Cheb, Czech Republic 
Discgolf Park Cheb Share
Uploaded By: DLoBrown Hole #8 (Taken 5/2016)
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Beautiful Czechia Disc Golf

1    10/8/2017   7/12/2018
Review By: armiller
Played: 152  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- it's in Czechia!
- fun wooded golf in a beautiful park along the Ohre River
- good baskets, tees (turf), and tee signs (courtesy of Innova's "DiscGolfPark," I believe)
- arrows on baskets pointing in direction of next tee
- easy to find and access from German or Czech side, as long as you have a vehicle
Cons:
- numerous interactions with park path (hole 1 may be the biggest culprit, with 3, 4, 6, & 17)
- tricky navigation especially between 10 & 11; the 4-5-6 flow is a bit awkward as well
Other Thoughts:
I and one other golfer played here fairly early on a Sunday morning. The area is beautiful, and we enjoyed the early morning drive among the lightly forested fields in this area of Germany & Czechia. It was drizzling for about half of the round, but still very pleasant. The overall experience was fun, and the golf compared very favorably to courses I've played elsewhere (namely the USA). It didn't really feel exotic or different; it just felt like an enjoyable, beautiful course that took a little more effort to reach.

My favorite holes were all between 4 and 13. There was some decent elevation incorporated as the course entered a wooded area. Many of these were relatively short but had tight lines that were challenging but fair. An intermediate player should fare well, and an advanced player ought to shred these but would still have fun. This enjoyable stretch had several narrow but open fairways with lines to hit, and then some mild up/down elevation shots. The more open holes were decent but not as memorable, giving some decent opportunities for controlled distance. I had a nice Comet throw-in from >150' on my second shot of the day, so that started things off right!

The overall navigation is logical except for the 10 to 11 transition. The map on here is good (same as the map at the beginning of the course). The main safety issue is the multiple holes crossing paths, but this didn't seem as dangerous as I've seen in plenty of other courses. Visibility of both path users & teeing-off discers was good and helped avoid dangerous throws. We saw fairly few park users (likely due to rain and an early Sunday round), but all we encountered seemed well aware of a disc golf course in the park.

If you're from far away, arriving is pretty easy. If you have a car, look up "Discgolf Myslivna Cheb" on Google Maps. We found parking, though this may present a problem occasionally as it overlaps with nearby residential buildings.

Rating & Summary:
Settling on a number was tough, mainly because of the fact that it's such a respectable course in an area with so few nearby courses. Out of respect for the course on the scale of every course I've played, I went 3.5, "Very Good." If you'll be traveling in the area, this ought to be high on your list.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive into the Czech Republic

1    5/26/2016   6/4/2016
Review By: DLoBrown
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play. There are accurate tee signs at each hole. Each hole has a tee pad of some form. There is a lot of shot variation (blind shots, open, tunnel, mando, tripple mando, OB, uphill, downhill, wooded). The parking lot for the park is next to hole 1 and hole 18. Beautiful car drive to the course, and great scenery on the course. Each basket has pointers to next tee pad. Baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I have never seen so much dog feces in a park before. The pads were a little short. Had trouble finding the tee pad for hole 10 (tee sign was not there). Was difficult at times to know which basket to throw to (first time playing course layout). The grass was getting a bit too tall, and choked shots.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a course near the Franconian region of Germany, this course is absolutely worth the drive. Challenging enough, but not frustrating. I will play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Almost until the end...

1    1/1/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: Shifty06
Played: 64  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located close to the dam Skalka/river Ohre and offers a cool scenery.
You start with more open shots at the meadow, then continue through the woods and throw the last 4 holes on the grassland again. I really liked the flow and the design (open/woods/open).
With the open fields, where you need to make distance and the woods, where accuracy is needed you have a good variety of shots.
For me the holes located in the forest were the most fun to play due to their alternation in shots, the scenic attraction (river is close) and the ambitious placement of baskets (or trees).
The "valley" hole #13 was really cool and challenging
Greens were keept well and the fairways inside the woods were fine too.
The tees were a bit short but still fine.
Cons: Navigating can be hard the first time you play here.
There is a coursemap close to tee #1 so take a picture to find your way as some teesigns were missing. The meadows were used by people with dogs so beware of piles. I dont know if the greens might be used by residents for recreation as a large housing complex is right next to them. Although hole #16 has a mando, i found it to be a pretty easy Par 4 as it is a straight downhill shot (351ft/107m).
All mentioned cons are nothing compared to the placement of basket #18.
The whole course was fine, i had really fun playing and was under Par and then it all had to end with this daffy hole. The parking lot on the right hand site, made me quite nervous as it is way too close to the fairway/basket. You have to be 100% sure to know what you are doing and go for it or be careful and take additional strokes. Especially for the last hole i would have wished for a smarter solution than putting the basket among parked cars. I just didnt like the way the course ended.
Other Thoughts: Basket #18 seems to be the putting basket and meeting point since it has a small shed right next to it and it is surrounded by a parking area.
You might need good footgear since there is some difference in elevation and a few ditches.
This course has huge potencial to become excellent with some minor changes.
With the river onsite, there are quite a few possibilities to create holes with water in play.
Basket #18 needs to be moved!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Find!

