Cornelius, NC 
Robbins Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #12 (Taken 5/2017)
4 / 470ft.   4 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Pretty fun but not as demanding as I prefer

2-4    5/18/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: Mike C
Played: 122  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 18 holes, few of which are flat. Nearly every hole incorporates elevation into its design. Some notable examples are #4 which has a pin placed on a right to left slope, and #18 with the basket sitting on top of a large hill.

+ Good variety between lines. Leans a little heavy on straight shots, but it mixes in some left and right turning holes.

+ Tee signs show the line, distance, par, hole # etc. They're a bit on the small side, but they stand out so you won't miss them.

+ Multiple benches. In fact some of the benches that are out in the open even have artificial shade constructed to block the sunset.

+ Easy to navigate, no map needed for a first play through.
Cons: - Not difficult enough. Granted they don't feel like gimmies, and the course isn't quite as easy as say, Eager Beaver or Crooked Creek Crossing, but there's no real challenge here.

- Both par 4's are easy, especially the last one. It's a wide open 620' shot with no obstacles besides a few short trees you can throw over. In a tournament there are island rules in effect, but for casual play there's no risk on the tee shot. There is no strategy of "Should I bomb it and risk kicking off the fairway, or lay up for a birdie?" There's no reason to lay up here if its not a tournament.

- Lacks length. I use a driver of some sort for maybe 5 or 6 holes here, and that's primarily throwing an overstable driver on a hard hooking line, not so much for distance.

- Couple patches of pretty thick rough. Most the course does not suffer from this problem, but there are one or two spots you want to keep an eye out for. I've seen people lose them on #15, and on the right side of #2.
Other Thoughts: Robbins is a solid course. It is one I think most people would find fun to play, not too demanding but not a complete walk in the park.

For me its too easy. It offers some interesting shots, but none of the holes really stand out to me as fantastic. It's one of those courses that even though it checks a lot of the boxes, the actual golf doesn't get me terribly excited.

I will say the land was put to good use. The design flows well and incorporates everything the terrain had to offer.

Still, there's something to be said for the accessible nature of the course, and its close proximity to Bailey Road Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/19/2017 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review. You'll find it interesting, maybe. In the tournament rounds played, 12 and 16 (the 2 par 4s) played among the toughest on the course. 16 (without island rules) played almost a stroke over par. The bombs you describe often enter OB early and never come back in. If you play the longs, it adds a little teeth and probably 3 strokes in scoring over the shorts in tournaments.

Challenging course

2-4    9/3/2016   9/16/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The elevation changes and placements of baskets is a nice contrast to most courses. Some baskets are easy to see from the tee and some are not visible at all, making for challenging and safe throws. The course plays shorter than it seems it should. Underbrush on the wooded holes is minimal. it has a good variety of wooded holes versus open grassy holes. I enjoyed the tight driving areas into the open spaces, requires accuracy and a little luck.
Cons: Holes #1,2 and 18 are basic straight fairway holes. Some of the signage could be better for basket direction, especially #17 - not sure where the basket was supposed to be, maybe it's been moved. Some of the more open holes have a nice fairway area surrounded by tall thorny growth - be careful.
Other Thoughts: The signage on the long uphill hole #12 with the right hand turn is very helpful. The barricades near the tee boxes are a nice touch. A very nice course that I drove 25 minutes to from Concord on back to back weekends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Robbins is built along a low, flat strip with a small wooded hillside boring one edge and a much steeper wooded hillside along the other. There are hole that play up the hill and holes that play down it. There are holes that play along the ridge, through the trees, some of which feature a sharply slanted fairway. There are holes that play on the edge of the trees on the small hill. Along the bottom of the bigger hill is a small creek which will either be shallow or dry. This water hazard comes into play on a number of holes. Though it rarely is in position to constrict drives, it presents a danger of rollaways: once while throwing across the valley to the opposite hill and a couple times it lurks past the basket on a slope to the left. With the hills and trees and flat spaces there is quite a lot of variety here and it shapes up to be a pretty solid blue-level course on which every shot is different.
Navigational aids are top notch. In fact, there might be too many next tee arrows. It is like they were afraid that a player might be confused if there were a few seconds in which they were not being directed, even if there had been no possible other ways to go since the last sign. But obviously too many is better than too few and proofing a course for the directionally challenged is never a bad thing.
Personally, I was a big fan of 5, which starts in the trees with the creek directly in front and the basket tucked into the trees on the opposite of the open space. A great example of how the course makes even the flat spaces interesting. 8 does something similar but places the basket higher on the hill on top of a rock outcropping.
Cons: I didn't love the beginning and end. 1 is a straightforward shot along a raised pathway with thick shule to either side but no real obstacles. I do like the climb to the final basket on 18, but the fairway has that classic power corridor shape that I'm not a fan of. Other than that the course is pretty solid. It's not, "I must go back there," great but it is one that everyone should play if they are in the area. A worthy course but not a spectacular one either.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A True Gem - Plays Much Longer Than Its Distance

