Princeton, WV 
Glenwood Park Share
Uploaded By: greg_b_4 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee: First tree on other side of posts mando left, basket to right of group of trees



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

1    5/13/2022   5/13/2022
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 672  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 18.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood park has numerous activities for the whole family. Mini golf, fishing, playgrounds, paddle boat rentals and oh yeah, a really nice 18 hole disc golf course. The course is $2 a person to play from May to October, free the rest of the year. Well worth the price of admission if you ask me.

The course plays along the lake but not really close enough for it to be much of a concern. You do throw over a little inlet on one hole which is the only true water carry here. Fun little ace run though.

The course is a mix of open and moderately wooded, and sometimes both on the same hole. There's a good amount of elevation here and it's used very well. It seemed the mix of uphill and downhill was split pretty evenly.

The baskets are Discatchers. These are all mounted nicely and catch great. Not sure about all the holes but many of them had multiple pin locations. I'm assuming that they shorten them in the winter and place them in the longs in the warmer months. They all seemed to be set in the long positions today.

The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. There's a few longer walks in between holes, but these are marked pretty well for the most part. I'd still recommend using the Udisc map but it's definitely doable without it.

The tees are a mish mash of different surfaces. Most of the Blues and whites are artificial turf. These are actually pretty nice. These tend to be hit or miss but these ones were nice. It had rained before we got there and then for 10 or so minutes mid round. No issues whatsoever on these. There were also a few concrete pads scattered throughout. The red tees were just grass/dirt with a red paver board marking the front of the tee. Most holes had 3 tee pads/areas.

The design is very well thought out. There's a pretty even mix of right and left turning shots, uphill, downhill etc. They did a great job of getting 18 solid holes into this area to be honest. Well done.


Cons: As I mentioned above there's a few longer walks between holes. We didn't have a problem for the most part, but I did use the Udisc map. If any of the next tees signs disappear as they like to do in public parks, navigation could be very difficult/impossible without a map.

There are going to be lots of other people using the park, which in turn can force you to have to skip certain holes or at least play from a shorter tee. There were numerous fishermen and people walking dogs today who ended up parking on or near a fairway. It is what it is, just be aware.

I don't remember the hole number but one of them plays downhill between the fences of 2 basketball courts. Not the best design here. An errant shot can easily go sailing over either of these fences.

The tee signs weren't very helpful. They were just homemade signs with a rudimentary hole map and distances. The map didn't really help very. The distances were fine, if the pin was in that spot. These could definitely use an ugrade.

The tee pads, as decent as they were, are on the tiny side. If they could eventually lengthen and widen these it would be a major upgrade. They're serviceable as is, but definitely not ideal.


Other Thoughts: This is just a really fun, well designed (except the basketball hole) course. I'm glad that I made the little detour off our route to play here. It didn't disappoint. I didn't get the chance to play the nearby one in Princeton, but there's that one nearby as well. Good looking one two punch if you're travelling through and want to stretch your legs and toss some discs. Pipestem State Park is also a nearby option. Such a beautiful area to play some disc golf.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the Mountain State

5+    12/4/2021   1/9/2022
Review By: The Last DJ
Played: 233  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 14.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Design: This is a full 18 hole course with three sets of tees can be played to suit all ability levels ranging from beginner to expert. A good mix of holes give players an array of challenges including woods, wind, water, and elevation. Even with some elevation changes this is a cart-friendly course.

+ Baskets: Innova DISCatchers are installed. These targets are top-of-the-line and catch discs exceptionally well. The bright yellow bands can easily be seen from a distance. Several holes have alternate pins to add variety for locals.

+ Location: Glenwood Park is located in Princeton, West Virginia which has options for food and lodging. The course is roughly 15 minutes from I-77.

+ Local Club Activity: The Southern West Virginia Disc Golf is a great group of golfers that are very welcoming to new players. They run a variety of weekly leagues and organize fun tournaments throughout the year. I have played the First Frost and the Southern Shootout in the past. Events were well run and tons of fun. Plan to play a league or tournament here if you get the chance.

