Kendallville, IN 
Bixler Lake Park - West Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Good with what they had to work with

5+    9/24/2021   11/24/2021
Review By: Radrad
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free seven days a week
Park empty M-F
Variety of shots
Starts and ends at parking lot
Easy for beginners
Always mowed
Cons: Tees hard to find the first time
Some tees muddy after rain
Other visitors on weekends
Summer "camps"
Other Thoughts: This course has nine holes that are labeled 10-18 to compliment Bixler Lake East. It is played around a library on one side and the beach parking lot on the other. I have played this course a dozen times. Usually during the week there are only a few other people at the park, weekends are busier. In the summer they host "camps" and you may see a hundred kids, mostly at the playground area, off to one side on holes 10, 17 and 18. Mature trees throughout with more lower limbs than east course.

I printed a satellite view of the park from google maps and penciled in the holes/targets. The first couple times it was hard to find the cement blocks inbedded in the ground marking the tees. This course is less muddy than the east course, although I would still wait a day or two after a rain to play.

There is a water treatment facility near hole one, a cement wall and chain link fence up fifteen feet. I was told they check it from time to time, so if you have a phone number on a lost disc, they will call you.

The first tee (10) is half way between the parking lot (Diamond St) and the water treatment facility behind a couple smaller trees. The first target is on one of several grassy terraces leading down to the lake, behind some bushes. Ten feet too far and your disc could roll all the way to the lake. Second target (11) is also on a terrace, just to the left of a storage building that has stopped a couple of my rollers. 13 is longer and a little uphill. The rest of the course is fairly level.

Course plays - holes 10-12 on lake side, 13-15 back and around the library, 16 is along road and 17,18 are toward the center of park and back to the parking lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

"Goofy Golf," Indeed...

1    8/22/2021   8/23/2021
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 281  Reviewed: 232  Exp: 12.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Park style, non-disc centric layout through minor rolling elevation and mature oaks. Nine baskets, no real signage to speak of, tees are extremely difficult to find, where extant. Plays through playground, grill and picnic area, pavilion, along service road and park roads, parking lots.
- Another nine holes on site (albeit, on the far side of the park).
- Park amenities look nice enough. Camping, beach, bathrooms, etc., on site. Park near the tennis courts and see what happens!
- Slightly better shots and marginally "less conflict" than the East layout.
Cons: - Nothing good going on here except nine baskets in a park with other things taking center stage. I had to dodge bikers, people on a playground, and a family reunion. This course is basically unplayable with anyone out and about, and a real pain to figure out the layout. Ended up getting a blister on my heel walking around trying to figure out what the hell was going on here.
- Beware the Goon Gatekeeper: aggressive cranky old man wants to lean all up into your car (he literally was leaning on peoples open windows breathing into their vehicles, unmasked, during a pandemic). Regardless of your views of masking, where I come from, someone leans up into my car window they're likely to get stabbed or shot. Back the f**k up, dude! Also, attitude adjustment needed: when I paid my $3, he wouldn't let me through, like he's gotta know exactly what I'm doing in the park. I paid my three, let me in already, jeez. He then sneeringly spat, "Oh so you want to play goofy golf?" Bixler's disc golf layout is "goofy golf" indeed.
Other Thoughts: - $3 to play disc here is a f**king joke, and I was at the butt end of it.
- After developing a hot spot trekking around trying to discover the joys of the East layout, a full-blown blister formed on my ankle. Already less than over-joyed from my experience at the other nine hole layout, my patience was wearing exceedingly thin at baskets placed right next to benches and a busy sidewalk by a busy beach.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bixler Lake

2-4    10/21/2019   10/21/2019
Review By: Discbee
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course flowed fairly well and wasn't too difficult to navigate
Has a few ace opportunities
Cons: Poorly marked tees
criss-crossing through a park where picnic tables, playground, restrooms will all have people coming and going which could get in the way of throwing
Other Thoughts: I played this early in the morning before anybody else was really at the park so it was almost empty, but on a nice day there would likely be people all over and it could be challenging to play without having to stop and wait for people to move through or risk hitting park goers. I prefer courses that are not in amongst the park patrons who may be at a picnic or playing at the playground or simply out for a walk. It was in too close of proximity for my taste. Decent enough course but not something I would return to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Continuation of East Park, including the issues

1    6/21/2015   6/21/2015
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is a beginner to intermediate level course set in a large multi use park that surrounds a lake. Holes are marked 10-18 to complete an 18 hole layout starting at East park.

Baskets - 9 chain star baskets that catch great. List the hole numbers on them.

Tees - 1 natural tee per hole made of mud. Grass is starting to wear away where tees are but its newer so tees are even harder to find than East park.

Signs - Each tee is marked with 2 while blocks flushed with ground level. When legible, one marker lists the hole number and par, the other has a map that includes distance, terrain, and location of next hole.

Variety - No two holes were the same. 10 and 13 are uphill. 12 is downhill. The rest are flat. Multiple mature and pine trees on holes to help shape lines. Most baskets are guarded.

Very different than the front 9.

Easy to save par on every hole.

Starts and ends at same spot near parking lot which is technically outside of the park.

A few picnic tables, trash cans, restrooms, and a playground were on site.

Land was used very well. There is room to expand.

Scenic park with great views of the lake. Peaceful.

9 additional holes on other side of lake.
Cons: Just like the East park, regardless of the solid play of the course, new players will spend more time playing "Find the next tee" than they will playing the hole. Signs on the holes were flushed with the ground. Could only read the hole on a few holes. Even though this is newer, signs starting to fade. Course needs tee markers that are not flushed with the ground that you can see from a distance. That alone will enhance the play.

Spent a long amount of time looking for the first tee (hole 10) so started at hole 11. Took 5 minutes to find 13. Never found 17. Ended up finding tee for 10 after playing hole 18.

No signs pointing you to the back 9 once heading to other side of park. You need to leave the park, take a few lefts, and go park near basketball courts to be able to start at the start of this course. No signs pointing you to where course starts.

Only one tee per hole. Tees were natural, would not cost much money to add second set.

Newer course so natural tees are still mostly grass. Definitely starting to wear away which is a plus but still hard to find.

Course desperately needs a map, better signs at each hole, and next hole arrows in between holes to help with first time players. Really took away from the actual play of the course.

Hole 10 borders a barbed wire fence, can lose discs in there.
Other Thoughts: Just like with East park, This was a great starter course but needs improvement. I also wanted to give it a 2.5 but had such a difficult time finding the next tee on a few holes (10, 13, 17) So I couldn't give it that.

With better /visible signs, an added tee per hole, and picnic tables being moved out of the fairway, this 9 hole course could easily be a 2.5, maybe a 3 out of 5.

If considering east and west park a full 18, I would rate the 18 holes a 3 out of 5 due to the same issues (poor signs, 1 tee per hole, find that tee, etc) on the west course as the east course. West park has a completely different feel than east park but the issues carry over. With these improvements, the 18 could be a 3.5 out of 5 but no more.

If in the area, would definitely recommend the course but use the map on this site. One will still spend time looking for the tees but it does help. It was not too far from the highway and could get a quick round in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.