Greece, NY 
Basil Marella Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 304ft.   3 / 157ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Yellow Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Over the hill, through the woods...

2-4    4/16/2017   5/5/2017
Review By: Mr_Grigsby
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging course
-Great scenery
-Multiple tees (Sometimes hard to see)
-Well made tee signs
Cons: -Be prepared to hit trees, lots of them
-Occasionally hard to see baskets
-Sometimes holes run close to walking / bike paths
Other Thoughts: Basil Marella is perhaps my favorite course in the Greater Rochester area. Several people I have talked to do not like it because of all the trees, but that is the reason I love it. This very technical, challenging course is the perfect place to play to work on your flight lines and have a great day of disc golf.

This course is in a heavily wooded area, making a straight shot to the basket difficult. Many of the holes have a clear flight line through the trees, making a good initial throw a must. Since there are so many trees, and since I am still working on my distance driving, I generally use a fairway driver for most of my tee shots. This lets me work on my lines and get a good throw to most of the baskets. If you are a more experienced player, using a distance driver would be just fine. There are a few holes where I can break out the distance driver, but most have a pretty tight fairway through the trees you have to aim for.

One of the best things about this course is the fact that it is in the woods. It really cuts down on the noise from the roads that run nearby and makes for a beautiful day of disc golf in the shade. However, this is a double edged sword as it makes some of the baskets difficult, if not impossible, to see from the tee pad. Hole #5 is the worst culprit of this, as you have to curve to the right of the tee pad. The first time I just had to throw blind and hope I could see the basket from where I landed. Further more, it can make it difficult to find the next tee pad, but if you keep your eyes open, you can see where you need to go. On a few holes, there are also small white signs with a number placed onto the trees to show you how to get to the next hole.

Having multiple tees is also a big plus in my opinion, making this technical course more welcoming to newer players. There are red, yellow, and blue tees on each hole, with most of the concrete tee pads acting as the red and yellow tee boxes. The blue tees are marked by small, painted posts in the ground along the hole. You can easily spot most of them, but they are a bit hard to spot on a couple holes.

Overall, Basil Marella is an excellent place to play. If you are looking to get out and practice your disc control, I highly suggest playing here. Bring a map if it is your first time, and remember to double back to the bridge (You will use it to get to hole 13) to get across the creek when throwing on 17. There isn't a clear path across the creek, so going back to the bridge is your best bet. Just remember where your disc fell.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  great course

2-4    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: spencer1224dg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a good challenge for beginner`s, a lot of trees, concrete tees, metal signs showing you where the disc catcher is as well as a arrow to where the next tee is, a lot of friendly people
Cons: garbage, missing bridge to cross after the tee on hole 17
Other Thoughts: -white discs get lost
-blue like to hit trees
-red like water
-greyish hop
green like to hop and then hit a tree
thats what i recognise from the colors i have used here

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good But dificult

5+    3/17/2013   4/8/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes for only heavly wooded area, concrete pads make for great drive surface, very senic, new metal signs added last year for the world real nice,
Cons: TREES make it hard for new players and hard on dx plastic disc, can get muddy after a light rain, flimsy brigde that crosses the stream on the back nine, no bridge at 17 to cross back over the stream
Other Thoughts: very nice to play trought with practice and gets u to pratice your accuracy and not just chuck and pray course , i really recomend a heavy duty plastic if you play here or your disc will be gashed and scuffed up by the end of the round

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The best course everyone loves to hate

5+    2/22/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight wooded design is very challenging and interesting to play - but manages to be friendly for newbies, too
-Concrete tees makes the course playable all year around and fair and safe.
-Varied design - not many big open driving holes, but several long holes and lots of variation between right, left and straight shots
- takes advantage of the hills, valleys and water on the back 9.
-In my opinion it is the most challenging course in the county and therefore your best bet to improve your game
-Brand new baskets in 2011
-Lots of free parking adjacent to hole 1 and 9
-Practice basket adjacent to the parking lot
Cons: -By hole 18 you're pretty sick of the trees
-Bridges are terrible and unsafe
-Can get very wet and muddy
-There have been issues in the past with vandalism of baskets and bridges
Other Thoughts: Everyone gets frustrated with this course - but it's actually one of the best in the area. Play this course a lot and your game WILL improve. Learn to control your discs, get away from throwing fast drivers, learn your overhand and forehand shots, not to mention work on smoothing out your hyzer and anhyzer shots. Gives you a lot of practice on "get out of trouble" shots and forces you to really think each shot through, and how to recover from poorly executed shots, in order to do well.

Surprisingly newbies enjoy it, too - probably because despite all the trees, the course is no more punishing to newbies than it is to seasoned players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 learn your aim

1    2/4/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course for those competetive players looking to better there game. heavily wooded course with skinny paths compliments each hole with its own unique challenge.
Cons: lots of trees that can frustrate a beginner. seems like this is a popular course to the locals, so traffic can get pretty heavy on the weekends. garbage such as food wrappers and drink bottles scattered everywhere
Other Thoughts: some of the smaller sappling trees could go. some signs dont give justice as to where the pin is in accordance to the trees in the fairway. im not a tree hugger or anything but c'mon people throw away your junk. other than that a great challenging course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice

2-4    12/14/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course will make you better! Its a really tight, really technical, and really tough course. It will make you work on your tee control big time. The elevation changes on a few holes make it really fun, and there is of course a small stream to deal with.
Cons: No solid pads, and bad bridge by 13.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 IDragon

1    7/30/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: idragon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a challenge Basil has it! Wooded course is really amazing! Every hole has a narrow alley, but you have to hit it or off into the brush you go!
Cons: All the trees may not be everyone's bag.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't get any better playing at this course in the summer. You get a break from the sun on this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 glade discing

1    7/23/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: duckychucky
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: TREES! I'm personally not a big fan of wide open courses (unless they have lots of elevation change).
I had to use every shot i knew to play this course and wish i knew some more.
Played this course during a record heatwave and all the shade was perfect.
The new tee signs were really nicely done.
The little creek added a nice touch.
I liked how the front 9 were flat and the back 9 were hilly, so those that my have trouble with hills (my dad) can just play the front 9.
Cons: The bridges could use some work,
Other Thoughts: All the locals said this was the worst course in the area and complained about the trees, this was my favorite in the area so far BECAUSE of the trees...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  It's Home!

5+    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: phishingpier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging...
Very Peaceful...
Never the same
Cons: Muddy...Muddy...Muddy when it rains
Other Thoughts: Basil is the first and only place I played for the first 5 years I played DG. It is home for me and will have a place in my heart forever.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Basil

5+    5/1/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: keithbkessler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 18 holes ranging from par 3 to 5. Multiple tee's for each hole. Creek play in 2+ holes. Can easily play front 9 or back 9. Good sized course. Very nice DISCatchers. Easy to navigate even without a map.
Cons: Heavily wooded for most of the course. Lots of bee's in the back 9. Very muddy at certain points of the year. No bridge crossing the creek on hole 17. Bridge crossing the other creek is not very stable.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.