+ Amenities: Glenwood park also has fishing, boating, hiking, biking, tennis courts, basketball hoops, mini golf, playgrounds, and picnic shelters. There are year-round rentals available at the Mercer County 4-H Camp next to the park.

+ Proximity to Other Courses: Glenwood is definitely the gem of Southern West Virginia but course baggers can find additional layouts nearby. Princeton City Park and Pipestem State Park are both worthy courses within a short drive of Glenwood. New courses at Little Beaver, Twin Falls, and Lake Stephens are in the works. Players willing to make the drive to the Other Virginia have additional options.
Cons: - Tees: There are three sets of tees at this course ranging in difficulty but the shorter beginner layout can be difficult to find. Tees here are turf but some are uneven so players that use a run-up may dislike a few tee boxes.

- Signage: Most of the layout here is intuitive but a few twists and turns along with some blind holes may cause out-of-towners to do some unnecessary walking. Reference a map or take a local with you to have the best experience and make navigation easy.

- Other Park Users: Golfers are likely to share the park with others, especially on weekends or any time there is nice weather. This can include walkers, fishers, and parked cars and may cause players to skip holes. Be courteous and share the park so that everyone can enjoy the space.

- Lost Discs: Know that there are several opportunities to lose some plastic. There are a few small spots where an errant shot could put your disc in the rough but most holes are very fair. The water holes are the ones that may eat a disc. Even when being cautious the wind from the lake can send your disc to the watery abyss. I've even lost a putter to Glenwood! Be sure your discs are inked with contact info as locals do dive in the water and are good about returning plastic.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay-to-play course most of the year. Greens fees are affordable so this isn't a negative as money collected goes toward park upkeep. Be prepared with a few dollars to gain entrance to the park.

This park has several "signature" holes that make it special...

#2 is a fun par three with a bowl near the green. A large guardian tree and OB long and left requires a precise drive and an accurate putt to grab the birdie.

#3 is slightly downhill par three. A mandatory along with OB and a sloped fairway make par a good score here.

#4 is your first taste of the woods. Off the tee players will have an open look although they must position themselves in a place to attack the green. Heavy woods guard this dogleg left as the basket is hidden uphill from the main fairway.

#7 is a slightly wooded downhill look that ends with an elevated pin. This hole is all about the tee shot. You can choose to play safe between two OB tennis courts or go big and try to get the elusive deuce.

#12 is a legitimate par four or five depending on the layout you play. A slightly downhill tee shot requires accuracy to reach a landing zone below. Try to land a little left of center so that you can cut the corner on your next shot. The approach to the green has tight OB to keep players honest.

#13 is a difficult par four with an uphill tee shot. You'll want to cut the corner on this dogleg right and make a careful approach to the sloped green in order to score well here.

#16 may be the most fun drive of the day. This is a downhill pull to a guarded basket with a nice view of the lake. From here on out you can expect the wind to pick up and play a factor in your game.

Glenwood is among the best layouts in the Mountain State (especially from the long tees)! The variety will require players to use every shot in the bag to score well. Do yourself a favor and try out Glenwood as soon as you can!


16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Listen To The Music On The Lake!

1    11/14/2020   12/3/2020
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 259  Reviewed: 248  Exp: 11.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: It's been almost three weeks since I played here. I had final exams coming up and didn't have much time to spare. Grad school is HARD! I love this course a lot and want to do it justice on this review.

-Glenwood's scenery, terrain, variety, and location on the lake stole my heart. I played the blues and was delighted with the thrill of throwing over the lake twice on holes ten and seventeen. Course is very hilly and has some excellent steep downhills and uphills. The baskets were all in the long pins when I played, which I didn't even know there were any! On that layout, I had the pleasure of playing some par 4s and a couple of par 5s.

-Suitable for everyone since there are three sets of pads. There was a doubles tournament going on when I dropped by and the players were all playing the white pads to the long pins. The whites are pretty simple to the original pins, somewhat overparred for intermediate players. The white pads to long pins make this course much more suitable for an intermediate player. The reds are the rec pads and they are fun enough to make a newbie fall in love with disc golf.

