Pendelton, IN 
Falls Park Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #7 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    3/21/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 291  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pendleton Indiana is home to a surprisingly beautiful series of parks that are linked like pearls along Falls Park Drive. You can access the disc golf course by first stopping by the scenic little falls and the park there, driving past the ball fields, and on to 'the other side of the tracks' to the small park that feels more or less mostly dedicated to our flying discs. The best part is, when you get there, you'll have a fun set of nine 'par 3' holes to challenge the Recreational to Intermediate player.

A detailed and informative course map stands beside the decent level concrete tee for hole 1. The baskets are the triple chained Arachnids, painted in bright colors for visibility. The signage at each tee is excellent, with distances and layout clearly indicated. Every place on the course with a blind basket position, there's an extra marker, visible from the tee, which points the way to the fairway line. And the course flow is simple, intuitive, and makes for a complete loop back to the start.

With mature park trees (and no underbrush) giving you multiple line options on the five more 'open' holes, you could enjoy just those holes (or even 'safari' around this area), and likely not get tired of the variety. But you also have a set of woods lanes on holes 4 through 7 to give you a different type of challenge. They're not long holes, but you'll have fun finding the sweeping and fading lines in to the decently cleared greens. There's even some 'risk' when you notice these holes are newer, meaning getting off the fairway might put you in some thorny situations, and there's a water hazard to the right of hole 6.

In all, we really enjoyed Falls Park, as our group kept saying, I'd really prefer this course over the nine holer we have near home! If this were a full 18, I'd easily go up a half to full point in my rating.
Cons: There aren't any big arm holes on the course, if you need to have that to be happy. The rough is still a little unforgiving on a couple of woods holes, and the water by hole six looks deep and still, as if it might harbor a heck of a lot of mosquitoes later in the year (really glad we got here in March). Arachnid baskets got mixed reviews from our group: my putts seem to work well on them, but the rest of our group saw times when the top chains of the three tiered set seemed to kick discs out a little too often. (I still like them for the deep cages and bright coloring!)
Other Thoughts: I've played a few different Jerry Suiter designed courses now, and am fairly well impressed with the way he helps put in the right type of course for the setting and clientele. A small church 'front yard' got a very short, open course with every line of flight being safely angled. This park got a really nice, perfectly scaled nine holes. The new course over in Selma is bigger and more challenging, with the chance of actually being competition-worthy if they do go on to fill it up to 18 holes in the space they've got by the reservoir. Kudos, sir!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stop by and see the Falls!

1    12/21/2014   12/21/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 372  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *New concrete tee pads and spider baskets
*Good beginner course that requires you to hit your lines perfectly to get the birdie
*9 distinctly different holes
*Great signage
*Very technical course
Cons: *There was a couple of tee pads really close to the previous basket. This course doesn't seem to be intended for tournaments or heavy play, so it shouldn't be much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this little 9-holer and wanted to play it a second time. But, being my 5th course played on the day, I settled for my week 2 under. I love how the holes require you to hit your lines perfectly to get a birdie.

It is located in Falls Park, but no where near the beautiful Falls. A must stop right off the interstate, mainly to see the falls and stretch your legs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, tougher than it appears

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 107  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a great intermediate level course. It might be too tough for beginners in the woods, and would be great practice for advanced players.

Baskets - 9 brand new Spiderweb 3 baskets. Baskets in the open are painted bright green and the ones in the woods are painted bright orange. They are highly visible and catch great.

Tees - One 10 x 4 concrete tee per hole.

Signs - Course map at the start of the course that tells details about disc golf and has distances and par for each hole. Holes all have their own sign that have a map, par listing, distance, and shows you she next tee is. There are multiple signs around the course pointing you towards the next tee.

Variety - 5 holes in the open that have many mature trees as obstacles, 4 holes in the woods with tight fairways that are all blind shots. Course does not favor one particular type of throw. Distances are between 160-270 but the shorter the hole, the tougher it is.

Challenge - For only being 9 holes, this was a tough course. It requires several placement/technical shots.

Easy to navigate thanks to signs.

Easy to get to from either direction (state road 38 or state road 9). If you take state road 38 from the highway, there are brown signs pointing you to the course off the highway ramp and downtown. Very scenic park if you take SR 38 entrance.

Course ends where it starts. Complete loop.

Very quiet and peaceful park. Playground, trash cans, and some benches on site.
Cons: This course would be much more playable if it had a second set of concrete tees per holes. The wooded holes need an easier tee with a more direct line for beginners or new players.

Poison ivy in rough of hole 3 and in some spots of the wooded holes.

Tons of Mosquitos, especially near woods. Large creek with standing water. Bring bug spray.

Wooded / blind holes hook at almost a 90 degree angle on holes 5 and 7. Could be tough for beginners, especially on placement throws.

Wooded holes can be extremely muddy after rain.

Basket of hole 6 is within 20 feet of tee for 7. 6 is a blind shot so it could be dangerous.

Lots of potential to lose a disc.
No nearby courses to make this trip a loop.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and it was much needed for the area. It was tough enough to make me come back. Nice mix of open to tightly wooded to open which balanced out the course. I would recommend it to anyone traveling the highway, especially if they are looking for something new.

Dual tees, a little more clearing, a 3 hole expansion, and bug spray (bring your own) would make this course better. After hole 2, there is some room for this park to expand 3 more holes towards the right. It is perfect for the area and there is not much to make it better.

A spotter is needed in the woods because there is thick rough and all holes are blind. I will be definitely be back. It was not too far of a drive from Indy.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course

1    7/3/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Boomdabah
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Overall: This course has a nice layout that really plays quick but lays well for beginners to intermediate players.

Baskets: Baskets are nice bright orange and green which makes them easy to spot and the chains grab really well.

Pads: Tee pads seem worn in but allow enough room for a good throw. I thought the pads were a bit dirty but none were cracked or in bad condition.

Signs: Great welcoming board that explains the rules and gives a great layout of the whole course. Individual signs give a good representation of the hole.

Terrain: I wish that the tall grass on holes 5 &6 were more taken care of because I spent a deal looking for discs and the weeds were very narly. Everything is flat but some holes provide challenge with dog legs into the woods and baskets behind trees.

Other Thoughts: This course provided a good challenge and gives a great par 3 for any player. Not far from I-69 south and didn't have much traffic especially during a holiday weekend.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.