Princeton, WV 
Glenwood Park Share
Uploaded By: greg_b_4 Hole #12 (Taken 7/2014)
5 / 454ft.   5 / 518ft.   5 / 644ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Nice mix

1    7/8/2018   7/27/2018
Review By: mshelton
Played: 79  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 17.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some unique holes
Well kept park and course
Some holes require thinking and different shots
Nice tee signs
Good amount of elevation changes
Paper maps available at the office where you pay
Cons: Biggest for me was the tee pads
Maybe one or 2 lackluster holes for a 300' thrower but could prove interesting to a bigger arm especially with some breeze coming through
Other Thoughts: Going to keep this short as it seems the other reviews summed it up well. Was in the general area and took a side trip to play here, glad I did. I really enjoyed the up and down of the course and had some memorable holes, probably my favorite was the tennis court one, threw quite a few on that (settled with a flat forehand Buzzz flexing just a tad then riding straight before fading back to the basket. Don't know why but that hole and shot stuck with me and I really enjoyed it, I think it's just that the shape of the hole and shot are what disc golf is to me.

Only real knock is the tee pads, ended up not using a lot of them, they could use some help or replacement but don't let that stop you from checking out this course. I really enjoyed my round and would play there again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great community course

2-4    11/15/2017   11/15/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 58  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: This course is a well designed course, the holes are good, challenging, and well rounded. This course is challenging enough that a veteran and a beginner could both play on the course. The multiple tees have good variety in distance and angle.
Cons: The tee signs are lacking and not very reliable, the guiding signs between holes could be better as well as there should be more of them. Some tee pads can be hard to find, or not even there. The course just need general maintenance all around. Some trees, bushes, limbs, and even a old worn down building needs taken out.
Other Thoughts: They have been working on the course and are making improvements, presently they are adding concrete tee pads which is great improvement once finished.

 Glenwood - The Valley Forrest

1    1/1/2016   2/26/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 219  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees with single DisCatcher basket positions. Decent tee signage and directional signs to aid navigation. Playing the blue tees I thought the walks between the holes were just fine. Good variety of open and wooded terrain holes with varying lengths and elevation changes. The course looks stunning adjacent to the mountain lake which also provides some extra challenge and fear factor.
Cons: Only one big loop of holes back to the main parking lot. Course is not secluded from the rest of the park users and you will likely have some walkers coming through. I had a little trouble locating basket #2 behind the hill, could use a flag or some indicator. Some lower limb trimming would help on a couple fairways. I was not a big fan of hole 7 with the basket between the tennis courts.

Mud in the lower laying sections of the course was an issue. Hole 12 was the worst in regard to mud, and basically unplayable/unsafe. If it were me, I'd redesign hole 12 or have some kind of drainage installed. Poison ivy in some areas of the course gave me the willies. The course designer has told me the natural tees will be upgraded, so that's a good thing.
Other Thoughts: The property the course is situated on is amazing and definitely has the potential to one day be a great disc golf destination. IMO while the course is very good as-is, the course is not reaching it's full potential, probably mostly due to a lack of supply of local players / dg club, and possibly restrictions placed on the designer by the park. Most of the course appears to be laid out in existing open stretches of the park instead of being cut out through some of the hardwood sections, not that there is anything inherently wrong with that, just happened to be more convenient to getting a course in the ground faster. There are some cool large rock formations out there in the woods. I was dreaming about a basket placement on the end of the peninsula between hole 10 and 11.

My least favorite hole was hole 18, IMO the course would end better with hole 17 as the finale in the future(hopefully adding another hole in the middle) and just have people deal with the walk back, it's really not that big of deal to walk 1/3 mile along such a beautiful setting after playing a round. Even though tournament flow wise it might be less than ideal that way, IMO it would be better in the grand scheme and hopefully the course continues to evolve.

Overall Glenwood is a very good course for most players. It is kind of out in the sticks and is the most southern course in WV although there are plenty of nearby modern conveniences.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Glenwood Park, I belong.