-Again. Glenwood is very hilly. I love elevation but relevance and distinctiveness are important to me too. I played Princeton, Glenwood, and then Thornspring and I strongly wish I played here last instead of Thornspring. Thornspring was a very long and a very hilly open course too, but did not have as much meaning to it since it is extremely long and wide open on a golf course.

-Glenwood is one of the most meaningful courses I have ever played from the long pins. #4's long pad has you teeing up instantly up the side of the hill that you throw on the previous hole. The hole continues out in the open gently uphill. The fairway eventually takes you to the woods and then the elevation increase gets steeper and higher. Probably up about 45' in elevation if I have to guess from the long pad. Challenging enough in the short pin. The long pin is harder. It's barely any further, but it's sharply to the left side of the short pin. Very meticulous and surprising how maybe 75' can make a hole much tougher. This is a challenging par four and one that is wonderfully designed! #7 and #8 (especially #8) were both fun downhill shots. #7 was nice and unique being a tricky flex shot out of the woods into the open next to an OB fence. #8 was EPIC! 353' and severely downhill. I threw a putter and was underneath the basket. Not to mention the green has a couple of boulders between the basket. Hole is dead straight so if you hit the line reasonably well, you'll get to see your disc glide! #16's drive down a big steep hill off of a flat lot was sweet too! There's more that I'll get to.

-After playing two joyous downhill holes (joyous to me at least), you get to play another one. Not as far down but slightly downhill the entire way (maybe a 25' decline in elevation change from the long). That is #9. You have a view of the reservoir that you are throwing directly toward. The lake is maybe 40' past the basket, so if you are too powerful, you'll be in the water. Hole is a par four, so if you have a long enough drive from the pad, you'll have a better chance in seeing the basket on you upshot. It's a real grip and rip from the long pad, but there is a gap you have to hit since it starts in the woods.

After #9 you get to play OVER the lake on #10. A super fun ace run. Only about 225' from the long and about 180' from the short. Not a long hole, but you have to be no more maybe 20' short of the basket to not be out of bounds. If you play the blues, you'll have an extremely scary but fun experience on #17. This hole is much tougher than it looks. The white tee isn't very hard, as it is longer but wide open. The blue pad is a 546' beast! If you can't clear 350', play the white pad. There was a slight headwind when I threw, so it took a pretty good rip to have a secure spot in the open past the lake. The basket is tucked in a wooded pocket. From the pads, it looks like the basket is barely in there but not really. It's about 40' past the clearing.

-#11's long pin was a killer par five. Especially from the blue. The blue pad is next to the reservoir, making a unique tee area. The short pin is halfway up the big hill, being a softer par four with it being open. The long pin is all the way up the hill and tucked into the woods on top of the hill to the right. Many holes here have elevation changes past the 25' mark and this hole is just past the 50' mark. It's under 700' and seems easy to birdie, but it's actually quite hard. The next par five, and this is a par five from both pins, is well the next hole! #12. This hole was a blast to play. 644' in the original pin and about 750' in the long. The basket was in the long. The drive is another big downhill and this time it's initially open and through a gap that's pretty far from the blue pad. Many ways to attack this hole and make a birdie. You could go short and have an easier second shot through the gap. Or you could go big and try to hit the gap off the pad. If you hit it, you might have a chance for eagle or you could lose a stroke or two in the woods. The short pin is pretty much straight ahead, but the long pin is tucked in the woods up a small hill to the right side.

-Lots of forgiveness. The original pins make this a relatively easier course because of par. The long pins are quite harder and were a more enjoyable challenge for me but there were still plenty of easy birdies out there for a 960 rated player like myself. Course is more open than usual but still has some wooded holes.
Cons: -The layout I played was epic. The first hole and final hole have more meaning in the long pins since they are quite close to the lake. None of the holes here to me are bland or have a lack in meaning. The only problem was the difficulty of navigation. The long tees don't all have signs and they are sometimes difficult to spot. Only the white tees all have signs. There's no course kiosk. U disc made Glenwood a lot easier to navigate. I needed help from a local on locating #4's long pad.