1    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 57  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An excellent use of very limited space. The course plays away from other park users so the risk of drilling a jogger is extremely low. And because the overall foot print of the course is small, the risk of an errant disc braining another player is mitigated by well placed screens/barriers to protect other golfers that would be teeing off in areas where holes come in close proximity to each other. The course is very easy to navigate, as the designer has noted in other reviews, there are clear, easy-to-follow signs pointing to the next tee. But in the event weather or vandalism brings the signs down, there is a map posted in the "Files" section of the course.

This course looks like it can be played at all daylight hours, even if the gates are closed as there are several (at least 4) access points into the course from the surrounding neighborhoods. A large plus if you arrive a few minutes before the scheduled opening time and find the gates closed.
Cons: No glaring weaknesses come to mind except maybe this is NOT the best course to bring a beginner to in order to introduce one to the game. Wait! There is also a 2nd and it is on me, I am sorry it took me so long to play this course for the first time.
Other Thoughts: I don't anticipate many site users will find this review "helpful," but I had to praise Mr. Huether for such a wonderfully challenging course (now if we can only get the rest of us to take proper care of it . . .). This course seems to offer challenges for every skill level.

This course is all about hitting your lines and placement, placement, and did I mention, placement of one's throw. Though the overall length of most of the holes is short, don't let that fool you. A few inches either side of your line could mean plunking a tree, falling into the omnipresent creek bed, or sliding several feet away from the basket on the very fast & sloping greens. But at the same time, if you make your shots and have a little luck on your side, you can score very well.

The use of available elevation in the park is well thought out. Most of the elevation changes feed into that blasted and annoying creek bed that is in play for all but 5 holes. Even the most well-placed drives and approaches can skip or roll away a great distance on many of the holes, leaving a very tough, uphill putt to make birdie or save par.

Anyway, this course is highly rated by this user. I will definitely be back again in the future to take some more lumps. Hope to see y'all there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play It

5+    5/21/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: Pirate35
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been playing this course since it opened. Each time I go it gets better. At first this course had tons of crap around the holes and was not very appealing to the eye. Now much of the brush has been cleared and good trails have been cut out.

The baskets are great.

Great use of land.

Every hole is different, there are no holes that you feel are the exact same.

You must have a number of shots to do well on the course, BH, FH, I even use a couple tomahawks.

Such a fun course.
Cons: No signage.

Not hard to navigate though, but still would be nice to have more signage on the holes.

Need more trashcans on the course.

A lot of holes still do have piles of brush and vines and thick stuff that makes it difficult to retrieve a disc that goes in there.

Seen 2 snakes this week, so watch out!

Hole 12 is awful. It requires an uphill shot that must be placed perfectly to even have a chance on taking another shot at the basket for a birdie. I normally just play from the top of the hill. Wish there were another pad at the top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: This course can really be played with just fairways and mids.

If you make your shots you can shoot under very easily. If you mess up you can shoot very poorly.

Great course, it will only keep getting better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/29/2015 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review.
There are trash cans on all but 2!!!!! tees. Sometimes they are by the long pad, but one should be able to find them if one cares to. There are at least 1 and many times 2-3 yellow arrows per hole directly visible from the basket that direct people where to go. If attention is paid and people do not blindly wander there should be no directional concerns. For example: You can see the arrow to the right of the basket. Every hole is marked in this fashion. <a href="http://www.dgcoursereview.com...29fd3020.jpg" target="_blank">http://www.dgcoursereview.com...jpg</a>
Hole 12 will not change, 2 trees taken out recently leave a 40' diameter landing zone less than 200' from the tee, 260' from the basket. It is the designers philosophy that a few times in a round a birdie should be had from a couple of great shots. They should not just be handed out.

At the time of this review every hole had a hand laminated sign, however currently every tee has a permanent tee sign, those were just installed.