1    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 325  Reviewed: 319  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood Park is a solid, all-around course. Don't let the first three holes fool you. Don't let the first three holes fool you. It gets challenging soon enough.
- Don't let first impressions fool you. After looking at pictures on this site, then pulling into the park, my thought was that this would be a pleasant, and somewhat relaxing, round. The first three holes play in the grass next to the water, all of which offer chances for 2s. Then we started walking, and instead of following along the shoreline, we head off into the woods. And then it got interesting.
- Excellence use of the terrain. Plenty of holes have strong elevation factors, from good uphill holes (#4 & 6) to downhill layouts (#7, 8 & 16). #16 was a quasi-version of #9 at Ashe County Park in Jefferson, NC, which is one of my favorite holes anywhere. Then there are other holes that either start out with elevation, and flatten out or play relatively flat until you get to the basket, adding another level of challenge, such as back-to-back stretch of #13 & 14.
- There's a great mixture of open and wooded holes, or holes that incorporate both aspects throughout the layout. One of my favorite holes is the wide-open fairway #9. It's a 412-foot layout from the white tees (which is where the tee signs are positioned), that starts going slightly downhill to the basket. Oh yeah, the basket is positioned less than 30 feet from the lake so don't go long.
- - As for the other layouts, I really enjoyed the back-to-back holes of #15 & 16. #15 is moderately wooded, downhill, 220-foot dogleg left. Standing on the tee, this seems like a 'should birdie' or potential ace-run hole. Then, be like me, hit a tree, end up in the trees, and write a 4 down on your scorecard. #16 was one of my favorite holes on the course. It's a 283-foot downhill hole that forces you to throw through a gap to a basket that's nestled slightly back in the woods to the right. Out of three of us playing, only one of us was able to avoid trouble and get it close.
- Throughout the course, there's a solid flow to the holes. I enjoyed that after a tough stretch of holes, things might get easier for a hole or two, allowing players a chance to pick up a stroke they might have lost.
- The course presents a good challenge to both the physical and mental game. The course requires almost every type of shot. A big reason for that is the elevation and wide array of hole layouts. And with all that elevation, plus the fact the course is spread out, there's a lot of walking involved. By the time you're walking up the hill on #13, just remember, the course plays mostly downhill from there. With the variety of holes, and elevation & woods, shot placement is key throughout. Even on the more 'birdie-able' holes, you'll need to throw well or be forced to settle for par, or worse (such as ending up in the water on #10).
Cons: I know Greg is going to give me grief for saying this, but it is important to point out for first timers. There are several stretches of long walks between holes. Like other courses I've played (Winthrop in Rock Hill, SC; Randolph Park in Dublin, VA; etc.), there are stretches where you play several holes, then have a long walk to the next stretch of holes, then have another long walk. I list it here because it will effect some people's enjoyment of the course. I look at it as you can either have A. a better course that requires some walks, or B. a lesser quality course with holes that are cramped together. Give me the quality and an extra 5 minutes of walking every time.
- Signage could be better at times, especially on those long walk transitions. If you're a first timer, either print out a map or play with the course designer, as my buddy and I did.
- The holes near the front of the park - #1 - 3 & 18 - have to deal with cars parked in the grass or other park users. As Greg pointed out, cars often park in the grass next to the water, and that can force improved tee pads or skipped holes.
- There was only one hole that didn't have a true 'nature' feel for me. That was #7, and it was mainly due to the fact the tennis courts come into play and/or are part of the hole layout. You tee off from the woods, throwing downhill to a basket situated between tennis courts. The courts are OB, but you can throw off the chain-link fences. I've played holes like this before (#17 at Patriot's Point in Grovetown, GA), and it's just not my cup of tea. Even if I hadn't landed OB on the courts, I still wouldn't be a fan of it.
- The course is muddy and has poor drainage in several different parts. #7 & 12 were two of the biggest culprits. #12 was so bad that we had to skip the hole. That was a shame because that had the layout of an awesome, multi-shot par 5, looking like it easily could have been the course's best hole.
Other Thoughts: Glenwood Park was a different disc golf course from what I was expecting going in. In this case different was a great thing. I knew there would be some elevation and wooded holes, but there was more variety than I imagined.
- Credit goes to Greg for getting this course in the ground and growing the sport throughout the community. I was fortunate enough to play with Greg, and even a downpour couldn't ruin his hospitality or patience. He's a great ambassador for the game, and it's encouraging that he's got a growing local disc golf club.
- The biggest surprise for me was the skill level of the course. I was expecting a more beginner friendly course, and that seemed to be the case after the first three holes. The fact this course has a fair amount of bite to it, and it's still drawing in new players all the time, is all the more impressive.
- A big note that can't be stressed enough. READ THE DIRECTIONS TO THE PARK BEFORE PLAYING HERE!!! GPS and Google give a different address than what is the actual park entrance. As I learned after the fact, the address GPS and Google give will eventually get you to the parking lot. You're basically coming in to the park from the backside and will have to weave through the woods, past many of the holes, before finally getting to the lot. It is what it is, but at least I've done my part and mentioned it.
- This was a fun play. It was the fourth course I'd played that day, and seventh in two days, and I was still able to enjoy my round. There was plenty here to like, more than making up for a missed putt or hole that I didn't agree with (or didn't agree with me). With quality holes and excellent variety, this course gets a 3.5 rating from me. Glenwood is a strong cornerstone of the growing southern West Virginia disc golf scene. Let's hope the area gets more quality courses like this in future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent course to help grow DG in Princeton