-I guess the road on #3 and #4 is hard to avoid sometimes. You'll see pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: -Hole 8 is one of the greatest holes that I have ever played. It was kind of like two other epic holes that I've played, but longer and with even more of an elevation drop. #18 at Inverness in Hoover, Alabama sort of came to mind. More so would be #12 at Stoney Hill in Newberry, SC. That hole is more open but same premise. Straight and a long way downhill onto an island green with a creek. #8 at Glenwood is even funner than those two holes! There's a small creek (or ditch) near the basket along with some boulders. #11 and #13 were both fun huge uphill drives for me and made the shorter distances for their par very well justified. #11 from blue to long plays probably close to 850'. #13 was a dogleg right and doesn't turn until maybe 250' from the blue pad, doesn't seem far, but the top of the hill is probably 40' above the tee pad. You'll have to really crush it to be able to birdie this par four even though it's under 450'.

-#16 was another signature hole. The white pad was more traditional. You know, steep downhill from the get go and slightly to the right side. The danger is the potential (despite it being low) to roll left off of the side and be left with a tricky upshot or even in the lake. The water is visible from the white pad. The blue pad is a very creative and originally thought out challenge. You tee off on the top of the hill yes, but you are further back and the hill doesn't decline until you reach the white pad. From the blue pad, this hole is flat for the first 100'. You have to be very cautious and critical because of the big change of the terrain that you don't immediately get to. It changes the flight of your disc. I had to think for a couple of minutes on how I was going to try and attack this hole. It's hard to throw 400' straight or have it flex to the end at the end of a longer distance. Usually discs will fade left but that's not at all what you want here. The basket is just a touch to the right side. Sidearm throwers will have an easier time with this challenge, but a backhand dominant thrower like myself will have to find their most reliable understable driver.

-I absolutely love Glenwood. I was really stuck between giving it a 4 or 4.5. Based on how much I loved some of the holes here, the creativity, and the mountainous atmosphere along with the lake made me really undermine the lack of proper signage and the difficulty with navigation. Glenwood desperately needs better signage. Some players have a hard time enjoying and seeing the brilliance and effort put in to a course when it's harder to navigate. I think if there was better signage, more people would enjoy Glenwood as much as I did. It's absolutely stunning! I decided to drive three and a half hours primarily to play here and I'm proud to say that I did. It's a real "underdog" that I think it's well worthy of a 4.5. Surprised I rated this higher than the designer.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    7/8/2018   7/27/2018
Review By: mshelton
Played: 134  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some unique holes
Well kept park and course
Some holes require thinking and different shots
Nice tee signs
Good amount of elevation changes
Paper maps available at the office where you pay
Cons: Biggest for me was the tee pads
Maybe one or 2 lackluster holes for a 300' thrower but could prove interesting to a bigger arm especially with some breeze coming through
Other Thoughts: Going to keep this short as it seems the other reviews summed it up well. Was in the general area and took a side trip to play here, glad I did. I really enjoyed the up and down of the course and had some memorable holes, probably my favorite was the tennis court one, threw quite a few on that (settled with a flat forehand Buzzz flexing just a tad then riding straight before fading back to the basket. Don't know why but that hole and shot stuck with me and I really enjoyed it, I think it's just that the shape of the hole and shot are what disc golf is to me.

Only real knock is the tee pads, ended up not using a lot of them, they could use some help or replacement but don't let that stop you from checking out this course. I really enjoyed my round and would play there again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Glenwood is Good, but not Great

1    6/15/2018   6/15/2018
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 226  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood Park is a beautiful, scenic park surrounding a decently sized lake, giving a few holes beautiful views of the water or the surrounding hills and valleys.

The tee signs were cool; hand-painted with distance, map and par, adequate information for a course where most every basket is visible from the tee.

Elevation on this course comes into play a lot. There were a lot of downhill shots, as well as the occasional uphill crush. Definitely some fun options in these scenarios.

