Fort Thomas, KY 
Highland Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: esc1 Hole #9 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 482ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Where I Learned The Game

5+    11/10/2018   11/10/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing a quick round here is easy -- it is never crowded and the 9 holes take under 30 minutes either alone or with a small group. The holes are fairly basic, but there are a couple longer, more difficult holes that stand out. There is a lot of elevation change in play here, which is unusual for a course this short. Someone has taken creating signs into their own hands and scribbled an approximate distance, basket layout, and next tee arrow on the wooden posts by the teepads, and frankly this might be the only time where course graffiti has been a plus.

I do want to highlight Holes 5 and 9, as they stand out above the rest. Hole 5 provides a lot of distance (my guess is 410' or so) with an appreciable amount of trees in the direct line of the basket. Hole 9 is also long (430'?) that goes over a valley of sorts and forces you to throw a long straight shot, otherwise the disc will hyzer into the woods.
Cons: The baskets are bad; they are often bent and do not catch discs well at all. The layout is pretty bland beyond Holes 5 and 9, many involving straight shots with some elevation (which is nice) but very few obstacles otherwise (which is not nice). When a baseball game is playing, holes 7-9 become unplayable due to parked cars along the road that meanders past these holes.

However, the most frustrating part of this course is navigation. There are no tee signs on this course (the graffiti work mentioned in the pros doesn't count it) and no signs within the park at all acknowledging the course is there. There are several long walks between holes, notably 6 to 7 which walks all the way to the other side of the baseball field (at least 600' from pin to tee). Some teepads point toward multiple baskets (3 and 5 come to mind), so unless you know the course layout, it is not entirely clear how to play it.
Other Thoughts: Highland Park is an average course layout with terrible "extras" (baskets, signage, local support) that is only worth playing if you are in Fort Thomas. I grew up within walking distance of this course, and it was always easy to go and play a round or two (or five) with friends or by yourself to work on your game. It holds a lot of sentimental value to me, but I just played there today with the mind of someone who had never played there before and frankly, it is not worth it. If you are looking to play a semi-quality disc golf course and do not live within about ten minutes of this course, it is not worth the visit. There are an abundance of good courses throughout the Greater Cincinnati area that deserve to be played more than this one, and unless a significant amount of work is done to improve the course features, it will not be a destination.

Frankly, this was a hard one for me to rate, having known the course for so long and having seen it be "redesigned" a bit over the years. I couldn't decide between a 1.5 and a 2.0, and ultimately went with the 1.5 because if I was not familiar with the course, I would not know how to navigate it. If some money was put forward and someone with an eye for disc golf came in to better locate some of the baskets, I think a fairly strong 9 hole course could be here. However, having grown up in Fort Thomas, I do not see the city doing that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Nine Hole Course

2-4    10/15/2016   10/18/2016
Review By: Cyrus
Played: 107  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Great facilities with water fountains and a dog park close by
+ Some holes have some length to them, something not all nine hole courses have
+ Course is always mowed
Cons: - Baskets really need replaced.
- There is a lack of signage (although there are sign posts, so maybe they will put signs on the course at some point)
Other Thoughts: This course has potential if someone would just put some love into it and maybe reroute a couple of the holes. Some of the holes have notable aspects to them which make them memorable (#5, 6, 7, 9, in my opinion), but others are just a let down.

The baskets are frustrating, as they can spit out even putts drilled directly in the center.

Be sure to download the course map before going. It is easy get confused on which tee/basket is next.

The hills may tire you out if you are not used to hiking up and down steep inclines.

There are not generally many other players on the course, which can be either a positive or negative.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    6/25/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Variety of holes
+ Uncrowded usually
+ Always well mowed
+ Excellent facilities with several water fountains


Cons: - Bad baskets
- No signage
- Baseball games can make holes 8 and 9 unplayable
- People can get in the way easily
Other Thoughts: Home course for me.. hiding a lot of potential.

They have recently put in two new teepads on 1 and 2 so now all holes have proper teepads. Yay! Now it just needs some signage and new baskets. Someone has taken it upon themselves to sharpie the hole numbers, so I guess that helps. I've reached out to the city to try and get the baskets replaced before but no luck. There have been rumors of expanding the course in recent years, but not any movement on that. A walking trail went in parallel to the two finishing holes, but I've never seen anyone on it. Maybe it could be used for a course expansion in the future. It pains me to rate the course a 2, but with signage and new baskets it would be a solid 3.

