Littleton, CO 
Fehringer Ranch Share
Uploaded By: rezdawg8 Hole #12 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 265ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun course

2-4    8/2/2017   8/2/2017
Review By: chainbangerz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long concrete tees

-Trees for obstruction of flight

-Dog friendly. They have poo-toob for dog poop on wooden posts at tees

-Hooks on all the wooden tee posts for hanging anything or holding dog leash.

-Very easy to navigate. They have a wooden post with a white tip at each tee as well as a diagram of the hole. Also they have on the wooden post A,B, & some C's and a metal ring next to each letter. The letter with the zip tie indicates where the basket is that day! This is the best diagramed/ easy to navigate course I've played by far.

-Trashcans to throw away my trash and anything I find on the course.

-2 different practice baskets. the one to the left has blocks in the ground and tell you how far out you are!

-A 4 way warm up net to throw into.

-Bathroom in parking lot

-Beautiful scenery

-Multi pin placement

-It looks like wood chips were added to the greens recently

-Stumps at all tees

-OB if you like the challenge

-Elevation changes
Cons: -Not much shade during summer

-Traffic can be bad when school is in and its the end of the day for them.

-Footing on hole 12 (can be difficult in areas to get to the top without feeling like you will fall)
Other Thoughts: I like how spread out this course is. I haven't seen this course crowded to the point of holding me playing alone up, but I also play during the week days. If i could change one thing it would be hole 10 closer to parking lot incase you would like to skip a crowd. I love the shot variation here. low ceiling, death putt, RHFH, long drives, and close ones covered by bush and small tree branches. I wish all courses had a warm up area like this place. i love the blocks in the ground for the distance on the practice basket and the very rare 4 way warm up net. There is some shade here but not enough to save you from not wearing sunscreen. Hole #17 needs the bridge back. I would highly recommend this course to a friend.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A tale of two courses?

1    6/29/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 60  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets & tees are all in good shape

Great signage - shows distance and pin placements in photographs as well as next tees

Super easy to navigate - Plays a nice loop. This is one of the few courses I've played where no map is really necessary, even for a first-timer. Each next tee is within eye-shot of the basket.

Amenities - There's a port-o-john at the ample parking lot, a couple practice baskets, a driving net which is something I'd never seen before, as well as stumps at each tee if you need a sit plus plenty of trash cans.

Decent mixture on distances, and great use of the available elevation. Plenty of RHBH's but there are some RHFH's tossed in there. Effective use of hazards whether it's the OB or trees.
Cons: Front 9 to me was a little one-dimensional, despite the elevation - most of the variety comes in on the back 9.

Not a lot of protection from the sun - if you play in summer, bring plenty of water and sunscreen and also be prepared for some long grass off-fairway.

Potentially crowded at times? The day I played there were a couple groups in front as well as behind, but my timing was perfectly in between them all. That said, add a couple more groups to the mix and that changes things.
Other Thoughts: I was a little underwhelmed when I first pulled up to Fehringer, even w/ its ample parking, practice baskets and port-o-john. It just didn't look all that exciting.
However, I quickly realized not to judge this book by its cover. While the shot variety on the front 9 is a little lacking, the elevation helps make up for it as well as the variety in distance. There are some blind shots
here that may require light scouting. The back 9 really brings the OB creekbed into play. Several holes utilize it in one way or the other and in general
there seems to be more creative use of the landscape. A tale of two courses?
I can see where other players/reviewers might find the OB a little over the top, especially 17, but for me it added some fun challenges.
I particularly enjoyed - 11B, with the basket tucked away on the other side of the creek
- 12 with it's basket on top of the mound (be careful, a misplaced shot and you'll simply go right back down to the bottom)
- 13 w/ it's reuse of 12's mound to provide some difficulty off the tee
- 15, which has a thread-the-needle feel w/ a clear RHFH shot if you can make it in between the bike trail and creek
- the aforementioned 17 - I think it's a fun one b/c at least for a first timer, you don't realize at first that the creek bed branches into a bunch of sections, making the hole an OB minefield.