1    11/25/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 159  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll preface my review by saying I was lucky enough to play my round with the designer, Greg, which provided me with additional insight that I'll go into below.

The beauty of the park is the first thing I noticed. The course begins near a mini golf course, both on the banks of a beautiful lake. I didn't see any wildlife while I was there but we did see deer tracks and Greg mentioned he has seen them in the past. I give the scenery an A!

There was an ample amount of each type of shot at Glenwood. A few holes required bombing at least a fairway driver from the whites, while others will be putters. Plenty of elevation changes, namely holes 8 and 16(signature hole) which were both really fun. As short as it is, I really liked hole 2 as well.

The lake comes into play on several shots along the final stretch of holes, but is only thrown over once. It was unfortunate that a longer water shot couldn't have been implemented, but Greg informed me that the obvious spot for such a shot is a typical wedding venue and was off limits. Bummer.

Anyone playing Advanced or higher will probably crush the whites. From what I saw from the blues, the course does become more difficult but I have to say I disagree with many of the pars. See my cons below.

Despite the course being all par 3's (in my opinion, only exception being maybe the par 5 being a 4), there was plenty of challenge on the course. At least half of the holes required technical placement of the tee shot in order to play effectively. There were plenty of open shots where a poor drive could be remedied, however, by a good up shot. The real challenge of the open holes was the wind, which I imagine is present most of the year.

Greg also hand painted the tee signs, which were honestly really nice and I salute the effort.
Cons: As others have pointed out, the walks between holes can be rather long at times. As I was playing with the designer, naturally navigation wasn't an issue for me, but it might be for someone without a map. Just be sure to print off a map. The way the land is set up, it seems like it would be hard to have 2 9-hole loops. If it were up to me, I'd probably lengthen many of the holes to shorten up the walks in-between.

Again, the other top complaint are the pars. There are many holes that are par 4's and even one par 5 and I honestly feel that they could all be taken down by 1 stroke. The pars make a little more sense if you play blues. The other thing to consider, however, is that the disc golf community in the Princeton area is so small/new that you wouldn't want to scare people off with all par 3's. It would be demoralizing for a newbie so given the circumstances, the pars might be ok for this course for a while. The idea of this course isn't to make an A-tier level venue, it's to give the community there something to play and it does a great job.