Hole 1 - Close to the stop sign you hit before entering the park. Plenty of parking close here unless there is a high school baseball game. Restrooms right across from the play ground. Play hole 1 straight down hill. The woods behind the hole are not very thick if you go long, but not easy to play out of either.

Hole 2 - Cross the sidewalk and just up hill from the volleyball courts. A short ace run dead ahead. Throw something flat unless you want to see it roll into the parking lot or porta potty.

Hole 3 - Move down hill to the back of the gravel lot and across the bridge or just straight to the teepad if you don't like bridges. Straight throw up the hill towards the telephone pole.

Hole 4 - Close and just slightly up hill from the last basket. The ground here is a former volleyball court. Throw is a hyzer shot to the left. RIP to the mature ash trees that used to make this more difficult.

Hole 5 - Go up hill to the right of the bathrooms. Its a far shot to the back left of the woods. Teens will occasionally string some kind of hammocks up between the trees here. Watch out for players on the fairway of the next hole and check for anyone on the picnic table.

Hole 6 - Towards the baseball field left wall. There is a wooded trail back this way. You throw straight ahead and slightly to the left. Be mindful of the picnic table that you eyed on the last teepad.

Hole 7 - Take a good walk past the baseball field. The teepad is past home plate and down from another porta potty. Hyzer to the left or straight throw towards the dog park. Woods are thick in the summer there.

Hole 8 - Move uphill and across the street. Hyzer or straight shot over the road toward the big pine covering the last teepad. The woods are kinda thick towards the basket, so be mindful of hyzering out too much. Mando to the left of the telephone pole for a greater challenge.

Hole 9 - You're easiest teepad to spot! Another picnic table to be mindful of but its in clear view. There are vines in the trees half way down the left fairway that might try to keep your disc if you tempt them. The woods there are not difficult to walk through if necessary.

Please take care if playing this course while there are high winds. The tree's drop limbs very easily! On a positive note, you will be hard pressed to find a rural course with more wildlife. Deer walk everywhere like they just don't care.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

5+    7/23/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 30.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 baskets to shoot at
it has tee boxes
family friendly
good for brand new players or kids
its short, quick and painless, and easy
Cons: The area for Disc golf offers so much more than this course, so it receives little or no attention
Baskets are old and gone to rust
Other Thoughts: There's more courses around to play at, I suggest to find another one

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park Improvements Ignored Disc Golf?]

5+    6/21/2013   8/16/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 312  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small, hilly, neighborhood park in northern Kentucky, just minutes from downtown Cincinnati, has had major infrastructure improvements in the past year or so. Beautiful pavilions, bathrooms, landscaping, a top-notch baseball field (with benches placed between shade trees overlooking the third base line, a wonderful scoreboard, etc), and play areas, have all been added or upgraded.

The DG course has some very interesting, hilly shots, starting with a 259 foot downhill where you'll want to put on the brakes, and not run long into the woods, through a series of right, then left-bending shots through this rolling terrain, and a finishing hole that will stretch out your arm (482', with OB roadway on the right, and trees to navigate, plus a down slope left to avoid: a tricksy challenge).

Holes 3-9 now have nicely sized poured concrete tees. The baskets have been fixed up and freshly powdercoated (2016). Hole 2 currently plays as a short ace run, and no longer conflicts with 3, which plays further up the hill. And they put 7 where it should be: out about 290' across the valley.

There is a decent range of distances here for the Rec to Int arm, requiring some thought to navigate the sometimes tight gaps through the park trees.
Cons: 2016 edit: Many of the former hazards have been fixed! Be careful though, as there is a picnic table in the left side of the #6 fairway (blind from the tee), so walk up and check to be sure it's unoccupied before you throw!!! There are also two tables to the right of the #9 fairway.