I enjoyed myself at Fehringer and consider it one of the more fun courses I've been able to play in the area so far. I'd definitely suggest it and will definitely be back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Challenging Expirence

5+    6/5/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: BrianElander
Played: 71  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Out standing warm-up area (Multiple baskets for putting as well as a net for driving)
- Multiple pin placements on around half of the holes, and pin rotation is fairly common with at least 2-3 baskets being moved each month.
-Flat, concrete tees with a decent distance with in length and width.
-Easy to follow with very apparent trails from basket to the next tee box.
-Tee sign are helpful both in distance and location of each different pin position.
-A good mixture of shorter holes (less than 250) average holes (250-350) and big arm holes (350-500).
-Most holes have some obstacle if its OB, elevation changes, mandos, or trees).
-Shorter holes have long (Pro) tee pads to make the course more challenging.
-Baskets catch well are in good condition
-Wood chips have recently been placed around tees and baskets
-There are logs, stumps or benches to sit on on every tee.
-There is flags on the top of every tee sigh and each basket so a player can tell what direction the wind is blowing at every given time.
Cons: - During summer the fairways can become a little overgrown and the rough will eat discs (This is only relent on holes 7,9,11,13,14).
-If you find yourself out of fairway you will come across some rather nasty stickers that get stuck in your clothing.
-Its windy here more often then not, but that makes the game more interesting.
-This is a popular course for golfers in the Denver area so have some extra time if planning to play because the course can become crowed and slow moving.
-On a few holes (3,7,10,17) the OB becomes over the top with very frustrating and uncontrollable OB stokes with the OB being feet from the pin.
Other Thoughts: This course is a wonderful place for people of all skill level, as long as they have a positive attitude. Every shot is different in it is a prime example of how the sport is expanding. This is a great place for Coloradans to play in the winter as the show melts quick and the grass is under control. If you are a Pro or just a family trying to have fun this course will preset a enjoyable challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites so far

1    3/23/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee boxes and baskets
Intuitive course, easy to follow
Fun hole variety
Easy access
Practice basket
Cons: Very windy, made the course sooo much harder
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and plan to go back (hopefully when it's not windy). The hole distance and variety make this one of my favorites so far.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but not perfect use of space

5+    3/13/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Variety of holes lengths
-Variety of obstacles
-All concrete tee pads
-Informative signs with indication of pin placements
-Well marked out of bounds
-Excellent practice putting area
Cons: -Multi-use path is in play fairly often
-Some pin placements are close to tee pads
-Grass can eat discs when it gets long
-Parking lot is too small for busy days
Other Thoughts: -Could easily expand to 27 or more holes


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/1/2016   12/1/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 134  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - concrete tees
- good baskets
- good variation in distance, ranging from 200 feet to around 550 feet.
- even though the course is mostly open, there is a decent amount of man made OB to make for some challenging shots
- great tee signs with all the info you need
- I found navigation of this course very simple
- some very interesting baskets placments
Cons: - most of the course is very wide open
- there's quite a bit of tall grass to lose discs in throughout the course
- With how exposed this course is, I'm sure it gets plenty winding
Other Thoughts: Very solid course for the Denver metro area. Easily the best course in the Littleton area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid course on the verge of an upgrade

1    8/4/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: DunbarTrout
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage, nice variation in height, several pin positions on some holes, some nice long shots and some narrower fairways.

Great view of the mountains even though it is a fairly flat course.
Cons: Not all the tee pads were concrete (though I met a team of awesome folks who said they would be pouring concrete on all of the tees on Saturday (8/6/16). I am not from the area so I cannot confirm if this was done.

Some signs were knocked over when I played.

Some holes are blind and they have several pin positions so you just sort of have to guess.

It is an open course but the grass can cause you to lose a disc.

No par listed on the holes, I just played everything as par 3.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play again, especially if those tee pads are in the ground.

Also, I forgot to look but I think you can catch a view of Red Rocks from some of the holes!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wide open course

5+    5/8/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: VeloRandy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice long drives and a few doglegs.
Cons: Not much in the way of obstacles. A few trees here and there and a creek that can be flowing pretty heavy at times. The wind tends to pick up in the afternoon so start early if you don't want the added challenge. Lots of trash left by careless players and only a few trash cans that tend to be full.
Other Thoughts: Pack it in, pack it out. That means cigarette butts too. Let's keep this place clean for everyone.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Metro Area Course

5+    7/22/2015   7/31/2015
Review By: Dapeats
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great use of the land, pulling up it looks like an open field but it's a pretty varied course.
Cons: Thistles and tall grass due to the torrential rains we had all summer. They do a decent job of mowing and it's been getting better every week.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing. If this grass is tall make sure to have a partner and spot discs.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better

1    7/28/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 129  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I like their Mach 3 with deep baskets, relatively easy flow.

The warm up area was awesome. They had a 4 sided net to catch warm up drives from 4 directions, I have never seen this before. Definitely good addition.
Cons: Not all tee pads were finished. Holes 3-7 blind and hard to find baskets. For the fairways you gotta cut the fairway wider. That tall grass hides disc well and destroys your legs.

Need to get tee signs everywhere. 18s green clear the brush around the basket.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy holes 8-16. Course does have some opportunity but blind holes with barely mowed fairways where the tall grass not only hides your disc but cuts your legs.

I live in Missouri and visit and at this time will not be playing the course again.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.