2-4    11/8/2015   11/8/2015
Review By: TNBrian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes and Signs are well marked.
There is a metal 'disc' in each basket pointing towards the next pin(may be standard now with pro baskets but was new for me)
There is a map at the beginning of the course, worth taking a picture of in case you get turned around, though the course is quite intuitive.
Good for all levels. Varied, half in the woods, half quite open allowing for a variety of shots.

Cons: People may be walking in the park and not really 'know' about disc golf. I have only been in October/November and though weather was amazing, there still weren't too may people out but I can imagine it changing in the spring/summer.

Almost goes without saying but make sure you're aiming for the right basket as from some holes you can see multiple. On each hole as I remember there are descriptions (maybe missing on one or two)
Other Thoughts: From 10-11 you need to backtrack a bit and actually walk past the basket to the tee box. Look at the map right at the beginning and you'll see what I'm talking about, otherwise it's quite straight forward.

Holes 11-15 dip up towards the road briefly so keep your dog close if he/she has the tendency to be slightly too curious.

It could be quite muddy after some rain but not unplayable.

There are good looks in the autumn though with full coverage can imagine more potential for lost discs. Thick leaves as well, so keep an eye on them if they bite in. On a few holes, we used a spotter.

Some VERY ace-able holes for more seasoned players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not very long but certainly tricky

5+    6/24/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: luma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2016
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice surroundings, nice area that the course is in. Fields were cut, forest was pretty much cleaned up and not many loose branches lying around.
- Tee mats are a little short but you can run up behind the mats on every hole, so you have a nice stance on every throw.
- Very diversified holes, first 3 are open, then you go in the woods, from 12-13 you're out in the open again
- Elevation changes and some doglegs make you throw lot of different shots
- The course is on a public place, so if you have bad luck there are a few people on the open fields, but in the trees you're basically away from any paths with pedestrians, so you don't have to watch out for that...
Cons: - pretty short course, longest hole is around 450' on completely open field slightly uphill and it is called a Par 4. I threw DDs on only 3 holes, and a Putter on 6 or 7 holes.
- there were no tee signs or so yet, but I got word they will be put up in the next few weeks, so I'll just point that out, but not let it influence my course rating
- on hole 18, you really have to watch out for the parked cars on the right, which leaves a little bad taste, as it is he end of your round and you can't throw without having the cars in the back of your mind...
Other Thoughts: If I lived there, I would use the big open field for a lot of driving practice, so you can't only play but also practice pretty well there. You could also do some longer holes for yourself on the big fields (maybe in the woods as well, didn't think about it there) and play a more difficult layout. The course is certainly a top choice for beginners, and not a bad choice for longer and more advanced throwers who can let it fly on a couple of holes and work on their accuracy on the other ones.

Update: I've come here a little more often now and these are some more things to consider:
- Tee-Signs have been put in now so you shouldn't have trouble finding any tee except maybe #11 because it's a little walk
- Unfortunately, on this side of the border dog owners just care as less about dog piles as they do in Germany, so watch out for those especially on holes 1 and 3
- I said that you were able to run up on basically every hole, well this counts for every one except #3. I can throw 430' on a consistent basis, but have really trouble reaching this hole because the run up is slightly uphill and the mat is just so small that it would interfere with my throw. So I just throw behind the mat while running up uphill. Not a big con, just a little bummer that I can't let it rip on bascially the only hole that you really need to.

ANOTHER UPDATE:
these guys must have some money over. The tee pads on all the holes where you would need a run up have been lengthened and are really top notch now!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.