And the 8th hole still requires a low, hard drive from a nearly blind angle to travel over the roadway for nearly 200' (and needing to wait, and sometimes wait a long time, for cars, pedestrians, joggers, and so on, to clear). Or a mando will be declared, but again, that won't stop the casuals...
Other Thoughts: This park is really looking great, and the DG course seems to be on its way back to being a really fun challenge. I plan to revisit and update this review again (and raise my rating) once they've finished the upgrades.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice rolling hills

1    1/17/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A technical course played on nice rolling hills .
The course has a good mix of long and short holes which were enjoyable to play .
The course offer nice basket placements that make for a nice challenge .
Cons: hole one plays close to a basketball court ,and some of the other holes plays very close to areas that other park goers use puts people at risk of being hit .
the baskets were some of the worst I have ever played on
Other Thoughts: Much better courses in the surronding areas

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short And Sweet

5+    9/14/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 118  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The one thing that this course does have is the elevation changes. They know how to use their surroundings. There are hills here so they put them to good use. It is also a great beginner course. There are the holes that the beginners will really enjoy. Very easy to navigate your way through this course. The park is never very crowded. You can come and get a quick round of nine down in no time. Great location located in Fort Thomas and is near nice courses. There is plenty of parking so you will never have to park all the way down the street. The trees here are very nice. They know how to use the trees very well.
Cons: First of all the tee signs are torn up and of to no use now. You are just going to have to look around the park to find the basket for this hole. The tee is nothing but grass, and sometimes pretty rough. It is not good to be on a bumpy surface while throwing. The thing that was the worst to me was the baskets. They had some of the chains unhooked, and the baskets were old and rusted. I actually hit the chains right down the middle and it fell through a hole in the basket. I have no idea where the seventh tee is. I looked all over for it and was still unable to find it. So i gave up and just threw.
Other Thoughts: Considering where this course is located near a bunch of other very nice one i dont recommend coming here. Unless you are just right in the area and want to get in a quick round dont go here. In particular this is not a very challenging course at all. I finished well under par. There are a couple of holes here that could be considered ace holes. So when you go bring alot of disc and go for the ace. This is just very short and sweet.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Hills

5+    6/30/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location is nice in Fort Thomas nothing else very close. Park is kept well. Nice elevation changes good mix of wooded holes(not heavily wooded) and open holes. As well as a mix of lengths. Good course to get people going/started playing.
Cons: Holes 1-6 are split from 7-9 by a small walk. The tee pads are the biggest con. They are stone to it is uneven with gaps. They are not level and some are in very bad condition. You have to be careful that you don't end up twisting your ankle or rolling it. Be careful. The tee signs aren't very accurate, they just moved a few holes without changing the tee signs. Condition of baskets is alright.
Other Thoughts: It is a nine hole course. Construction is happening near two of the holes. The first hole throws right by someone's back yard if your not careful/new players could end up in their yard.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs lots of work...

1    6/7/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Good use of elevation changes

+Plenty of Parking

+Not crowded at all

+Decent hole lengths for an easy 9
Cons: - Horrible tee pads. Seriously they're a broken ankle waiting to happen, uneven stones are worse than just dirt.

-Couldn't find tee for #7, was looking all around the road as I knew it had to be somewhere around there, but eventually just made one up and threw towards the basket.

-As mentioned above, navigating the course is a bit tricky with the lack of signs. A sign for #9 is missing, and I don't know about #7, as I couldn't find the tee...
Other Thoughts: There was an active construction zone going on behind basket #3, so be wary of that if you go.

The hills can be very slippery especially from dew if you play in the morning. Be careful on the tee pads, too. Some of them are especially awful.

This could be a great course if it was well maintained and had better tee pads. If you can't spring for concrete, at least level the stones out of just go with natural tees...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unimpressive

5+    6/18/2008   9/15/2009
Review By: Dice
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes great use of space and natural obstacales.

This course is generally very empty, in the six or seven times I have played this course I have never seen anyone else doing so.

The location is nice for those living on the riverfront on the KY side of things.
Cons: When I started playing this was the closest course to my house. I played there four or five times before Surge got more established.

The maintenance of this course is some of the worst I have ever experienced, especially when you consider where it is.

Tee boxes are difficult to locate or to use if located.

Baskets are in atrocious shape.

The playground is in a bad location for errant throws.

Some tees feel as though you are in someones back yard.

Overall Lack of signage (indicating the start of the course) or a very detailed map as of the last time I played (over a year ago).

The last time I played the park seemed to be a construction zone.
Other Thoughts: If I still lived in NKY, I would play Surge as my "short" home course. Skip this course there are far better that are probably just as close.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.