 Not Robbins You of a Good Time

1    5/16/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Might be one of the best blue level courses I've played. Terrific attention to detail and use of the land, great balance of holes and a nice, quiet round of golf. To give you an idea of what the course looks like, it's basically an open valley, then a wooded slope rising from a creek followed up top by another flat with open grass dotted by mature trees. It's a unique bit of property for a course and the layout really makes the best of what's available, right down to hole 18 ending right next to hole 1's tee and the parking lot, awesome.

As the golf goes, there isn't one particularly hole that blows you away with uniqueness or challenge but every hole looks or feels different enough to avoid being repetitive and I used more discs than I thought I would. The balance and variety of fairway shapes is really good in that you're not just playing valley holes or field holes or technical woods holes over and over. If you detest trees you'd say that the course is about 3/4 wooded but really it's closer to being slightly more wooded than open due to holes that play in and out of woods but not necessarily through them.

Distances are just about perfect for my Intermediate arm. You can probably score just as well without drivers but they're worth toting because of the occasional open hole or holes with slightly low ceilings. I really like how most of the holes didn't strongly favor a place your shots approach or a go for it approach, that balance word again.

Not the most pastoral and scenic of courses but far from being an ugly, urban type park setting either. The woods are beautiful, the creek is nice and I saw baby rabbits if that tells you anything. What's really remarkable is how mature and worn-in the course is, it feels like it's been here for years already.

One huge thing that I factor in that most (criminally) don't is how proactive the course is designed in regards to preventing erosion and other human-caused activities. Trails are on point, steps are cut into slopes to preserve the fairway, walls are made already to preserve greens and fairways, etc. Phenomenal. Then other things like benches, a pole on a hidden basket and necessary nets/walls to protect tees boost the enjoyment. Charlotte standard concrete tees of course, well located and easy enough to spot.
Cons: Briers were not a big deal except for the right side of hole 1. I don't imagine they'll be as formidable the next time I get down there and currently they're easy enough to avoid if you don't mind going OB on the left or hit the landing zone past the basket.

The only real con is a lack of permanent tee signs. On a busy day some players might run into each other in certain spots, maybe.

Hole 15 might be a little NAGS from the longs but if I sacked up and went for it instead of worrying about missing the fairway I might feel otherwise.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a tough way to start but a very interesting hole with its narrow fairway of OB left and thick rough to the right, both flanks being downhill. The landing zone really makes that hole work. Hole 16 is fantastic, I wish every open hole had that much shape and placement to it instead of just strong arming hyzers repeatedly. Like I said, none of the holes really stand out by themselves but so many holes reminded me of favorite holes from other courses, it's like a band doing good covers of other bands.

I usually underrate courses but I might overrate this one as I play it over time because I can't emphasize enough how appreciative I am of Huether's attention to detail in terms of design and preserving the course. Such a welcome change of pace to the courses put into my area where guys don't understand that water flows downhill and soil compacts when people repeatedly walk over it.

This is a must-play for golfers in this area and a timely, fun play-through for course baggers cramming in Charlotte's goodness on a road trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/19/2015 Designer Response by: 1978
Thanks for the review...baby rabbits but not baby dogs like in the pictures. Odd! Permanent signs are printing this week and will be installed within the next 2.

 Nice, repetitive, simple

1    5/14/2015   5/14/2015
Review By: TheIncredibleHuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great beginners course. Simple, repetitive and predictable.
Cons: Repetitive, almost a bit boring by hole 12. This is a course that would be great in other parts of the nation but in Charlotte it is the lesser quality course in relation to the others around it.
Other Thoughts: The course uses what is available to it but a 3.0 meaning "good" is about as good as its going to get here.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun. Tough. Thorny

2-4    2/15/2015   2/15/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 56  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fun...mostly. A lot of great elevation changes that lead to "fast greens" and the penalty for error is high.

The layout of the course uses every bit of the hillside and creek, and there is OB on almost every hole. A pro, because it challenges you, and keeps you on your toes.

Lots of tight tee shots that open into wider fairways

I'd say 1/3 open to 2/3 wooded holes

Most of the tees had accurate tee signs, describing elevation, OB and the route.