A good variation of open holes and wooded holes, as well as holes requiring a left turning shot, or a right turning shot. This gives players a variety of shots to throw off the tee, and you will throw most, to an extent, every shot in your bag.
Cons: There are not a lot of holes that require a distance shot, especially if you have a large amount of power. I probably threw my driver on 6-9 holes, even on some of the par fours.

The tees were gravel, which is definitely not ideal and leads to some unfortunate slipping on tee shots, which wasn't a huge problem, but made me think a few times.

There was only one tee sign per hole, and it was with the white tee. If you play a different tee, navigation could be confusing, so I would suggest playing the whites for the most stress free and enjoyable round.

The course plays with the road, walking paths, picnic shelters, etc. in play on a good amount of holes. In fact, there was a car parked directly in the fairway on one of the first holes. C;mon people!

Another little safety issue, there was a short, downhill hole where the basket is placed between two playing courts. If I were you, if there was someone on the courts, just skip this hole, or it could be bad news.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of fun shots, and is definitely worth playing if you are, for some reason, in the area, or driving through. With concrete tees and a few different hole ideas, it would be a lot better, but for now, it is a solid course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great community course

2-4    11/15/2017   11/15/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 58  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a well designed course, the holes are good, challenging, and well rounded. This course is challenging enough that a veteran and a beginner could both play on the course. The multiple tees have good variety in distance and angle.
Cons: The tee signs are lacking and not very reliable, the guiding signs between holes could be better as well as there should be more of them. Some tee pads can be hard to find, or not even there. The course just need general maintenance all around. Some trees, bushes, limbs, and even a old worn down building needs taken out.
Other Thoughts: They have been working on the course and are making improvements, presently they are adding concrete tee pads which is great improvement once finished.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite Local Course in WV

5+    3/7/2016   3/8/2016
Review By: michael_w
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are may pros to this course. It is located on a beautiful lake that is I believe county owned, so it is maintained well. I am friends with the course designer, and he also does a great job of keeping things groomed. This course has a great blend of wooded shots and long open field shots, and almost every pin is at higher or lower elevation than the tee box. No shots straight into a basket. (excluding hole 10, which is over the lake) I believe that the walks between holes was made as short as possible. The only long walk you are going to have is from hole 17 to hole 18. I have learned to love this walk. It is beside the lake, and gives you a minute to think about what needs to happen on 18.
Cons: My con list is pretty short. My main complaint is that there are some rough thorn bushes in a couple of places. They aren't throughout the entire course, but I would say that 7 or 8 of the holes have some large bunches of them that you should try to avoid. My other con is that the people in the park can be pretty stupid at times. I know this can be a problem anywhere, but most people don't realize what you are doing and walk right by the holes and not take into consideration what is going on.
Other Thoughts: Having a relationship with the designer, and playing with him on a regular basis, I know that this course will only improve over time. Ever hole we play we are constantly thinking of ways to improve the layout, functionality, aesthetics, and dynamics of the hole. I love playing this course, and I am proud to take ownership of it as my home course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Glenwood - The Valley Forrest

1    1/1/2016   2/26/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 253  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 15.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees with single DisCatcher basket positions. Decent tee signage and directional signs to aid navigation. Playing the blue tees I thought the walks between the holes were just fine. Good variety of open and wooded terrain holes with varying lengths and elevation changes. The course looks stunning adjacent to the mountain lake which also provides some extra challenge and fear factor.
Cons: Only one big loop of holes back to the main parking lot. Course is not secluded from the rest of the park users and you will likely have some walkers coming through. I had a little trouble locating basket #2 behind the hill, could use a flag or some indicator. Some lower limb trimming would help on a couple fairways. I was not a big fan of hole 7 with the basket between the tennis courts.

Mud in the lower laying sections of the course was an issue. Hole 12 was the worst in regard to mud, and basically unplayable/unsafe. If it were me, I'd redesign hole 12 or have some kind of drainage installed. Poison ivy in some areas of the course gave me the willies. The course designer has told me the natural tees will be upgraded, so that's a good thing.
Other Thoughts: The property the course is situated on is amazing and definitely has the potential to one day be a great disc golf destination. IMO while the course is very good as-is, the course is not reaching it's full potential, probably mostly due to a lack of supply of local players / dg club, and possibly restrictions placed on the designer by the park. Most of the course appears to be laid out in existing open stretches of the park instead of being cut out through some of the hardwood sections, not that there is anything inherently wrong with that, just happened to be more convenient to getting a course in the ground faster. There are some cool large rock formations out there in the woods. I was dreaming about a basket placement on the end of the peninsula between hole 10 and 11.

