Fort Thomas, KY 
Highland Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: esc1 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Unimpressive

5+    6/18/2008   9/15/2009
Review By: Dice
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes great use of space and natural obstacales.

This course is generally very empty, in the six or seven times I have played this course I have never seen anyone else doing so.

The location is nice for those living on the riverfront on the KY side of things.
Cons: When I started playing this was the closest course to my house. I played there four or five times before Surge got more established.

The maintenance of this course is some of the worst I have ever experienced, especially when you consider where it is.

Tee boxes are difficult to locate or to use if located.

Baskets are in atrocious shape.

The playground is in a bad location for errant throws.

Some tees feel as though you are in someones back yard.

Overall Lack of signage (indicating the start of the course) or a very detailed map as of the last time I played (over a year ago).

The last time I played the park seemed to be a construction zone.
Other Thoughts: If I still lived in NKY, I would play Surge as my "short" home course. Skip this course there are far better that are probably just as close.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick or Beginner Round

5+    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 15.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course makes good use of the land available in the park. It is very hilly so the elevation changes provide a lot of the variety. No holes are overly difficult and so makes a good course for beginners. I especially like #9, a great risk/reward hold with enough length to make for a great closer. All the tees have signs marking the length, par, and hole layout and are in decent shape. Course plays fast and is not crowded so it's easy to get in a quick 9 or 18.
Cons: Most holes do not interfere with the rest of the park but there are a couple. When there is a baseball game there may be problems with cars parked along the road, which is in the throwing area for #7. Not the fault of the course designers entirely, most of the blame is with people not willing to park in the parking lots available and walk to the field. Also, #9 has a couple of picnic tables that people sometimes will sometimes be sitting that are in range of most players' drive.

A couple of the tee pads need work, especially #4 as another reviewer mentioned. I think many people throw from the side of the tee in the dirt to avoid the uneven rocks that form the pad. Some of the baskets are in poor condition with a loose chain or two or a bent basket. Keep a close eye because some of these baskets make it possible for the disc to slip out of the bottom of the basket on an "in" shot.
Other Thoughts: Nice little park with playground, dog, picnic/shelter, and baseball areas. There are even some shuffle board and ill-maintained tennis courts near the first few holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/2/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really have found this course a great place for a beginner to cut their teeth on. Recently someone has did a little work to the baskets so they are not as bad a they were and the mud pit and rocks have been replaced with truck's. This course has some great elevation change with some challenging holes. I understand that the boy scouts built this course and they did a fine job. This course is close to downtown cincinnati so if you are like me you can leave work at noon and get 9 holes in and be back to work before lunch is over. Big plus in my book.
Cons: Some tees are getting bad especcialy 4 as most of the stone has slipped apart making it hard to tee off.. Some holes do not have tee markers. Baskets need work.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad beginner course that can help with most aspects of the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kind of run down...

1    9/17/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is near others and could be included in a multi-course day.

Some of the holes offer challenging D, and trees. Nothing too nasty, but enough to make a difference if you're playing a close game with your buddies.
Cons: My major gripe with this course is that the surrounding park does not lend a lot to the atmosphere of the course. The park is situated right in the middle of a suburban neighborhood. Unfortunately, you don't feel like your away from civilization which is one of my favorite things about playing disc golf. Some of the holes are adjacent to a run-down basketabll court which is literally covered in rubble. It looks like a battlefield.

Also, the baskets are kind of beat up.. With my terrible putting, I can't afford to be stuck with a stroke because a basket's bent out of shape (ha ha).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Hills

2-4    12/20/2009   8/17/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good starter course. A good 9 hole course. Combo of righty and lefty holes. In downtown area. Has good D. Offers some challenges. Teesigns installed.
Cons: Old baskets. Rusted Chains. Hard to putt. In the middle of a neighborhood. Most tees uneven. Tees are very slippary when raining or snowing. 7 and 9 teesigns missing. All baskets are bent. Lots of vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Some other courses near so play those too. This course was the one that encouraged me to play Disc Golf. If you want more of a challenge, go to Lincoln Ridge or Mt. Airy forest.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 98  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2010
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are mature trees and huge elevation changes.
Cons: The baskets are not good they are very old and beat up. The flow of the course is messed up because of the baseball feilds.
Other Thoughts: Nine holes with old baskets that are in bad shape. Good design with some d and woods not a hard course but offers some challenges.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 hole in N. KY

5/14/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the best 9 hole courses around. The space is large enought that it could have been an 18, but a real short 18. Instead it was done very well. Nice mix of technical and a few long shots.
Cons: Only 9 holes unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: Park is on a ded-end street... look for a sign on a light pole pointing to the park.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.