NJ. This is one of the most beautiful pieces of land that I've played on, which is especially nice given its close proximity to NYC. As soon as you trek into the woods, the peaceful, natural setting greets you and you can really escape from everything else. This is a prime example of a course where the hike itself is almost as enjoyable as playing the layout.

The designers did a great job using the natural features of the park to create many fun, unique holes. There is a fantastic incorporation of streams, ponds, and mature trees. Elevation, while never too drastic, is used well and is seen on most of the holes in some way. One of the aspects of the course that I enjoyed the most was while it is mostly played in the dense woods, it doesn't feel repetitive. There are many shots that play from the open into the woods, while other holes play completely through the woods through varying degrees of thickness. The different uses of water add to the variety as well. Streams run through fairways and near baskets, and you get a big pond shot as well on hole 9.

One reason that I would love to play here often is that there are many lines offered on pretty much every hole. This allows the player to be creative. Even while most of the course plays through thick woods, you don't feel constrained to only playing certain lines; you still have plenty of chances to open up. Being able to do this consistently in the woods is a great quality.

Another one of the best parts of the design is the thoughtful pin placement. Baskets are often placed on slopes, near water and drop-offs, or are well-protected by trees. Also, there is a great variety of pars and hole lengths.

The three different tee positions do a great job of accommodating varying skill levels. Hole 9, for example, is a long pond shot from the blue tee, while the red tee doesn't go near the water. While this is a challenging, diverse course, new players also get to experience the unique setting that is offered while playing a simpler layout.
Cons: Navigation isn't a huge issue given that there are so many arrows that point you in the right direction, but there are still a few parts that aren't perfectly clear since there are so many different paths that you can take. There are times where multiple baskets are in view as well.

Tees are mixed, with most of them being natural. I can see them getting muddy and torn up over time. On that note, this is a rugged course with many paths consisting of mud and roots. Definitely not a simple walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing in this type of setting, especially given its proximity to the city. With this being a newer course, I can only see it getting better over time. With a little more work and traffic, this course will continue to settle into a more defined form that the best courses have. I haven't played many courses in New Jersey, but this is my favorite in the state and I'd imagine that many others feel the same way.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Grey Stones and Woods!

1    9/28/2016   11/5/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 461  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 22.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

Greystone Woods is an 18 hole disc golf course located in a community park. As the name suggests, there are a lot of Grey Stones everywhere and a lot of trees. This course plays through the woods, up and down hills and around some ponds. There are also a couple of wide open holes. I played this course as part of a road trip playing 12 states in 12 days. This was the only disc golf course I played in New Jersey. I chose this course as DGCR listed this a the top course in New Jersey.

I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Multiple tees
Every hole had a blue and white tee. These tees are made of packed gravel. While most of the tees were very rutted and not very level, they were still playable. I see other reviews saying there are three tees per hole. If so, the third set of tees are not shown on the tee signs and they are not very well marked.

Signs
There were signs on all the long blue tees. Sign graphics were up to date and showed the direction of the next tee. The tee signs only showed the blue and white tees, not the red tees. There were also stakes in the ground to help with the walks between holes.


Variety
This course does have an excellent variety. Some holes are short and wooded, others are open. There is quite of bit of elevation in play on most of the holes. There are some shorter birdie holes and others are Par 4 even from the shorter White tees.

Compact Design
Except for the walk to get to hole 1, this is a pretty compact layout without a lot of extra walking. It is possible to get back to the parking lot at Hole 9. Once you tee off over the water on 9, you can walk over to the parking lot on your way to the pin. I always appreciate the chance to go back to my car and pick up supplies or drop off my coat or unload trash. It would be easy enough to start play on Hole 9 and play the "back ten" first.

Navigation
Even though there are excellent tee signs that show the way to the next tee, it does get confusing in a few places. Just keep your eyes open for the stakes leading the way. Again, there can still be confusion as there are stakes for other tees right where you would expect to see a stake for your next tee.

Restrooms
There were no restrooms or portable restrooms on the course or in the parking area. As some holes are in the woods, there are opportunities for privacy during the round.

Kids, Carts and strollers
I would not recommend kids in strollers as the terrain is just a bit too rough. A disc golf cart might do OK, but again, there is some rough terrain and steep areas that would just be tough for a cart to navigate. Older kids should be able to walk along. Not really a great course for kids to play as it is rugged and long. If the kids get cranky or tired, play 8 holes and return to the car. There are no restrooms and no running water on the course so be prepared.