My least favorite hole was hole 18, IMO the course would end better with hole 17 as the finale in the future(hopefully adding another hole in the middle) and just have people deal with the walk back, it's really not that big of deal to walk 1/3 mile along such a beautiful setting after playing a round. Even though tournament flow wise it might be less than ideal that way, IMO it would be better in the grand scheme and hopefully the course continues to evolve.

Overall Glenwood is a very good course for most players. It is kind of out in the sticks and is the most southern course in WV although there are plenty of nearby modern conveniences.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated Course Alert

1    10/12/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 103  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 24 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After a slow start, hole 8 is an epic downhill hole, the first in a series of very good holes. This course had more than a few very good holes that are better than any hole on most courses -- from hole 8 through hole 17, the course is fantastic and more than makes up for its shortcomings.

Beautiful setting. I might be biased because I just played on a 70-degree fall day with changing leaves ... but, the course plays through a nice hardwood forest and along a lake in rolling hill country in mountain foothills.

Great hilly and varied terrain. This was probably the strongest suit of the course. Many of the greens were on hillsides where this came into play. Several epic long downhill tee shots.
Cons: Slow start to the course. The first 3 holes are in the open and relatively short and featureless.

Holes 4 through 7 have potential, but aren't sufficiently trimmed out yet. The lines are there but some fairway trees and obstructing branches (hole 7, i'm talking about you) need to come out.

Teepads are a work in progress and aren't reflected in my review. I played next to them. The crushed gravel is terrible footing and hopefully gets replaced with concrete. The rubber mats don't drain well and were puddles on a dry sunny day.

A little tough to find, google maps address takes you to the wrong place. Once you're at the course, next tee signs are way too far from the pins and navigation would be difficult without a course map -- not an issue if you have a smart phone.
Other Thoughts: This course was rated about a 3.7 when I played it and it was better than expected. I left wanting more. The middle section of the course has a lot of really awesome holes where you could throw a bagful of drives.

Some of the holes felt like liability hazards, but I don't think the park is used enough to warrant much concern.

This is a solid 4.0+ once temporary new course issues like teepads, trees/limbing, and navigation signage get worked out. I'm rounding up on my rating which assumes these issues do get addressed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Glenwood Park, I belong.