It seems like the course can hold a lot of water. Not a major issue as many disc golf courses suffer from this and it is uncontrollable, just something to keep in mind when you pick out your shoes.

The tees were natural. I feel like a broken record when it comes to this, but I will add that Greg specifically asked for concrete but the parks and rec denied the request. Just be careful if it has recently rained.
Other Thoughts: Glenwood is a great course to introduce someone to the game (perfect for Princeton) and yet still offers experienced players challenge as they pass through town. I'll be stopping anytime I'm in town.

It's really nice to see new budding communities of disc golfers. I know how hard it can be to start a disc golf scene, so I wish Greg and the other locals the best of luck going forward.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great DG In The South

1    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: knettles
Played: 119  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Better variety than most courses I play. Alot of holes had a unique feel to them.
- Great mix between wooded and open shots.
- Water in play on a few holes.
- Nice park setting that really showcases WV.
- Two to three tees per hole.
- Appropriate distances for various tees.
Cons: - Only major con for me was the natural tees with the block markers. While they all provided enough room to do a runup, many of them weren't quite level.
- There were a couple places with a bit of a walk in between holes, but it didn't bother me much.
- A $2 fee to play, but it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: Considering this course is brand new, I'm hoping the tees will get worked on sometime in the not too distant future. Having tees that aren't level is a pretty huge deal. Not everyone uses a runup, but a decent percentage of disc golfers do. And not having a flat surface to throw from can really lower the quality/entertainment of a course. Still, even in the current condition, this course was a blast to play. I definitely recommend it to anyone in the area or someone looking for a mini road trip.
Also, I played this on a Saturday in good weather and didn't have much of an issue with park goers getting in the way. That's always a plus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First take

1    7/15/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: Mando
Played: 116  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Picturesque 55 acre lake surrounded by 325 acres of beautiful land. Nice, new discatcher baskets. Great variety-half wooded and half open.
Three fantastic holes; #8 a 296'downhill bomb, #12 a 518' tasty open/wooded combo and #16 an epic 283' downhill wooded masterpiece. It also has a short throw over a narrow inlet of the lake on #10 to give you a water carry shot.Others good holes;7,9,13,14,15...giving you a great run of holes 7-16.
Basket locations were well thought out and have direction to next tee painted.There is also good course map in the links/files to help with navigation,print it out before playing...you will need it.
Two sets of pads;red and white.
Cons: The biggest con for me was the excessive distances from basket to next pad. Definitely the longest transitions I've ever experienced. Many of the holes could have been improved by being longer, so, lets throw instead of just walking to the next basket. ! It seemed like there was as much walking between holes as there was playing the holes. Consequently, the course in it's present condition does not flow well. Signs are not up and tee pads have not been installed, so locating the tees can be tricky on your first play since pad markers are flush with the ground and not visible from a distance. Without a guide, navigation would have been an issue.
All the really good stuff here is around the 4-h camp (holes 7-16). The other holes were basically filler holes in my book, but that may just be my preference for wooded holes. Poison ivy is vigorous here and good luck staying out of it on #4.
The par here is very generous...518' par 5 for example on hole 12...the five par 4's ranged from 260'-412'. Back home, the guys would call everything a par 3 and still shoot under par (like Hognosesucker did with a 52).
I thought the close proximity of the walking path might be an issue,but the designer does not seem to think so.
Other Thoughts: We had the good fortune to play with Greg, (the designer) and he is enthusiastic about disc golf at Glenwood and wants feedback, so here it is.
I hope he will consider shifting the hole numbers around, starting and finishing at the 4-h camp, if that is an option.

The first take was good, but Glenwood has enormous potential and could be a destination-worthy disc golf course. That's a big responsibility placed on the designer. My advice; don't let good prevent you from making it GREAT ! Tweak and revise until you get it right, then work on pads and signage.
On the other hand, Greg's target audience are the locals who appear to be at the novice level, so maybe it's fine as is.
I look forward to playing this course again and see how it evolves. A 3.5 now, but potentially a 4.5 down the road.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.