Playing Alone
This is a tough course to play this one alone as there are blind holes, water hazards and some rough areas. Bring a friend or be prepared to do some searching for "lost" discs.

Beginners
Even though there are two sets of tees, I think this course might be a bit much for newer players. Less skilled players should probably play a different course where there is less risk of losing your plastic.
Cons:
No restrooms
I can't recall ever playing a course in a community park without any restrooms at all.

Blind Holes and water danger
While I love the challenge of fast greens and water in play, it is just a bit much here. I prefer holes that reward my skills, not my good luck.

Lost Discs
It is possible to lose plastic on this course. Not just to the water that comes into play on several holes, but into the rough and loose leaves right on the fairways.
Other Thoughts:
No Wow factor
While Greystone Woods was a fun and challenging course it was missing that "wow" factor that would make me want to come back and play again. I don't mind that it was a very challenging course, I simply don't enjoy courses with more than one blind hole or more than one hole that requires luck over skill to score well.

Comparison
How can you play a course less than an hour from Warwick and not mention Warwick? While I didn't think Warwick was "all that", I did enjoy it more than I enjoyed Greystone Woods. Greystone has more personality, but Warwick was "easier" to enjoy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Jersey Gem

2-4    6/11/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: DiscUS
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beauty, unspoiledness, challenge, shot lines, uncrowdedness, proximity to NY.
Some variety: par 4s, elevation gain/loss, open 17 and 18, ravine shots, alternate tee pads,
water features.
Locals are cool and this is a very scenic course.
Starts and ends well and has a number of interesting holes with risk/reward.
A few holes have very distinctive character (looking at you, tunnel shot on 9 and peninsula green on 17!)
Cons: Some poison ivy, especially in impenetrable left rough on 18--disc graveyard.
No practice basket.
Potential to lose your way from combo of inadequate signage and some hikes between holes. (Look for the little yellow arrows.)
Very occasional jogger or dog walker.
Drive from NY is demanding from a navigation standpoint. No public transportation (this could be considered a positive by some : )
Other Thoughts: I'm still a beginner, but man do I wish I lived close to a gem like this. IMO this ranks almost as high as Warwick (NY) and Charlie Vettiner (KY)--my 2 favorites (I've only played 10 courses total). 1-16 remind me of Leonard Park a little, but less thickly wooded. These are nice woods with tall mature trees and not a ton of undergrowth. If you love Warwick you will really like Greystone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 best in NJ

5+    4/17/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: gemini55
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Greystone has something for everyone. The 3 sets of tees play to a variety of abilities and are placed nicely, providing different looks for each basket. After playing this course for 2 years, there are still holes that make me question, 'What is the best way to approach this?', which I love and do not find many other places I play. Playing in the summer with full foliage is where the challenge of Greystone shines, as gaps shrink and sight-lines are more limited. Really enjoy the amount of death putts one faces here...more than half the holes have a death putt angle. Lots of water. Great mix of many up and downhill shots (hole 3 and 16 are two of the toughest uphill drives around). Recent changes to tee pad and basket positions have maximized play on select holes (pads on hole 10, basket at 14). The front and back 9 loops start & end at the parking lot, and holes 7-10 loop the main reservoir making for many options of play for any amount of time one has.
Cons: Miss the old 17 blue tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nock Jr.

5+    4/15/2016   4/16/2016
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2016
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Demands accuracy & placement above all else, typically with one clear line of play. Landing zones and greens are clear & defined. Perfect ratio of scoring to par holes. Elevation challenge is abundant & mixed between teeshots, ups, & putts. Water is a hazard on 8 holes, whereas manufactured OB is only on 2 holes (the open shots on 17 & 18). Plays to both FH & BH, L or R. Ample parking, with a small trashcan at the entrance for carry in/carry out. And....its Nock Jr....be prepared for standstills in the fairways & rough due to the Greystones
Cons: The stonedust pads are ok & fit the ruggedness of the course. However, having such teepads can limit driving abilities due to unlevelness & shifting.
Other Thoughts: Based on lines of play & hole quality, I feel Greystone plays equal to Nockamixon & Tyler. It's the gem NJ needed, and it keeps getting better.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.