1    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 462  Reviewed: 442  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2020
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood Park is a solid, all-around course. Don't let the first three holes fool you. Don't let the first three holes fool you. It gets challenging soon enough.
- Don't let first impressions fool you. After looking at pictures on this site, then pulling into the park, my thought was that this would be a pleasant, and somewhat relaxing, round. The first three holes play in the grass next to the water, all of which offer chances for 2s. Then we started walking, and instead of following along the shoreline, we head off into the woods. And then it got interesting.
- Excellence use of the terrain. Plenty of holes have strong elevation factors, from good uphill holes (#4 & 6) to downhill layouts (#7, 8 & 16). #16 was a quasi-version of #9 at Ashe County Park in Jefferson, NC, which is one of my favorite holes anywhere. Then there are other holes that either start out with elevation, and flatten out or play relatively flat until you get to the basket, adding another level of challenge, such as back-to-back stretch of #13 & 14.
- There's a great mixture of open and wooded holes, or holes that incorporate both aspects throughout the layout. One of my favorite holes is the wide-open fairway #9. It's a 412-foot layout from the white tees (which is where the tee signs are positioned), that starts going slightly downhill to the basket. Oh yeah, the basket is positioned less than 30 feet from the lake so don't go long.
- As for the other layouts, I really enjoyed the back-to-back holes of #15 & 16. #15 is moderately wooded, downhill, 220-foot dogleg left. Standing on the tee, this seems like a 'should birdie' or potential ace-run hole. Then, be like me, hit a tree, end up in the trees, and write a 4 down on your scorecard. #16 was one of my favorite holes on the course. It's a 283-foot downhill hole that forces you to throw through a gap to a basket that's nestled slightly back in the woods to the right. Out of three of us playing, only one of us was able to avoid trouble and get it close.
- Throughout the course, there's a solid flow to the holes. I enjoyed that after a tough stretch of holes, things might get easier for a hole or two, allowing players a chance to pick up a stroke they might have lost.
- The course presents a good challenge to both the physical and mental game. The course requires almost every type of shot. A big reason for that is the elevation and wide array of hole layouts. And with all that elevation, plus the fact the course is spread out, there's a lot of walking involved. By the time you're walking up the hill on #13, just remember, the course plays mostly downhill from there. With the variety of holes, and elevation & woods, shot placement is key throughout. Even on the more 'birdie-able' holes, you'll need to throw well or be forced to settle for par, or worse (such as ending up in the water on #10).
Cons: I know Greg is going to give me grief for saying this, but it is important to point out for first timers. There are several stretches of long walks between holes. Like other courses I've played (Winthrop in Rock Hill, SC; Randolph Park in Dublin, VA; etc.), there are stretches where you play several holes, then have a long walk to the next stretch of holes, then have another long walk. I list it here because it will effect some people's enjoyment of the course. I look at it as you can either have A. a better course that requires some walks, or B. a lesser quality course with holes that are cramped together. Give me the quality and an extra 5 minutes of walking every time.
- Signage could be better at times, especially on those long walk transitions. If you're a first timer, either print out a map or play with the course designer, as my buddy and I did.
- The holes near the front of the park - #1 - 3 & 18 - have to deal with cars parked in the grass or other park users. As Greg pointed out, cars often park in the grass next to the water, and that can force improved tee pads or skipped holes.
- There was only one hole that didn't have a true 'nature' feel for me. That was #7, and it was mainly due to the fact the tennis courts come into play and/or are part of the hole layout. You tee off from the woods, throwing downhill to a basket situated between tennis courts. The courts are OB, but you can throw off the chain-link fences. I've played holes like this before (#17 at Patriot's Point in Grovetown, GA), and it's just not my cup of tea. Even if I hadn't landed OB on the courts, I still wouldn't be a fan of it.
- The course is muddy and has poor drainage in several different parts. #7 & 12 were two of the biggest culprits. #12 was so bad that we had to skip the hole. That was a shame because that had the layout of an awesome, multi-shot par 5, looking like it easily could have been the course's best hole.
Other Thoughts: Glenwood Park was a different disc golf course from what I was expecting going in. In this case different was a great thing. I knew there would be some elevation and wooded holes, but there was more variety than I imagined.
- Credit goes to Greg for getting this course in the ground and growing the sport throughout the community. I was fortunate enough to play with Greg, and even a downpour couldn't ruin his hospitality or patience. He's a great ambassador for the game, and it's encouraging that he's got a growing local disc golf club.
- The biggest surprise for me was the skill level of the course. I was expecting a more beginner friendly course, and that seemed to be the case after the first three holes. The fact this course has a fair amount of bite to it, and it's still drawing in new players all the time, is all the more impressive.
- A big note that can't be stressed enough. READ THE DIRECTIONS TO THE PARK BEFORE PLAYING HERE!!! GPS and Google give a different address than what is the actual park entrance. As I learned after the fact, the address GPS and Google give will eventually get you to the parking lot. You're basically coming in to the park from the backside and will have to weave through the woods, past many of the holes, before finally getting to the lot. It is what it is, but at least I've done my part and mentioned it.
- This was a fun play. It was the fourth course I'd played that day, and seventh in two days, and I was still able to enjoy my round. There was plenty here to like, more than making up for a missed putt or hole that I didn't agree with (or didn't agree with me). With quality holes and excellent variety, this course gets a 3.5 rating from me. Glenwood is a strong cornerstone of the growing southern West Virginia disc golf scene. Let's hope the area gets more quality courses like this in future.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.