Easy to follow route through the course, with a decent amount of signage leading to the next tee

Well marked OB leaves little doubt if you're in or out

Purpose built drop zones for OB! Concrete pads just for OB drop zones...cool
Cons: Briars briars briars

Watch your step, and hope you don't have a bad shot. There are several holes where the briars are EVERYWHERE. I believe it was hole #11, where it seems that the fairway was cut through a briar patch.
Then again on 16 the entire left side of the fairway is thick briars. I found out the hard way...it's hard to retrieve a disc from them

Most of the tight shots are fair, but towards the back half of the course it seemed to be getting monotonous. Tight tight fairway, followed by a tight fairway. Not a huge con, as I still enjoy playing this course, but it does get annoying, especially on a bad day.

Tough to play just 9 holes because hole 9 leaves you at almost the farthest away point from parking. Although this is an easy way to convince yourself to play the back 9 to get back...I'd like to be somewhere near the parking halfway through in case I'm short on time.

Other Thoughts: I do really like this course, it is a ton of fun to play thanks to the creative layout that uses a great deal of the available elevation. There's uphill, downhill and shots across "valleys". Hole 18 is a great example of a valley shot, and a great finishing hole

Definitely worth playing this course! Bring your A game for the tight tunnel shots, and look out for briars...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 2/15/2015 Designer Response by: 1978
9 hole loop, 1-5 12-14 18

 Awesome Course

5+    1/15/2015   1/17/2015
Review By: DougT21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great shots through the trees that flatten out in to open areas. Great landing spots as greens make it rewarding for a good shot.
Cons: Back nine isn't as fun as front nine. With most holes in the woods on the back nine and leaves currently being down makes it easy to loose a disc under the leaves.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun course!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Rugged Robbins

5+    10/23/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: Gordito
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage; there are arrows to tell you where the next hole is. Each sign has a very accurate depiction of each hole, with arrows for elevation, etc.

Good variety of shots. There are right doglegs, left doglegs, par fours, mandos, elevation, tunnel shots, finesse shots, you name it.

Homemade bridges, hand rails, steps, ladders. The maker of this course put a lot of time into it, to make it a really fun course to play on and navigate. It feels like a course that you and your friends would make and build. It has a backyard tree house feel to it.

Very well balanced. #1 starts out with a pretty standard straightforward shot, with elevation to make it challenging. The course then moves to #2 and #3, which have a little bit more distance to them, and are a little trickier than hole 1. #2 is a downhill shot where you have to place your disc strategically, or else you will roll. #3 is a right dog leg, where some trees and low hanging branches come to play. The next couple of holes are tight, technical shots. After that the course gets longer, and more demanding, with some open holes at the end to mix it up.

You dont need insane distance to get a good score. You will do fine if you average around 300-350 feet.
Cons: The whole course plays around a creek, which is a cool idea, but can be a pain in the ass sometimes. If your disc is on the other side of the creek, it can be really tricky to get it back. You usually have to walk all the way around the creek until you find a way to cross it.

Although they have done a wonderful job to clean this park up and keep it maintained, there are a few areas that are nearly impossible to navigate. There is a field of thorny mess that comes to play on a couple of the holes halfway through. If your disc gets deep in there, you're better off saying goodbye to it and leaving it there.

A couple of the holes feel out of place with the rest of the course. Even though the course as a whole flows very well, hole 15, 16 feel very out of place to me. Hole 15 is a straight forward throw in the open, where the trees dont come into play as much as the designer would have liked. It should be a very easy birdie for most players. Hole 16 is a nice hole, but it does not fit the theme of the course. It is a decent sized, right dogleg, slightly elevated par 4. Again, it is a very fun hole, it just seems out of place.

Some of the holes are dangerously close to each other. For example, if you are looking for a disc on hole 1, you might get hit in the head by a stray disc coming in from one of the other holes.



Other Thoughts: Overall, I really like this course. It has a unique feel to it, while keeping true to the NC disc golf scene at the same time. If I had to compare it to any other park(s), I would say that its a mix of Elon eager beaver and Bradford park.
I have been playing on this course since it first came out, and its been really fun to watch it grow. You can tell that the course designer/community really cares about this park, and is taking a lot of time to make it a fun park to play at. I dont think this course has reached its final form yet, either.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/27/2014 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review. You are correct, work is still on going for more bridges and ladders and other amenities. Hole 15 and 16 are very much planned. I wanted a few holes where people could air it out to make the course well rounded. 15 is 415' slightly up hill, that is a challenging distance for 95% of players. 16 is a par 4 but will be bordered by OB in tournaments. Those 2 holes eat up the most discs because of the border grass. Thanks for playing so often! You can be a big help by picking up trash and throwing fallen limbs off the fairway!

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.